Customer Reviews


359 Reviews
5 star:
 (230)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate edition... but maybe not for some..
So yet another original bare bones blu ray release finally gets the decent treatment it so rightly deserves.
When Predator debuted on Blu-ray a couple of years back there were some mixed reviews. I actually rated it quite highly, although it could obviously have been better, (featuring a relatively low bit-rate MPEG-2 transfer), that it was certainly a marked...
Published on 2 July 2010 by Deckard

versus
45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3D or not 3D, that is the question.
James Cameron's "Titanic 3D" conversion shows that when done properly, films that were not originally shot in 3D, can look fantastic. Unfortunately, "Predator 3D" isn't one of them.
I've always liked this film and was really looking forward to seeing it again when I heard that it was being given the 3D treatment. The jungle environment in particular had me eagerly...
Published 16 months ago by Lucifer Box


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3D or not 3D, that is the question., 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Cameron's "Titanic 3D" conversion shows that when done properly, films that were not originally shot in 3D, can look fantastic. Unfortunately, "Predator 3D" isn't one of them.
I've always liked this film and was really looking forward to seeing it again when I heard that it was being given the 3D treatment. The jungle environment in particular had me eagerly awaiting it's release.
Now I've seen it, it's fair to say that I am extremely disappointed with the results. At times, the jungle does seem to have some nice depth to it, but there are portions of the film that seem to have had no conversion whatsoever. At times watching it, I thought there was a problem with my glasses and had to take them off to check what I was seeing.
The day before watching "Predator 3D" I had watched the "Jurassic Park 3D" blu-ray and like Predator, large portions of the film are set in the jungle, but, unlike Predator, the 3D was consistent and it was an immersive experience.
Predator 3D is a lazy conversion and you can't help thinking that it's release was a half hearted effort, of minimal cost by Fox to rake in money from a film they know would be extremely popular with 3D enthusiasts.
I've now got approximately 150 3D titles and Predator 3D has to be the poorest in my collection.
Picture and sound quality are okay, but again, nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate edition... but maybe not for some.., 2 July 2010
By 
Deckard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Predator (Ultimate Edition) [Blu-ray] [1987] (Blu-ray)
So yet another original bare bones blu ray release finally gets the decent treatment it so rightly deserves.
When Predator debuted on Blu-ray a couple of years back there were some mixed reviews. I actually rated it quite highly, although it could obviously have been better, (featuring a relatively low bit-rate MPEG-2 transfer), that it was certainly a marked improvement over the really shoddy looking DVD with it's noise and grain. The other gripe about the original release was of course, the fact that it completely lacked any extras. So now, Fox have recitifed the situation (or if you're feeling more cynical - decided to nick some more cash out the fans back pockets) by releasing an inevitabvle remastered special edition to blu ray.

And here it is, newly encoded, dual layer 50GB disc crammed with all the extras from the DVD including McTiernan's commentary and the 'If it bleeds we can kill it' making of documentary.

So how does it fare? Well, in fairness I think the remastered picture in this edition could well incite the same amount of criticism as the old one, but for the opposite reason. Personally I think it's great, bright, clear, immensely vived and colourful and whereas the previous edition only really looked "Hi-Def" in a number of places, this looks pretty immaculate throughout. Black levels are also greatly improved. However, all of this comes at a price, which some fans may not like, because seemingly to combat the gripes about grain and noise this remaster is pretty heavy on the digital noise reduction. So if you liked the rougher, grittier texture of the original print, you're probably going to be disappointed. Faces look particularly "smoothed over" and a little waxy in certain shots, but I should add that this is NOT the case all the time. In fact facial close ups for example look great, and incredibly detailed, (you can even see the texture of the camouflaged face paint) the jungle looks beautfully sharp and thoroughly alive and generally the print does a good job of masking the dirtier looking scenes. I felt that for the most part the picture looked much more naturally "hi-def" than obviously "tinkered with", but I must confess there were a few bits where I really felt they'd overdone it on the enhancements somewhat, and that's the only reason why i've dropped a star. At the end of the day tho, I think a blu ray where everything mostly looks like a DVD, is far worse than a blu ray where everything mostly looks hi definition. But this I'm sure will be up to what you prefer.

Not sure if the sound has been changed since the last release, but it is still a totally engaing and absorbing 5.1 DTS HD Master audio track. This was my favourite thing about the original release, and it is totally replicated in the ultimate hunter edition. It's a brilliantly balanced track, giving great clarity and detail in the quieter scenes, exploding into hefty machine gun fire and explosions later on that pound your speakers without ever sounding too overbearing.

So all in all, whether this release is for you will come down to the remastered picture quality. If you dont mind the film looking polished, vibrant and, in certain places noticeably artifically polished, you will love it; if you'd rather watch the film closer to it's original intended look, I would hang on to (or indeed go out and buy) the original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A N Y T I M E........................., 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The direction, the music, even the character names- Predator is simply magnificent. It slow builds suspended all the time in tension, and then it explodes and doesn't let up.

Schwarzenegger's acting is great and he is helped along by the likes of Carl Weathers, Jesse Ventura, Bill Duke and Sonny Landham- who all do a superb job in creating atmosphere. Indeed Ventura and Duke have starred as Arnie's enemies in The Running Man and Commando respectively.

The late great Kevin Peter Hall dons the mask and makeup for one of the most iconic alien creatures of all time. It's a huge movie, blood and guts, action. But it has been scripted well, and directed with authority by John McTiernan. Predator's numerous quotes are stil heard today, and indeed it may well be the most quotable film in action movies ever. We've all heard the story of Arnie and Stallone's fierce competition in the 80s. But on arrival of this monster, Stallone's jaw must have dropped a few miles.

An essential movie to own, indeed regarding it's sci fi action genre- this is definetly a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best and the worst that Predator has ever looked, 3 July 2010
By 
C. Williams (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predator (Ultimate Edition) [Blu-ray] [1987] (Blu-ray)
I'm both amazed and appalled at what 20th Century Fox has done with this blu ray, providing one of the most schizophrenic video transfers I've ever seen, which despite its faults still impresses me.

Because eighty percent of the time, it's beautiful.

They must have used a different source print than they had previously. Many scenes that were dull and dark before now show wonderfully vivid colours and much greater contrast. Also, it seems Fox has done a heavy amount of grain reduction, which I know will be an instant deal breaker for some cinephiles, but I do think that Predator benefitted from the treatment. I was astounded at the clarity some scenes have, every piece of foliage is razor sharp, and the Predator himself is so detailed in closeup it's scary. And it doesn't stop there.. From being able to see each bead of sweat on Carl Weathers' face, to the intricate patterns of the lightning effects as Predator decloaks, the new video transfer often presents scenes that look light years ahead of older versions of the film.

But then there's the other twenty percent...

The infamous scene at the start, when Dillon and Dutch lock arms, is one of the most egregious examples of video tampering. Carl Weathers' moustache looks like it's a blurry smudge on his face in this scene, whilst R.G. Armstrong now appears to be made of rubber. Arnold's closeups here are just plain ugly. Certainly not a great start to the movie, and it sets a trend of blurred shots and smudged faces that continues off and on through the film. A scene will be playing out, looking detailed and film-like, then suddenly it cuts to a closeup and we're examining a wax figure from Madame Tussauds acting in a Predator movie. Luckily this doesn't happen too often.

Whilst the Ultimate Hunter Edition is very obviously a cash-in on the new Predators movie coming out, it's honestly a better deal than the last Predator release Predator [Blu-ray] [1987]. Unlike the last bare bones version, this new edition includes every extra from the 2 disc DVD, even the still entertaining text commentary and easter eggs, as well as a brief but nice retrospective with producer John Davis and a quick look at the upcoming sequel.

If you already bought the last blu ray edition, or are unsure as to which looks better, I recommend renting them to judge the quality for yourself. There are a few moments that could have looked A LOT better here, but the film on the whole makes up for it by being much more vibrant and bold than before, and having stunning picture clarity when it counts. Not to mention the always epic DTS HD sound. Overall, I'd say this is definitely the version to pick up if you somehow don't already own this seminal action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be careful here, people..., 12 May 2004
By 
Neal Vincent (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Just a quick note to warn purchasers of this new 2-disc set that due to a foul-up by Fox it seems that many copies contain the wrong Disc One. I don't know how widespread this problem is, but in my local shop every single copy was incorrect - and, yeah, I made 'em check! :)
Due to a pressing or packaging error Disc One was the old single-disc edition of Predator - i.e. no DTS, no audio commentary, and a heavily-censored version of the film! Disc Two was correct.
Disc One SHOULD have a large picture of Arnie's face and say "Disc One" on it - the incorrect disc has a fuzzy picture of Arnie with a gun and DOES NOT say Disc One.
Seeing as the previous UK DVD release of Predator was a foul-up on Fox's part in the first place - apparently they mistakenly used a heavily-censored master intended for the German market - you would have thought they'd have taken a little more care this time around...
It's a good film, as I'm sure you already know, and it's good to see that it's finally been given a decent release in the UK - providing you've got the right disc in the pack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed piece of classic eighties eccess, quality, 10 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Predator [VHS] [1988] (VHS Tape)
It's Arnies best film to date,the tension built up by McTiernans expert direction is a joy to behold,it has lead the way for so many hollywood movies, it inspired a generation. Never have i seen a crack commando unit as good as this since the A-Team. The predator itself is the greatest alien creation this side of, well alien. Such an ingenius idea to be stalked in the most hospitable terrain by a creature invisible to the human eye.Terrific. It's one of my best ten films of alll time. Alot of people won't agree, but we live in a democracy so everyone can an opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it bleeds..., 5 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predator (Ultimate Edition) [Blu-ray] [1987] (Blu-ray)
For me this is an Arnie action film at its finest, it does everything right. If you haven't seen it (and if you haven't then why not?) it tells the story of a special forces team sent into a central American jungle to rescue some hostages. Naturally there's more at play than they're told, but they certainly didn't expect to encounter an alien hunter.

Of so, the story isn't anything special, it is however told brilliantly. The first thing that stands out is the team, they are a diverse mix of soldiers, all bringing something different to the team and they're all strong enough that Arnie doesn't obscure them with his own character. There is an excellent camaraderie between the team that really comes across and gives them meaning once things hit the fan.

The next big point is the pacing, things get going pretty much immediately, the team enter the jungle and you see the team in action and you get a feel for how well they operate together. You also get some insight into the thing that hunts them. The film quickly establishes the team as a group of absolute badasses before picking them off one by one.

It's not non-stop action, the film knows when to let the foot off the pedal and build some tension, there's a few moments when they're waiting that work the moment. Layer onto that an excellent alien and you have a great action film. The predator is a cool opponent, he's tough and smart and has some cool toys. It also has some of the most quotable lines ever :-)

The final icing on the cake is the music, it works at every moment from the title credits all the way through to the end. This film was made before the advent of mass CG, but is still a visual treat and I would argue better for it. For me this isn't just one of Arnie's best films, it's one of the top action films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Arnie Sci Fi Jungle Warfare, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Predator (DVD).

Product Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Region: Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 18
Studio: Twentieth Century Fox
Running Time: 106 minutes

Positive.
1)Arnold Schwarzenegger in my personal favourite action movie of his to date delivers a all action scifi classic.
2)The excellent script by brothers Jim & John Thomas.
3)Superb tense direction by director John McTiernan.

Cast.
Arnold Schwarzenegger as Major Alan "Dutch" Schaefer
Carl Weathers as George Dillon
Elpidia Carrillo as Anna
Bill Duke as Mac Eliot
Jesse Ventura as Blaine Cooper
Sonny Landham as Billy Sole
Richard Chaves as Jorge "Poncho" Ramirez
Shane Black as Rick Hawkins
R. G. Armstrong as Major General Homer Phillips
Kevin Peter Hall as The Predator / Helicopter Pilot
Peter Cullen as The Predator (Voice, uncredited)
Sven-Ole Thorsen as Soviet Military Adviser

Trivia.
1)Sonny Landham was hired a bodyguard to protect the cast & crew against him.
2)The production was shut down for 9 months due to the original alien concept being unusable standard quailty.
3)Jean Claude Van Damme Doubles for Arnie in certain scenes as Van Damme was rumoured to play the Predator but didn't want be cast as a alien, but remained on production for 2 weeks.
4)Jesse Ventura was a former marine & was chosen to use the mini gun a fire up ole painless.
5)Bill Duke appeared with Arnie in Commando.
6)Shane Black went on to write Lethal Weapon, The Last Boy Scout & most recently write & direct Iron Man 3

What's The Story?
On a routine rescue attempt of a cabinet minister & his aid from south American jungle, Dutch & his team of soldiers are brought into a conflict with the local mercenarys who have captued & killed the remaining survivors of the helicopter crash resulting in a all action shootout that really delivers on the action.

Dutch & his team take out this group of mercenarys & Dutch finds to his surprise the cabinet minister is in fact his former friend Jim Hopper who's been killed & skinned alive with his platoon of soldier's.

As Dillon whom a friend of Dutch has in fact set them up to get intel has enraged Dutch whom leads his men out to the extraction point.

But getting to the extraction point Dutchs team are being stalked upon by a Alien hunter whom hunts his victims for sport, The prize your skull as his trophy.

This alien uses stealth cunning & a wealth of futuristic weaponry were he preys upon Dutchs men killing them off one by one until only Dutch remains.

Can Dutch defeat the Predator cunning stealth & his futuristic weaponry & survive being hunted or will the Predator take Dutch's skull as another trophy?

Timelord Thoughts.
This action movie is in my top ten all time classics.

Predator delivers huge scale action, Great chemistry between the cast thanks to a superb written script by brothers Jim & John Thomas.

This action movie delivers in spades with a full on action sci-fi adventure that never lets up during its 106 minutes running time.

Arnold Schwarzenegger is just great in this as Major Dutch Sciaffier who's up against impossible odds as a 7ft tall alien hunter preys upon this team of soldiers who's fitted with an vast array of high tec weaponry at his disposal & use invisibility camouflage to blend into his surroundings.

The jungle warfare firefight against the rebels certainly kick ass & the action is hardcore & uncompromising thanks to John McTiernan excellent pacing & direction.

The hunting & killing of Dutch's team one by one is intense & suspenseful as to how they'll die & the final cat & mouse confrontation between Dutch & the Predator delivers high octane thrills & tension as Dutch battles for his very survival.

Predator is definitely one of Arnies best ever action films & after 26 years it still delivers the goods & is a timeless sci-fi action classic thats still enjoyable as it ever was.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A man's movie. Girl's not allowed, 13 Oct. 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Predator [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After starring as one of the most iconic and unstoppable villains ever in Terminator, it was high time that Arnie had a worthy foe to fight against. And he got way more than he bargained for with the Predator.

Before his crowning achievement of Die Hard, John McTiernan assembled a group of seven muscle-bound commandos in the South American jungle and let them unleash hell on Latinos, Russians and Aliens alike with an awesome arsenal of macho weaponry. This is definitely a man's movie. Both Alien and Aliens - hell, even Friday The 13th - had a thing about two females going head to head at the end. How are us guys supposed to get a kick out of endings like that? Arnie plays Major Alan 'Dutch' Schaefer, the leader of an elite Spec Ops force. His team is called to duty by General Phillips (R.G. Armstrong) and the very suspicious Dillon (Carl Weathers) to rescue a bunch of government officials, who have been shot down in enemy territory in Latin America.

As soon as they arrive in the jungle something is watching their every move from the trees. And they get the feeling that things just ain't right. The first rescue team is found disemboweled and skinned. Same goes for their chopper.

None of them trust Dillon. He's up to no good. There are no cabinet ministers being held hostage, just a bunch of his CIA pals being tortured by the Russians. In no less than five minutes, all seven of them completely obliterate a rebel guerrilla camp. The CIA hostages are dead.

Dutch is angry and feels mighty betrayed. Dillon lied to him and their mission is over as soon as it started. All they have to do is make a journey through one valley to the nearest rendezvous point and fly back home. Not so simple when a high-tech, seemingly invisible, 7'2'', extra-terrestrial Rastafarian hunter is picking them off one by one and keeping their skulls as trophies. This predator is obviously a fan of the 1932 movie, The Most Dangerous Game.

In the same way that he created nervous claustrophobia around the Nakatomi Plaza in Die Hard, McTiernan floods the movie with an oppressive and twitchy atmosphere. Half of the film's ominous tone comes from Alan Silvestri's militaristic and primeval score, with pounding drums and lurking strings, indicating that the Predator's haunting presence is everywhere. He could strike from any corner at any moment. And he does.

Nothing Dutch and his men seem to do can thwart this enemy and in no time at all Dutch is the last one standing. He runs for his life with the Predator in hot pursuit.

The final act is no doubt the strongest and can even be viewed as a separate movie altogether. McTiernan ditches the lush, steamy jungle from the first two acts and completely turns it around into a strikingly Gothic, baroque, supernatural landscape. There is a subtext of primitive brutality winning over highly advanced super-weapons. And there is enough testosterone between Dutch and the Predator to fill 100 tanker trucks. Women, totally, need not apply.

Definitely one of Arnie's best and a landmark action movie. No doubt. Outdone only by the sequel.

The Blu Ray is a mixed bag. But I need to remind you that Predator was INTENTIONALLY shot very grainy, gritty and dirty. It think it's a brilliant look for the film. So don't go expecting Pixar-like image quality on this 1080p transfer. In fact so many people were dismayed at Predator looking this way that Fox reissued it with all the grain smeared out. Could the film benefit from a fresh master from the original negative using the VC-1 codec? No doubt. But we won't be getting that "anytime" soon. The DTS HD-MA sound design is amazing though, and will surely convince your neighbors that a war has broken out next door.

Zero extras, which is stupid since they were ready and willing by the time this Blu Ray went into production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's action, 12 Aug. 2008
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predator [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Predator. Where it all started for one of the best movie aliens of all time.

I love this film it must be said. This is classic 80's action with a whole group of clichéd beefcakes and cheesy dialogue thrown into the mix.

If you're not familiar with the story here's the rundown: An elite rescue team of soldiers are sent into the South American jungle to release some government officials in guerrilla hands. As the team close in on their objective they realise that something is stalking them and picking them off one at a time for sport. This enemy is unseen as it wears a cloaking device and attacks with relentless ferocity and efficiency and also has a penchant for skinning its victims! That's it! It's a simple plot but it's just a great excuse for lots of guns and great action!

Arnie is the leader of the group but is ably supported by Jess Ventura and his "mini" gun, Bill Duke and Sonny Landham who is the native American soldier skilled in tracking and pathfinding and a few others.

The predator is kept hidden for some time but the tension in the film is gradually notched up through the trick of letting us see through the predator's eyes and hear it's weird vocalisations. I have to admit I remember first seeing this film as a kid and was utterly disappointed the very first time the predator was shown on screen - the special effects seen in that first snatched glimpse are shockingly bad and I was mortified. However, I needn't have worried as the later sequences with the cloaked predator are good - pretty amazing for the day and they hold up ok today too.

There are some classic lines in this film such as when Arnie shouts "get to da choppa" and when Jesse Venturer's characters remarks upon being told he's bleeding "I ain't got time to bleed". Ultra macho and cheesier than a lump of cheddar but great fun. The film progresses towards an almost inevitable conclusion where Arnie has to face off with the predator mano et mano and make use of whatever is at hand to aid him.

Apparently Jean Claude Van-Damme was chosen originally to play the predator because the film makers wanted an agile and lithe killer but he was thrown off the project for (allegedly) intentionally hurting a stunt man. Kevin Peter Hall was brought in and a new direction for the Predator was undertaken - one of a 7 foot tall brute!

This is one of the best sci-fi action films of the 80's with arguably the best action film star in Arnie directed by John McTiernan, arguably one of the best action directors at the time (his follow up film was Die-Hard).

But why only 4 stars? Well I guess because the film transfer definitely does not reach the quality levels of other titles on Bluray. I know the film is 21 years old now but the picture quality is not the best. You can tell it's hi-def but it's not high quality hi-def. Still better than DVD and the lossless soundtrack is great but maybe with a bit more care it could have been tidied up a touch more.

But still, if you're a fan the decision is easy: buy this bluray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Predator (Ultimate Edition) [Blu-ray] [1987]
Predator (Ultimate Edition) [Blu-ray] [1987] by John McTiernan (Blu-ray - 2010)
£8.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews