Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars247
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 August 2010
This isn't a masterpiece, or an Oscar winner, or anything like that. It's light entertainment you can let yourself relax and enjoy and not have to engage your brain at all. Perfect if you want a funny, action pact film to pass some time. If your looking for something more intellectual then look somewhere else.

Once again Tom Cruise proves he can be funny. His character is a little bit crazy but so totally lovable. I left the cinema thinking 'I want one of him!'. And i'm not even a Cruise fan!!
Cameron Diaz we already know can do comedy so there's no surprises here. She comes and plays her part well. Little bit dipsy but on the whole a likable character.

The plot is so completely insane you have to laugh. Cruise is a CIA agent gone rouge apparently, and has taken a piece of technology with him that many many people want their hands on. Diaz manages to get caught up in all this. Chaos and comedy ensue.

I actually really enjoyed the film. Cruise and Diaz really worked well together and it was a great feel-food movie. Definitely one i'll watch again, especially if I need cheering up.
44 comments|77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
Smart, funny, romantic, whip-cut to fast-moving perfection, and exciting. Very much a 'Mr & Mrs Smith' for a new decade.
That was the trailer.
Now we have the actual film, which sadly only bears a decent similarity, rather like a plain sibling looking up at its better-looking twin.
Cruise is likeable, and extremely good as usual, but his likeability is damaged by having us question whether he's mentally unhinged throughout most of the film (and having him be frankly an over-confident superman when he's not).
Diaz is peppy and funny, but just gets to be peppy and funny - sometimes to a daftly manic degree - never edgy.
Also James Mangold is a disastrous choice as director. While he has done action before, he's always succeeded best in his slower, more thoughtful and serious narratives like 3:10 to Yuma, Copland or Walk The Line. His timing is off so much throughout the film (sequences are unexciting, or directed as if he has little enthusiasm for the action) that you wonder why the studio didn't simply replace him with a director with better comic timing.
Unfortunately this means that both the comedy and the gunfire are never as snappy, fast or bubbly as the trailer suggested. It's certainly nowhere near the league of 'Bourne Identity' director Doug Liman's superb 'Mr & Mrs Smith', which it clearly wants to imitate. Liman's film was given punch by brutal fast action with a genuine sense of danger, and bitingly funny wit that anyone in a relationship could identify with. It's hard to identify with a mentally unstable agent and a bemused bridesmaid who is perpetually disorientated throughout the film.
It does have some exciting moments - Mangold's car chases are superb and thrilling - and sometimes the comedy punches land. But this is more miss than hit.
A shame since I love Cruise and Diaz and was excited about seeing this film.
It's pretty, shiny, and fairly likeable.
But it's missing magic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
MINOR PLOT SPOILERS

The name Knight comes from the real name of Tom Cruise aka Rob Miller aka Matthew Knight. Plus he uses a toy knight to conceal an experimental battery that can power a whole city. I am sure there may be some other knight symbols, such as knight in shining armor etc., but the movie isn't designed to be that deep. Cruise bumps into Diaz (June) in an airport as they get on the same flight. After some innocent flirting Diaz goes into the airplane restroom and does some primping, trying to figure out how to hook up with Rob Miller (Cruise). While Diaz is looking in the mirror checking out her T&A, Cruise is being attacked by everyone on the plane. Diaz comes out, has a drink with Cruise who explains that the pilots are dead.

Later in the movie Diaz attempts to have a serious conversation with her former bf. As she explains about the airplane, he ignores her and tries to talk about "the relationship." The movie is filled with these numerous turn arounds, most of which come near the end. One chase scene reminded us of that "Mission Impossible" criticized impossible train explosion scene, as Cruise jumps to the wind shield of an automobile which Diaz is driving. Crusie jumps around building tops like The Phantom and at one point Diaz models a red bikini for us. Eventually Diaz gets into the whole spy thing and decides to take matters in her own hands. The movie is fun and clever. The action has impossible chase scenes, but what action movie doesn't. It would make a great date movie.

Occasional dropping of the F-bomb.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
VIDEO:

"Knight And Day" comes to blu ray with AVC-encoded 1080p 2.40:1 transfer, which was as slick as the movie itself. Contrast was high, with colour popping off the screen. Fine detail was deep. Those red bandanas worn by the running participants amidst the running of the bulls sequence really popped off the screen. Blacks were inky. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

The DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio really gave the home theatre speakers a real work-out, with tremendous surround effects, like the car chase in Boston. Gun shots ping-ponged around the room. The sound was quite realistic, that made you feel like you were actually in the midst of the chase. (5/5)

TRIVIA:

Tom Cruise received only $11 million pay for this film, instead of the $20+ millions that he usually received. The budget for this film was about $117 million, but it only grossed $76 million. And Tom Cruise actually dropped out of "The Tourist" to do this film. Of course, Johnny Depp took his place in "The Tourist". Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz did a majority of the stunts on their own. Both were avid drivers and had experience doing sharp turns and 180s. The car Cameron Diaz was driving in the chase scene was a 1966 Pontiac GTO with Martinique Bronze exterior and Parchment interior. Of course we all know that Tom Cruise personally owns a $2 million Bugatti Veyron.

GOOFS:

Errors in geography: When June was taken to Antonio's home in Seville, Spain, the city was celebrating the festival of San Fermin. Part of that was the famous running of the bulls, which happened in Pamplona, not Seville. Pamplona was in northern Spain; Seville was in southern Spain. Also, Knight's "tropical island" refuge was in the Azores, which were nowhere near the tropics. The CIA logo used in the movie looked nothing like the real CIA logo, however, US law prohibit the unauthorized reproduction of the insignia of any department or agency of the United States. Likely the producers did not receive authorization to use the CIA logo, therefore had to use a logo that bore no resemblance whatsoever to the real thing.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

"Knight And Day" brought together two superstars: Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz, with good chemistry between them. This was a fun, action-packed thrill ride that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It was an enjoyable 109 minutes. Thanks to 20th Century Fox for putting the subtitles within the picture frame, especially important for those with anamorphic lens and stretched picture. The Special Features were sparse, but it contained Knight and "Someday", featuring Black Eyed Peas and Tom Cruise, with Tom appearing during the Black Eyed Peas concert in O2 arena London. Tom Cruise actually asked the Black Eyed Peas to write the song Someday into the movie, which was also played during end credits. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Tom Cruise is back in another summer movie that is high on action and low on plot hole filler.

Diaz is on board to assist as the female sidekick. Have you seen Mr and Mrs Smith? Have you seen Mission Impossible 2? Have you seen True Lies? If you enjoyed these three movies, you will get something out of this.

The film centres around a Macguffin known as the battery, which offers something to someone, and Cruise has his hands on it. He meets Diaz, Crash lands a plane, and spouts a one liner. Hilarity ensues.

This carries on for the majority of the film, with Diaz falling more an more for Cruise, one scene that for any person who has 1% knowledge of movies, knows that Cruise isn't dead, and other set pieces being ripped off from other movies.

But it's not bad. For one, it's a summer movie, so all reality is thrown out of the window, because it's a star vehicle, and the makers know, that it will make some money.

The plane sequence isn't as exciting as the makers would like it to be. In all fairness, it's quite silly, but it's the poorest part of the film.

The warehouse scene is taken directly from Mr and Mrs Smith and True Lies respectively. The train scene has connotations toward Ubder Siege 2, and the bike set piece is totally ripped of from tomorrow Never dies.

But Cruise is great as always and lifts the film from absurdity. It's fun while it lasts but it's nothing memorable. The editing is slick as are the effects, although you feel that Cruise had some say, because when ever he does a huge jump or something dangerous, his head/body is put seamlessly on the screen (MI:2 is so ten years ago).

It's great for a first date movie, it goes along at a steady pace and isn't offensive, but than again so was six days and seven nights.

It's a summer movie of the highest order, and one of those movies that won't hold a special place in anyones heart who loves high concept.

See it, feel guilty about seeing it, but enjoy it.

It's not trying to be anything it isn't.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've got to admit, I'd heard bad things about Knight and Day almost from the start. No one seemed to think it would be good, so I wrote it off. Then I saw the first preview, and it looked like fun. So I decided to take a chance and actually watch it.

June Havens (Cameron Diaz) is trying to get back home to Boston as quickly as possible. She's thrilled when she is able to get on an earlier flight, especially when it seems that the flight is mostly empty. She begins talking to Roy Miller (Tom Cruise), a man she literally bumped into a couple times before boarding the flight.

Then things take a turn toward the unexpected. While June is in the bathroom, everyone on the plane except Roy is killed. He tells her some story about agents coming to question her before she passes out from drugs. Next thing she knows, she is home. And then the agents come and start questioning her. Is Roy a good guy or a bad guy? Who should she trust? And what has she stumbled into?

Now, if you are going into this movie looking for a serious action adventure, turn around, walk out, and get your money back before the show even starts. This is pure fun action. Part of that is just because the movie is a comedy. Some of the lines are pretty funny, and how June reacts to situations makes much of the movie work as well.

But even the action doesn't take itself too seriously. Don't get me wrong, I got that adrenalin rush at those scenes. But how they were getting out of those situations was pretty unbelievable. Frankly, I felt like the film was winking at us. Instead of saying, "Look at this cool stuff that is really happening," it said, "Look at us having fun. Doesn't this look cool even if we both know it could never happen." As I say, I enjoyed the scenes, but I never took them that seriously.

Having said that, the spy plot part of things does pretty much hold together. I can't really think of any major plot holes. It progressed from one point to the next very logically, taking me along for the ride.

And the cast was perfect. It pretty much falls to Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz to hold things together, and they do very well at it. Cameron Diaz especially is perfect as the ordinary woman caught up in a world she is not used to at all. Frankly, I could identify with her reactions to things most of the time.

I know that they put the best parts of the movie in the previews, and unfortunately that once again held mostly true here. There were some pretty funny scenes late in the film I hadn't seen in the ads. However, the movie wasn't quite the action movie or the comedy I expected. Heck, even the romance could have been developed more. What was here definitely worked. It could have just used more of it. My roommate was also expecting it to be funnier, although we both agreed that the comedy scenes were pretty funny.

Knight and Day doesn't take itself too seriously. As long as you sit down with the same expectations, you'll have a great time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
As all of you may know, my favourite type of film involves spy or secret agent activity. I was gifted this film on DVD and at first didn’t realise it involved spy activity. In the beginning the film can be slightly misleading and you do not realise how things could be leading and where both characters come in to the story line.

June Havens (Cameron Diaz) and Roy Miller (Tom Cruise) cross paths at the airport and June becomes tangled with a secret agent who is attempting to clear his name after surviving a mission he found out he shouldn’t have.

Throughout the course of this film you can’t catch whether Roy (Tom Cruise) is a good guy or a bad guy; which seems to be happening on a regular occurrence with Tom Cruise recently.

As always Cameron Diaz and Tom Cruise deliver in every film they do including this one with great enthusiasm and fun, they portray their characters very well and are two great actors which deliver the goods in every movie they star in, especially action movies.

This film delivers a roller coaster of emotions to the table as you don’t know what may happen next and where it could take you. This film is listed under a couple of genres including Action, Romance and Comedy. There is a slither of romance running through this film between June and Roy as you would always expect with any blockbuster movie. There is also a couple of occasions during the film with some dry comedy such as
“Nobody follow us or I kill myself and then her!”
“I’ve been trained to dismantle a bomb in the pitch black with nothing but a safety pin and a Junior Mint, I think I can get you in and out of some clothes without… looking. I’m not saying that’s what I did.”
Although these quotes may not make you laugh out loud they can be classed as dry comedy as you may have to think twice before finding it funny.

James Mangold the director of this movie has really impressed me with how this movie has gone. It is directed really well and edited very cleanly, although lacking some extra action shots that were built up but not delivered unfortunately.

All in all I would rate Knight & Day a 7 out of 10.

For more film and TV reviews please visit my blog at http://www.jordanmoody360.wordpress.com.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
'Knight and Day' is an action-comedy that released in 2010 to mixed critical acclaim. The total for the first weekend box office take in the U.S. for the movie was allegedly the worst result for an action film starring Tom Cruise in 20 years. However, the movie in the end has turned out to be a moderate success.

The movie tells the story of June Havens (Cameron Diaz) who somehow gets involved with a rogue secret agent, Roy Miller (Tom Cruise). Both of them are then hunted by the FBI who want their hands on Miller and also something important.

I watched the movie with low expectations and was in for a pleasant surprise. It was like going back to the 1990's and witnessing a good old popcorn action flick with a hint of light-hearted comedy. The feel of the movie just felt right, although the plot was wafer-thin. In a nutshell, it was entertaining.

The positive things about the movie were the exciting and stylish action set-peices, fast pace of the movie, energetic performances from Cruise and Diaz who shared a natural chemistry and an eye pleasing cinematography. I should also mention that the comic moments were quite funny.

The downside is the really stupid story but that is thankfully over-compensated by the above things. Otherwise, this would've been the disaster of the summer. Another flaw is the bland villains who do nothing for the movie.

Another thing that needs to be mentioned is the ending, which is the CORNIEST movie climax I've seen in ages. It must be a good thing since it made me laugh.

Cruise pitches in a committed and cool performance combined with some cracking one-liners. His presence itself makes the feature more than watchable. Cruise proves that he is still a star. Diaz compliments Cruise step-by-step and holds her own against him. She is a treat to watch. The romance angle between the actors is done well. The great chemistry between Cruise and Diaz combined with their amusing dialogue exchanges actually saves the movie from mediocracy. The only realistic point is that the age of both actors is starting to show.

The direction provided by James Mangold mainly works on the style and not the substance. He could've worked on character development and made sense of a number of mindless scenes. Overall, his direction was acceptable as he caused Cruise and Diaz to flourish and executed the action scenes in a slick manner.

The cinematography by Phedon Papamichael especially in the exotic locales is worthy of a mention.

The background music score by John Powell is lively and adds excitement to the action.

Right, the movie had a lot of development problems where the makers were unsure who to cast as the lead actors, which isn't a good start. A different director and multiple writers had worked on the script prior to everything being finalised, which is evident when viewing the feature. Also, there were funding problems, which the makers resolved to an extent by paying Cruise a lower advance fee. They also neglected to provide him with a share of the revenue until the financiers earned back their initial investment in the production. All in all, a shaky project where it's clear on watching the final product that the end result could've been a BLOCKBUSTER.

When speaking about promotional aspects of the movie, the trailer is guilty of killing of any audience interest. The trailers were just lame. I also found that the title of the film didn't grab my attention. In my opinion, these two things could've been changed to the advantage of the feature.

'Knight and Day' for me was an unwinding CHEESEFEST and an ideal summer actioner. It's most enjoyable if you take it for what it is.
33 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Hello and welcome to my Blu Ray review.

This was one of 2 blu ray films I bought (the other being Unstoppable). I had seen the trailers for the film and it looked really exciting and I wanted to see it. So I put it on and decided to watch.

I will not talk about the storyline (as other reveiwers would have done that) and I shall talk about the action scenes etc. Putting it mild I was expecting a top notch thriller but what I got was a very far fetched action film.

An action sequence involved Tom Cruise shooting at people while on the roof of a car speeding. A car blowing up and going over him as he laid flat and it missing him. I was sat there thinking yeah right.

Cameron Diaz doesn't really do much as Tom is constantly drugging her. I did enjoy the film for what it was but I won't be watching it anytime soon. It's just basically a round the world Bond type film.

The picture quality is very good and the sound is top notch. You do get the extended cut and the cinema cut. The special features are plenty and i'll admit you could do worse but again you could do better. There is also the DVD and Digital Copy in the box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This action comedy starring Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz is one of the silliest films I have seen - but it was also quite entertaining.

If you try for one moment to take this seriously you will end by pulling it to pieces - but it isn't meant to be taken seriously.

From the insane car chases, gun fights, a plane crash, convoluted plots with cartoonish villains, to the final role reversed ending where Cameron Diaz's character plays the same tricks on Tom Cruise's character that he played on her earlier in the film, it is charming nonsense which delivers constant action.

Cruise and Diaz are engagingly funny, and their acting skills and onscreen chemistry save what could easily have been a complete turkey and make it fun to watch.

No, it's not a masterpiece, indeed it's impossible nonsense on many levels, but it also manages to be entertaining nonsense which is fine if you just want to escape from the real world for a couple of hours, relax and have a laugh. Just put it in your DVD player, turn off your brain, and enjoy the ride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)