Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A touching, heartfelt love story
Dear John is the story of a special forces soldier, John (Channing Tatum) who meets his soul mate, Savannah (Amanda Seyfried) whilst on leave between tours of Iraq/Afghanistan. Whilst their time together is limited but they both realise that they mean something truly significant to each other and decide to persevere despite the difficulties facing them. They continue to...
Published on 19 April 2010 by J. Morris

versus
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by the ending
'Dear John' is the third novel to film adaptation from the popular american writer Nicholas Sparks that I've had the 'pleasure' of watching (the first two being 'The Notebook' and 'A walk to Remember'). After a wonderful trailer, and having thoroughly enjoyed the previous two film adaptations, I was looking forward to seeing 'Dear John' until the negative reviews started...
Published on 5 Aug 2010 by Marly Z


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A touching, heartfelt love story, 19 April 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Dear John is the story of a special forces soldier, John (Channing Tatum) who meets his soul mate, Savannah (Amanda Seyfried) whilst on leave between tours of Iraq/Afghanistan. Whilst their time together is limited but they both realise that they mean something truly significant to each other and decide to persevere despite the difficulties facing them. They continue to write to each other for the length of John's service, stealing what precious moments together whenever they can. When John's loyalty to his unit and his 'band-of-brothers' means re-enlisting; he is plunged into a dichotomy on where his loyalties truly lie; with Savannah or the military.

The characters are very believable, if a little too wholesome sometimes, with both the leads providing tangible emotional range and lending some real gravity to the plot. Channing Tatum fits the part of a rough-around-the-edges soldier well and Seyfried is the ideal girl-next-door. John's single father is a worthy addition to the story, furthing straining John's already divided loyalty.

The scenery throughout the film is breathtakingly beautiful, the director Lasse Hallestrom has used the natural beauty of South Carolinian beach evenings and the verdant lawns of colonial houses framed by spanish moss-laden trees to perfect effect. On top of all of this is a memorable score with some real stand out tracks - Paperweight by Joshua Radin and Schuyler Fisk deserves a special mention.

In conclusion, whilst this film won't change your life or cause you to reassess your understanding of love; this is a great film with some honestly touching moments. I recommend this to everyone, grab your significant other and curl up for a memorable couple of hours!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear John DVD, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: Dear John [DVD] (DVD)
Such a very moving story, make sure you have your tissues at the ready!! Great value for money. Lovely, touching film :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hand me the book..., 5 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Dear John [DVD] (DVD)
It is very difficult for a film to ever be as good as the book and this was no exception. The book was an agonisingly beautiful and so was the film but it just didn't come across as emotional as the book. Throughout the book I cried repeatedly but in the film I just blubbed every now and again.

John is in the American army to escape from his troublesome childhood. His father was always difficult and even more so after he was left with john as a baby. You then have Savannah who is on a sort of 'spring break' and stumbles across john and develops a deep love for him. John then has to go back to Iraq for war and their relationship continues through letters until one day it all goes sour...

It is hard to write short hand a blurb of sorts for this film without giving everything away and I would not want to do that as reading the book and watching the film makes you enjoy it even more. I could not describe how beautiful and touching this book is to your heart as it has to be seen to understand. Grief, illness, anger and happiness are all explored throughout the film and are portrayed very well but just not as well as the book. I would defiantly recommend this film but I would honestly read the book first as it will let you appreciate the film so much more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slight letdown after the book, 13 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Dear John [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing and reading all of Nicholas Sparks's movies and books, I found the book version of Dear John to be the best. It detailed a love story that proved the effect of distance on a relationship, and how even the most perfect romances have their problems. The film quite accurately portrayed the love between John and Savannah, and the story was built up nicely. The sub plot in the book which concerns the relationship between John and his father is what makes the movie, and both actors really draw you into the movie.

However, although I am a fan of Amanda Seyfried, her acting in the movie appeared at times to be forced, and in one scene instead of crying (as she should be), she seemed to be laughing. The ending also seemed to change the true message that the book so fully explained, which was a shame. All in all though, Dear John was an enjoyable movie, but don't expect a repeat of the amazing adaptation that was The Notebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by the ending, 5 Aug 2010
This review is from: Dear John [DVD] (DVD)
'Dear John' is the third novel to film adaptation from the popular american writer Nicholas Sparks that I've had the 'pleasure' of watching (the first two being 'The Notebook' and 'A walk to Remember'). After a wonderful trailer, and having thoroughly enjoyed the previous two film adaptations, I was looking forward to seeing 'Dear John' until the negative reviews started flooding in (the film currently has a 5.9/10 rating on IMDb and a 28% rating on Rotten Tomatoes). However, never one to rely only on other people's opinions and always in favour of forming my own, I decided to take the plunge and watch 'Dear John'...and for once I really wish I did just listen to the critics!

Lets lay down brief plot synopsis before continuing. On spring vacation for two weeks, school girl Savannah (played by 'Mamma Mia!'s Amanda Seyfried) meets and falls in love with soldier John Tyree (played by the gorgeous Channing Tatum) who is on leave for a few weeks before he must return to the army to complete his final year of service. Before parting ways, Savannah and John promise to keep in touch through letters - and they do (hence the title 'Dear John'). However, just before John's 1 year is complete the September 11 attacks occur and John feels obliged to sign up for an additional 2 years service, something Savannah can't handle. To find out what happens next - watch the film!

Despite liking the initial hour or so of the film, I felt that the latter half let down the former so badly that it has tainted my enjoyment of the entire film. There was so much potential here, interesting characters, an interesting situation, but after John received a certain letter (those who have watched the film will know what I am talking about) the film went downhill for me, and the dwindling, anti-climactic ending didn't do anything to help save the day. I have another bone to pick as well - which is more of a problem with the source material (or, more precisely the author) than this actual adaptation. From the three film adaptations I've watched, all of Nicholas Sparks' novels are the same They all feature a tough 'bad boy' who is either poor, a trouble maker, or has anger issues (etc) who fall in love with a beautiful, innocent, VirginMary-esque girl who make them change who they are, and give them a new reason to live. But of course, something always comes in the way after a brief yet intense romance, and the rest of the story is about the star-crossed lovers regretting their earlier choices and pining the fact they're not together like they should be. If I was 14 years old I would be eating this stuff up, and even now I understand the appeal, but I do think it's ridiculous for an author to write the same story over and over again.

Although my review may seem harsh, I have to confess that I did enjoy much of the film and if it wasn't for the awfully poor ending, this review would have had at least a couple more stars added to it's rating. I don't know whether it's due to the source material, or lazy film makers, but after an hour the story fell completely flat and let down what could have been a very good film indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Dear John [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I think that this movie has a very high entertaining level,and also some thoughts on life itself...can only recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: Dear John [DVD] (DVD)
What a lovely story. Slightly sad at the end but it is happy too. If you enjoyed The Notebook you will love this one from Nicholas Sparks. There is also great chemistry between the actors which is rare these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For The Romantics, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear John [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my daughter , and she loved it. Bit predictable , but who cares ! Nice to watch a 'nice ' film once in a while.Lovely straightforward love story. Would recommend 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dear John, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Dear John [DVD] (DVD)
I fell in love with this film any most girls will Channing Tatum Is so Gorgeous in this movie i could watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!a, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: Dear John [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this film and was sobbing from about half way through
its a brilliant film with unexpected twists
bit of a little strange ending but overall fab for the whole family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2686984)

This product

Dear John [DVD]
Dear John [DVD] by Channing Tatum (DVD - 2010)
4.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews