Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' best soundtrack album
This is the strongest collection of songs put together for an Elvis movie, rivalled only by Blue Hawaii.
Released in 1960 to tie in with the film, which was the first following his discharge from the US Army, the album sold in droves and the film was a huge box-office success.G.I. Blues [DVD] [1960]
The standout track is the classic Wooden Heart which was a...
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by Al-13

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Why add these extra tracks? they spoil what woud have been an excellent release.
This would be an excellent 180g soundtrack album, but is spoiled by the addition of 4 extra tracks which have no relevance to the original soundtrack album, Would it not have been better to include alternate takes or other versions of the movie songs. It just seems like wax time have just added these tracks without much thought, and as a result have spoiled the...
Published 8 months ago by S. Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' best soundtrack album, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Al-13 (Newcastle,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: G.i. Blues (Audio CD)
This is the strongest collection of songs put together for an Elvis movie, rivalled only by Blue Hawaii.
Released in 1960 to tie in with the film, which was the first following his discharge from the US Army, the album sold in droves and the film was a huge box-office success.G.I. Blues [DVD] [1960]
The standout track is the classic Wooden Heart which was a worlwide number one hit but all the other songs are much better than a lot of the stuff that featured in later Elvis films.
Tonight Is So Right For Love uses as it's melody the Barcarolle from Offenbach's opera The Tales of Hoffman and comes over very well. There is a slower acoustic version of Blue Suede Shoes and two very catchy songs are Didja Ever and Frankfurt Special.
The musicianship and production are good and Elvis sounds committed and in good voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master returns, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.i. Blues (Audio CD)
I offered to buy my wife the new Elvis Favourites Album for Christmas, she said no because she had all the tracks on compilations anyway, as she's in her sixties I though why not get her four favourite Albums on CD.
So I bought "G.I. Blues", Blue Hawaii", "King Creole" and "Elvis is Back". She loves them, she's not one for going over the top but she says that these are excellent.
So if you want to hear the "King" properly" you can't go wrong with one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GI Blues - can't live without it!, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: G.i. Blues (Audio CD)
Elvis hated his films didn't he, but its all we have left of him. This one I reckon is one of the better ones, nice chick flick story line and the uniforms give the ladies a bit more to watch. Great Sunday afternoon film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars G.I. Blues, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.i. Blues (Audio CD)
Elvis at his best.
The sound track is very good (even rainbow is good on the cd unlike in the film)
A must have in any Elvis fan collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Why add these extra tracks? they spoil what woud have been an excellent release., 3 Mar 2014
By 
S. Fletcher (peterborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This would be an excellent 180g soundtrack album, but is spoiled by the addition of 4 extra tracks which have no relevance to the original soundtrack album, Would it not have been better to include alternate takes or other versions of the movie songs. It just seems like wax time have just added these tracks without much thought, and as a result have spoiled the release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldies, 27 July 2013
By 
Mr. K. J. Keal (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.i. Blues (Audio CD)
I am a fan of his earlier work (before L.A.) so was delighted to pick up this CD at a reasonable price, to add to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.i. Blues (Audio CD)
Love this album . Great music ,great singer, complete soundtrack from the film, Elvis at his best ! would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best!, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.i. Blues (Audio CD)
Bought for my mother. Saw the film with her when I was about 6 yrs old. She was in her late twenties and an Elvis fan.
This was a mother's day present, what more do you want. And cheap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we thought the service was very good and the c.d. excellent, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.i. Blues (Audio CD)
recommend the product to any one who is and elvis fan and would like to hear a track that they had forgotten about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars replacemnet, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.I. Blues (Audio CD)
used to have copy of this LP but it got damaged so glad to see it on cd and l got myself a copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

G.i. Blues
G.i. Blues by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews