Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2010
Finaly all songs of Viva Las Vegas on one album. The best thing of this cd is, that the songs sound how they should sound. This is the best sound there is. You could find this album also on the Double Features album/cd with Roustabout, but forget that one. This is the only cd who do justice to the original songs of the album. On the US release of the album Flaming star you could already hear some songs of Viva Las Vegas in the way they should sound. Now you can buy the whole Viva Las Vegas album in the same quality. It is the difference between playing a cd or not. Well, i played this cd more times allready the Double Features cd that is years in my posession. Some strange mastering they did with a couple of songs with that one, with a lot of echo in Elvis voice. This cd is even better than the collectors FTD cd where they eliminated all echo in a way that that cd doesn't sound either how it should sound. And this cd is about 1/4 of price of the FTD release.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2010
At last Sony have released the full Viva Las Vegas/Love in Las Vegas soundtrack album and at a budget price. Originally, the soundtrack was a vinyl extended play single with just four tracks. Then we got the classic single, Viva Las Vegas / What'd I say and many years later half a dozen extra songs started to appear on various compilation albums. Finally, we get all twelve songs together on one CD. The film may have been average but the songs from writers such as Pomus Shuman, Lieber Stoller, Joy Byers etc. were definately top drawer and Elvis never sounded better.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
The first thing i noticed about this album is that the sound has been sabotaged by a ridiculous mix. I love the sound of Elvis voice more than any other, but it is just way too high in the mix here, to the extent that the instruments are quiet in comparison, which leaves the recording feeling kind of 'dead' and makes the album sound very tame and 'loung-room' like. For a comparison listen to the mix of the early sixties material (such as Elvis Is Back and Something For Everybody) and you will hear that the drums really BOOM and CRACK, the guitars are crystal clear due to being high in the mix (amongst other things), the bass is rumbling nicely and Elvis' great vocals tie it all together beautifully. But here, on this album, the instrumentation sounds muted and drab due to the excessive volume of Elvis lead vocals.

The first six songs on this album (putting the dire mixing aside for a moment) are great and of the same high quality that Elvis was presented with after army duty. The second half of the album is fairly poor though - typical soundtrack material that is too theatrical and quirky to be taken seriously. I will also add that i think that the version of Today, Tomorrow And Forever on the album ought to have been the duet with Ann Margaret, as it is far superior. Then again, better yet, they could have put both versions on this album.

I have subsequently read in interviews with people around Elvis (such as Jerry Schilling and with regard to later albums, the great Ronnie Tutt) that Tom Parker was the one responsible for abusing the mixes in Elvis albums (after sessions were completed and the album had left the studio), and that this was something he continued doing almost until the end. Apparently, by pushing Elvis vocals to the max in the mix, the artistically ignorant 'Colonel' was attempting to cater specifically to the female listener, who he believed was more likely to be satisfied with a tamer vocal-heavy sound. No doubt he beleived that females made up the bulk of the record-buying public.

I cannot understand why this attrocious mixing hasn't been reversed in recent years, as it really needs it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
Elvis's popularity was already dipping when the movie `Love in Las Vegas' (`Viva Las Vegas' in the USA) came out in 1964, mainly due to British bands (like The Beatles) bringing a new take on pop music to the teen market on both sides of the Atlantic. In fact, The Beatles' first film, `A Hard Day's Night', came out in the same year and did much, much better at the box office than this Elvis movie.

The soundtrack to `Love in Las Vegas' was not released in its entirety at the time. Instead, fans got a vinyl single and an EP (extended play) record, the latter comprising four tracks. A further track (the light operatic song, Santa Lucia) was included on the excellent `Elvis for Everyone' LP in 1965. A couple of other tracks made it on to the first `budget' Elvis LP `Flaming Star' in 1969.

Yet this was one of the better films Elvis made in the Sixties. Despite the pressure to crank out songs for movie after movie, the soundtrack is strong (apart from `The Yellow Rose of Texas/ The Eyes of Texas'), too, and is well worth listening to again. Ironically, the title track `Viva Las Vegas' has become a real standard and (I believe) gets much more airplay these days than the title song of that first Beatles' film!

Whilst there is a filmic production quality to the tracks, they remain highly enjoyable in their own right. Perhaps the real gem is `I Need Somebody to Lean On'. Elvis was 28 when these songs were recorded in 1963 and his voice had a pure, direct quality in that period that really comes through on this ballad.

The cover of Ray Charles's `What'd I Say' (issued on the single with `Viva Las Vegas' at the time of the film's release) is a blast, as is the up-tempo `If You Think I Don't Need You'.

The ballad `Today, Tomorrow and Forever' is a fine song, as it should be considering the melody, i.e. Liebestraum by Frans Liszt (though this is not acknowledged in the credits).

There are two duets with Anne-Margret, the co-star of the movie. Both are enjoyable. `You're the Boss' has a teasing Samba feel, and `The Lady Loves Me' is pure pop to-and-fro, a little in the vein of that old standard written by Frank Loesser, `Baby, It's Cold Outside'.

There are no `extras' on this CD. It is the musical soundtrack of the movie and nothing else. The twelve tracks have durations ranging between 1 minute 11 seconds (`Santa Lucia') to 3 minutes 41 seconds (`The Lady Loves Me'). If you are like me, you'll find yourself hitting that replay button a lot.

The cover design is based upon the above mentioned EP sleeve. Inside, there are lists of the songs (with recording dates and song-writer credits) and the contributing musicians. There is also a brief summary of the movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
Hubby loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
it's good to see the songs from viva las vegas together at last and on the same album. but why oh why did they not include the movie version of c'mon everybody. it's far superior to the already released version. hopefully one day the movie version willbe released. until then vivalas elvis
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
This is a 2010 re-issue but without any bonus tracks / out-takes. Is said to be in slightly better sound than all previous re-issues. Can someone please confirm this?
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Good value, good communications about delivery. Faster arrival than expected. Very pleased. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Great film but some songs missing off the cd which is disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
ELVIS AT HIS BEST AND LOVE THE TITLE SONG.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.98
£5.48
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)