Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Viva Las Vegas release till now. Best sound!!!
Finaly all songs of Viva Las Vegas on one album. The best thing of this cd is, that the songs sound how they should sound. This is the best sound there is. You could find this album also on the Double Features album/cd with Roustabout, but forget that one. This is the only cd who do justice to the original songs of the album. On the US release of the album Flaming star...
Published on 11 July 2010 by M. Bergshoeff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been So Much Better
The first thing i noticed about this album is that the sound has been sabotaged by a ridiculous mix. I love the sound of Elvis voice more than any other, but it is just way too high in the mix here, to the extent that the instruments are quiet in comparison, which leaves the recording feeling kind of 'dead' and makes the album sound very tame and 'loung-room' like. For...
Published 17 months ago by Calgacus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Viva Las Vegas release till now. Best sound!!!, 11 July 2010
By 
M. Bergshoeff (Maarssenbroek, Utrecht Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Viva Las Vegas (Audio CD)
Finaly all songs of Viva Las Vegas on one album. The best thing of this cd is, that the songs sound how they should sound. This is the best sound there is. You could find this album also on the Double Features album/cd with Roustabout, but forget that one. This is the only cd who do justice to the original songs of the album. On the US release of the album Flaming star you could already hear some songs of Viva Las Vegas in the way they should sound. Now you can buy the whole Viva Las Vegas album in the same quality. It is the difference between playing a cd or not. Well, i played this cd more times allready the Double Features cd that is years in my posession. Some strange mastering they did with a couple of songs with that one, with a lot of echo in Elvis voice. This cd is even better than the collectors FTD cd where they eliminated all echo in a way that that cd doesn't sound either how it should sound. And this cd is about 1/4 of price of the FTD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva this release, 19 April 2010
This review is from: Viva Las Vegas (Audio CD)
At last Sony have released the full Viva Las Vegas/Love in Las Vegas soundtrack album and at a budget price. Originally, the soundtrack was a vinyl extended play single with just four tracks. Then we got the classic single, Viva Las Vegas / What'd I say and many years later half a dozen extra songs started to appear on various compilation albums. Finally, we get all twelve songs together on one CD. The film may have been average but the songs from writers such as Pomus Shuman, Lieber Stoller, Joy Byers etc. were definately top drawer and Elvis never sounded better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be lucky..., 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva Las Vegas (Audio CD)
Elvis's popularity was already dipping when the movie `Love in Las Vegas' (`Viva Las Vegas' in the USA) came out in 1964, mainly due to British bands (like The Beatles) bringing a new take on pop music to the teen market on both sides of the Atlantic. In fact, The Beatles' first film, `A Hard Day's Night', came out in the same year and did much, much better at the box office than this Elvis movie.

The soundtrack to `Love in Las Vegas' was not released in its entirety at the time. Instead, fans got a vinyl single and an EP (extended play) record, the latter comprising four tracks. A further track (the light operatic song, Santa Lucia) was included on the excellent `Elvis for Everyone' LP in 1965. A couple of other tracks made it on to the first `budget' Elvis LP `Flaming Star' in 1969.

Yet this was one of the better films Elvis made in the Sixties. Despite the pressure to crank out songs for movie after movie, the soundtrack is strong (apart from `The Yellow Rose of Texas/ The Eyes of Texas'), too, and is well worth listening to again. Ironically, the title track `Viva Las Vegas' has become a real standard and (I believe) gets much more airplay these days than the title song of that first Beatles' film!

Whilst there is a filmic production quality to the tracks, they remain highly enjoyable in their own right. Perhaps the real gem is `I Need Somebody to Lean On'. Elvis was 28 when these songs were recorded in 1963 and his voice had a pure, direct quality in that period that really comes through on this ballad.

The cover of Ray Charles's `What'd I Say' (issued on the single with `Viva Las Vegas' at the time of the film's release) is a blast, as is the up-tempo `If You Think I Don't Need You'.

The ballad `Today, Tomorrow and Forever' is a fine song, as it should be considering the melody, i.e. Liebestraum by Frans Liszt (though this is not acknowledged in the credits).

There are two duets with Anne-Margret, the co-star of the movie. Both are enjoyable. `You're the Boss' has a teasing Samba feel, and `The Lady Loves Me' is pure pop to-and-fro, a little in the vein of that old standard written by Frank Loesser, `Baby, It's Cold Outside'.

There are no `extras' on this CD. It is the musical soundtrack of the movie and nothing else. The twelve tracks have durations ranging between 1 minute 11 seconds (`Santa Lucia') to 3 minutes 41 seconds (`The Lady Loves Me'). If you are like me, you'll find yourself hitting that replay button a lot.

The cover design is based upon the above mentioned EP sleeve. Inside, there are lists of the songs (with recording dates and song-writer credits) and the contributing musicians. There is also a brief summary of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars viva las elvis, 1 Sep 2010
By 
M. J. Hampton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva Las Vegas (Audio CD)
it's good to see the songs from viva las vegas together at last and on the same album. but why oh why did they not include the movie version of c'mon everybody. it's far superior to the already released version. hopefully one day the movie version willbe released. until then vivalas elvis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been So Much Better, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Calgacus (Ayrshire, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva Las Vegas (Audio CD)
The first thing i noticed about this album is that the sound has been sabotaged by a ridiculous mix. I love the sound of Elvis voice more than any other, but it is just way too high in the mix here, to the extent that the instruments are quiet in comparison, which leaves the recording feeling kind of 'dead' and makes the album sound very tame and 'loung-room' like. For a comparison listen to the mix of the early sixties material (such as Elvis Is Back and Something For Everybody) and you will hear that the drums really BOOM and CRACK, the guitars are crystal clear due to being high in the mix (amongst other things), the bass is rumbling nicely and Elvis' great vocals tie it all together beautifully. But here, on this album, the instrumentation sounds muted and drab due to the excessive volume of Elvis lead vocals.

The first six songs on this album (putting the dire mixing aside for a moment) are great and of the same high quality that Elvis was presented with after army duty. The second half of the album is fairly poor though - typical soundtrack material that is too theatrical and quirky to be taken seriously. I will also add that i think that the version of Today, Tomorrow And Forever on the album ought to have been the duet with Ann Margaret, as it is far superior. Then again, better yet, they could have put both versions on this album.

I have subsequently read in interviews with people around Elvis (such as Jerry Schilling and with regard to later albums, the great Ronnie Tutt) that Tom Parker was the one responsible for abusing the mixes in Elvis albums (after sessions were completed and the album had left the studio), and that this was something he continued doing almost until the end. Apparently, by pushing Elvis vocals to the max in the mix, the artistically ignorant 'Colonel' was attempting to cater specifically to the female listener, who he believed was more likely to be satisfied with a tamer vocal-heavy sound. No doubt he beleived that females made up the bulk of the record-buying public.

I cannot understand why this attrocious mixing hasn't been reversed in recent years, as it really needs it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER RE-ISSUE, 7 Feb 2010
By 
A. J. Dobb "DJ TONY" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva Las Vegas (Audio CD)
This is a 2010 re-issue but without any bonus tracks / out-takes. Is said to be in slightly better sound than all previous re-issues. Can someone please confirm this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect sound..., 20 July 2010
By 
Can Balkan (istanbul Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva Las Vegas (Audio CD)
Buy it without any hesitate. Because it's a piece of film history, a piece of Elvis, The King of popuplar music.The price is very cheap too. You won't regret it.BUY IT !!!An Elvis fan 28 years old...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely, 1 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Viva Las Vegas (Audio CD)
fabulous fantastic and marvellous CD. I love all things Elvis and no fan can call themselves a true fan if they don't give this album 5 stars! What's wrong with you people???
It's a fantastic album, I love all the songs and sing along (loudly) every time I play it in my car.
The film of course was drivel but I still love it and the chemistry between Elvis and Ann-Margret was terrific.
This is one CD you cannot live without. In fact, you have to own all Elvis' work before you can be classified a true fan. Bliss, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Viva Las Vegas
Viva Las Vegas by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews