Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars100
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 8 August 2011
Bon Jovi had been struggling to hit the big time with their 1st two albums and their third would be the deciding factor on whether or not the band would be commercially viable for Mercury Records. Fortunately, the bands teaming up with rock producer Bruce Fairbairn, engineered Bob Rock and songwriter Desmond Child proved to a step in the right direction. Layered with the sound establishing with their debut and their second album, the band furthered their nack for catchy hooks and created on of the most successful album of all time spawning 2 USA number 1 singles with 'You Give Love A Bad Name' and 'Livin' On A Prayer' this album is still popular.

I had a few gripes about this edition of the album. First all all we only have 3 additional songs - live tracks recorded from 1986/1987. There are no outtakes from recording session, no b-sides just three sub-standard recorded live version of songs that have appeared on number singles (though recorded at different times). A second CD of B-Sides, outtakes and live songs would have been sensible but having purchased it the words 'rip-off' ring true. My second issue is the packaging. Fans were promised new photos with the packaging but what we get is a blurry snap of the band. A biography detailing the Slippery When Wet years 1986-1987 replaces the lyric book of the 1998 special edition which was far superior. The CD does give you access to online content and you are able to buy, yes buy, an MP3 of a live song from

Believe me you are not missing out if you skip this edition of the album. If you new to Bon Jovi and want to buy Slippery When Wet buy the 1998 remastered edition because it's better value for money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 February 2014
This is Bon Jovi album is the bands biggest selling album with over 28 million copies sold to date, a No. 1 US and No. 6 UK album.

"Livin' On A Prayer" was the first rock track of its genre that I appreciated back in 1986. This along with "You Give Love A Bad Name" must rank individually as two of the best rock songs of all time, and they did have the distinction of becoming the first consecutive No. 1 US rock singles by the same band. "Wanted Dead Or Alive" is another absolute classic. "Never Say Goodbye" although the last and least successful of the four singles (by the time of its release as a single the album sales had rocketed) is also stunning.

I've mentioned the big singles, but right from the off with "Let It Rock" you know the album is high drama, high energy. Other tracks such as "Social Disease", "Without Love" are more than mere album fillers. Each track is worthy of its contribution to this rock master piece.

What makes this album stand out in the genre is that the lyrics are crystal clear unlike other rock bands who could easily fall into the trap of just being noisy. This is not he case here. The music is loud, but perfectly balanced so it draws you in, gets you playing air guitar and rocking along.

The special edition which features live versions of the big hits serves to re-enforce the talent of the group as a top live act and also as musicians.

It is their musical ability and balance that have probably allowed Bon Jovi to stand the test of time unlike some of their contemporaries who were left behind at the end of the eighties.

The hour spent listening to this classic has just flown by, which is an indication of how good this album is, as it shows there no reason to advance it on at any point.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on 19 November 2004
those who have this album and those who want to get it!
This is one if not the best album of the last twenty years and yet I only heard of it one night watching TV.
Nothing else was on, so I flicked on VH1 to watch "Great Albums" and this came up. Now I'd heard of Bon Jovi. I remembered when I was much younger going on the London underground and seeing Bon Jovi posters everywhere. The only songs of theirs I knew were 'Livin' on a prayer' just because at any decent club, party or school disco, this song gets played, and 'It's my life' because it came out when I was mid-teens and vaguely remembered it (and liked it).
Watching this programme I was hit with a furore of musical magic especially 'Livin' on a prayer', and must confess that my first thought was "I now know what album that song is on."
I still had not heard a large portion of the album and again must admit buying it pretty much for the one song. However, when I got it home and put it in, I was determined that this album I should listen to fully and so put it in, almost anxiously waiting for song 3 ('Livin' on a prayer') to come on. Yet, by the end of the second song ('You give love a bad name'), I knew, somehow, that I had stumbled upon an album that is nothing short of a classic. I played the rest of the album and the rest they say is history. Beware though, no song-skipping because if you do that and do not play each and every song on this album at full length, then you will miss out!
This album has the unique ability of not having a bad song on it, even though there are weaker ones, and yet having a multiple choice of songs that could be the best on it. This has already been done in another review but I'll just give my brief synopsis on each of the songs plus a 5 star rating:
1. 'Let it rock'- 4/5, slow starter, but the length of the song actually does it proud. By the final chords you'll be waving your arms and screaming wildly as if you're in that great rock concert that never happened!
2. 'You give love a bad name'- 5/5, just by the song's opening, you can tell that a fist-pumping classic is on the way! The 'best song ever' until you put on...
3. 'Livin' on a prayer'- 5/5, isn't the title enough to get you reminiscing of the great disco evenings of old? Will be remembered as a classic and their best known song!
4. 'Social disease'- 3/5, you think someone's been tampering with the CD at the song's opening. Slightly disappointing chorus to a song that is still actually a great deal of fun!
5. 'Wanted dead or alive'- 5/5, unnerving start makes the end product all the more satisfying.
6. 'Raise your hands'- 4/5, great, fun song that'll have everyone singing the chorus!
7. 'Without love'- 4/5, not as slow as 'Never say goodbye', but still a moving melody.
8. 'I'd die for you'-3/5, everyone else likes this more than I, as I think that it is the weakest song on the album, mainly because the others are just so absolutely unbelievably brilliant. It is still, however, a solid song.
9. 'Never say goodbye'- 4/5, some have said that this song is boring but I completely disagree. This song really is superb in how moving it is.
10. 'Wild in the streets'- 4/5, only song that wasn't written by lead guitarist and backing vocalist Richie Sambora and lead signer Jon Bon Jovi. Jon Bon Jovi's solo effort is an extremely uplifting song (which let's face it you need after song 9) that's a good way to crown a superb album!
11. 'Wanted Dead or Alive' (Video only)- 5/5, same song, just with the bonus of its video. Well worth putting the disc in your PC or whatever to check it out.
The music on the album is fit for all sorts of moods and all sorts of places. I listened to this on a long distance car ride with a load of friends in which everyone was singing (poorly) at the top of their voices. Alternatively, you can just pump your fists privately in your bedroom ( not to mention air-guitaring), or stick it on in the background at a large garden party and know that nobody will mind.
This is quite simply, a superb album!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Growing up in the 90's I could never get into the music of the time. I seemed to be surrounded by generic girl and boy bands with nothing really jumping out. The internet was just getting started so it was hard as a child to listen to anything different than what was being drummed at me through the radio. So one particularly drab day I decided to venture into my older sisters bedroom to scour her music collection, trying to find at least something a little different.

Enter Slipper When Wet.

Don't get me wrong Bon Jovi were huge back then. But I'd never heard anything of them except a vague memory of hearing 'Livin' on a Prayer' at some point somewhere. The cover was just amazing. So simple. Plain. Yet speaking volumes. (I was quite amused later in life to discover the bright pink alternate cover that ALMOST made it).

Dropping the CD into the CD player from the very first guitar chord and into the keyboard riff of 'Let it Rock' this album got me hooked and opened my young mind up to the rock band genre and I never looked back. You've got the old favourites and more well known songs on here like 'Livin' on a Prayer' 'You Give Love a Bad Name' and 'Wanted Dead or Alive' but even the other 'lesser known' tracks are absolutely fantastic. 'Raise Your Hands' and 'Wild in the Streets' are amazing pick me up songs as well as my all-time favourite track from the album 'Never Say Goodbye' which always brings back happy and semi-sad memories of old schools times.

I'd be lying if I said that the bands music hasn't gradually deteriorated over the years. Through each of the new albums it's obvious that they have became a little confused with what direction they wanted to go and then tried their best to recapture what they had back in their heyday. Unsuccessfully it seems. They've made some fairly decent songs lately but have never really captured the quality of Slippery, with possibly the exception of Crush.

There are a lot of good musicians out there, and their albums are always made up of some very good solid songs, but there are always a few forgettable ones mixed in that never seem to cut it. But once in a while a band gets it down 100% and release a solid album that's amazing from start to finish. Metallica have the Black Album, Michael Jackson has Thriller and Bon Jovi have Slippery When Wet.

If you're going to own one Bon Jovi album you won't go wrong with Slippery When Wet. This has sat in my top 10 albums of all time since I was very young and I can't see it ever slipping.

I can honestly say I will Never Say Goodbye to this album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
After a slightly disappointing second album, Bon Jovi bounced back with what will go down in history as a classic album. There's not really a dull track here, so my star ratings below are relative to the the best tracks. This opens with the brilliantly sing out loud 'Let it Rock', seemingly designed purely to be an opener and sets the tone for the rest of the album. Then we hear Jon shout out the opening lines of 'You Give Love a Bad Name' and know they're just getting started, moving on to the uplifting and now classic 'Livin' on a Prayer'. 'Social Disease' seems almost a generic rocker, but still has some charm. Then we get to probably the best track on the album, 'Wanted, Dead or Alive'; the song that cemented the band's status as cowboys, an image they would use again in their following album. 'Raise Your Hands' is a fantastic crowd rousing song that suffers from being very similar from start to finish. 'Without Love' is probably the weakest point of the album. Still very good, it does have a generic feel to it. 'I'd Die For You' and 'Never Say Goodbye' are both fantastic songs dealing with the feelings one has when in love. And finally, we close the album with 'Wild in the Streets', another crowd rousing song, that says the album may be over, but the night is still young.

Highlights: You Give Love a Bad Name, Livin' on a Prayer, Wanted, Dead or Alive.

Track Listings
Let it Rock 5:26 ****
You Give Love a Bad Name 3:43 *****
Livin' On a Prayer 4:09 *****
Social Disease 4:18 ***
Wanted Dead or Alive 5:09 *****
Raise your Hands 4:17 ***
Without Love 3:31 ***
I'd Die For You 4:31 ****
Never Say Goodbye 4:49 ****
Wild in the Streets 3:54 ****
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
The Glam Metal movement of the 80's was one of the more interesting fads in rock n roll, as fans of heavy metal looked on in disgust and females which heavy metal tended to ignore were going crazy over it.

Bon Jovi were one of the leading bands of the fad, and one of the bands to start of the second wave of Glam Metal which took the guitars of heavy metal and the melody of AOR and threw them together.

John Bon Jovi's vocals are probably the most impressive factor of the band, being able to sing with power on the heavy tracks and sing with a more romantic flavor in the ballads. Richie Sambora also provides plenty of technically impressive solos without showing off too much.

The songwriting was somewhat hit and miss here, which might be a bit harsh on the album (note the 5 star rating) as all the tracks are very good, but living on a prayer and you give love a bad name really boost this album to incredible heights. Its these two tracks that are near the front of the disc that you set the standard of the album on, and it doesn't quite live up to the two singles. There are good album tracks, such as raise your hands and wild in the streets, but some of the tracks don't quite hit the mark, such as the overlong let it rock and the unremarkable average social disease.

Interesting thing to note here is that one of the best tracks Bon Jovi recorded called Edge Of A Broken Heart was left off the album (you can find it on the outtakes box set). John Bon Jovi also said in an interview he wanted to take off Living On A Prayer, which is my favorite Bon Jovi Song.

Overall, A solid album, it shaped glam metal for the next 4 years after its release, but if you don't have it already, you might be better off getting their best of compilation Crossroads, which has the hit singles from the album which are all the casual listener will want.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 July 2007
'Slippery When Wet' was Bon Jovi's commercial breakthrough, released in 1986, it was the New Jersey boys' third album, with a relatively unknown songwriter and producer Desmond Child on board, spawned a handful of massive hit singles, but what can you say about this album that hasn't been said a million times before?

Many fans still regard 'Slippery When Wet' as Jovi's finest hour, and I agree that it is one of the best rock albums of 1980s without question, but 'New Jersey' remains my personal favourite. The production here is first rate, with the perfect balance of rock songs and ballads (in which there is actually only one), and melodies to die for. The really heavy stuff like 'Raise Your Hands and 'Social Disease' still sound fresh and exciting today, and the crowd-pleasing, classic hit singles 'Livin' On A Prayer' and 'You Give Love A Bad Name' speak for themselves really. My favourite track is 'Never Say Goodbye', a gorgeous ballad with edgy lyrics, which has a timeless appeal.

Bon Jovi don't make music quite like this anymore, which is mores the pity, but at least they gave us releases like 'Slippery When Wet', solid, rock albums that will never go out of fashion. Just turn up the volume and enjoy it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
No one could have imagined that this album would have made the impact it did when it was released in the autumn of 1986.

Slippery When Wet saw a more focused album in both the songwriting and productions. With the songwriting Jon Bon Jovi had been introduced by KISS's Paul Stanly to a struggling songwriter from Miami called Desmond Child. With Desmond, Jon and guitarist Richie Sambora began a song writing partnership that is still going strong to this day. Helming the album was Bruce Fairbairn with engineer and mixer, Bob Rock, later of Metallica.

The bands first USA number 1 hit singles 'You Give Love A Bad Name' only managed to peak at no.14 in the UK but caught the attention of rock fans over hear. Slippery When Wet, released in September 1986 (June in USA) became one of the best selling albums of the 1980s and is probably still their best effort. Unlike the previous two albums, there is no filler. From the opening track 'Let It Rock' to the end with 'Wild In The Streets' you know you are in for a good time. Also appearing are the three other UK single 'Livin' On A Prayer', 'Wanted Dead Or Alive' and 'Never Say Goodbye'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 25 August 2001
slippery when wet is simply the best of the 80s rock albums. From the opening keyboard solo of let it rock to wild in the streets the group take you for a ride. anyone also fedup with the number of ballads released recently will be glad to see only one on the album, Never Say Goodbye. The album also contains arguably the groups best song, the sing-a-long classic Living On A Prayer and also holds a few others in the same vein such as Raise Your Hands (a presonal favorite) and You Give Love A Bad Name. The album also features their original and best cowboy song,Wanted Dead Or Alive re-released recently as Wanted 2001 on their Live Album. Bon Jovi would go on to make more serious (and perhaps better) albums such as Keep The Faith and the darker These Days but this is their ultimate feel-good album and is head and shoulders above last years attempted return to this style of music, Crush.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
This was the first album I brought on tape back in 1986 when I was eight years old. This remaster copy is excellent sound quality and has a video of the song Wanted Dead Or Alive, one of the best tracks which you can play on your computer. Slippery When Wet sold over seventeen million copies worldwide and is overall Bon Jovi's best album. Every song is good on this cd you have Livin' On A Prayer which is their most famous song and You Give Love A Bad Name was a big hit too. The song I Die For You is a great love song and Never Say Goodbye holds a special place in My heart for when I moved house back in 1987. Bon Jovi was the first rock band I got into and rock music has be one of my favourites ever since.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.