Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars veba number plate mount car reversing parking sensor kit
Sorry for delay in writing my review the service you provided was first class. The sensor kit was very well made and was so simple to install and works very effectively. Would recommend to any one who is looking for a similar product.
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by eric

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars was 4 stars - now no stars
Since my original 4 star review (below) after just 4 days it has malfunctioned. Zero stars.

Works well for the money. Not as cheap as the bumper mounted kits but less drilling involved. Would recommend mounting the sensor in the location instructed but dont drill the hole directly behind the sensor into the bodywork. Instead, drill the hole behind the number...
Published on 25 April 2012 by jc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars veba number plate mount car reversing parking sensor kit, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
Sorry for delay in writing my review the service you provided was first class. The sensor kit was very well made and was so simple to install and works very effectively. Would recommend to any one who is looking for a similar product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of kit, 5 April 2012
By 
Mr. James Young (Loanhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
I did not want to start cutting bumpers so this seemed like the best solution, and I was right for once. The kit comes with a hole cutter, adhesive pads, cable ties and a very very very detailed manual. This is not generic far east kit.

The install idea is that you hole cut in the middle below your number plate, stick adhesive pads behind the sensor then push the bar into place. A rubber gromit extends from the centre rear of the plate into the hole, thus sealing the intrusion.

Wiring is simple and all the cables quick connect so you can remove the beeper unit and power cables to aid install.

As a note, I made a clear perspex plate to mount the number plate and sensor bar on, then screwed this into the existing number plate holes, then fed the cable through the number plate light. So not holes at all.

Beeper has two volume settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Neat Reversing Kit, 1 Feb 2011
By 
L. A. Nash (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
I have installed several kits to help in driving a car in to a limited space. They have not all worked well and require four holes to be drilled at the front or rear of the car and at least five cables to be run "avoiding kinking" to a central unit and to a loudspeaker. Sometimes access is difficult to do this. The Veba "number plate" unit requires just one small hole to be drilled and has just two cables: one for power and the other connected to the loudspeaker. A single high quality plastic moulding holds the three audio detectors angled to cover out to the width of the rear of the car and the electronic processing of the three signals is done within the same unit. The unit is stuck in position using double sided adhesive pads, enough for six adhesive points, I used four not attempting to try the adhesive pad approach at the outer ends of the unit since the shape of the car bumper that I fixed it to left a gap at each end. You can if you wish fill with three pads but I think that is not necessary. Just connect the positive power lead to the reversing light cable on either side and plug in to the loudspeaker unit and you are in business. It is important to keep the face of the processing unit vertical relative to the ground and the back of the unit is sloped to help you to achieve this. As said I did not fix to the number plate as it is too high on my car a 4x4. The unit looks neat, works well with a loud positive warning of an obstacle across the full width of the car and is offered for a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy to install, 14 April 2011
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
I received this item and quickly opened up the manual. And had seen that I thought that the control box was missing. A quick email from them said that the control unit is inside the sensor bar.

To install is very easy, drill one hole. connect one wire to the reverse light cluster and feed the other wire to the front. A word of warning, do not put on very loud unless you are hard of hearing. Scared me half to death, when it went off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to fit and effective for detecting even for very low objects, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
Length:: 4:29 Mins

How easy or difficult this product is to fit will depend on your car.
Things to consider:
1. You may have to drill through metal.
2. You may need a voltmeter to check which wire goes to your reverse light.
3. You may not have enough space around your registration plate for the sensor to fit.
4. If the back of your car is curved, the sensor may not flex adequately to match that curve and fit at the edges.
The instruction manual appears to be out of date. It says there is a control box to connect but the current product does not need a control box.
I left the wire connection bare for the video but taped it up with insulating tape immediately afterwards.

Having said these things, it was easy to fit and works very well. Let us see how long it lasts.

V
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veba reverse parking bar fitting especially easy for a Nissan Qashqai, 22 May 2014
By 
Michael Watts (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
Although the Qashqai comes with a reversing camera - I hate it - I want to look and have a reversing beeper. I found the Veba especially easy and neat for a Nissan Qashqai (Teckna) as all the wiring is within the tailgate and just one hole to drill through the numberplate and tailgate. This is the sequence I used

1. Lift tailgate and remove large plastic trim cover (one screw at the bottom right but 13 plastic trim clips - carefully work from bottom of tailgate to mating slots in trim of each pillar.

2. Use test meter to confirm +12V at the reversing light on the right of the tailgate (yellow/green wire) when reverse gear engaged

3. Temporarily connect the red wire (+) of the Veba Unit to this and the black wire (-ve) to the main ground point in the tailgate to confirm the unit works before drilling car body

4. Drill a small pilot hole first through number plate to get as low as possible to avoid hitting tailgate lock mechanism inside tailgate then use drill hole bit provided with kit

5. Wire the Veba unit in securely - black wire to main ground point screw, red wire to reversing light yellow/green using a auto splice connector (metal slots cut through the insulation without cutting the wires)

6. Put the beeper speaker wire through the top of tailgate pillar trim to car interior

7. The Veba reversing bar has two angle options for low and high number plate positions depending on which way up it is fixed (high for Qashqai). Affix to pre-cleaned number plate with adhesive pads provide. Neat and done!

NB As others have noted the Veba packaging has a space for an additional 'main unit' - there isn't one! it works fine with just the bar and speaker. Couldn't work out how to upload photos for an Amazon review unfortunately :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars number plate reversing sensor:, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
The item arrived quite promptly, with no parts missing. I did not fit this,a local garage did the fitting. The fitter said every thing was straight forward, quite easy. He mounted the sensor lower down on the number plate drilling through the plate and then through the panel behind the number plate. Everything is tidy. The sensor works very well plenty of warning before contact. two volume settings (lower preferred)amplifier mounted on rear parcel shelf (could do with longer cable on this item). Overall, quite a good piece of kit, especially at for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Impressions are good, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
Slimline design, a variation on the numberplate based item with visible sensors and wiring.
Only downside is very poor fixing instructions, badly written and do not reflect the parts actaully in the kit.
Fitting requires the drilling of a hole in your cars body work but no mention of how to do this though the kit does include a hole saw for this job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good - limited only by its range, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
Installed as directed although I did remove two of the screws in the back of the unit and drilled through the number plate to secure it with longer screws through the plate. I did this as I had a very curved body/number plate and was concerned the tension might cause the sticky pads to fail. The fix was very worthwhile.
The rest fitted without any drilling as I fed the wires behind the lamp cluster.

NOTE : I did not install this in the yellow area of the plate though.... my number plate had a dealership name section below the yellow area, and THIS was where I mounted the unit. I had it checked by my local MoT station - all OK!

The buzzer malfunctioned after a few tests, but a quick email and the suppliers sent me a new one the next day (very impressed!). All working fine now.

One warning; you do need to get this sensor as vertical as possible as the vertical range is quite sensitive. I had to stick some pads to the rear of the number plate to get the angle right. It's so much nicer than drilling holes in the bodywork though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Veba Parking Sensor, 26 Dec 2012
This review is from: VEBA NUMBER PLATE MOUNT CAR REVERSE PARKING SENSOR KIT
I researched many retro fit parking sensors for my Citroen C4 (2008 model) - I wanted to avoid if possible having to cut a number of holes in the bumper as it is difficult to match the colour and I also wanted to avoid having to lead the wiring via a control unit right through to the front of the car. I also researched reversing cameras but these tend to be expensive.
The Veba parking sensor seemed to fit the bill. The kit comes complete with the sensor and the audible loudspeaker, a drill bit the correct size for feeding the cables through, cable ties and double sided adhesive pads and basic instructions.
The Citroen C4 number plate is integral with the rear bumper rather than being incorporated in the hatchback door which makes the wiring easier. I removed the existing number plate and drilled through the bumper in the centre at a position to allow the sensor to sit as high as possible in the number plate recess. The wires are then fed through this hole and the sensor secured with as many double sided adhesive pads as can be fitted. There is a rubber grommet on the rear of the sensor which fits tightly into the hole drilled in the bumper which also secures the sensor to the car.
One set of wires are fed to the audible loudspeaker which I secured with an adhesive pad to the interior of the car at the rear and the second set of wires has 2 leads, the red one is secured to the positive wire leading to the reversing lamp and the second black wire is secured to a metal part of the underside of the car to form an earth. If unsure which is the positive wire check your car wiring diagram although the green or partially green wire is the earth lead so the other wire is the positive one. To secure the wire to the reversing lamp I used a scotchlock connector.There is lots of spare cable so this was secured to the car using the cable ties. I then refitted the number plate immediately below the sensor.
The sensor is activated by selecting reverse gear and emits a series of bleeps which becomes a continuous sound when you are about 9 inches from the object behind you.
Time for installation about 2 hours. I`m delighted with this product and consider it to be excellent value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews