Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swimming In A Sea Of Cowards...
In banding together to create the Dead Weather, Jack White and Alison Mosshart, of the White Stripes and the Kills fame, have struck gold. Having never heard much of either of thier former bands work, I bought this second offering from rock's biggest supergroup based solely on thier first album 'Horehound' which was never going to be an easy act to follow. But let me tell...
Published on 21 Aug 2010 by Rhys

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from Jacks best work
A fan of Jack White since first White Stripes album. in my opinion there are only a couple of great tracks on here the rest of the album seems to be fillers with little substance.

Love the Kills & the Stripes. I think they should stick to what they do best, its not working for me
Published on 9 Aug 2010 by A. Hockley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FUNKY FOLLOW UP DOESN'T DISAPPOINT!!, 7 May 2010
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
In an era where it can take a band sometimes 4 years if not longer to follow up their debut album it comes as a refreshing change that The Dead Weather haven't even waited a year to deliver album number 2 "Sea Of Cowards", yes its just ten short months ago that debut album "horehound" was released. It was originally thought it was just a Jack White and Alison Mosshart(The Kills) collaboration but it soon became clear that Jack Lawerence(The Greenhorns) and Dean Fertita(queens of the stone age) also played a big part in the writing and preforming of Horehound.

So here we are with album number 2 with the same line up intact, and with the only concern is would it be as good as Horehound or would it end up being too rushed! Thankfully it doesn't suffer from any of these things and in many ways outshines Horehound! When the first single Die by the drop was released the minute you heard it you knew it was The Dead Weather with their signature organ opening(think Bone House on Horehound), so the next question would be was their any development in their sound or would they be happy to rest on their laurels and play it safe? Well as we know Jack White doesn't believe in playing it safe. Opener "Blue Blood Blues" proves this as it continues in the fashion of Horehounds I Cut Like A Buffalo which always had a funkier feel and Sea Of Cowards has much more of a funkier feel this time compared to Horehound , the Mosshart/White written "The Difference Between Us" see Mosshart taking over vocal duties and also includes that familiar organ sound. The funk rock of "I'm Mad" is one of the highlights of the album and all four members contribute brilliantly on a track that has a rhythm section sounding like "Immigrant Song" by Led Zeppelin before going in a completely different direction half ways through, it works a treat! No Horse starts off with a big sounding riff before the drums and bass drive the song on with the haunting vocals off Mosshart singing over it. Its great to hear White and Mosshart trade and work off each other and are so alike at times it's unreal, as she the female version of him or vice versa. The album closes out with "Old Mary" which has White deliver a spoken prayer over the start of the song and closes the album in great fashion!

The album clocks in at around the 35 minute mark which is nearly 10 minutes less than "Horehound" and on this album it seems that The Dead Weather are discovering what direction they want to head in which is definitely much more funkier style so album number three should be real interesting, just don't expect it in ten months time as it looks like at the end of the current tour all four members will be returning to their day jobs, Pity that as it sounds like they are only beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album - Alison Mosshart & Jack White Have Struck Gold!!, 17 July 2011
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
I only recently heard about "The Dead Weather" after buying an "NME" music magazine all about Jack White from the White Stripes. I was very keen to purchase it because I am also a big fan of "The Kills" and there dirty electric guitar sound, I can highly recommend this to any fan of the white stripes or "the Kills", Alison Mosshart is on Vocals cambined with Jack White on electric guitar, There are 10 tracks on the Album which all flow in to each of perfectly, The stand out tracks include: Blue Blood Blues, Hustle & Cuss, The Difference Between Us, I Can't Hear You and Gasoilne. The album is a fantastic blues, garage rock album which begs to be listened to over and over again!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 14 July 2010
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
Jack White's so called Third Band is much more than his third band, it's way better than that. The sound is rich, full and heavy, composing of brilliant guitar riffs, stunning drumming from Jack White himself and sublime vocals.

I bought the CD after hearing they were quite good in preperation to see the band at Glastonbury Festival. It was a great buy, definately worth the money.

The Glasto gig was one of the highlights, such an amazing sound and a great performance. If you get the chance, book tickets to see them :)

A Must Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He just Keeps getting better and better, 12 May 2010
By 
Mr. C. Dave "cdave1" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
It's dirty rock and roll. Like the stooges fun house but with a twisted edge. I love how the record flows together. In fact sounds more like a live record, which I believe, is the best way to hear this band. Layered with beauty and lots of fun. Best album of the year (so far)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WEIRD BUT BRILLIANT, 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
JACK WHITE certainly likes to do things a little different,doesn't he?
Anyone who enjoyed the first DEAD WEATHER album,i would imagine would get enjoyment out of this.
The music is certainly different to the muchness in the charts right now,even if isn't likey to get much radio play because of it.
This may well sound like an experiment from JACK WHITE,but it's a successful one.
The first album was something so very seperate from THE WHITE STRIPES material and this is more of that kind of mindset,but not too similar to the first DEAD WEATHER album to make it pointless.
ALISON MOSSHART's vocals are once again great,and Jack is also on top form. True the lyrics are a little ambiguous,but that could be seen as a good thing. If you enjoy weird and enigmatic in your music,then why not get some of this in your sterio. If JACK WHITE keeps producing material like this,i'll keep buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping it simple: "Wow!", 20 April 2011
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
This was the record that introduced me to 'The Dead Weather' even though its their second offering. Now, of course I have heard of Jack White and his time spent in groups such as 'The White Stripes' and 'The Raconteurs' but never knew the existence of this group, which is actually quite upsetting really because this band are one of my favourites at the moment. They haven't seemed to get the same kind of exposure as White's previous groups, which I think that they deserve just as the others did.
Now on to the record itself. The musical sound of this album cannot be easily described under one category its just too complex for that. So the best way to put it, is as many have described as 'Alternative Garage Blues Rock' that really is a mouthful, but I can see each of these musical elements in these songs along with a wonderful raw sound. Which then ultimately makes this a fresh musical experience for the ear and something new compared with the boring generic rubbish around today.
Many people might have said this before at one point, but on first listen I was actually astounded by this record. By the fact that I have never heard anything quite like this before, it was so different and the replay button was pushed straight way.
The album consists of 11 tracks which add up to a total of 35 minutes. Yes, you might think that is not a very lengthy album. But in my opinion its near enough the perfect decision, as their is no 'filler' tracks and they all add something to the record and the standard of music is kept high throughout.
As this album is complex and a wonderful piece of art the stand out tracks for me at the moment are: 'Blue Blood Blues' , 'The Difference Between Us' , 'I'm Mad' and 'Gasoline' this will no doubt change as you find new parts in the songs that will grab your attention the next time round.
Hope this review helped in making your decision easier when buying this album. It really is a great album which I will and hopefully you will enjoy for many months to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 3 Aug 2010
By 
G. LONG "longy" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
This has got to be the album of the year.thought they could'nt top there debut every track just awsome has not been out of the player since it arrived.BUY IT NOW.Blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dead Weather - Sea of Cowards, 29 July 2010
By 
MarcF (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (MP3 Download)
The first album by The Dead Weather, 'Horehound', was one of Amazon's recommendations and I listened to the samples and downloaded it and it was awesome. 'Sea of Cowards' is their second album, and equally good. It's a great blend of bluesy, alternative and rock sounds and gives a refreshing blend. They are an alternative rock supergroup with a good heritage from the White Stripes, The Kills, Queens of the Stone Age and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from Jacks best work, 9 Aug 2010
By 
A. Hockley "AMH UK" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
A fan of Jack White since first White Stripes album. in my opinion there are only a couple of great tracks on here the rest of the album seems to be fillers with little substance.

Love the Kills & the Stripes. I think they should stick to what they do best, its not working for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the white girls trip, when I sing in Sunday service, 19 Jun 2010
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
Jack White has travelled musically to the most interesting borders of alternative, and while The White Stripes certified him as a significant aspect of the alternative genre, it provided little leeway (until Icky Thump) for his musical potential.
The Raconteurs, being Jack Whites next band, carried him into a more specific style which proved to be quite a success, yet a sort of diluted version of The White Stripes' energy.

The Dead Weather is like that diluted version on crack. If you were looking for 'the next Jack White project' it is not here. You have stumbled across a monster of perfect proportions.
Especially since, in perhaps his boldest move yet, Jack takes a backseat as if it is delicate (which is a nice metaphor for its precise taste, but proves totally irrelvant due to the albums raw brutality).
Jack White can be known to smother bands a bit, take 'Ball and Biscuit' from The White Stripes album 'Elephant'; the 7 something minute epic passes from guitar solo (courtesy of Jack White) to blinding vocals (by Jack White) from the beautiful and strange lyrics (also, by Jack). The only song Jack wrote in 'Sea of Cowards' is 'Old Mary', certainly a respectable and catchy jingle, but not the pinnacle of The Dead Weather. There is not one song in 'Sea of Cowards' I do not like, in fact they are probably all in my top 100 songs.

This band travels even further, from blues to alternative and, at one point, a sort of alternative hip-hop (I'm looking at you, 'Looking at the Invisible Man'). When I heard The Dead Weather I had to change the genre of it on my iTunes from alternative, because it was so much more than that. Eventually I settled on 'Alternative Garage Blues'. And that doesn't begin to describe it.
Such expansive work all seem to fit neatly into this almost perfect album. The sceptics will see that 'almost' as a wary purchase-denying-factor. I think the 'almost' defines this album; it's just so very, very interesting. If any wandering Jack White fan is contemplating this: just do it. Even if you don't like it, it's still so interesting as to get some mileage.

With most bands it takes an album to perfect the formula. There is no if, ands or buts about it: this is the perfected formula. And on the subject of albums present and future, as Jack White does tend to pump them out, I am more excited for the next Dead Weather album than the second coming of Jesus.

tl;dr/conclusion: It's so fresh and original and it needs to be heard. It's uncompromising and gorgeous.
I literally have never heard anything like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b2387c)

This product

Sea Of Cowards
Sea Of Cowards by The Dead Weather
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews