Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Life Forever will always be enough!
Its albums like Foals 'Total Life Forever' that make me pleased that musical evolution happens. Total Life Forever is such a big change its like a new band. Gone are the fresh faced dance punks, replaced by arty post rockers. Frontman Yannis no longer uses the high yelp, instead his voice echos away like someone lost at sea. Structurally the songs are better, the...
Published 22 months ago by C22man

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but doesnt blow you away
Antidotes was one of my fave albums of 2008 and the Foals subsequently became one of my fave bands but feel a little underwhelmed by the latest effort. Sure its a more mature sound than before but cant help but feel disappointed with some of the tracks on this album.

The album starts of strong with its strongest tracks 1-4 but then seems gradually lose it by...
Published on 26 Aug 2010 by Marple


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Life Forever will always be enough!, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
Its albums like Foals 'Total Life Forever' that make me pleased that musical evolution happens. Total Life Forever is such a big change its like a new band. Gone are the fresh faced dance punks, replaced by arty post rockers. Frontman Yannis no longer uses the high yelp, instead his voice echos away like someone lost at sea. Structurally the songs are better, the instrumentation is stronger, the lyrics are vividly beautiful and all the songs fit together brilliantly.

Opener 'Blue Blood' is the perfect mix of old and new. It has the bouncy rhythm and playful guitars, while still being very atmospheric with Yannis' brooding vocals. These two styles mix frequently on the album to great effect, adding so much versatility. 'Miami' is reminiscent of Talking Heads and has a wonderful beat, while single 'This Orient' is in a similar vain and has beautiful lyrics. The title track is another great catchy tune, where as songs like 'Alabaster', the eerie '2 Trees' and closer 'What Remains' are built around soft dreamy atmospheres.

However, its when Foals experiment that we get the album high points. The three songs over 6 minutes are the best. 'Black Gold' has excellent fun verses, an amazing dreamy chorus and a fantastic climax. The hit 'Spanish Sahara' starts off quietly, constantly building and creating a tense atmosphere. It suddenly comes into life with one of the best climax's in recent memory. While 'After Glow' is probably my favorite song here. It has a great sensual beat and a dreamy chorus, with some powerful vocals. Out of nowhere it goes into meltdown as the band have a psychedelic rock out with guitars screeching and drum rolls galore, its one of the most exhilarating pieces of music I've heard.

So Foals changed and really hit the mark. Everything is superb, from the song structures to instrument playing to lyrics. Total Life Forever is easily one of the strongest albums of the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progression not Regurgitation., 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
A fantastic Album and nowhere near as much a departure as some people have been saying.
Its not hummer, cassius or balloons but electric bloom and Olympic airways definitely pointed in this direction.

Blue blood is a fantastic opener, spanish sahara a beautiful song and the absolute right choice as a first single/video whatever it was.
After glow, black gold and what remains are songs that brings a kind of emotional depth that is usually, if not lacking then certainly only cryptically hinted at in foals songs. In fact a lot of the songs bring the technical ability, stylings and song writing of antidotes but imbue them with an emotional gravitas that they were only beginning to hint at on their début.

For me personally this album solidifies what made me like antidotes in the first place and dismisses that niggling doubt I had that they were in fact just another NME hyped band not really worth their salt.

I always think its a great sign if your least favourite song on an album is the lead single. Cassius became my least played on antidotes and this orient is following the same way. Not that either is a bad song I just prefer the full album experience and usually the lead single is a stand alone entity for commercial or whatever reasons and that isolation makes it divorced from the album, and this is a proper, well put together album not just a collection of glitchy pop rock songs, which is why this orient sounds more impressive on the radio than on my ipod.

So, a progression? definitely, a complete change of direction? I don't think so. Glad I bought it? Hell yes. Would I recommend it? Of course.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone deserves a second chance!, 4 May 2010
By 
Billy R (Newcastle - England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
I walked out of a Foals gig at Newcastle about 15 months ago as I found them self indulgent on stage and totally the opposite of their 'Antidotes' album - the new release gave me the chance to see if they deserved a 'second chance'.
It also coincided with the chance to see them live @ Ncle Uni and on both counts I have to own up to being glad at offering them their 'redemption' - although Sahara & Orient are stand out tracks on both the CD and live it is all round a far better effort than their first album and certainly (for me) different enough to warrant some praise.
It is a more rounded album with a slightly different sound that makes it better listening as a full album than their first release - that, allied to a much better live performance shows a more mature approach.
Personally, I feel that if you liked the first one you will like this one but if you have heard neither try to catch a couple of downloads and take it from there - you may be pleasantly surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A chillaxed sophomore album of an aspiring Indie Rock band, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
Overall a great album, appealing to a broad range of Indie Rock/Alternative lovers.

The main album feels a lot more mellow, serious and mature over the band's first album release.

So if you are into crazed dance punk and electro-rock this one will rather disappoint you, but blends perfect into a rainy day at working in front of your computer or while chilling at home.

The Bonus disc features cuts and (out)takes? from tracks featured in full length on the main album.
IMHO nothing special, no full length bonus tracks or remixes, but I really like that digipak cover, and at the price this album is selling second hand it's a no brainer to get it over the "regular version".!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Progression is a good thing..., 17 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
With 'Total Life Forever' Foals have lit a slow-burning fuse. The rich crackle of gunpowder, the whiff of cordite. Don't expect the cheap and, let's be honest, slightly one-note thrills of 'Antidotes'. This is a different beast altogether. TLF is a definite song-cycle and works beautifully as such. The first four tracks are a brilliant, funky suite with the incessant yelps of old maturing into a strange mix of The Cure's Robert Smith and My Morning Jacket's Jim James. From here on in it gets even more interesting with elegant, elegiac tracks like 'Spanish Sahara' and the fantastic closing salvo of `2 Trees' and `What Remains'.
After a few listens the hooks really get under your skin and take root in your brain. The longevity of the album will be borne out in this new intuitive approach - it doesn't give up its goods easily and leaves behind the repetitive sound bites of `Antidotes' for a more searching set of lyrics and emotions. The second disc offers some interesting snapshots of the album's genesis. Hardly essential but welcome variations all the same adding further flesh to TLF's bones. It's exciting to imagine where Foals might go from here, this being the reason for four stars rather than five - the sky's the limit and you can feel all the band's arms reaching upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for a Mercury nomination, 12 May 2010
By 
P. Rennison (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
Having heard a few songs on 6Music and heard good reviews of their live shows I decided to give this a go. I listened to it on Monday night and liked it, but it really came into it's own when I played it all the way through three times in succession yesterday - a bit of volume and a half decent system really helps bring out the hidden depths of this album. I can't remember ever playing an album back to back three times and loving it more each time, not getting bored at all. Give it a good go, your ears deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical bliss, 12 May 2010
By 
C. J. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
I was dubious about the life expectancy of Foals at first. Admittedly I adored their first release 'Antidotes', their ability to effortlessly meld genres, with guitars jittering like a ritalin starved ADHD prone 5-year old, it seemed that they had been marketted more towards a predominantly teen fanbase, with appearances on Skins, and their music although hugely enjoyable for me, seemed to be glossed with an angsty pretentiousness that had me thinking them to be a flash-in-the-pan, which would have been a very tragic thing to happen. These Oxford kids know how to jam, and write a killer tune, that hooks itself into your brain and refuses to let go.

Of course I can dispel such notions of them being short-lived, not a blip on the ever increasing convoluted indie scene, that sees the glut of fashion obsessed indie bands and fans alike. Yes, in this modern day we live in a time where the music takes second place, sidelined into an altogether inferior role, image taking presidence over all.

Foals aren't merely about image though, no no no, or nor are they simply abstract for the sake of adding to the 'art', although I am convinced Yannis is a Heddonist. Opening track 'Blue Blood' contains a Euphoric sheen, that only others can dream of distilling into sound. The guitars writhe, and are plucked at unmercillesly, but as you listen more you find yourself becoming more and more immersed, almost like a part of the music. On first listen, it is far more accessible in contrast to their debut, but Foals being the musicians that they are, have developed this impressive knack at concealing elements within their music. A synth, or a riff, or lyric that lies undetected at first, becomes more noticeable upon repeated listens. For me, personally this is the key to achieving longevity in a record, that it toys with the listener in such a way that it demands to be replayed. The first single 'Spanish Sahara' deserves an honourable mention, it builds ever so slowly, each twinkle of a guitar, softly crooned lyrics, building subtly to an astonishing climax, it's the sound of being embraced in warm arms on a rainy day as the rain drops patter against the window outside, caressing sensually, then bestows a crescendo of keyboard synth on the bewildered listener, shattering the sense of security that the subtle build up produces. My favourite track is 'Black Gold'. With it's refrain of 'The Future is not what it used to be', the atospherics hauntingly playing in the background, create a sense of warmth and Euphoria, it's like the audio equivalent of taking a relaxing swim underwater. I would say if you are interested in the type of music Foals produce, this would be an excellent starting point, but persevere with the music that they make, because it is a warm and enriching experience, and surely that is what creating music and indeed the very core of Art itself, at its purest and most concentrated form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very Good Album, 9 Jan 2014
By 
M. J. Smallcombe (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
if you want a break from the drivel pumped out by indistinguishable talent show nobodies, try this. Ragged in places, but all the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sends me somewhere good, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
I got to this album after Holy Fire, not sure what to expect having loved that album a kinda This is The Sea for the 21st century and I was just wow ! This is great the stand out song for me at the moment is Spanish Sahara but the whole thing has a great feel. Hope this band keeps moving whatever way they feel is right as they keep making the right moves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foals rock, 12 Dec 2013
By 
S. Breckman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Life Forever (Audio CD)
Having seen the band perform at Glastonbury I have become infatuated with this band. Pure simple music you can understand the lyrics and each track is a major player on its own. Buy it! You will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Life Forever
Buy MP3 Album£6.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews