Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2010
I own all axels albums and have been to see him play live in germany 3 times so you could say i'm a big fan .I have been slightly dissapointed with last couple of albums but i think he is now back to his best with the crest typical axel tracks with no surprises but the more i play this album the more it grows on me opening track is superb as is dark waves of the sea ,now want to see him live again .
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
This is one of the best ARP albums to date with some masterful vocals, guitar, bass, keyboard and drums. My fave thing about it is the way he incorporates the classic Oceans Of Time into Dark Waves Of The Sea. You can hear this as the solo nears it's end and goes into the original Oceans chorus. Kudos to you Axel and co for such a FABULOUS ALBUM!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
Considering his undeniable playing and songwriting skills, Axel Rudi Pell is probably one of the most underrated guitarists in hard rock/heavy metal, and after more than 20 years since his solo debut, his eponymous band remains incredibly productive. "The Crest" is no less than their 14th studio album (compilations and live albums notwithstanding), and the quality of the material remains as high as ever.

I decided to get this special deluxe edition of "The Crest" to get more value for money, and I can say that it was money well spent. This deluxe edition features an extended version of the epic "Dreaming Dead" (reminiscent of Black Sabbath's "Heaven And Hell"), and a live bonus disc.

The actual album is an impressively solid effort with no dull moments. The sound is powerful, crunchy and even heavier than on some of the previous offerings. There are really no fillers on this album, "Prisoner Of Love" being the standout track with its driving guitar riff.

Disc two features eight live tracks (including two medleys and a drum solo) taken from the DVD "One Night Live," with a running time of more than 70 minutes. Many of the live renditions are longer than their studio versions, with some lengthy soloing and other extended passages added here and there. Of special interest is the cover of Rainbow's "The Temple Of The King," which the band handles capably.

If you like guitar-oriented heavy rock, but prefer a less flashy approach than that of, say, Yngwie J. Malmsteen, with emphasis on the songs rather than solos, do get acquainted with Axel Rudi Pell. This album is the best I've heard from Axel so far, and I recommend it to all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
There is nothing you would not expect on an ARP album on this CD but this is one of his better offerings and I at least thoroughly enjoy listening to it. Good instrumental sections, quality vocals, catchy tunes - if you know Axel you will know what to expect and you won't be disappointed. If you are new to this particular Germanic axeman, it is a reasonably good place to start. Perhaps I should deduct a star for the rehashing of an old track from Oceans of Time but that would probably be a bit harsh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
This album is like a nostalgic walk down memory lane when everything seemed rosey! A time before kids, mortgages, HP or debt!
I had forgotten how good this type of music sounds. Crank it up loud and get that head rocking. It's like a mix of Dio, Scorpions, MSG and I love it.
I can't believe they've just brought out a deluxe edition though with extra tracks when I've just bought the standard...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You know where you are with an Axel Rudi Pell album. It's melodic power metal with oodles of widdles, some upper range vocal turns from long time vocalist Johnny Gioeli, a couple of lighter in the air power ballads, some shredding solos, symphonic backing and crunchy power riffs. And what's wrong with that? Absolutely nothing, that's what.

With 21 albums released under his own name since leaving Steeler in 1988, Herr Pell is a sterling example to the young bucks out there wanting to cut it in the world of metal. Of course, that includes live albums and compilations, but this is still his 13th studio album (14 if you count the covers album "Diamonds Unlocked'", highlighting a dedication to his craft and a commendable work ethic.

This time around the highlights include the rifftastic 'Too Late', the epic in every way number, deep breath, 'Dark Waves Of The Sea (Oceans Of Time Part II: The Dark Side)', a sequel, natch, to the 1998 'Oceans Of Time', and the Dio like 'Devil Zone'. The production is huge, the performances immense, with a special word of praise going to the knock your block off drumming from Mike Terrana, one of the finest drummers in the game today.

It's very much business as usual, but when business is this good, then you'll get no complaints from me.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Very good collection as we expect from Axel Rudi Pell with the usual brilliant instrumental included. I'd really like to have a cd of just the instrumentals from all of Mr. Pell's albums. Good mix of fast and slow tracks as usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
From the subdued opener it launches into a cracking rock song. The guitar work is masterful and the vocals sublime. Let us not forget though the input of great bass and drum playing. The live side is top form as well. Definitely an album for all that enjoy good quality heavy metal.
David Wilson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Superb from Axel as usual. Axel never fails to excite. Absolutely cracking CD I highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
Wow.. Axel is back with a bang ,, after a couple of plodding -average albums . one request tho, hows about a british tour ??
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£4.99
£7.09

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)