Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars44
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.07+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2011
I was disapppointed by these CDs. I found the mix of old and modern recordings side by side was jarring. Also rather too many famous songs turned out to be inferior cover versions. I wish I'd gone for a proper Piaf or Aznavour CD.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
I love this type of background music when I cooking or entertaining guests and this music really helps to creat atmosphereCafe De Paris: 36 Timeless French Cafe Songs
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
3 CD's of all the old favourites. Jean Sablon/Maurice Chevalier/Edith Piaf/Charles Trenet/Tino Rossi.
Original recordings are well done.La Mer/J'attendrai/ Boum etc.
I think the best could have been put on just 2 C D's.though.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
I wanted background music for dinners. This isn't really suitable as the different tracks are all over the place some in french, some in english, some loud, some quiet, some very old and crackly, some new. Not a record you can leave to play and sit back to enjoy.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
holiday reminders of france and french life relaxing coffe's watching the world go by not being worried about the hustle & bustle nice relaxing music
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Love this selection. Bought copy for French friend who was madly keen on the 'old' songs and for Mother who played it over and over as it made her feel 'happy'! Lovely, 'romantic', feel good French favourites - if you like this type of French music you just can't go wrong with this lovely selection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
As can be seen from the track listings, the CDs contain a collection of songs from the best chansonniers France has ever had. All 3 CDs are great and the original "old" sound recording adds even better atmosphere. A brilliant evocation of Paris!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
Very pleased with this CD. Bought one for myself and one as a gift. Very good value for money.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
This collection of popular French songs are beautifully nostalgic, romantic and remind me of very happy schooldays learning French which became my preferred subject at University.
But these songs are so accessable to all, delightfully French, conjuring up the atmosphere of bars, cafes and romance. Lovely!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
A marvellous compendium of classic French recordings. I admit to being obsessed with France, its' culture and its' history. This set has been "played to death" since it arrived. I challenge any lover of France and French life to listen to this in the garden on a warm summer evening with some wine and cheese, and for them to not be mentally transported to a culture and way of life so different to the UK.
Be warned: I have now ended-up buying a house in rural France and depart soon! Was this CD set the final straw?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)