Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old favourites
3 CD's of all the old favourites. Jean Sablon/Maurice Chevalier/Edith Piaf/Charles Trenet/Tino Rossi.
Original recordings are well done.La Mer/J'attendrai/ Boum etc.
I think the best could have been put on just 2 C D's.though.
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by Tricia

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Listened once - won't listen again
I was disapppointed by these CDs. I found the mix of old and modern recordings side by side was jarring. Also rather too many famous songs turned out to be inferior cover versions. I wish I'd gone for a proper Piaf or Aznavour CD.
Published on 3 April 2011 by Julian Stokes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old favourites, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Tricia (Essex England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cafe de Paris - Essential French Cafe Songs [3cd] (Audio CD)
3 CD's of all the old favourites. Jean Sablon/Maurice Chevalier/Edith Piaf/Charles Trenet/Tino Rossi.
Original recordings are well done.La Mer/J'attendrai/ Boum etc.
I think the best could have been put on just 2 C D's.though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Listened once - won't listen again, 3 April 2011
I was disapppointed by these CDs. I found the mix of old and modern recordings side by side was jarring. Also rather too many famous songs turned out to be inferior cover versions. I wish I'd gone for a proper Piaf or Aznavour CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value nostalgia from France, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Cafe de Paris - Essential French Cafe Songs [3cd] (Audio CD)
This collection of popular French songs are beautifully nostalgic, romantic and remind me of very happy schooldays learning French which became my preferred subject at University.
But these songs are so accessable to all, delightfully French, conjuring up the atmosphere of bars, cafes and romance. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars french cafe songs, 11 Feb 2011
By 
I wanted background music for dinners. This isn't really suitable as the different tracks are all over the place some in french, some in english, some loud, some quiet, some very old and crackly, some new. Not a record you can leave to play and sit back to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La musique nostalgique et romantique, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Cafe de Paris - Essential French Cafe Songs [3cd] (Audio CD)
As can be seen from the track listings, the CDs contain a collection of songs from the best chansonniers France has ever had. All 3 CDs are great and the original "old" sound recording adds even better atmosphere. A brilliant evocation of Paris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cafe de Paris, 19 July 2010
By 
I love this type of background music when I cooking or entertaining guests and this music really helps to creat atmosphereCafe De Paris: 36 Timeless French Cafe Songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pull up a croissant, 22 July 2007
By 
LT Randall-Kattner (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: France - Cafe De Paris (Audio CD)
Kicking off with La Mer by Charles Trenet, a song that everyone should have heard of it has been covered that many times, Cafe de Paris gives you three hours of cafe culture from Paris in the thirties and forties. Unless you speak fluent French this is not an album that you can just sit and listen or sing along with but on a warm summer evening whilst sharing a meal with that special someone who appreciates real culture then this music really sets the ambiance for a romantic evening though, no disrespect to the woman, Edith Piaf warbling away did sound a bit like Harry Secombe doing a Ned Seagoon impression at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cafe de paris french cafe songs, 26 May 2011
By 
Mr. Michael A. Brady (Gt Britian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
holiday reminders of france and french life relaxing coffe's watching the world go by not being worried about the hustle & bustle nice relaxing music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cafe de Paris CD, 24 Oct 2010
Very pleased with this CD. Bought one for myself and one as a gift. Very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of good songs, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe de Paris - Essential French Cafe Songs [3cd] (Audio CD)
Bought this for my dad's birthday and he seems to enjoy listening to it very much. Fairly quick delivery and product as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cafe de Paris - Essential French Cafe Songs [3cd]
Cafe de Paris - Essential French Cafe Songs [3cd] by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews