Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars44
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2014
Didn't enjoy this book at all,thought it was spoilt with his derisory comments of the british. There were a lot of brave british men doing a lot of brave things(along with our allies) which he must have been aware of but there was no mention of them.There is ofcourse good & not so good in all nationalities but i am put off a book in which the person is obviously biased & predudiced - in this case against the british. I would also add that i would feel just as strongly if it was the other way around. My father was in the east & spoke warmly of the Australians & his pride of fighting along side them so i know he would have been disappointed had he read the book when he was alive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
This book was hard to put down. The story of Charles Granquist, an Australian teen-ager who after voluteering for the army in 1939 is sent halfway around the world to fight the Italians in Northern Africa, then getting sent to Greece to help defend the country and encountering the German invasion of Greece and his subsequent capture and ordeal as a prisoner of war. The last half of his book reveals his many escape attempts from his prison camp in Austria, including being recaptured in Italy and Slovenia. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
I really enjoyed this story and its close to my heart as my late Dad was in the same POW camp. There were some parts that really made me understand what my Dad went through in the camps and his escapes as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
There are no stunning revelations in Granquist's first class personal memoir of his war in North Africa & Greece, no great feats of individual heroism, but, nevertheless, it is an important record of an ordinary Aussie infantryman. The book does not engage in hyperbole, it simply records the stoic and generous manner in which his war was endured. The author tells of his shrapnel wound in a wonderfully understated matter of fact manner.

It is a well written book, enjoyable in itself & successive generations will look back with appreciation.

The war of such individually extraordinary men told in their own voices are important for us all, so we don't forget what they did, they way they did it and how they felt about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Husband was really happy with this book he is a bit of a war nut so having a true story true to read was just right .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
This is a book that all youngsters should be encouraged to read. If these young men had not given their lives to this war, where would we all be today.. Many of these men found it impossible to talk of their experiences and suffered many years when they came home..
I don't think anybody that has not had this to go through will find it so hard to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
This book shows amazing fortitude and strength of character, with the endurance and motivation for escaping and survival. The style of writing is not always the best, but none the less it makes a good book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Having served in the jungles of the Far East for three years this book took me back and brought home my personal experiences and the horrors of those who went before me albeit not so long ago.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
A very touching story of a Australian young man leaving home to sign up, with the minimum of training at Barracks in Sydney off off to Israel to maintain the peace among the Palestinians and the Jews. Moved from Israel to Egypt and the to Greece where he was made a prisoner of war all within 10 months. 5 years later he is repatriated home. Informative reading. Hhe gave the Germans the runabout with his escapes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
A most enlightening and moving account of what must have been an harrowing and lengthy experience. Ther must be other stories like this yet to be written or published.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)