Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story
This book was hard to put down. The story of Charles Granquist, an Australian teen-ager who after voluteering for the army in 1939 is sent halfway around the world to fight the Italians in Northern Africa, then getting sent to Greece to help defend the country and encountering the German invasion of Greece and his subsequent capture and ordeal as a prisoner of war. The...
Published on 10 Jan. 2013 by JAD

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Give this a miss.
Didn't enjoy this book at all,thought it was spoilt with his derisory comments of the british. There were a lot of brave british men doing a lot of brave things(along with our allies) which he must have been aware of but there was no mention of them.There is ofcourse good & not so good in all nationalities but i am put off a book in which the person is obviously biased &...
Published 9 months ago by kat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
This book was hard to put down. The story of Charles Granquist, an Australian teen-ager who after voluteering for the army in 1939 is sent halfway around the world to fight the Italians in Northern Africa, then getting sent to Greece to help defend the country and encountering the German invasion of Greece and his subsequent capture and ordeal as a prisoner of war. The last half of his book reveals his many escape attempts from his prison camp in Austria, including being recaptured in Italy and Slovenia. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I COULD FEEL MYSELF BACK THERE AGAIN, 30 July 2013
By 
Boris "Martin Lee" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
Having served in the jungles of the Far East for three years this book took me back and brought home my personal experiences and the horrors of those who went before me albeit not so long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Important Record of Stoicism & Much More, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
There are no stunning revelations in Granquist's first class personal memoir of his war in North Africa & Greece, no great feats of individual heroism, but, nevertheless, it is an important record of an ordinary Aussie infantryman. The book does not engage in hyperbole, it simply records the stoic and generous manner in which his war was endured. The author tells of his shrapnel wound in a wonderfully understated matter of fact manner.

It is a well written book, enjoyable in itself & successive generations will look back with appreciation.

The war of such individually extraordinary men told in their own voices are important for us all, so we don't forget what they did, they way they did it and how they felt about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Give this a miss., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
Didn't enjoy this book at all,thought it was spoilt with his derisory comments of the british. There were a lot of brave british men doing a lot of brave things(along with our allies) which he must have been aware of but there was no mention of them.There is ofcourse good & not so good in all nationalities but i am put off a book in which the person is obviously biased & predudiced - in this case against the british. I would also add that i would feel just as strongly if it was the other way around. My father was in the east & spoke warmly of the Australians & his pride of fighting along side them so i know he would have been disappointed had he read the book when he was alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
A most enlightening and moving account of what must have been an harrowing and lengthy experience. Ther must be other stories like this yet to be written or published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
Interesting reading about the bravery of these chaps. I enjoyed the book very much. I would recommend it as a goog read for anyone who likes facts and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
Well written book, an interesting insite into lifevas a POW. Enjoyed it from start to finish.
For anyone who likes true stories I can recomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read I don't think it's possible to ever read enough of these brave men's wartime stories and the hardships they endured
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
This book is a good example of life for prisoners of war without any of the grimmer details I'm sure he endured
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Way Home. A POW's Story of Escapes & Hunger, 4 Feb. 2015
By 
Tone: "Historical Fad" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Long Way Home - One POW's story of escape and evasion during World War II (Kindle Edition)
A very touching story of a Australian young man leaving home to sign up, with the minimum of training at Barracks in Sydney off off to Israel to maintain the peace among the Palestinians and the Jews. Moved from Israel to Egypt and the to Greece where he was made a prisoner of war all within 10 months. 5 years later he is repatriated home. Informative reading. Hhe gave the Germans the runabout with his escapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews