Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars88
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2012
Whoever that labeled this compilation as "THE COMPLETE" Collection is dead wrong. Even if one confines to only tracks recorded for the British "DECCA" or the American "LONDON" label, there are still many tracks that are missing. For example,the tracks "Stardust", "Around the World", "Try To Remember","Misty", etc., which are included in another compilation album called "THE VERY BEST OF MANTOVANI" (DECCA 460-040-2), cannot be found in the present collection.

Nevertheless, if you love Mantovani's unique Strings, and his quasi-classical orchestral arrangements to some of the beautiful melodies ever written in pop music, this very inexpensive box set is highly recommended. The mere fact that all the tracks from the album "MUSIC FROM THE FILMS" (recorded with the duo pianists Rawicz & Landauer) are included is worth the price of this box set.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a great value collection. The Decca archives have been trawled to provide a superb journey through the recording career of a very popular arranger, conductor and orchestra leader. The sound quality is excellent.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
A most enjoyable compilation of 100 of Mantovani's best-known and much loved arrangements. Sit back and enjoy the cascading strings of this inimitable orchestra at its best! Discs feature Charmaine, April in Portugal, Swedish Rhapsody and many, many others, including some modern titles too.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
Top value for those that want hours of great music, not every track is to everyones liking, but a good 95% of the music you will know or love.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
I purchased this boxed set just for one track, but the whole set is a delight so beautiful
and relaxing to listen to and great value for money. The Complete Collection .
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
Well it doesn't come any better than this when you just want relaxing and "unwinding" music.
The choice of tunes is the best there is and beautifully arranged and played by 'The Master' and his orchestra.
I have them all downloaded on to my i phone and listen to them whilst walking through the fields with the dogs, sheer magic! The arrangement of 'By the time I get to Phoenix' is beautiful and often gets put on repeat! No I'm not a hundred years old, way less than half that but we all need some real quality music now and then!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
A selection of the Maesto's excellence. A joy to listen to, just settle back, relax and enjoy. This is real music that will live forever. Reccomended also to listen to on long journeys.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
I'm 51 now. When i was a kid my parents used to listen to Mantovani on the radio.
Listening to this album brings back those 'happy' memories.

Brilliant music to relax with.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
What an amazing collection of songs! So many that I remember from my childhood, some that are very special to me. I have searched for years for "Blue Star" and really couldn't believe that it is in this collection, it was a theme tune to a television programme called "Medic" from the late 50's and my Dad used to sing it, amongst many others from this CD, so the memories for me are wonderful! Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
When you say Mantovani as usual, you mean the best music you can find around. I have an extensive collection of the Maestro but this 100 songs 5cd set has many surprises that makes the box set worth buying. Great arrangements and elegance throughout. Price makes it unmissable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)