Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars25
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2010
There are very few drum and bass albums that can stand up to a regular play through every track. There are no fillers in this extraordinary tour de force from Hospital Records' latest signing. The opening strains of Escape bring to mind a warped Radiohead cover before launching in to Darrison's euphoric vocal. Out and out crowd pleasing must go to Jenna G's summer- splashed vocals on Moving With You. Elsewhere, Bev Lee Harling offers a delicate lead on the reflective Let's Leave Tomorrow, which should be the soundtrack to everyone's Sunday morning.

But it is in the production Netsky scores so highly. The variety of programming, moods and textures allows a lot of depth to a genre that can occasionally concentrate on the beats and ignore the rich possibilities of the accompaniment.

Stand out instrumentals must go to Pirate Bay and the Bond-Theme-That-Never-Was, The Magic Russian Bottle. Netsky is a very exciting, young producer who has the potential to cross over to the mainstream. Check out his remix of Underworld's drum and bass debut, Scribble - sublime.

A real pleasure to listen to.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
Epic. Mind-blowing. Forward thinking. This album is all this and more.

Buy it - if you like your liquid drum 'n' bass, you will not be disappointed. If you've never heard drum 'n' bass, prepare to have your mind well and truly blown apart.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Netsky, this man is getting a lot of hype in the dnb scene at the moment and I'd say it's pretty justified on the whole. But as an album this isn't a masterpiece by any means. Stand out tunes for me are Ironheart which is the track of the album and the sublime ethereal Rise and Shine which just epitomises what Netsky is about. The rest of the album is good and all above average but nothing that really grabs me and makes me think omg. To give it a 5 star rating it really has to have more than two tracks that give me goosebumps. A slightly disappointing 4 stars then. It's a good piece of work but it's not perfect which to Netskys credit I would have expected!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
This album is brillinat, and netsky deserves the support. Ive always been listened to him, even before he was signed to hospital, listenign to hius tracks on Youtube. The album has massive tracks on it, that arent commerical, not mainstream, but perfect. Well worth the money. 'Escape' Is worth the money just on its own.
44 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
Netsky is a top quality DnB producer and artist. The album is top quality. The first track is just outstanding. This is not an out and out relentless hardcore DnB album. The melodies and baselines keep changing and make this album so endurable. I have had this album for well over a year and it never has left the car.

I cannot recommend this album enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
have to agree with the review below. to be fair it just sounds like he had to rush this album to get it released and it ended up sounding thin and weak as a result. a couple of classics on here, but way too much filler and some tracks sound like they were made in about 2 hours using a fisher-price keyboard :)

seriously tho, netsky is clearly talented iron heart is a cracking tune, probably just wasnt ready to make an entire album which is a tall order for any new producer. netsky = potential for some amazing music on the next album, this one wasnt the finished article. memory lane and everyday would have helped strange they werent included.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
After all the anticipation of the drum and bass community, this album was always going to have to be something pretty special. Especially considering the shear quality of Netsky's 2009 stuff. And its better!

Initially I was disappointed that some of the classics weren't in there, but thats not why you buy an album is it? Hospital and Netsky got this just right with the track choices. The first half of the album has a lot of the latest stuff - the club destroyyyyer Secret agent, and my favourite of the album - Mellow. But the second half is more subtle with some really easy listening tracks such as lets leave tomorrow, storm clouds and lost without you. All amazing tracks. Theres a dubstep tune, kind of mellow house sounding track (god knows what genre lol) and a quirky tune with some history regarding a magic vodka bottle.

All in all, if you don't buy this you clearly have no interest in drum and bass! Very good car cruising CD also :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
I find myself listening to this surprisingly often. It reminds me quite a lot of High Contrast's High Society although it's a bit smoother and more polished.

- Escape and Mellow are beautiful tracks.
- Pirate Bay is epically dirty

Not really noticed the other tracks but I happily listen through them and don't find myself skipping any.

Definitely worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
best liquid d&b i've heard in a while. I'm also quite into the dubsetp track.. can't remember its name but definately an album i'd recommend!

PS check out his essential mix ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
I have followed Netsky since he first burst onto the scene and this album just emphasizes how good he is. A definite buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£14.35

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)