Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Off Your Pants, Thanks
I went to see Stewart Lee and Richard Herring in Derby in the late 90's. This was on the back of their television programme This Morning With Richard Not Judy. The only real memory I have of the gig was that Richard had somehow acquired free tickets for a film called The Castle at the local cinema, for anyone in the crowd that wanted one. The show was hilarious and I...
Published on 31 Oct 2010 by Mr. A. Fletcher

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Gig!
Good gig, very funny, wish I'd caught it live. after a bit of a quiet, stumbling start not helped by the self-conscious response of the small audience in the claustrophobic venue it rapidly builds into an entertaining hour and a half with some very, very funny moments. Some of the material is staggeringly tasteless but Herrings sheer cheek supported by the basic premise...
Published on 27 Oct 2010 by Grushenko


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Off Your Pants, Thanks, 31 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I went to see Stewart Lee and Richard Herring in Derby in the late 90's. This was on the back of their television programme This Morning With Richard Not Judy. The only real memory I have of the gig was that Richard had somehow acquired free tickets for a film called The Castle at the local cinema, for anyone in the crowd that wanted one. The show was hilarious and I thought they'd both go on to pack out stadiums. I forget about them for about 10 years. Following Stewart's TV programme, I was pleased to discover a back catalogue of his material existed on DVD (which are all excellent). Richard seemingly hadn't had anything committed to DVD, however with a bit of searching I found he had in fact done plenty independently released, all of which I purchased. Hitler Moustache is his first mainstream release.

There aren't enough superlatives that I can throw at this, and his previous releases, Someone Likes Yoghurt, Menage A Un, The Headmaster's Son and Oh **** I'm 40. Richard's lack of commercial releases and therefore mainstream success is perhaps epitomised by Hitler Moustache. The subject matter is obviously going to court contraversy and although it is quite clear what all of the points are he is conveying, I still wouldn't take it to my local Ethnicity and Diversity Board and say, Hey everyone, take this home and watch it, it's hilarious! Just for fear that someone wouldn't get it. Stewart Lee hit the nail on the head in his book, saying Richard has mad impulses to say the worst possible thing in any situation, and from somehow lacking the self-censorship facility that prevents most of us from acting on them.

As in his other DVD's, some of the 'Cut Out/Second Version' ad libbing stuff is equally as funny as the main material and well worth watching. I look forward to Richard's tour of his new material next year. I'll definately be in attendance. I might even heckle for the first time ever, just to see the consequences... erm, you idiot, Herring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant thought provoking show, 7 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I went to see this show at the Edinburgh Stand back in March '10 and it was probably his finest work at the time. Filled with lots of hilarious anecdotes of what happens when wearing such a nose doormat. I brought two of my friends along for company who had never heard of him, and they left saying it was the best show they had ever seen, [aside] it probably wasn't. nyum nyum nyum *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier than the battle for stalingrad, 2 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Like any stand up DVD this has to stand on the strength of its own material, and whilst there a plenty of extras, the main stand up portion is both funny and thought provoking.

Under the premise of wearing a toothbrush moustache, Richard investigages modern attitudes to racism and the rise of the BNP. However probably not ideal to show to anyone easily offended.

There are only two things that distracted me.

1. The recording appears to be infront of a very small audience and some of the jokes seem to only get a weak response.

2. Half way though the thought occured to me that Richard looked like a National Express Coach driver who had gone for a job in middle management, so tried to smarten himself up, but everyone knows that he wont get it. Its probably having grown up watching him that makes that seem worse.

However it is definitly the best stand up DVD about race issues presented by a coach driver lookalike that I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and thought enducing, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
An intelligent and well thought out stand up show, that perfectly rides the line between making you laugh and making you think. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best stand up show of the year, 29 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I wanted to go and see this show in Birmingham for my birthday this year, unfortunately I missed out on it so was glad to be able to catch it on DVD. I really wish I'd been at the live show though. This is hands down the single best stand up show I've seen since Bill Hicks' Revelations. There really hasn't been much to choose from this year with regards to stand up comedy, but fortunately we've still got the likes of Richard Herring and Stewart Lee shining out, head and shoulders above the rest. It was a tough call to choose between this and Lee's 'If You Prefer A Milder Comedian....' as pick of the year, but I really think this just about pips it. Genuinely brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 July 2010
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I saw this show live. It is hilariously funny, and makes some damn good points
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At least half good., 19 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I was at one of the recordings of this at Chapter, and - as I understand one half from each of the two tapings is being used - I can say that at least half of this DVD is going to be dynamite. I wasn't at the second taping and thus can't comment on it (I'm not made of money).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I had a friend who did this once, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Straightforward (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
...he was playing Hitler in a play; he noted, as Richard does, that there is surprisingly little reaction to a modern-day individual sporting a Hitler moustache on the street - most people try their best to ignore what they probably consider to be a rather unstable individual, and move on by quickly.

It's a show of two halves - first because they filmed two separate performances and used a half from each show [inaccurate actually - see comments], and secondly because the styles are very contrasted between the two halves. I enjoyed the overtly anti-fascist political material in the second half much more than the more light, observational style of the first. It made me laugh out loud a few times, which makes it worth having watched as far as I'm concerned.

The best stuff isn't about the moustache - it's about the BNP. Richard uses wonderful logic to deconstruct their beliefs and raise a laugh at the same time, which takes some doing really.

One thing I've noticed about Richard is that he loves to say shocking things to see what reaction he gets - if you're familiar with his ways, this is rather endearing in a terrible way, because there's always a naughty expression on his face that shows he doesn't mean it. If you're not familiar with his ways and are also of a particularly easily-offended nature, then I wouldn't recommend this video to you. That applies if you're a member of BNP, too, come to think of it.

The copious extras contain a telling bit of footage - Richard going through the calendar of his beloved iPhone, recounting every memory he can dredge up from every performance of his tour up to then - 122 dates or something, which sounds exhausting. The majority of his memories concern what food he was given backstage, and whether there was enough of it or not. Let's just say that he put on quite a bit of weight during the tour. There's more extras here than on the new Stewart Lee DVD, but they're not as enjoyable. I could have done without the pictures that fans had sent in of them wearing Hitler 'taches for example, although I dutifully wasted my time looking at them all. They were appreciated, but I'm not sure they warrant the inclusion of the second DVD in the box. Apparently you can even buy a third directly from the distributors if you felt the need to watch even more.

RH's delivery hasn't changed, even considering his over-40 status - he looks more like a truncated Giant Haystacks these days, but he still has the air of a Golden retriever who has yet to be disappointed by life. I just wish he'd cut his fringe thing a bit shorter as he is continually having to brush it from the front of his face and hook it behind his ear (this is just a personal grievance of mine that won't necessarily affect anyone else's enjoyment of the DVD, but maybe somehow he'll read this and do something about it - CUT IT OFF or tie it back Richard, please). It's very distracting!

Recommended - anyone who enjoys going to comedy clubs will enjoy this a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Charlie Chaplin had it first then Hitler came along - kinda ruined it for everyone.", 31 Mar 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
In this live show Richard Herring explores what it was like to grow a toothbrush moustache in order to claim the iconic lip fuzz back from Hitler in the name of comedy. It's a moustache deemed as unacceptable because of the connotations with Hitler, Chaplin had it first and was the most famous man in the world during the 1920s yet it is never referred to as the "Chaplin `tache". It is, as Herring points out; The worse thing Hitler ever did.

It might seem a blasé thing to say but Herring isn't there (solely) to offend, he makes a surprisingly striking point, as well as the moustache, we have also lost the name Adolf and the once peaceful swastika to Hitler. He still owns them despite being defeated decades ago, he still clings on to them, the association is as strong now as it was during the blitz - freeing them from the Fuhrer's cultural grip represents the ultimate victory!

This is more than just a daft stunt to get laughs, but Herring does point out that, that is large part of it all! By bringing up the subject of Hitler it becomes a great way to explore Fascism, and by explore I mean tear it to pieces and expose it for the hateful evil that it is. He pokes fun at right wing views, initially by twisting the usual arguments that racists use in a way that reveals how ridiculous they are ("I've actually got a friend who's a woman so I can't be sexist"). By explaining how racists are better people than liberals because they fail to see the succinct differences between nations he mocks them and ridicules racism. It's great to see a comedian not scared to inject their political views into their routine, his liberal outlook is used to savage the narrow minded and instead of feeling like a lecture it is genuinely funny.

Other reviewers have pointed out that the second half of the show feels somehow different to the initial part. It is certainly more serious in tone and more ruthless in its criticism of right wing prejudice. It's a heavy satire on modern politics and the apathy which enables fringe parties such as the BNP to win seats in elections. Even though there is a lot of political content it doesn't lose the cheeky comedy edge which Richard Herring makes look so effortless. He dissects a BNP election leaflet and points out the mistakes and embarrassingly obvious attempts to ally themselves with already established icons and groups, it's a routine which is supremely effective at rendering the leaflet a piece of junk, he encourages us to laugh at them in order to make sure they aren't taken seriously.

It's difficult to not like Richard Herring (unless you're a Nazi, die-hard Christian, or Carol Thatcher). He is an intelligent man who, like most blokes, hasn't quite grown up yet. If he were an idiotic comedian after cheap laughs then this would be an offensive disaster, but he's an articulate guy who isn't scared to hide the childish side all men have. Richard Herring doesn't simply try to offend, and even when he does say something controversial it's for a reason - for instance, a joke about Michael Jackson is followed by a humourous and touching diatribe about the effects of fame on a little boy who wasn't ready for it.

This is filmed on a small stage with the audience only feet away. The small audience helps to create a cosy atmosphere which means that the delivery isn't lost into a cavernous theatre. The DVD package contains quite a lot of extras, some aren't as good as others but overall they give a comprehensive set of bonuses which will give you a few extra laughs. The main performance doesn't rely on gags or quickfire punchlines so it has great re-watch value, this is the best Richard Herring DVD I've seen as the show is well crafted, very funny, and it's clear that he is passionate about the subject matter.

In a nutshell: This isn't a daft story about growing a Hitler Moustache, it's a clever satire with some absolutely brilliant observations on modern politics. There was one part where the pace seemed to drop (a few minutes where he argues with himself) but other than that the level of humour is consistently high and like-minded thinkers will find this thought-provoking. At the end he gives a funny speech about what it is to be British, and it's actually very stirring - like a modern long haired Churchill but less war-hungry and not afraid to admit letching over students in the library while sporting a ...Charlie Chaplin moustache. Five stars for this as it has something to say and it says it with great effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair based genius, 31 Aug 2010
This review is from: Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I watched this live and it was very funny and thought provoking. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010]
Richard Herring - Hitler Moustache [DVD] [2010] by Richard Herring (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: 4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews