Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars60
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2008
I was never the biggest Tony Curtis fan, but this is a fun and interesting read for fans of the Hollywood golden age. Curtis was a smooth character back in the day and a big time movie star. His life intersects with many of the biggest and brightest stars of the time including lovers such as Marilyn Monroe. A lot of the book does come off as "look at me, look who I knew and who I slept with," (Which I must admit was a guilty pleasure to read about) but the is more than that. It is also an interesting look into Hollywood during its golden age after world war two and prior to television taking over pop culture. The reader is taken behind the scenes of some of his great films "Houdini [1953] (REGION 1) (NTSC)", Some Like It Hot [1959] (with Marilyn Monroe), and Spartacus [1960] (with Kirk Douglas). I found the book less interesting as it moves into the late years of his life but overall this should be of interest to Curtis fans and fans of the old Hollywood. For more great reading on the end of Hollywood's heyday do try "Misfits Country" Marilyn Monroe and Clark Gable brought to life!
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Tony Curtis wasn't initially the best actor in the world but he pulled himself up by his bootstraps when he made some tremendous films - The Sweet Smell of Success, Trapeze, Some like it Hot and The Boston Strangler - which displayed his talents as a serious and a comic actor. Many of his other films were also eminently watchable. However, as he slid into a decline with cocaine and dating (and marrying) girls so young, it's likely he met some of them at `Toys`R'Us', some of his later films were truly terrible.

So does this - probably heavily ghosted - autobiography adequately do him credit? Well, yes and no. To repeatedly tell the reader how attractive he was and recounting his exploits as a serial adulterer does get a bit much and there's a strong self-pitying streak with regards to the anti-Semitism he encountered. But in addition, Curtis is frequently self-mocking; and when he refers to the often misquoted line from Son of Ali Baba, "Yanda lies the castle of me fadda", this is a case in point. He also frankly describes the trauma of the death of his younger brother and also the mental illness suffered by a second brother, as well as his mother; plus, of course the distress when one of his sons died of a drugs overdose.

This is no literary masterpiece, nor does it measure up to the memoirs of David Niven or Errol Flynn; but it's a good, readable and often amusing book about a man who was very talented, exceptionally vain, emotionally insecure and sometimes rather sad, written with an easy style.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2009
Great if you love the movies of 50' and 60's. I loved the gossip of old Hollywood and getting a peep into those years. Carol Weston
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2009
A great read for all those interested in Hollywood from the 1950's and in this charismatic and under-rated actor in particular. Tony Curtis has appeared in some of the greatest films ever produced from Some Like it Hot to Spartacus to Sweet Smell of Success. Tony's life has been a heart-rending mixture of lows and highs and he has an insightful and lovable reading style able to reflect on the anti-semitism of Hollywood and his own inability to hang on to love and keep his zipper shut!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
This really is a cracking autobiography, and all the more authentic given Tony Curtis's frank acknowledgement of his failures as a husband, his life-long insecurities and his descent into drug addiction. It's a very easy and compelling read, and gives a real insight not only into the life of a genuine Hollywood star, but also into the darker side of celebrity.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
As you would expect Curtis's own account of his life is both fascinating and revealing as he takes us on a journey from his poor childhood days through to becoming a Hollywood star and beyond. His various accounts of time working on movies as well as several romances he embarked on are exactly what you expect and also want. But there is also a sense of Curtis's ego at work as well through out as he often not so much moans but questions why he was never offered the sort of roles which friends from the time like Brando was being offered. It's almost like he has a bit of a chip on his shoulder about this, which whilst makes it an honest account of how he felt about his movie career does get a bit grating by the time you finish.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
Tony Curtis is probably one of the most underated screen actors of his generation, his pretty boy looks and early career casting at low budget Universal really didnt do him any favours on the acting credability front.
This isnt really the book that his life story deserves, you get the impression that there is so much more to tell that he probably doesnt want in the public domain..it reads like a 1950's fan magazine telling you all the insider stories about his co workers and friends but alas with hardly any real substance..Im sure there is a story to be told about Mr Curtis and his fascinating life but this sadly isnt it...as Mr Curtis says..'This will be the true record of my life'..if it is i think hes forgotten a lot....
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2009
I've been a Tony Curtis fan since I was a child and was looking forward to reading this autobiography.

It is a good autobiography, it covers his life and let's you in to areas that were perhaps not public or widely known before. I did feel that the latter half of his life was rushed in the book, not enough detail. The book covers quite a bit on his childhood and a lot on the early days in Hollywood.

I would've have liked to have more on the personal side and particular on his childhood. Some real tough moments don't seem to get the amount of words they deserve and I wonder if this tells us more about Tony than the actual words in the book.

The Hollywood years are interesting and of course it is all about Tony. There are no great scoops on Hollywood that have not been covered in other books and autobiographies.

You do get a very good feel for Tony's character and his personality and of course you can choose whether you like him more or less for yourself. If you are a fan it's a good book, if you want to learn about the history of Hollywood I would give it a miss. I do wish there had been more on the latter years from the mid seventies onwards.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2011
This book is like a long chat show interview. Tony Curtis speaks openly about his life, his view of it. Al the right ingredients are here: childhood and upbringing, navy career, early films, marriage(s) and stardom on to the final years of painting.

There is no shortage of star names here and what he has to say is often very revealing. The stuff about Frank Sinatra certainly clarifies some of the rumours about his lifestyle and associates. The stories about Marilyn Monroe are telling as well.

Curtis as at his best when talking about events and situations: when he begins any kind of personal analysis you immediately see his shortcomings - he was not a perceptive person. Certainly his view of why his marriages failed is in marked contrast to the interpretation a reader might make from the narrative. He was a hard worker and a hard player.

Although he thought he could have made better and more films, the style of the book (if it is verbatim, as it seems) would suggest he didn't have the psychological depth or sensitivity to do more than he did.

On the flip side, it is great to read about the fun he had in the first half of his career, the films and the people he made them with. This is what you want from a Hollywood biography.

There is also some really sad stuff about his family. You have to feel for the man whose parents had so many problems emotionally, and both of whose brothers met such sad ends. It is no wonder that Tony Curtis comes across as emotionally cut-off. The consequences of this are seen in his relationship with his own children.

It is a bit self-indulgent and the reader gets rather fed up of his basically one-dimensional attitude to "beautiful women", but if makes a good read about an old star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
Given that Tony Curtis always was on the prowl where Hollywood actresses (or basically anything wearing a skirt) were concerned, it is a voyeuristic pleasure reading this biography; even if by now you have to google many of the women mentioned in the book in order to find out what they looked like in their heyday.

But there the good news ends, unfortunately. Tony Curtis totally lacks the self-depreciation, the sense of humour or the narrative talent that make David Niven's reminiscenses on the golden years of Hollywood such fun to read. As mentioned by other reviewers, Tony Curtis comes across as very full of himself, never happier than when fans screamed his name or yet another woman fell for his repeatedly self-proclaimed good looks.

His ghostwriter in my view totally fails in turning the material he had to work with into anything like a rollercoaster ride. Whether this is because Tony tried to save a penny in selecting a good ghostwriter or because he kept getting in the ghostwriters way I don't know. But the result is a "Then I did this, then I did that, then I did something else" sequence of events that completely failed to captivate me.

If you basically just want to know about the women Tony Curtis slept with, this is the book for you. As a story on the golden years of Hollywood, many - if not most - books on the subject have been better written than this one.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)