Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans of Hollywood's golden age!
I was never the biggest Tony Curtis fan, but this is a fun and interesting read for fans of the Hollywood golden age. Curtis was a smooth character back in the day and a big time movie star. His life intersects with many of the biggest and brightest stars of the time including lovers such as Marilyn Monroe. A lot of the book does come off as "look at me, look who I...
Published on 28 Oct 2008 by Bill Pullman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From Pauper to Prince
As you would expect Curtis's own account of his life is both fascinating and revealing as he takes us on a journey from his poor childhood days through to becoming a Hollywood star and beyond. His various accounts of time working on movies as well as several romances he embarked on are exactly what you expect and also want. But there is also a sense of Curtis's ego at...
Published on 12 May 2010 by The Movie Scene


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans of Hollywood's golden age!, 28 Oct 2008
By 
I was never the biggest Tony Curtis fan, but this is a fun and interesting read for fans of the Hollywood golden age. Curtis was a smooth character back in the day and a big time movie star. His life intersects with many of the biggest and brightest stars of the time including lovers such as Marilyn Monroe. A lot of the book does come off as "look at me, look who I knew and who I slept with," (Which I must admit was a guilty pleasure to read about) but the is more than that. It is also an interesting look into Hollywood during its golden age after world war two and prior to television taking over pop culture. The reader is taken behind the scenes of some of his great films "Houdini [1953] (REGION 1) (NTSC)", Some Like It Hot [1959] (with Marilyn Monroe), and Spartacus [1960] (with Kirk Douglas). I found the book less interesting as it moves into the late years of his life but overall this should be of interest to Curtis fans and fans of the old Hollywood. For more great reading on the end of Hollywood's heyday do try "Misfits Country" Marilyn Monroe and Clark Gable brought to life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Product of the Hollywood Dream-Factory, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. R. D. M. Kirby "Dick Kirby" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tony Curtis wasn't initially the best actor in the world but he pulled himself up by his bootstraps when he made some tremendous films - The Sweet Smell of Success, Trapeze, Some like it Hot and The Boston Strangler - which displayed his talents as a serious and a comic actor. Many of his other films were also eminently watchable. However, as he slid into a decline with cocaine and dating (and marrying) girls so young, it's likely he met some of them at `Toys`R'Us', some of his later films were truly terrible.

So does this - probably heavily ghosted - autobiography adequately do him credit? Well, yes and no. To repeatedly tell the reader how attractive he was and recounting his exploits as a serial adulterer does get a bit much and there's a strong self-pitying streak with regards to the anti-Semitism he encountered. But in addition, Curtis is frequently self-mocking; and when he refers to the often misquoted line from Son of Ali Baba, "Yanda lies the castle of me fadda", this is a case in point. He also frankly describes the trauma of the death of his younger brother and also the mental illness suffered by a second brother, as well as his mother; plus, of course the distress when one of his sons died of a drugs overdose.

This is no literary masterpiece, nor does it measure up to the memoirs of David Niven or Errol Flynn; but it's a good, readable and often amusing book about a man who was very talented, exceptionally vain, emotionally insecure and sometimes rather sad, written with an easy style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American Prince My Autobiography by Tony Curtis, 24 Jun 2009
By 
C. Weston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great if you love the movies of 50' and 60's. I loved the gossip of old Hollywood and getting a peep into those years. Carol Weston
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-rate Hollywood memoir, 3 Mar 2009
This really is a cracking autobiography, and all the more authentic given Tony Curtis's frank acknowledgement of his failures as a husband, his life-long insecurities and his descent into drug addiction. It's a very easy and compelling read, and gives a real insight not only into the life of a genuine Hollywood star, but also into the darker side of celebrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American princely, 11 Sep 2009
A great read for all those interested in Hollywood from the 1950's and in this charismatic and under-rated actor in particular. Tony Curtis has appeared in some of the greatest films ever produced from Some Like it Hot to Spartacus to Sweet Smell of Success. Tony's life has been a heart-rending mixture of lows and highs and he has an insightful and lovable reading style able to reflect on the anti-semitism of Hollywood and his own inability to hang on to love and keep his zipper shut!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From Pauper to Prince, 12 May 2010
As you would expect Curtis's own account of his life is both fascinating and revealing as he takes us on a journey from his poor childhood days through to becoming a Hollywood star and beyond. His various accounts of time working on movies as well as several romances he embarked on are exactly what you expect and also want. But there is also a sense of Curtis's ego at work as well through out as he often not so much moans but questions why he was never offered the sort of roles which friends from the time like Brando was being offered. It's almost like he has a bit of a chip on his shoulder about this, which whilst makes it an honest account of how he felt about his movie career does get a bit grating by the time you finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Opportunity missed...., 28 Aug 2010
By 
M. W. Salter "mwsalter" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tony Curtis is probably one of the most underated screen actors of his generation, his pretty boy looks and early career casting at low budget Universal really didnt do him any favours on the acting credability front.
This isnt really the book that his life story deserves, you get the impression that there is so much more to tell that he probably doesnt want in the public domain..it reads like a 1950's fan magazine telling you all the insider stories about his co workers and friends but alas with hardly any real substance..Im sure there is a story to be told about Mr Curtis and his fascinating life but this sadly isnt it...as Mr Curtis says..'This will be the true record of my life'..if it is i think hes forgotten a lot....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Long Time Tony Curtis Fan - still a fan, I guess, 19 Jun 2009
By 
K. Mcdougall "keithmc" (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've been a Tony Curtis fan since I was a child and was looking forward to reading this autobiography.

It is a good autobiography, it covers his life and let's you in to areas that were perhaps not public or widely known before. I did feel that the latter half of his life was rushed in the book, not enough detail. The book covers quite a bit on his childhood and a lot on the early days in Hollywood.

I would've have liked to have more on the personal side and particular on his childhood. Some real tough moments don't seem to get the amount of words they deserve and I wonder if this tells us more about Tony than the actual words in the book.

The Hollywood years are interesting and of course it is all about Tony. There are no great scoops on Hollywood that have not been covered in other books and autobiographies.

You do get a very good feel for Tony's character and his personality and of course you can choose whether you like him more or less for yourself. If you are a fan it's a good book, if you want to learn about the history of Hollywood I would give it a miss. I do wish there had been more on the latter years from the mid seventies onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No fun read, really, 6 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given that Tony Curtis always was on the prowl where Hollywood actresses (or basically anything wearing a skirt) were concerned, it is a voyeuristic pleasure reading this biography; even if by now you have to google many of the women mentioned in the book in order to find out what they looked like in their heyday.

But there the good news ends, unfortunately. Tony Curtis totally lacks the self-depreciation, the sense of humour or the narrative talent that make David Niven's reminiscenses on the golden years of Hollywood such fun to read. As mentioned by other reviewers, Tony Curtis comes across as very full of himself, never happier than when fans screamed his name or yet another woman fell for his repeatedly self-proclaimed good looks.

His ghostwriter in my view totally fails in turning the material he had to work with into anything like a rollercoaster ride. Whether this is because Tony tried to save a penny in selecting a good ghostwriter or because he kept getting in the ghostwriters way I don't know. But the result is a "Then I did this, then I did that, then I did something else" sequence of events that completely failed to captivate me.

If you basically just want to know about the women Tony Curtis slept with, this is the book for you. As a story on the golden years of Hollywood, many - if not most - books on the subject have been better written than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Yonda lies the castle of my fodda", 24 Oct 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I liked Tony Curtis in his heyday, but his memoir makes him look like a perpetually horny little boy with the biggest ego in Hollywood.

He talks about all of his movies but seems proudest of his trysts with his leading ladies; apparently there were few starlets who could resist his charms. I gave up counting how many affairs he had; they must have numbered in the hundreds.

After his career took a nosedive, he blamed his six wives, his drug addiction, and anti-Semitism. His hubris concerning his desirability is matched only by his inflated opinion of his acting abilities. That said, it certainly is a page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Prince: My Autobiography
5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews