Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
This is quite simply one of the best books I've ever read. The book explains why the landscape of Britain is the way it is, and also talks a bit about the different sorts of plants that grow in different areas. The book relates scenery to the underlying geology, and explains how Britain has evolved. I'd have liked more colour photographs, but that presumably would have...
Published on 23 Jun 2002

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but needs more diagrams
This is a fascinating book and a joy to read BUT it needs a knowledge of geology to follow it as there are almost no diagrams. Many of the photos are beautiful but did not explain the geology to me. For the student of geology it must be an exciting and interesting read explaining geology and landscape of Britain. However, for the beginner it needs to be complemented by...
Published on 5 Aug 2010 by John Bugg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 23 Jun 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is quite simply one of the best books I've ever read. The book explains why the landscape of Britain is the way it is, and also talks a bit about the different sorts of plants that grow in different areas. The book relates scenery to the underlying geology, and explains how Britain has evolved. I'd have liked more colour photographs, but that presumably would have made the price soar. It is accessible to anyone; background in geology isn't necessary to enjoy this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, 25 Mar 2004
By 
J. Charlesworth (Lewes, E. Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Quite simply one of the most engaging books on geology I've read. Fortey's prose is memorable and scattered with analogies & anecdotes which make the science memorable, and accessible. I've always been interested in geology, but never made an effort to pursue it, other than picking up rocks, and learning the very basics. The Hidden Landscape takes the reader into the field, and clearly describes what the rocks are and why they matter. It contains enough science not to be boring to those with some knowledge [I did a paleontology course at university that covered basic geology], but is clear enough not to baffle those with none.
While this book is enjoyable to read all the way through, it's also useful to return to as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fortey brings the landscape of Britain to life., 19 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Once again Richard Fortey has managed to bring to the public one of the best and most easily read books of this type. His way of relating the geology to his own experiences is unsurpassed. It is one of those few books on geology and geomorphology which can you can go back to time and time again without it becoming stale. Novices and experts alike will learn something of the British landscape from this book. A must for any one interested in the make up of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've ever read, 9 Jan 2006
By 
Adam (Cairo Egypt) - See all my reviews
Whether or not you have a background in geology this book will add a new dimension to your appreciation of the British countryside and the English Language. In one passage he describes Knockan Cliff, an unassuming crag in the lonely wilderness of Assynt, where the collision of two ancient continents 400 million years ago is recorded along a single rock surface which you can put your hand on if you know where to look :
"there is something about the Moine Thrust that is almost poetry. What could be more dramatic than the grind of rock against rock beneath the terrible grip of a vanished mountain range? And who could doubt that to see upon the ground the vestiges of a distant past adds to the richness of our experience of the present? There is an exquisite irony that sheep, the most nervous of animals, now peacefully graze slopes where continents came to rest. We may see only the ooze of a small, rush-rimmed spring to mark where rocks of unlike type came to lie one upon the other. The subtle differences in (drainage) of the rocks recognise the truth, where the ignorant walker could pass by enlightened, and the wind blows in the cotton grass as if none of this had ever been."
Thomas Hardy would have been proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but needs more diagrams, 5 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating book and a joy to read BUT it needs a knowledge of geology to follow it as there are almost no diagrams. Many of the photos are beautiful but did not explain the geology to me. For the student of geology it must be an exciting and interesting read explaining geology and landscape of Britain. However, for the beginner it needs to be complemented by a book such as Peter Toghill's "The Geology of Britain"The Geology of Britain. With the diagrams Fortey's book would be 5+ stars. For the amateur it's worth the effort to read both books together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fortey's Hidden Landscape, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. A. Pearce "Adam Agape" (Solihull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another great book by Richard Fortey. It was published in 1993, but this edition adds photos and other illustrations. A classic when first published, and a classic now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to UK Geology - but not enough pictures, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Having also got Peter Toghill's superb The Geology of Britain, there is an interesting contrast between the two books.

"The Hidden Landscape" is a wonderful, poetic journey through the time and place (Geology and Geography) of Britain, from the earliest rocks in the far north-west, down to the youngest rocks - rather conveniently located in the south-east. Along the way we are treated to the author's gentle humour, and many vignettes of places he has visited (with a curious emphasis on pubs?). I learnt a lot from this book (which I read first) but was a bit frustrated by descriptions of places (and interesting rock formations) that were left to my imagination. This is OK for poetry or fiction - but perhaps not for a science book.

I then found "The Geology of Britain" - which may not be as poetic or redolent of the glories of Britain, but does have lots (and LOTS) of photographs. Pretty much everywhere that frustrated me in The Hidden Landscape with its invisibility is pictured in this second book.

So I recommend this book (The Hidden Landscape) but also suggest you try The Geology of Britain - more science and more photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hidden Landscape, 4 Dec 2012
By 
elcee (East Anglia U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Landscape: A Journey into the Geological Past (Kindle Edition)
Richard Fortey's writing style is excellent. Easy to read and follow. When travelling I now view the countryside very differently from my previous casual manner Journeys are now so full of interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Over all a very good read., 3 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting book on the geology of the UK, taking the reader on a trip around the British Isles. Looking at why the landscape is the way it is, how it was formed, ans what can be seen today.
Also personal snippets of the authors interest in geology add some light heartedness to quite a big subject. Over all a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful companion, 2 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part a guide to the geology of the British Isles (including Ireland), part travel guide and part muse on the architecture of the past (and the inadequacies of the architecture of the 20th century and beyond) this is a wholly wonderful book. I am inspired to take a geological hammer, get in a car and go exploring. Sadly I live in China, but one day ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews