Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album Kylie was born to make!!
Firstly, you will notice that for a few bitter people they will be the first to take shots at Kylie Minogue. No matter what she does it's just not good enough. Which brings me to this incredible album that is "Aphrodite" which celebrates the true essence of Kylie. Unashamed hands in the air dance pop, which revisits the 6 million selling forumla of "Fever", but with more...
Published on 6 July 2010 by Spaceball

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so album - surprisingly - from Kylie
I am a massive Kylie fan, but this was the album of hers where I had to hold my hands up and say it just isn't good enough. Yes, there's some infectious pop - All The Lovers is an excellent, danceable track - but the rest of it is sub-standard compared to Kylie's usual offerings.

Not one of the tracks on this album would stand up alongside her greatest hits -...
Published 1 month ago by JB


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album Kylie was born to make!!, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
Firstly, you will notice that for a few bitter people they will be the first to take shots at Kylie Minogue. No matter what she does it's just not good enough. Which brings me to this incredible album that is "Aphrodite" which celebrates the true essence of Kylie. Unashamed hands in the air dance pop, which revisits the 6 million selling forumla of "Fever", but with more than a nod to her Stock Aitken Waterman days. Despite the few catty comments, they pale in comparison to the dominant force of strong reviews, that clearly see this album for what it is.

Alot of thought and planning went into this track listing to make sure it wasn't the mess that was "X". Tracks were recorded with top producers RedOne, Fernando Garibay, Greg Kurstin which didn't make the cut, however tracks done with Xenomania have made the cut on the digital release ("Mighty Rivers") and Japanese CD ("Heartstrings"). Thankfully Stuart Price came on board at the right time, to choos what he, Kylie and label considered the best tracks and delivered the final result.

And they've done it!!
Here is a breakdown track by track:

All The Lovers
Weird choice for the first single, but after a few listens it's clearly a Kylie classic. Bassline is a little bit Moroder, lush chords and a thumping dance beat when the chorus hits. A No 3 hit in the UK, and Top 10 in several European countries, so it seems people get it.

Get Out Of My Way
Insanely instant unlike "All The Lovers" and the 2nd single. Key change in the chorus hits you like a steam train and you're singing along very quickly. True pop dance Kylie at her best.

Put Your Hands Up (If You Feel Love)
Another instantly infectious signature Kylie song. I would imagine this is a strong contender for a single, another thumping dance anthem for Kylie.

Closer
Not the same "Closer" from 1991 (b side to "Finer Feelings". This song is a masterpiece. It is still a dance track with a very strong European flavour, a touch of Abba, a touch dark, even Pet Shop Boys comes to mind. Only criticism is that it's too short.

Everything Is Beautiful
The album's first mid-tempo song and is so melodic. Another amazingly catchy chorus and the sole collaboration with Tim Rice-Oxley from Keane. Kylie's voice is great on this.

Aphrodite
Get ready for this one. Full of attitude and a powerhouse vocal from Kylie.
A dance track with a slightly rocky edge. A highlight, and can see everyone from handbag housewives to drag queens miming or singing this at the top of their lungs.

Illusion
The first of 3 Kylie co-writes. People have knocked her for not doing much writing on this album, but I would rather 3 songs with her and mimimal co-writers than her name being one of 5 or 6 writers. Then you know the tracks are alot more of Kylie's work. Nobody other than Kylie could write these lyrics, she has her own style and it works on this slower track, a little bit like "Fever", her title track from the album of the same name. So catchy, and 80s bleeps and chor changes everywhere.

Better Than Today
Leo Sayer meets Scissor Sisters, it's like 1978 meets 2010. It's slow funky disco with some great synths in the chorus, and was one of the first tracks recorded for this album. It gets stuck in your head.

Too Much
The BPMs are back at full speed now, on this collaboration with Jake Shears and Calvin Harris. It's frantic, busy and has an early 90s funky house pop influence in a modern day dance track. The 2nd Kylie co-write.

Cupid Boy
Great guitar driven bass, along a dance drum track, and is one of only few songs where Kylie uses her much higher girly voice. Great verses, if I had to choose a least favourite album track this would be it, but it's hard as it's still great.

Looking For An Angel
Kylie's final co-write and 2nd with Stuart Price (the other being "Illusion"). Smooth dance pop with a mild 80s vibe. You can hear early Madonna or even early 80s Michael Jackson in the verse melody.

Can't Beat The Feeling
And the album ends on an energetic uplifting dance anthem that Stock Aitken Waterman would be very proud to have written. Hope this is a single, and a a great way to end a great album.

This album is excellent from start to finish, and I've listened to nothing else for a week. The last Kylie album I did that with was the 1995 debut album with DeConstruction.

Her vocals are alot stronger on this than the girly higher vocals on her last couple of albums (with a 1 or 2 exceptions).

It's nothing more nothing less than great catchy dance pop, which only Kylie does best. If you still think that isn't good enough, maybe find something else to invest your time on, instead of telling the world how much you hate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie back on Form, 8 July 2010
By 
Mr. L. S. Jameson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
Well I have to say that I used to be a massive Kylie fan back in her early PWL days - 87 to 93. When she went all indie I just lost interest - then she went all cool with De-Construction and although this was a slight improvement - was still not interesting to me.....then she reinvents herself as a sex kitten (well, she always was AND IS) and spun us all around with more dance - much better stuff and for the next few years things were ok...but over the last 5 or 6 years I have lost interest...what with 'Body Language' etc....UNTIL NOW. Aphrodite is FAB - only got my copy yesterday and I'm loving it already - my fave track has to be 'Closer' - its fantastic - very dreamy n mysterious - LOVE IT!! This is Kylie at her best again - and I am really happy for her! Hope she brings 'Closer' out as a single - though I do love 'All the lovers' - Get this now.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best since "Fever", 2 July 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (MP3 Download)
Kylie returns with a very solid new album... it is a very cohesive and unified collection this time out. 2003's Body Language and 2007's X suffered a little because they strayed a little at times away from Kylie's pop/ dance strengths towards light r'n'b and both sets weren't helped by poor lead single choices - slow was never a good idea as a single but it was an interesting album track and 2 Hearts was misleading- many would have been forgiven for thinking she was going experimental with a rock/ indie sound again like she did unsuccessfully in the late nineties. Still, both albums had lots to offer her fans but Kylie is really at her best when it's pure unadulterated, feel good disco/ dance pop she delivers.

Fever was the last time Kylie got it totally right and she has done it again with Aphrodite- the album plays totally to her strenghts- its crammed full of uptempo, beat heavy dance tunes. Parlophone are already planning for an 18 month long/ 5 single promotion and you can see why... the album is crammed full of potential singles.

All the lovers is Kylie's best lead single for an album since Cant Get You Outta My Head... unlike slow or 2 hearts, it really sets the tone for the album this time, it's a good barometer for whether you'll like this album.

My personal faves so far:
Illusion is an insanely catchy tune with single written all over it, the melody is so catchy.

Aphrodite is a real feisty, "survivor" anthem penned by the hugely talented Nerina Pallot.

Mighty Rivers is a great chilled, laid back, summery track... a great bonus.

Get Outta My Way.. the next single, might take a bit to get going, but it's very catchy when it does,

Everything is Beautiful is a great mid-tempo, breezy track.

Cant Beat The Feeling is another feel-good uptempo anthem.

All things considered, this album should see Kylie being a bit more commercially successful than her last two albums were... it might be critiqued for being samey, all sounding the same, but yes, the album is unified and has a definite sound, but it works, just as it did on fever - kylie always does well when she serves up unapologetic dance/pop.

A real summer album to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aphroditastic, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
This is by far the best Kylie album in years and as good as Light Years and Fever. The Calvin Harris and Scissor Sisters co-writeen tracks are amazing and Get Outta My Way will be a fantastic second single. It is a really up tempo album and gels together much better than X. Kylie should never need a come back album but if she does, this is it. I can't wait for the supporting tour!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to get on the dance floor!, 25 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
Oh boy, where's the nearest nightclub? This album is brilliant hasn't been off the music system or car cd player since it arrived on Tuesday! Won't go into details on the tracks as others before me have done that well enough. Love all the tracks, would just say buy it, would be very surprised if you didn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little_Monster, 7 July 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
I purchased the Experience Edition of this album and I have to say that this new record by Kylie Minogue is 100% hot and sexy. It's worth buying both the Standard and the Experience Edition, but in my opinion, the best one is the Experience: it contains an additional DVD which features some awesome live performances from the 'For You, For Me Tour', which took place in the United States and 2 Making-ofs.
As for the CD, I have to admit that I love any song on the record - except of the track entitled 'Illusion', which is a bit boring.

Best songs? 'Get Outta My Way', 'Put Your Hands Up', 'Aphrodite', 'Better than Today' and -obviously- the new single 'All the Lovers' :)

Final comment? 5 Stars ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form, 11 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
After the very disappointing X album, this is Kylie's best album in years. Its jam packed from start to finish with potential singles. Starting off with the brilliant "all the lovers" which made no3 in the UK singles chart and is also her biggest selling song by some distance since Can't get you out of my head. Standout tracks on the album are Put your hands up, Aphrodite, Cupid Boy, Better than today and Closer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dancefloor Princess, 24 Dec 2010
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
By pushing the dance element of her dance-pop hybrid to greater prominence than ever before, Kylie has made posssibly the strongest album of her career here. Most of her best loved songs are feel good dancefloor fillers, but this is fuel-injected kylie, superpowered by waves of euphoric synths and irresistable beats that are impossible not to get caught up in.

Despite the presence of a wealth of disparate collaborators, (Calvin Harris; Jake Shears; Nerina Pallot; Tim Rice-Oxley) the album retains a cohesive singularity in it's sound that nods to Harris' own oeuvre and Daft Punk alongside pop institutions like Madonna and Prince.

What doesn't underpin the album is a dinstinct personality. Brand Kylie remains to some degree a flag under which hip songwriters, producers and DJs looking to further their careers can congregate. Minogue's disinclication to reveal herself means she's incapable of a confessional masterpiece like 'Like a Prayer' in her current incarnation, but this is ruthlessly efficient pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this woman, 26 Aug 2010
By 
John Tierney "viletrog" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
Kylie has many detractors - so if you don't like her - why bother to read the reviews - or, if you are of a negative disposition - particularly the prats who responded to one of my previous reviews about Kylie - in advance - 'UP YOURS' - now onto the LP - very well produced - not as catchy on first/second hearing as FEVER - but nonetheless, as a fan, I love it - the first track may already have been released as a single? If it hasn't gone single it should - I like the LP - but it's one you need to listen to - the lyrics are a lot 'deeper' than previous stuff - very danceable to - when hoovering - JT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected...so far., 31 July 2010
Hello everyone!

I must say I liked All The Lovers -both song and video- from the very beginning, but after listening to the whole album twice, I must say I don't enjoy it as much as I enjoyed Fever or X. I really like Cupid Boy, Closer and Looking For An Angel, and I do think these three songs should be future singles, seriously. I guess I'll have to listen to the album more than twice to find more songs I like.

Unfortunately somebody decided to put on the DVD the most boring part of Kylie's North-American tour. Who wants to see Kylie on a sofa? They could've used the highlights of the show instead. And where is the All The Lovers video? The behind the scenes section is really good, but then you want to watch the video.

Kylie, come back to Peru soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa83eb9f0)

This product

Aphrodite
Aphrodite by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews