Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Zeus It's A Corker !
You've got to love her really haven't you and with
her new album 'Aphrodite' what's not to love?!

The twelve tracks in this collection confirm what
we knew already : Ms Minogue is at the very top of
her game and she's going nowhere else anytime soon.

This is incandescent pop music! Bright and shiny,
economical, unaffected and...
Published on 5 July 2010 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kylie concerts on DVD are better than her CD's
I am a fan from Kylie since the year of 2000, when I listened to "Can't Get You Out Of My Head" on the radio and thought: "this song is really good, it will certainly become a world hit". And I was right (as I was with Simply Red's "Money's Too Tight To Mention", in the 80's). But, for me, the only CD that really works is "Fever", maybe because it contains the track...
Published on 9 Aug. 2011 by Perboir Moreira Filho


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Zeus It's A Corker !, 5 July 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
You've got to love her really haven't you and with
her new album 'Aphrodite' what's not to love?!

The twelve tracks in this collection confirm what
we knew already : Ms Minogue is at the very top of
her game and she's going nowhere else anytime soon.

This is incandescent pop music! Bright and shiny,
economical, unaffected and totally convincing.
The fact that you can dance yourself senseless almost
all the way through it is a big bonus too!

Despite the involvement of a horde of worthy writers and
producers Stuart Price keeps a firm executive grip on the
steering wheel and delivers an exciting and coherent sound.

When one listens to something as perfectly constructed
as opening track and single 'All The Lovers' we know,
despite the familiar verse/chorus formula of the thousand
other songs which it echoes that this one will force itself
ahead of the pack by virtue of its glorious sunny sincerity.

Ms Minogue's voice has never been the most powerful or
technically proficient instrument in the business but
it really doesn't matter a jot. There is such joyous
honesty in her performances that the limitations become
invisible and irrelevant. She does exactly what's necessary
to bring the songs to bright and bouncy life. A true star.

The punchy electro-pop ambience becomes her. 'Aphrodite'
makes a credible and creditable contribution to the genre.

'Put Your Hands Up (If You Feel Love)', too, will doubtless
be setting dancefloors alight across the land very soon.
Writers Dow-Smith, Nervo and Nervo have fulfilled their brief
effortlessly in creating an ecstatically upbeat anthem which
fits the classic Kylie mould like a jewel-encrusted glove!

Final track 'Can't Beat The Feeling' is the whole knickerbocker
glory with extra cherries, whipped cream AND chocolate sprinkles!

Ms Minogue is a trooper, a fighter and a positive force in a
darkening world. She deserves our unconditional affection.
'Aphrodite' is the icing on the cake of a commendable career.

Essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kylie concerts on DVD are better than her CD's, 9 Aug. 2011
By 
Perboir Moreira Filho "music lover" (Sao Paulo, SP Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a fan from Kylie since the year of 2000, when I listened to "Can't Get You Out Of My Head" on the radio and thought: "this song is really good, it will certainly become a world hit". And I was right (as I was with Simply Red's "Money's Too Tight To Mention", in the 80's). But, for me, the only CD that really works is "Fever", maybe because it contains the track already mentioned and some others that I love. I saw Kylie live when she came to Brazil, I already bought my tickets to see her on a 3D movie experience and have all her live DVD's. Even with all the major (or minor) changes in the songs' arrangements, I love all the DVD's, with no exception, from "Live In Sidney" to "X 2008". I have no doubt that I'll buy "Aphrodite" also, just anxious for it to be released. I heard "Aphrodite" before buying it, and it was clear for me that no CD will ever beat "Fever", so I gave up. I love Kylie, she is gorgeous, her smile is inspiring and her personna is a must. Love you, Kylie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album Kylie was born to make!!, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
Firstly, you will notice that for a few bitter people they will be the first to take shots at Kylie Minogue. No matter what she does it's just not good enough. Which brings me to this incredible album that is "Aphrodite" which celebrates the true essence of Kylie. Unashamed hands in the air dance pop, which revisits the 6 million selling forumla of "Fever", but with more than a nod to her Stock Aitken Waterman days. Despite the few catty comments, they pale in comparison to the dominant force of strong reviews, that clearly see this album for what it is.

Alot of thought and planning went into this track listing to make sure it wasn't the mess that was "X". Tracks were recorded with top producers RedOne, Fernando Garibay, Greg Kurstin which didn't make the cut, however tracks done with Xenomania have made the cut on the digital release ("Mighty Rivers") and Japanese CD ("Heartstrings"). Thankfully Stuart Price came on board at the right time, to choos what he, Kylie and label considered the best tracks and delivered the final result.

And they've done it!!
Here is a breakdown track by track:

All The Lovers
Weird choice for the first single, but after a few listens it's clearly a Kylie classic. Bassline is a little bit Moroder, lush chords and a thumping dance beat when the chorus hits. A No 3 hit in the UK, and Top 10 in several European countries, so it seems people get it.

Get Out Of My Way
Insanely instant unlike "All The Lovers" and the 2nd single. Key change in the chorus hits you like a steam train and you're singing along very quickly. True pop dance Kylie at her best.

Put Your Hands Up (If You Feel Love)
Another instantly infectious signature Kylie song. I would imagine this is a strong contender for a single, another thumping dance anthem for Kylie.

Closer
Not the same "Closer" from 1991 (b side to "Finer Feelings". This song is a masterpiece. It is still a dance track with a very strong European flavour, a touch of Abba, a touch dark, even Pet Shop Boys comes to mind. Only criticism is that it's too short.

Everything Is Beautiful
The album's first mid-tempo song and is so melodic. Another amazingly catchy chorus and the sole collaboration with Tim Rice-Oxley from Keane. Kylie's voice is great on this.

Aphrodite
Get ready for this one. Full of attitude and a powerhouse vocal from Kylie.
A dance track with a slightly rocky edge. A highlight, and can see everyone from handbag housewives to drag queens miming or singing this at the top of their lungs.

Illusion
The first of 3 Kylie co-writes. People have knocked her for not doing much writing on this album, but I would rather 3 songs with her and mimimal co-writers than her name being one of 5 or 6 writers. Then you know the tracks are alot more of Kylie's work. Nobody other than Kylie could write these lyrics, she has her own style and it works on this slower track, a little bit like "Fever", her title track from the album of the same name. So catchy, and 80s bleeps and chor changes everywhere.

Better Than Today
Leo Sayer meets Scissor Sisters, it's like 1978 meets 2010. It's slow funky disco with some great synths in the chorus, and was one of the first tracks recorded for this album. It gets stuck in your head.

Too Much
The BPMs are back at full speed now, on this collaboration with Jake Shears and Calvin Harris. It's frantic, busy and has an early 90s funky house pop influence in a modern day dance track. The 2nd Kylie co-write.

Cupid Boy
Great guitar driven bass, along a dance drum track, and is one of only few songs where Kylie uses her much higher girly voice. Great verses, if I had to choose a least favourite album track this would be it, but it's hard as it's still great.

Looking For An Angel
Kylie's final co-write and 2nd with Stuart Price (the other being "Illusion"). Smooth dance pop with a mild 80s vibe. You can hear early Madonna or even early 80s Michael Jackson in the verse melody.

Can't Beat The Feeling
And the album ends on an energetic uplifting dance anthem that Stock Aitken Waterman would be very proud to have written. Hope this is a single, and a a great way to end a great album.

This album is excellent from start to finish, and I've listened to nothing else for a week. The last Kylie album I did that with was the 1995 debut album with DeConstruction.

Her vocals are alot stronger on this than the girly higher vocals on her last couple of albums (with a 1 or 2 exceptions).

It's nothing more nothing less than great catchy dance pop, which only Kylie does best. If you still think that isn't good enough, maybe find something else to invest your time on, instead of telling the world how much you hate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie back on Form, 8 July 2010
By 
Mr. L. S. Jameson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
Well I have to say that I used to be a massive Kylie fan back in her early PWL days - 87 to 93. When she went all indie I just lost interest - then she went all cool with De-Construction and although this was a slight improvement - was still not interesting to me.....then she reinvents herself as a sex kitten (well, she always was AND IS) and spun us all around with more dance - much better stuff and for the next few years things were ok...but over the last 5 or 6 years I have lost interest...what with 'Body Language' etc....UNTIL NOW. Aphrodite is FAB - only got my copy yesterday and I'm loving it already - my fave track has to be 'Closer' - its fantastic - very dreamy n mysterious - LOVE IT!! This is Kylie at her best again - and I am really happy for her! Hope she brings 'Closer' out as a single - though I do love 'All the lovers' - Get this now.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aphrodite - Goddess of Love for Great Pop, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
"Aphrodite" is the album you may have well been waiting for if you miss great pop albums that work as a whole these days. Yes, Kylie Minogue, in her 40's now and past various setbacks threatening to end her career, is as alive and kicking as ever.

The 2010 summer album is at least up to par with anything she has put out so far. Track for track, it is arguably even better than the acclaimed "Fever" and "Body Language". No duds here. The smooth opener "All The Lovers" gets out of the way for the belter "Get Outta My Way" - a joyful celebration of anything that pop music and disco means. Great hooks continue to abound, from "Put Your Hands Up" to the closer "Can't Beat the Feeling".

Highlights include the hypnotic but quite short "Closer" and "Better Than Today", co-penned by Jake Shears of Scissor Sisters. OK, don't expect any deep messages. If you want any, go to U2 or Joni Mitchell. This slant here is pure pop, guilty pleasure maybe, but reminding of good old times and at the same time very new. Songs and rhythm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best since "Fever", 2 July 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (MP3 Download)
Kylie returns with a very solid new album... it is a very cohesive and unified collection this time out. 2003's Body Language and 2007's X suffered a little because they strayed a little at times away from Kylie's pop/ dance strengths towards light r'n'b and both sets weren't helped by poor lead single choices - slow was never a good idea as a single but it was an interesting album track and 2 Hearts was misleading- many would have been forgiven for thinking she was going experimental with a rock/ indie sound again like she did unsuccessfully in the late nineties. Still, both albums had lots to offer her fans but Kylie is really at her best when it's pure unadulterated, feel good disco/ dance pop she delivers.

Fever was the last time Kylie got it totally right and she has done it again with Aphrodite- the album plays totally to her strenghts- its crammed full of uptempo, beat heavy dance tunes. Parlophone are already planning for an 18 month long/ 5 single promotion and you can see why... the album is crammed full of potential singles.

All the lovers is Kylie's best lead single for an album since Cant Get You Outta My Head... unlike slow or 2 hearts, it really sets the tone for the album this time, it's a good barometer for whether you'll like this album.

My personal faves so far:
Illusion is an insanely catchy tune with single written all over it, the melody is so catchy.

Aphrodite is a real feisty, "survivor" anthem penned by the hugely talented Nerina Pallot.

Mighty Rivers is a great chilled, laid back, summery track... a great bonus.

Get Outta My Way.. the next single, might take a bit to get going, but it's very catchy when it does,

Everything is Beautiful is a great mid-tempo, breezy track.

Cant Beat The Feeling is another feel-good uptempo anthem.

All things considered, this album should see Kylie being a bit more commercially successful than her last two albums were... it might be critiqued for being samey, all sounding the same, but yes, the album is unified and has a definite sound, but it works, just as it did on fever - kylie always does well when she serves up unapologetic dance/pop.

A real summer album to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little_Monster, 7 July 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
I purchased the Experience Edition of this album and I have to say that this new record by Kylie Minogue is 100% hot and sexy. It's worth buying both the Standard and the Experience Edition, but in my opinion, the best one is the Experience: it contains an additional DVD which features some awesome live performances from the 'For You, For Me Tour', which took place in the United States and 2 Making-ofs.
As for the CD, I have to admit that I love any song on the record - except of the track entitled 'Illusion', which is a bit boring.

Best songs? 'Get Outta My Way', 'Put Your Hands Up', 'Aphrodite', 'Better than Today' and -obviously- the new single 'All the Lovers' :)

Final comment? 5 Stars ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie can do no wrong here, 30 Jun. 2011
By 
R. Lymer (Somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
I can quite easily say this to me is the best Kylie album in a long time, or could even be her best album to date, if you were disapointed with her previous album "X" then you may breathe a sigh of relief after hearing this. There still are a couple of tracks that take a little getting used to but to me as far and rare as good old pop albums are lately this is a real gem. There are no rappers, r & b, just pure pop. Having seen Kylie recently live touring with this album i also recommend that when the dvd comes out of the Aphrodite world tour you also would not be disapointed. Her best album followed by her best tour. Thank you Kylie you have made the album i have been waiting for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aphroditastic, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
This is by far the best Kylie album in years and as good as Light Years and Fever. The Calvin Harris and Scissor Sisters co-writeen tracks are amazing and Get Outta My Way will be a fantastic second single. It is a really up tempo album and gels together much better than X. Kylie should never need a come back album but if she does, this is it. I can't wait for the supporting tour!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to get on the dance floor!, 25 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aphrodite (Audio CD)
Oh boy, where's the nearest nightclub? This album is brilliant hasn't been off the music system or car cd player since it arrived on Tuesday! Won't go into details on the tracks as others before me have done that well enough. Love all the tracks, would just say buy it, would be very surprised if you didn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aphrodite
Aphrodite by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews