Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Exactly Right" version of Reach
While I didn't necessarily order this version of the game, having ordered the "Legendary Edition" which has this full package in the box, I think what I have to say is relevant. Also my review relates more to the product on the whole rather then the game. I'm sure there are enough reviews of the game itself elsewhere to last a lifetime.

Anyway, as a huge Halo...
Published on 15 Sep 2010 by Dash S

versus
12 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is everyone smoking something?
So yesterday the much hyped 'Halo: Reach - Limited Collector's Edition' (short title) turned up. Nice packaging. Nice extras. In went the game.

I remember playing Halo on my XBox, and blinking in confusion. I'd been playing FPSes on PC for years, so was accustomed to a certain level of polish and graphics, and Halo wasn't even sub-par.

Years...
Published on 15 Sep 2010 by Mr. Christopher Hagon


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Exactly Right" version of Reach, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Dash S (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
While I didn't necessarily order this version of the game, having ordered the "Legendary Edition" which has this full package in the box, I think what I have to say is relevant. Also my review relates more to the product on the whole rather then the game. I'm sure there are enough reviews of the game itself elsewhere to last a lifetime.

Anyway, as a huge Halo fan, I was disappointed to hear that Bungie would be calling it quits after Reach and Microsoft will attempt to continue without them. I loved Halo, it was the only reason I hung onto my old Xbox while all my friends were playing on their Playstations. The game series held so many fond memories for me whilst in my teens that I simply had to get hold of the top "version" of what already promised to be a fantastic game.

I do however, regret this decision. I honestly do believe that this Limited Collectors edition is the "just right" version of Reach. The collectors edition is presented fantastically, designed as some kind of container that would have been found of Reach. It slides open to reveal the game, and underneath you have the crown jewel of the package (minus the game...obviously). Halsey's journal is a work of art, it's fantastically done with sketches and proper journal entries related to the Spartan programme. The care and attention that as gone into creating this quality product is phenomenal. If you have read into the Halo universe, it's very interesting and much better then those "art books" which are thrown into other "collectors editions". I truly believe that this is the only collectors edition, of ANY game in the last few years worth paying out extra on top of the standard price.

It's the small little details that make you smile, like a reference to Kurt (Ghosts of Onyx), or something on 117, or even Dr Halsey's UNSC cardkey complete with barcode and holograph. It was all crafted for the Halo enthusiast.

You truly get the "meat" of the package right here, and the statue (for all it's hype) is lacking, and definitely not a necessary part of the Reach experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halo Reach Limited Collector's Edition is a true masterpiece, 6 Jan 2011
By 
J. Webb (Bexhill, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So what's inside the box: One of the special items contained within is Halsey's journal. This truly is a work of art. It is well done with sketches and proper journal entries relating to the Spartan programme and adds depth to both the game and Halo universe.

The care and attention that as gone into creating this quality product is exceptional. There is also a number of hidden items with the journal that makes this stand out as a really good piece of Halo memorabilia to have in within any Halo fans collection.

The game itself: This game is brilliant with a truly immersive campaign with a wide range of multiplayer options that will be talked about in depth within this review.

Campaign: Short and sweet with a dramatic and engaging story. 9/10

Firefight: What can i say? Incredible piece of technology, flawless and packed with extra features. 10/10

Matchmaking: Great! A wide range of different game types, maps and more. 10/10

Custom games: A wide range of options that all incorporate fun as a main priority. Mission accomplished. 10/10

Forge: A great improvement from the last game. Brilliant way to make your own maps. Incredible! 10/10

Theater: Truly epic re-watching your most epic kills. 10/10

Overall, an excellent game, and the extra content in limited edition only makes it better. A perfect package for any Halo fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect game with great content!, 15 Sep 2010
By 
M. Phillips "MMP" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game itself is almost flawless, with only a few aspects that are bad. But if i talked about those, i'd truly be nit picking. Every aspect of the game is over blown and over the top!

Campaign: Whilst short, action packed to the last, with a dramatic but simple story. 8/10

Firefight: What can i say? Incredible piece of technology, flawless and packed with extra features. 10/10

Matchmaking: Great! So many different gametypes, maps and more. 10/10

Custom games: What could be better than messing about with options when your mates come round? Wanna just have a race? Kill each other? Run around really fast with just pistols? All easily accomplished. 10/10

Forge: A great improvement from the last game. One or two potential problems but none that i've been able to find so far. Incredible! 10/10

Theater: What can you say about theater? Truly epic re-watching splattering the annoying tea-bagger. 10/10

Overall, an excellent game, and the extra content in limited edition only makes it better.

Perfect for the halo fan who doesn't want to fork out the extra £60+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A epic saga in the story of the Halo genre, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Dammuz (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
About the box set- worth every penny! It's presented well with a butt load of extras that will keep collectors feeling very happy indeed. Halsey's diary makes for interesting reading alongside the extra mountain of loose paper work contained within. The box itself will unlikely fit on your shelf with your other Xbox games so make sure there is a special place big enough to house such a large piece of memorabilia.

The game- I have to say that it's a little sad to see people putting down the game for being "too much like Halo 3" or just simply "Halo again". I say to them- what were you expecting? It would make no sense to think that this game would look or play any different from its predecessors as it is a new chapter in the same novel. It needs to have a flow and continuity that allows fans and followers of the Halo genre to seamlessly transfer from one game to another, feeling comfortable within that universe.

The continuity of the game, both in terms of looks and presentation, is outstanding. The creators have gone to great lengths to make fans feel welcome back to a universe we all know so well. I would think that most fans would find it so easy to go from Reach straight into playing Halo CE and have it feel very natural and fluid (well, apart from the graphic textures but that's due to Halo CE being almost 9 years old!).

However, this game does have one huge difference from any of the other Halo games so far- it's the way this game makes you feel as you progress.

I knew (as did we all) that Reach falls before I even put the disc in the machine but, I played this game as if my actions could somehow change this preordained outcome. And, as one by one my team fell, I developed more drive and determination to make the enemy pay for stepping foot on the world. There is certainly a more gritty and dangerous feel to the opponent this time around. Any "cuteness" they may have had has long gone. They're on the planet for a reason and they all come across as being more ruthless with no emotion other than hate and a willing to destroy. By the end of the first level you will find a new born sense of pride in humanity and a new burning for revenge against the enemy! (especially the Elites, they're particularly nasty on Reach!).

By the time I watched the credits role I felt comfortable in knowing my character gave his life up for the future of his race and felt pretty settled assuming he died on Reach. Then something different happened- the creators hit you with an Epilogue level. The planet decimated, enemy drop ships swarming the skies, ground troops massing like locusts and my character; his last stand. It almost had me in tears having to fight only to survive for as long as possible with an ending cut scene very unlike any I have seen in a Halo game so far.

So to those that spout off claims that this game is no improvement I say that this isn't a Halo 3 add-on. This isn't Halo again. This is a whole new breed of feeling and emotion brought into a universe that you were starting to feel comfortable and confident in. Oh yes, you know the weapons and all the symbols but think you know your enemy?

Think again.

Bungie showed us all what a victory tasted like in Halo 3... Now, they give you the flip side. Feel what fighting to the bitter end is like as your friends and world fall all around you. And maybe that's what some others can't see, or maybe they can't bear to lose.

Either way, if you're a Halo fan, if you love the Halo genre, story and the universe then this instalment is a must have.

And if you've not yet discovered Halo yet, well, where best to start than at the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant buy!, 5 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Comes with a load of goodies and online bonuses, and the game is awesome online! Campaign mode is a little generic compared to the other Halo games, but the online play is really expansive. Takes me hours to get bored of this one for a few minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Son enjoyed this game, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My son seems to enjoy playing Halo games and seems to have really enjoy playing the this one and keeps on going back to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Absolutely great game with awesome extras all very well packaged. My copy had the back of the case in Spanish for some reason but the rest was in English luckily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Collectors Edition, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The content of the collectors box is really nice .... and of course the game is blasting. Go for it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Halo Game in the Series, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Reach is by far the best game in the Halo series, combining enhanced graphics with fun new weapons (the needle rifle is a firm favourite), armour abilities, smarter AI and great level design. The story is also a bittersweet and emotional struggle by Noble team, trying in vain to do what they can to save Reach against impossible odds.

If you're a Halo fan and haven't played this then you absolutely must!

The limited collector's addition is a nice set for the included feelies, though it doesn't contain any extra content in the game. Also note that this is not actually the UK version, but is the EU version; it's still PAL format, and all the goodies and the game itself are in English, only the box has a different language selection for the information on the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My son brought this, he wanted a copy as soon as it was released but had to wait till he saved his money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo: Reach Limited Collectors Edition (Xbox 360)
£28.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews