Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brigitte and Arnold cut up
You need to prepare you self for this movie; move the furniture out of the way and send the cats out of the room. Or they maybe victims of sword play.

Yep you guessed it Arnie (Hercules in New York) is back and he is talking. Toss in Brigitte Nielson and a sprinkle of the evil Sandahl Bergman. And you have an afternoon of fun and revenge.

Seems there...
Published on 15 May 2005 by bernie

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but fun to watch
If I am honest I probably would not have bought this film if it had not been so cheap but it is enjoyable if you like swords and sorcery films. Red Sonja is a revenge driven swordswoman seeking out a talisman in the possession of an evil queen so that it does not destroy the world. Along the way she meets the boy ruler of a destroyed kingdom with his bodyguard and a...
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by T. R. Alexander


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should've been better., 26 Mar 2010
By 
Howard Watson (Margate,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
Let's start by saying first and foremost that I'm a big fan of both the works of Robert E.Howard and the movies of Arnold Schwarzenegger.
This unfortunately let's both people down.
The best things in this movie are the sweeping and beautifully orchestrated soundtrack by Ennio Morricone and the overall production design.The worst things?A rather annoying kid with his oafish minder,the dialogue and the acting.
Conan the Barbarian was a superb movie,Conan the Destroyer was not so good,but this one is without doubt pretty poor.The whole thing seems to have been made in a hurry.Hard to believe Schwarzenegger made this AFTER The Terminator.
Low grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROBERT E. HOWARD'S GREATEST SWORDSWOMAN !!!, 1 April 2011
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie ! Brigette Neilsen is good as Red Sonja. It doesn't have the dramatic darker feel of the first of the Howard movies 'Conan the Barbarian' with Arnold Schwarzenegger. But it's better than 'Conan the Destroyer'. Arnold in this one plays a character that easily could be Conan.
Plenty of heroic fantasy adventure through-out the movie. Red Sonja the she devil with a sword battles through the Hyborian Age of this film. And comes out victorious at the end having defeated evil. 'Kull the Conqueror' and 'Solomon Kane' came afterwards as Howard movies. Red Sonja Omnibus Volume 1Red Sonja Omnibus Volume 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
Just a sword and sorcery DVD but with lots of action, some mystery, fantasy, magic, comedy, drama and simple fun. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should have been known as 'Conan alias Kalidor', 27 May 2007
This film should have been known as 'Conan alias Kalidor.' Sometimes intentionally campy, at other times unintentionally silly (like in the opening scene, where a woman is "informed" that she has been raped and that her family has been slaughtered, just for the sake of exposition), this film is ultimately neither funny enough nor competent enough (as a straightforward adventure story) to be really enjoyable. I'll leave you to decide which may be the highlight, but the low point is probably the fight with a silly metallic dragon. Brigitte Nielsen was a good choice for Sonja, with her fresh face and her firm, slightly muscular body (and I think that her dark-red hair suits her perfectly), but Schwarzenegger gives one of his few colourless performances as Kalidor. Xena was much better !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RED SONJA IS REALLY QUITE GOOD!, 5 Jan 2008
This is the one sword and sorcerery film that all the people I know have seen. I didn't see it until I got it for Christmas but within my circle of friends it is a cult classic (which is suprising considering they're mostly male and this is a girly movie). Centuries before the Spice girls Red sonja gave the world girl Power, and then some! Silly but enjoyable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... dvd it was how I remembered it a very good film., 29 Sep 2014
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
Saw the dvd it was how I remembered it a very good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great old school movie on Blu Ray not available in USA, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sonja [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I looked all over the USA for this vintage Arnald movie on Blu Ray and was not able too find it anywhere but Amazon UK (except Best Buy who wanted $45 who would have just ordered from UK anyways). Great price and arrived on estimated day; clean packaging from the Royal Mail office, (like the Royal w/cheese). Plays on PS3 and a Sony Blu-Ray player, sorry didn't doc model#. Appears region free. Brings back memories. Good buy for collectors and cinephiles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big Budget; Horrendous Script, 4 May 2012
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
Not to go all Comic Book Guy on you here, but this really might be the worst movie ever. Or at least, the worst movie that I've ever seen that was made with an "A" movie budget. One thing I will say for it: it's the kind of movie that gives you a new appreciation for just how much skill and professionalism goes into producing even the trashiest piece of pop culture.

Or at least, all the other trashy pieces of pop culture.

All of them except this one.

Hrmm. Okay. So what else is there to say about this movie?

The sets don't shake, there are hot women in tight leather... even Big Arnie makes a rare appearance as second banana. Money was clearly spent here.

But the writing. Oh, the writing.

The dialogue is utterly wince-worthy, and the characterization even more so. One thing we especially notice today is just how much that we now take for granted about gender roles was still very new at the time this film was made. A female lead in an action-adventure flick, for one. This was still quite obviously an enormous novelty - or at least, it's certainly treated as such in this film. In fact, since they already had a woman as lead, why not go all the way and get a kid involved as one of the heroes too? That appears to have been the thinking at the time. The result was just...

Word fail me.

Let's just say that at this point I want to bury my face in my hands and cry. And no, I don't mean that in a good way.

In fact, I think that's the note I'll end on. It pretty much sums up my feelings about this entire movie.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hee hee, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is what if conan was wearing pants and fell in love with raquel welch oops brigitte neilsen :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So mediocre and so ..., 23 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
A small film in many ways with little to say about it and to bring up and to tell and to speak for it. A mysterious talisman, green in light, is the creating stone of this world but is getting out of hand and has to be destroyed. Only women can touch it without running any risk but there are plenty of people who want to have that stone of power.

Another evil ambitious woman gets into the picture and tries to get the stone from the priestesses that keep it, at the very moment it was going to be destroyed. Many men and women die, all the priestesses and attendants except one that runs away through a back door.

There comes our man, the only positive man or nearly the only one in the story, since the other one is a child, comes into the picture, saves the messenger and let Red Sonja know about her mission: recapture and destroy that green talisman of bad omen. Don't worry, they will succeed.

What's maybe original, if not entirely new in this fable: the government of women is in no way better than that of men. Women are just as bad as men when jealousy and ambition seize them by the hair. And men are as bad as women with their drives and other impulses.

So what's left after all that. Not much, except a man and a woman who of course fall for one another and each other. Hollywood cannot avoid such simple endings, though they forget to marry them and make them have twenty-five children after that.

Enjoy the suspense of that suspense-less film and the thrills of this thrill-less story. They even invented a mechanical metal underwater monster that has to be blinded to be defeated. You can hear the popping noise of each eye falling out of their orbits under the sharp point of some nice and useful knife. Better than picking your teeth with that dagger.

Apart from that the music or Sergio Morricone is not bad at all. We are close to some macaroni barbaric age films, but we can survive that experience, with spicy olive oil and Mozzarella and Murazzano.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Sonja [Blu-ray]
Red Sonja [Blu-ray] by Richard Fleischer (Blu-ray - 2010)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews