Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big and Calm!, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Damon Presswood (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (Audio CD)
I think the previous reviewer had it half right, this is an effertless album but in no way lazy! And I believe by the end of summer he/she will love this album like a close friend. Skye is back and thank god, I stopped really paying attention to Morcheeba after she left. I gave their new albums a go but nothing grabbed me. As soon as you put this new album on, it all falls into place. Who Can You Trust and Big Calm were the bands best albums and this is like a homage back to that time and those sounds and its just delicious. I don't find it lazy and if it is who cares because it sounds so lovely. Of course if you want to hear Skye on a more experimental album try her last solo album Kepping Secrets, easily one of the best albums released in the past year or so. The criminal thing is that album was only released on I-Tunes but hopefully with the release and success of this album we will see Skye's solo album realeased on Cd soon also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good album and the return of Skye Edwards, 26 July 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (Audio CD)
Morcheeba have released seven albums now. "Blood Like Lemonade" sees the return of the bands' original vocalist Skye who contributes greatly to their sound. After a dispute between members, she was absent from the past two recordings. She was evidently missed as their trademark sound is now back.

This release is good, although possibly not as strong as their first two albums "Who Can You Trust" and the critically acclaimed "Big Calm". There are plenty of catchy tunes such as "Even Though" and "Blood Like Lemonade", the later being reminiscent of "Part Of The Process". "I Am A Spring" shows a softer side to Skye's instantly recognisable and unique vocals. "Self Made Man" is very smooth and slick and the final track "Beat Of The Drum" is a great song to end this accomplished ten track offering.

The only critisism I can find with this album is that the two instrumental tracks "Mandala" and "Cut To The Bass" are a cut below the rest, being quite repetitive and predictable. But that does not take away the fact that "Blood Like Lemonade" is a classy affair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skye's the limit: a mellow return to the classic Morcheeba sound, 28 Jun 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (Audio CD)
Skye is back with the Godfreys after several years of separation. The result is "Blood like Lemonade:" accomplished, enjoyable, full of essential Morcheeba character; chilled-out music for any occasion, ideal for the early hours or a lazy summer afternoon.

BLL lacks the experimental curiosities which characterised the excellent "Dive Deep" with its eclectic mix of vocalists. However, this new album is a more even, unified listening experience and a further reminder of just how well Skye's soulful melodic voice compliments the Godfreys' quirky creative compositions to produce the quintessential Morcheeba sound. Two tracks are instrumental, the remaining eight carry Skye's vocals.

If you're already a Morcheeba fan, you'll probably like this collection. The tracks (compared to DD) flow effortlessly though the album which contains few surprises but is really good and returns to the core of what this great Brit-pop trio does best. It seems Blood is not only thicker than water, but thicker than lemonade too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back to their best, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (Audio CD)
A great return to the lounge, chill, jazz that had me hooked on the release of 'who can you trust' and 'big calm'. Thanks Morcheeba!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (MP3 Download)
If you liked Big Calm, Who Can You Trust you will like this, with Skye Edwards on top form this is a great chillin album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more chill-out, 23 Aug 2013
By 
dan (north ayrshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (Audio CD)
Much on a par withWho Can You Trust, this album continues the chill-out mood with a collection of dreamy, if unmemorable, ditties. If chill out and relax is what you are after, then you cannot go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morcheeba in good form!, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (MP3 Download)
Have had this album on repeat since i downloaded it. I love it. Only one track that i skip over. A must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome.....eventually, 20 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (Audio CD)
At first I thought this album was nowhere near as good as Big Calm but now I can listen to it all day no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 18 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (Audio CD)
Morcheeba have written some great tunes and for me, are the ideal summer soundtrack. Their last 2 albums, whilst not as good as Big Calm or Charango were quite impressive and still have the chilled vibe. But, this album is a real return to their greatest work and I think a lot of it is down to Skye. If she sang the ingredients of a pot noodle, she would sound sexy. This album is perfect for long hot days by the pool and that is exactly how it should be. Cheers Morcheeba.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morcheeba's back!!!, 26 Jun 2010
By 
Eagle 1803 (Edinburgh, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Like Lemonade (MP3 Download)
I came across Morcheeba several years ago by chance and have loved them ever since. Anytime I feel I needed to chillout and relax , the calming acoustics and Skye's soulful voice fitted the bill completely and as such became a must-have on my MP3 player for lying about and sunbathing on the beach. I was devastated therefore when Skye departed - holidays will never be the same I thought. So you can imagine my delight when I discovered she's back and they have released a new album.

It's classic Morcheeba - yet different.....in a BRILLIANT way.....

I loooove it......

It's already downloaded onto my MP3 player - so roll on the holiday.

Buy it - tune in - and chill out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

Blood Like Lemonade
Blood Like Lemonade by Morcheeba (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews