Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars relatable!
as a recent graduate, Ryden's situation is completley relatable and for that reason I enjoyed the movie! Sure, it's not the best movie in the world and it won't be winning any awards but as far as light hearted (rom)coms go it was sweet and funny!
Published on 30 Jun 2010 by M. Doherty

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Post-student life...
Contrary to some reviews, 'Post Grad' is by no means a terrible film. In fact, it has the potential to be rather a good one. Alexis Bledel puts in a characteristically strong performance as Ryden Malby, a young woman torn between dreams of her perfect job at a publishing company, the interests of a handsome neighbour, and the companionship of her childhood friend, Adam...
Published on 10 Jan 2012 by Mr. D Burin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars relatable!, 30 Jun 2010
By 
M. Doherty "Merida" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
as a recent graduate, Ryden's situation is completley relatable and for that reason I enjoyed the movie! Sure, it's not the best movie in the world and it won't be winning any awards but as far as light hearted (rom)coms go it was sweet and funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Post-student life..., 10 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Contrary to some reviews, 'Post Grad' is by no means a terrible film. In fact, it has the potential to be rather a good one. Alexis Bledel puts in a characteristically strong performance as Ryden Malby, a young woman torn between dreams of her perfect job at a publishing company, the interests of a handsome neighbour, and the companionship of her childhood friend, Adam (Zach Gilford). Factor in the well-handled tender moments between Ryden and Adam, and there's all the makings of an interesting, moving film. Unfortunately 'Post Grad' never achieves the right balance. The film moves around far too fast, moving between tense, emotional scenes and daft family happenings, in a way that makes the film feel jerky and awkward. Things in 'Post Grad' never have the chance to settle or develop like they could do, before the tone is shifted; usually to some improbable scenario involving Ryden's rather annoying father. The film's zipping pace also means that none of the film's central issues really get the time they deserve. The twists and turns in Ryden and Adam's relationship are rushed over, and due to this, it's hard to really engage with either character, or their relationships. Equally, 'Post Grad''s comedic side leaves rather a lot to be desired. Gone is the nicely understated touch of Ryden's more personal moments, and instead the viewer is left with cats being run over, characters stepping in poo, and other such formulaic 'comedy'. For fans of Alexis Bledel, her performance here will make 'Post Grad' worth a watch, and in honesty, there are far worse films to pass the time with; it's just a shame 'Post Grad' didn't have some smarter jokes, a bit more time on developing its plot and characters, and a few less stereotypically 'batty' relatives breaking up the plot. Otherwise, I imagine I'd be sitting here giving it 3 or 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun film, 7 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I got this film because I love Gilmore Girls and wanted to watch it because "Rory" (Alexis Bledel) is in it. It's not the best film, but it is good fun to just switch off and not have to think about anything for a while.
Alexis' chracter is relatble as she is going through a situation many gradutes are and for the most part is likeable, other than at times her treatment of her friend who is clearly in love with her.
It is somewhat predictable, but tthen again most films these days are. There was a bit near the end that I didn't see coming suprised and annoyed me, but other than this I thought it was a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Saved by Alexis Bledel, 11 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Post Grad is a 2009 romantic comedy film starring Alexis Bledel, Michael Keaton, and Jane Lynch (Glee), about a recent LA college graduate who moves back in with her family while she figures out what she wants to do next. It is directed by Vicky Jenson.

Ryden Malby (Alexis Bledel 'Gilmore Girls') graduates from college in the middle of the late-2000s recession and is forced to move back in with her parents, because her dream job has been given to her college nemesis Jessica Bard (Catherine Reitman). Ryden and her best friend Adam (Zach Gilford) must find a job for Ryden before she loses hope for her future dream as an editor of a big publishing company. But will sudden feelings for her long time friend interfere with her dreams?

I think Alexis Bledel is a delightful actress, always watchable. In my view, she pretty much carries this movie.
Ever since seeing him be horrendously rude in an interview, I can't cope with Michael Keaton, especially in a 'nice' role like here, but this is a personal view.

Overall, I would set expectation levels to 'modest' here.

Perhaps the best audience (as indeed another reviewer seems to confirm) will be grads starting to look themselves for work out there and learning just how hard it is right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Post Grad" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues For UK Buyers On This USA-ONLY Release..., 9 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Unfortunately “Post Grad” did little business on this side of the pond. So it's not surprising to see that a ‘UK’ BLU RAY of it is AWOL. I say this because the American 20th Century Fox version is REGION A LOCKED – so it will not play on UK machines unless they’re chipped to be ‘all regions’ (which few are). And given its mixed reception - perhaps its not surprising there's no variant for us to have.

Until someone sees fit to release it on a REGION B title - this is another move denied us by Region Coding…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good film, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A film completely relevant to this day and age. Not being able to get the perfect job straight after university sound familiar? Well this film shows you the emotional side of that, and different ways to combat it. Ultimately it teaches you to never give up, and to not give up on family and friends too. And to use all the resources you have. A highly recommended film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I bought this movie after falling in love with alexis bleeds when watching the Gilmore girls! The movie was very plain and I did get board part way through, it's just kinda a not got much to do so let's watch a film kinda movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars funny, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It's a movie for all the family.I bought it because I like the cast especially Michael keaton and Jane Lynch.They can play very different kind of characters.It 's a family a little crazy but very funny too.Enjoy yourself watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this film, 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
i love this film i would highly recommend it to anyone who would like a good film to watch,the only downfall is some of the actors are not very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WEIRD INDICATES A CREATIVE FORCE, 13 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Post Grad [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is an easy fun film to watch that doesn't require any thinking. Ryden (Alexis Bledel ala Zooey Deschanel light) and her friend Adam (Zach Gilford) have just graduated college. Ryden has planned her life, except she didn't get the job she wanted. That job was taken by her arch rival Jessica Bard (Catherine Reitman) her "Darth Vader" since the third grade. Adam is love with Ryden who takes him for granted. He has a chance to travel 3,000 miles east to go to Columbia Law School, but hasn't made up his mind what he wants to do in life.

As Ryden hunts for a job, she is supported by her quirky family which I thought could have been better developed. The overly optimistic Ryden quickly becomes a realist as her job search wanes.

The movie is humorous and doesn't get dragged down with dramatic scenes for more than a few minutes. Good flow. Carol Burnett provided me with a few LOL moments. I will say from my experience with cats, they have never done their business in the driveway, they like somewhere they can bury it. It is a romantic comedy, with light emphasis on the romance.

Parental Guide: 1 F-bomb, near sex, no nudity, sex talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Post Grad [DVD] [2009]
Post Grad [DVD] [2009] by Vicky Jenson (DVD - 2010)
5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews