Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great films, slightly dodgy DVDs
To begin, obviously these are all brilliant movies, an almost perfect collection (but why no Rashomon? I guess the bandit isn't a samurai...).

However, there are two issues with the particular versions presented:
(1) Seven Samurai is the standard UK c.3h10m edit, which is c.20m shorter than the full Japanese version (or so I understand, I've only ever...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by C. Green

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great films. Some poor DVD quality issues though.
The films are great, this review does not pertain to the films themselves, rather the quality of this product.
If you are hoping to get the best quality films you can, go elsewhere, the transfers are no amazing.
I was happy with four of the five films, but Yojimbo (my favourite in particular) was ruined by BFIs useless transfer.
The 2.35:1 picture is forced...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by Rohan Mehra


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Call to Arms? ENJOY, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Having only seen Yojimbo one night on a 14inch Sony TV in the late 70's this is a revelatory experience.
Not seen all films yet - but just the Seven Samurai has wondrous breadth of character and action. 6 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I had been recommended the seven samurai as a must see film. I was not disappointed.
This type of film is not my usual choice, but I have enjoyed every film in the collection.
I highly recommend this collection to anyone who's a film fan
This is film making at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jidai geki at its best, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is the one to have for all fans of Japanese period dramas for the following two reasons: (1)Kurosawa is acknowledged by all to be THE MASTER, and (2) The beautifully LOW PRICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have DVD, 24 Aug 2010
By 
D. J. Wild "DzX13" (Derby England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Any film enthusiast should see these films. Any fan of the Samurai or Japanese should see these films.

The Samurai/Japanese are portrayed in a complete spectrum of morality and emotions. Brutal and cowardly, peaceful and nobel, serious (as expected) and funny !?

And to me what makes these films even more remarkable is when you realise when they were made.

Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kurosawa's Greatest?, 13 April 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly; films from this period, especially some from Japan, even Kurosawa's, often seem to suffer from flickering (light levels alter, irrespective of the scene) and poor contrast.

However, these remastered classics presented here by the BFI have been transferred superbly and quality is as good as I've seen, ever, in B&W - good, deep blacks and with subtle tonal range and barely any flickering. Virtually all blemishes, spots and streaks have been painstakingly removed. Sound is good, too.

I, like many who are re-exploring this absolute master had seen a few of these in dribs and drabs. I rented Seven Samurai years ago - I didn't have time to watch it properly and didn't really 'get' it back then. Now, though, I find the action akin to any spirited Western (a genre that literally transferred many of Kurosawa's to Hollywood and inferior at that - The Magnificent Seven is based squarely on this film) and the range of emotion from sheer animal anger to pathos is quite astounding.

Throne of Blood is famously based on Macbeth, its dark mood and austere surroundings are in contrast to the enjoyably light humour of The Hidden Fortress, which could be seen as a John Ford "Eastern", complete with scurrilous larger than life characters and instead of Monument Valley, the lower slopes of Mt. Fuji was used for much of its filming. It is well known that basic story for Star Wars was drawn from this film.

I agree with another reviewer about the lack of Rashomon; this is essential viewing and often cited as one of the best ever, of all time. I bought that DVD separately & viewed it before starting on this box set. It is definitely worth buying on its own.

I find the set neat, clear and all I really need to have the backbone of a master's work. The slimline cases have the year clearly shown in white on the spine, so you can easily see which order they were made in. The backs of them have clear, concise information on plot and how they fit into both Kurosawa's work and film generally. Enough to entice viewing, not so much to swamp you or cloud an open and eager mind.

For the money I can't see how it could be beaten and what many forget is that BFI are championing good film from wherever it is sourced and much of that must be relatively unprofitable. We must support their sterling work and this collection, in my mind, doesn't step a foot wrong. I notice that BFI have released an 'Early Kurosawa' box set, too.

Many of the other titles included are, according to quality film sources and critics, sheer classics too. This ultimately would be an ideal and affordable gift for the film buff in your life, even if that so happens to be yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Kurasawa !, 19 Aug 2011
By 
David McDonald (Kirkcaldy in Fife .) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This collection of 5 samurai films by the legendary director Akira Kurasawa were made between 1954 and 1962 and have had a profound effect on fans of this genre . Some of these films have inspired other well known directors to copy the style or story for their own epic and George Lucas and Sergio Leone spring to mind .

Seven Samurai - 1954 - 7 hero's help some poor villagers fend off cruel bandits .

Throne of Blood - 1957 - A brilliant re-imagining of Shakespeare's Macbeth .

The Hidden Fortress - 1958 - A warrior and a Princess try to get back home with their fortune .

Yojimbo - 1961 - Lone samurai plays 2 feuding gangs against each other .

Sanjuro - 1962 - A man fights corruption in local government .

I bought this box set for under 15 and it was a great bargain .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kurosawa., 16 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. A. Badziak (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Great collection od black and white Kurosawa. Unfortunately, for unknown reason "Rashomon" is not featured in this set. It is as good as the others. Why not there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, 3 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
If you like classic cinema at its best, a Kurosawa is hard to beat. Most great directors like Ford have been influenced by him and try to immulate his skill and mastery of the moment, crowd scenes and pathos. Kurosawa was influenced by Shakespeare and always relieved tension with comic moments. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classics for everyone, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Mark Lockett (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot recommend this collection highly enough. Five classic Kurosawa films. The only one I would hesitate in saying you must watch is Throne of blood, much lauded, but more of what I would term a "worthy" film rather than an entertaining one. Yojimbo and Sanjuro are the stand-outs, funny and clever, prototypes for many western remakes, they are great films. The Severn samurai is an epic tale giving a more realistic take on a samurai's life and code than is usually portrayed. Long, but well worth watching. The Hidden fortress is more of a comedy, focusing on two down-at-heel wanderers who are constantly bickering, still a good film.

Buy watch and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the Seven Samuri but throne of blood a little bit boring, Still watching tho' with 3 CDs to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD]
Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] by Akira Kurosawa (DVD - 2010)
24.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews