Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great films, slightly dodgy DVDs
To begin, obviously these are all brilliant movies, an almost perfect collection (but why no Rashomon? I guess the bandit isn't a samurai...).

However, there are two issues with the particular versions presented:
(1) Seven Samurai is the standard UK c.3h10m edit, which is c.20m shorter than the full Japanese version (or so I understand, I've only ever...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by C. Green

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great films. Some poor DVD quality issues though.
The films are great, this review does not pertain to the films themselves, rather the quality of this product.
If you are hoping to get the best quality films you can, go elsewhere, the transfers are no amazing.
I was happy with four of the five films, but Yojimbo (my favourite in particular) was ruined by BFIs useless transfer.
The 2.35:1 picture is forced...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by Rohan Mehra


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great films, 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
These films are a must if you want to see Samurai action in good stories.
Kurosawa - a master at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly 'magnificent' movie!, 27 Feb 2014
By 
S. Beckett (u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Kurosawa at his best!
Incredibly well written, superbly acted, and sublimely directed.
This film is definately worth a watch!
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars konitchiwa, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Russell A. Sayle "yogibear" (Margate, Kent , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
kurosowa really knows how to tell a story. these films will seem so familiar because they have been copied so many times. I first saw seven samurai when i was a child and have been hooked ever since. everyone should have these in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different but interesting, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of the seven samurai I thought I would look more widely at the director's work. A great collection to enable you to do this at a sensible price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure excellense, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
yes these films where made back in the 1950s and 60s but I think they far exceed the films there releasing today. worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
These will never get old.
Quality of packaging and printing os excellent.
And collection is well thought out.
For me Throne of Blood is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational collection from a legendary director, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Akira Kurosawa has inspired many film directors, and countless films. The Samurai Collection embodies the style and sophistication of Akira Kurosawa. It is a perfect tribute to this master director, and the films evoke the energy, discipline and ethics of the samurai way of life, told with great storytelling and drama.
I recommend this collection to anyone who loves oriental cinema, with a gritty serious edge. The black and white format and moody landscapes, add further value. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rating and critic, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Margit Bjerg (Rønne, Denmark, DK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I do like many films made by Kurosawa. And then I am curious about his productions in general.

I don't like this - also in general:
When I by collections of film the content of the collection it is not always written at the your homepage. I would like to know each title of the film in the collection before it enters my home address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kurosawa classics, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
seven samurai and yojimbo are films every martialarts lover should see. It influenced famous directors and inspired even star wars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kurosawa samurai collection, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The collection is all you might wish for. A brilliant addition to my viewing. This is Kurosawa at his dramatic best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD]
Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] by Akira Kurosawa (DVD - 2010)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews