Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So easy - it does what it says on the container.
Brilliant! I wanted something to seal the edges of new pre-sealed light oak doors. The edges had to be planed in order to get them to fit, so the pre-sealant disappeared. This product was extremely easy to apply and gave a finish that matched the rest of the door surface. Brilliant!
Published 22 months ago by Dingdong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I should have gone for a bigger size
Published 29 days ago by Mike Waite


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So easy - it does what it says on the container., 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
Brilliant! I wanted something to seal the edges of new pre-sealed light oak doors. The edges had to be planed in order to get them to fit, so the pre-sealant disappeared. This product was extremely easy to apply and gave a finish that matched the rest of the door surface. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
i am happy with this product just meet my expectation and easy to work with i will recommend to my friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time user of this product, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
As a first time user of this product I am quite impressed….I had to re do the table, because my first attempt came out rather patchy.
I followed a video on You Tube, and the second attempt came out good, after following the instructions on the video. I used the Antique Pine Briwax rubbing wax to finish, and with each polish the finish has got better over the past six weeks… comments from friends, family and visitors seem to think that my table has been away to French polisher , and don't believe it is myself that has achieved these results……. Well delighted!…..By the way, the table that I restored was a 6' 6'' x 3' 4'' pine table, that had lived in a damp garage for over 20 years, and was badly marked by heat, water and mould, it missed the bonfire by a fraction! The treatment with sansealer and wax was applied after power wash, bleach scrub, and a weeks worth of afternoons of sanding with electric sander and by hand with block, before using these applications
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PRODUCT!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
I love this product. It is supposed to be a sealer before waxing but I just use this without the wax. It seals very well and gives a light sheen. So easy and quick to apply and wouldn't use anything else. It is more difficult now to find in shops and only seems available on line. Excellent product, lasts a long time and therefore, excellent value as with all Briwax products. Highly recommended! I have used many different products on wood and this is definitely the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 4 April 2013
By 
ANDY (CORNWALL. UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
Easy to apply and brought a nice finish to my timber prior to waxing. z z x x c c
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for new wood, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
This was recommended to me by a qualified carpenter. I am so glad I listened to him. This product prepared and protected the wood for a splendid beeswax finish. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Produces a beautiful finish., 14 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
I bought this to finish off some furniture I had made in sapele mahogany and it really produces a lovely finish.
It can be a bit tricky to apply - I found that wiping it on with a cloth was the best approach, but it is easy to buff out any areas where it has pooled or brush marks with some fine wire wool.

If you are using this to finish off a creation that will come into contact with water/moisture then I recommend a top coat of something water proof as it will turn white if it comes into prolonged contact with water. I used a final coat of Danish oil which finished it off to a lovely gloss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the pack, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
Wanted something to fix some gilding and provide a base for a shellac top coat. Can't fault this product and at such a good price! Easy to apply and really fast drying - just ensure plenty of ventilation due to alcohol base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
does a lovely job! top rate product! after preparing the wood with fine sandpaper the product went on well and gave a fabulous finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer (DIY & Tools)
Didn't change the colour of the wood, easy to apply, polish went on really easily afterwards. Much easier than last time I didn't bother with the sealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Briwax 500ml Shellac Sanding Sealer
£13.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews