Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint for President!
Every time I watch these films I get more out of them: the dialogue, the screenplay, the humour - fantastic. If it's possible to wear a DVD out, these three films will certainly suffer. Sad though it may be, I'm almost word-perfect on many of the scenes in Joe Kidd, and getting close on Josey Wales. Hard to credit that I've been watching Clint since first seeing him as...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by Mr ALAN ELSEGOOD

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Clint Westerns, Poor DVD box set
This Clint Eastwood box set is a very mixed bag. Films themselves are great and doesn't need any recommendation. They are among best westerns ever made. Films come in slim DVD cases. Picture quality is very strange - Outlaw Josey Wales looks great but Unforgiven looks like VHS version and Pale Rider is a bit better than Unforgiven. Only Outlaw Josey Wales has any extras (...
Published on 27 Feb 2012 by Janis Livens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint for President!, 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: Pale Rider/The Outlaw Josey Wales/Unforgiven [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Every time I watch these films I get more out of them: the dialogue, the screenplay, the humour - fantastic. If it's possible to wear a DVD out, these three films will certainly suffer. Sad though it may be, I'm almost word-perfect on many of the scenes in Joe Kidd, and getting close on Josey Wales. Hard to credit that I've been watching Clint since first seeing him as Rowdy Yates in Rawhide (in black and white) in about 1960, and he's (only) 5 years older than me. When I win the EuroMillions Lottery (soon), I want to be presented with my cheque by Clint and then snogged by Dolly Parton. A man can dream, can't he?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three edge-of-the-seat westerns, 14 Dec 2009
By 
R. R. Adams "Raffles" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This excellent value DVD set comprises 3 of Clint Eastwood's best westerns, but then he never really ever made a bad one. A previous reviewer describes 'Unforgiven' and 'Pale Rider' as 'ordinary westerns of no great merit'. I really couldn't disagree more. Both 'The Outlaw Josey Wales' and 'Unforgiven' are superb movies and are equally good to my mind, though my favourite is 'Unforgiven' since it builds up the tension until the climatic ending just like the classic 'High Noon'. Pale Rider is also very good but perhaps not quite in the same league as the other two in the set. Incidentally, none of the 3 films could be described as spaghetti westerns - they are all westerns in the 'normal' sense of the genre. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treachery?, 16 Aug 2009
By 
Gina Sergent "Be Precise" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this set solely for one film. This one film cost, about, 5.00 and the set 9.00, and I got three films. The 2 extras were "Pale Rider" and "Unforgiven" both of which, to me, are "ordinary" westerns of no great merit, enjoyable but not memorable.
The other "Josey Wales" is exceptional. Senator Jim Lane existed and was as portrayed. Captain Terrell existed and was as portrayed. "Bloody Bill" Anderson existed and was as portryed.
Josey Wales did not exist but is typical. The way he and his men were treated is historically accurate.and that is where the title of the review comes from. The story is intriguing, As a farmer Wales loses everything. As a soldier he loses everything. As an "outlaw" he starts to gather another "family" although he doesn't want them but he fights to keep them. The film simply describes the vicissitudes of an ordinary Confederate soldier trying to make a new life for himself, but he's not allowed to. Then the closing remark "I guess we all died a little", sums it up perfectly.
As a bonus it shows the harassment of the "Native Americans",using "native" actors, from an extremely sympathetic stance. Definitely one of the finest "western" films ever made. And I don't usually like "westerns".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deserves got nothin' to do with it!, 17 Jan 2013
slimline bluray boxset of three excellent westerns starring Clint Eastwood. Two of these have only been available on import from America before now so this is a great set to get

Unforgiven is my all-time favourite western and stands up as well today as it did when it won Best Picture in 1992. Picture quality is superb and is has some great extras. A commentary by Eastwood biographer Richard Schickel, documentaries on the making of the film and an old episode of the Maverick tv series starring Eastwood

The Outlaw Josey Wales from 1976 is another western classic. Top notch video & sound, especially when compared to previous releases. Has a very informative commentary and a documentary as extras

Pale Rider was Eastwood's return to the saddle inbetween the two above films. Not as interesting as either of the above and perhaps a bit too similar to Shane at times but Clint's screen presence carries it.

All in all, highly reccommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Classic Westerns, 26 Mar 2010
By 
The James Stewart/Anthony Mann western series remains my favourite but this collection runs it a close second. All are superb examples of the Western story and ethos and 'Pale Rider', apart from the rather soppy love and sex episodes, is the best. Triumph of good over evil, revenge, the leader who inspires the little to stand up against the big. It is all there and excellently laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars films, 18 April 2014
By 
tony/gort (Falmouth Cornwall uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pale Rider/The Outlaw Josey Wales/Unforgiven [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
usual Clint Eastwood type off films they are very good for people who like westerns Unforgiven is one off his best films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clint and Clint and...yep...Clint, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pale Rider/The Outlaw Josey Wales/Unforgiven [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Three films showing how consistent Eastwood at what he does best....shooting the bad men. As usual there are some great one liners (I guess you and me can't trust the white man) that will leave you smiling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The dvd, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pale Rider/The Outlaw Josey Wales/Unforgiven [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This dvd was of esxcellent quality and was a joy to watch even though the subjects are hard at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars suprise, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pale Rider/The Outlaw Josey Wales/Unforgiven [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This was bought as a suprise as my husband had borrowed a copy from somone so now he has his own copy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun, 24 Jan 2014
By 
S. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pale Rider/The Outlaw Josey Wales/Unforgiven [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Bought this for my Dad for his Birthday. He was very impressed with all the films and watches them over and over again. Very good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad36906c)

This product

Pale Rider/The Outlaw Josey Wales/Unforgiven [DVD] [2010]
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews