Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming, educational entertainment. A real treat
The `Victorian Farm' series is one of those rare gems of British TV which is well worth enjoying time and again. This offshoot of three, hour-long programmes concentrates on capturing the essence of a Victorian Christmas as it would have been experienced in the mid-19ths century by folk living on a small Shropshire farm. If your cockles don't warm to this then they're...
Published on 29 Aug 2010 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Likeable but not super.
A likeable bit of modern take on Victorian times, although Ruth's voice and giggle are not only dreadful but also very annoying!
Published 3 months ago by Mrs. Mary Carter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming, educational entertainment. A real treat, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The `Victorian Farm' series is one of those rare gems of British TV which is well worth enjoying time and again. This offshoot of three, hour-long programmes concentrates on capturing the essence of a Victorian Christmas as it would have been experienced in the mid-19ths century by folk living on a small Shropshire farm. If your cockles don't warm to this then they're probably permanently extinguished!

You don't need to have seen the original full length VF series to enjoy this one. It follows the same pattern, using authentic replica equipment and clothing, original recipes and techniques to demonstrate how Christmas was celebrated throughout the social scale. The original team of historians, Ruth, Alex and Peter, return to the farm buildings which they lived in for year, situated at Acton Scott, an old fashioned working farm on the English / Welsh border. They then get to grips with all the work that needs doing on the estate in the run up to the festive season, starting with making hay for winter animal feed, choosing a new ram for the flock, restoring the blacksmith's forge, finding a yule log (without breaking modern conservation rules!), give that handsome Shirehorse Thumper a new set of shoes, and locate a suitable Christmas tree/
But perhaps the most enjoyable segments of this mini-series are the domestic ones where Ruth Goodman tends to take over. If Christmas is all about food and decorations and gift-giving, then she's totally in her element. She demonstrates how mincemeat was originally made plus basics like bread and butter; tries out winter woollies including blankets made from paper; makes remedies for coughs and colds; investigates and creates Christmas crackers; makes an authentic pudding; dyes ribbons and generally tackles all tasks with an infectious air of enthusiasm.

(Although the dating info says this series was made in 2008, it was originally shown on the BBC over Christmas 09. No doubt it'll be preeated again, but certainly can be watched and enjoyed several times).
No hesitation about recommending this as festive viewing for all ages. It's entirely suitable to give as a gift to your grandparents, or for younger viewers or the whole family. We found it charming - and not a little sad when the team finally leave the Victorian Farm for good...

9/10

Also recommended in the same vein:
The Victorian Pharmacy [DVD]
Tales From The Green Valley [DVD]
Victorian Farm [DVD] [2008]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure magic........, 30 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Pure magic to watch and enjoyed every moment. Now looking foward to this team do The Edwardian Farm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 10 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I saw the series on the television, in fact I was bought the video for a present, but when I saw the christmas dvd I just had to get it as well. it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to the series, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a superb addition to the original series and is just as absorbing. Another series not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much More than Christmas!, 20 Nov 2010
By 
Little Dorrit "ldorrit" (WA state) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I didn't realize when I ordered this dvd that I was in store for so much more than mere Victorian Christmas preparations. Rebuilding a blacksmith shop, beginning with having to make the bricks, making chatelaine blankets, selecting the right ram for the herd and of course so much more of Ruth's gardening/cooking/sewing/pharmacy domesticity - it seemed like Alex, Ruth & Peter just stepped back into their Victorian Farm lives (with a wonderfully upgraded cottage) and began living their 'real' lives all over again.

One of the most charming aspects of all their shows is their enthusiasm for all they are doing. No matter how hard the task is or how disgusting at times, they are always so thankful that they are getting to do it and nothing is more infectious!

Can't wait for Edwardian Farm on dvd so we can see it on this side of the 'pond'! What's next? Elizabethan city life? Viking era farm life? Come on, Alex, Ruth & Peter, you're just getting started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Nov 2010
By 
S. M. O'neill "Dizzygran" (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I loved the series and this DVD is great to go over the best bits and help recreate things we want to make from that ear for our Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Likeable but not super., 13 April 2014
By 
Mrs. Mary Carter (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A likeable bit of modern take on Victorian times, although Ruth's voice and giggle are not only dreadful but also very annoying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Susan Lamkin (Berkley, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It was wonderful. I enjoyed every minute. It was also very educational as well. As a living historian I learned so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining DVD, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This was bought for my aunt who loved it. Very interesting topic if you are into this period and will no doubt be borrowed by family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming about Victorian Christmas...., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I am dreaming about Whithe Christmas....- not me. I am dreaming about charming Victorian Christmas.This document is for all history-lovers and for people who regret that they don`t live in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews