Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1950s film version of Paul temple Intervenes by Francis Durbridge
Paul Temple was written by Francis Durbridge who became famous for his mystery writing. Paul Temple and wife Steve featured in a number of radio serials from the 30s to the 60s where episodes often had a "cliffhanger" ending. These serials became immensely popular and many are available (original or re-made) on BBC audio publications.

A later TV series was not...
Published on 30 May 2010 by Mike in NZ

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too easy to guess who "The Marquis" is???
I am an unapologetic fan of all things Paul Temple and Francis Durbridge, but, to be honest, this particular film disapointed me. I found the direction to be a bit sluggish, and without giving too much (anything?) away - there just aren't enough suspects. The joy of the "Temples" is having 6 or 7 suspects, and it's seldom who you think it might be!. Anyway, I may be being...
Published 20 months ago by A. W. Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1950s film version of Paul temple Intervenes by Francis Durbridge, 30 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Paul Temple Returns - (Bombay Waterfront) [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Paul Temple was written by Francis Durbridge who became famous for his mystery writing. Paul Temple and wife Steve featured in a number of radio serials from the 30s to the 60s where episodes often had a "cliffhanger" ending. These serials became immensely popular and many are available (original or re-made) on BBC audio publications.

A later TV series was not written by Durbridge and just used the characters of Paul Temple and Steve but without other characters such as Sir Graham Forbes.

In the late 40s and 50s there were a number of attempts to transfer Paul Temple to film versions, four in all I believe, of which this is the last. Unlike the TV series this is a Durbridge story "Paul Temple Intervenes" which was one of the earlier radio serials. Since it is not in episodes there is no opportunity for the "cliffhanger" episodes but manages to maintain an air of mystery nonetheless. Paul is called in to help Scotland Yard who are baffled by a series of murders by "The Marquis"

It is in Black and White and has been digitally re-mastered though there are still the odd skips and cracks, which just adds to the atmosphere of the old film in my opinion. I think it works much better than "Send for Paul Temple" which has also been recently released by Renown films. It features an early film appearance by Christopher Lee as Sir Felix Reybourn an archaeologist at the centre of the mystery.

If you like the British 50s black and white B movie type thriller/mystery then I'm sure you will enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Bentley, excellent as Paul Temple..., 21 Jun 2010
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple Returns - (Bombay Waterfront) [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This film moves at quite a pace and is another Nettlefold Studios based production. John Bentley was the star of many good second features and this is one of those. There are plenty of twists as you would expect from Francis Durbridge and all the cast are worthy. Directed by veteran Maclean Rogers in 1952 Patricia Dainton takes the role of Steve Temple. A good clear print has been used and this is a long awaited release. Lets have the other John Bentley, Paul Temple films soon. Good value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MORE FOR JOHN BENTLEY FANS THAN PAUL TEMPLE FANS!, 18 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple Returns - (Bombay Waterfront) [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
John Bentley is his usual efficient self and has good support from Patricia Dainton as Steve in this remastered film version of "Paul Temple Intervenes" (Who is the Marquis?). Most of the the familiar characters are there: Sir Graham Forbes, Detectives Bradley and Ross, etc. I think that Bentley makes a good screen detective but, for me, he isn't quite Paul Temple in much the same way that Margaret Rutherford isn't quite Miss Marple! Very enjoyable in its own right, PAUL TEMPLE RETURNS is best viewed as a John Bentley film, rather than a Paul Temple. This was John Bentley's third Paul Temple film - I hope the other two are released soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A treat for all Paul Temple fans., 16 Sep 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paul Temple Returns - (Bombay Waterfront) [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
The film Paul Temple Returns is based on the 1942 radio serial Paul Temple Intervenes (a fascinating recording of the original BBC broadcast available on CD) is a typical Temple adventure and the flavour of the radio serials is well captured in this above average B movie.

As a great Paul Temple fan I found John Bentley and Patricia Dainton convincing in the lead roles.

The box includes an excellent five page illustrated account of the history of Butcher films.

Digitally re-mastered (not restored) from a good print with only occasional short patches of run lines this can be thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wet saturday afternoons, 12 Dec 2010
By 
S. Twigge (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple Returns - (Bombay Waterfront) [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This film is a proper old fashion saturday afternoon film. I'm sure the music makes it much more exciting, but there are sometimes when the weathers bad and the housework needs putting off that this kind of film is necessary. My mum loves it although after listening to the radio series the Paul Temple in my mind doesn't quite look the same, still good clean fun for all the family. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too easy to guess who "The Marquis" is???, 12 April 2013
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paul Temple Returns - (Bombay Waterfront) [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I am an unapologetic fan of all things Paul Temple and Francis Durbridge, but, to be honest, this particular film disapointed me. I found the direction to be a bit sluggish, and without giving too much (anything?) away - there just aren't enough suspects. The joy of the "Temples" is having 6 or 7 suspects, and it's seldom who you think it might be!. Anyway, I may be being a bit harsh, so to the good bits - John Bentley and Pat Dainton are fine as Paul and Steve. It's good to see Christopher Lee in a role that shows just what he will be capable of only a couple of films later. The rest of the support cast is adequate. I am afraid I found the print to be very dark and almost impenetrable in places, but I persevered, and in the end I enjoyed it, but I can only recomend it to die hard Temple/Durbridge fans, as this isn't, in my opinion, the best of the Temple films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect Paul Temple, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Duncan (Blairgowrie, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple Returns - (Bombay Waterfront) [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
John Bentley is the perfect Paul Temple, lots of atmosphere and really does justice to the genre. Really enjoyable although Paul and Steve's 'man', Rickie is a bit of a pain. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Temple Returns - (Bombay Waterfront) [DVD] [1952]
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews