Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2008
A fantastic book for Anyone, from serious enthusiasts to Semi-Pro's, or Old Pro's looking to finally go digital and leave the Titanic that Traditional Analogue photography has finally become.

Out of all the books I have checked out, this is the one. It's engaging, transparent, and fun, allowing the reader to dip in and out, or study in depth. It teaches seamlessly.

Buy It!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
Anyone who thinks working with digital files is easier than film had better think again. Thankfully, what this book does is provide an indepth look at Lightroom 2 but in such a way as to encourage you to think seriously about how you are going to construct a digital workflow that will work for you from the immediate moment post capture right through to basic manipulation, cataloguing, and archiving. It is about learning the disciplines that will save time and money in the future and hopefully avoiding the despair of lost digital files.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2008
Martin Evening is an author who really gets down to business. His book is easy to read and follow. The only down side is that the font size is a little small but maybe this is nature telling me I need stronger glasses!

This is a very readable book that has a good natural flow. I have just been trying to follow a book on Photoshop by Scott Kelby and found his approach very disappointing and to be avoided by anyone with a humour above that of a five year old.

Martins book is altogether superior and highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is as good as it gets, I needed it because the program was supplied without hardcopy instructions!
The level of useful instruction written by Martin has enabled me to engage with this program and produce rapid image post production of Wedding & other Social event assignments.

Clearly when I update to later versions of the program I will seek out the up-to-date edition of Martin's book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
I bought this book with the intention of giving it to my father in an effort minimise the number of "It's eaten the green channel!", "Why are all the pictures tiny?" lightroom support calls I get. Unfortunately this isn't going be the case.

Nowhere does it say this book is for the apple mac user; every single screenshot is for OS X. Whilst admittedly the mac/pc window layouts are similar, they're dissimilar enough to confuse the likes of my dear old dad. This book is best suited to someone who is confident navigating their way around a mac, PC users like my dad may quickly find themselves up-the-creek without even a canoe. To further confuse things, this book seems lazily written with few and inconsistent examples, as a tutorial book it would benefit from being explicit in what you're expected to do; the remaining pages are mainly just speech bubbles labelling the buttons in the mac version of lightroom.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
Having fumbled around using the Lightroom 2 for a number of months, I felt it was time to get a comprehensive guide to the software, so I could use it to its fullest extent.

This book certainly does take you through all the aspects in a logical and comprehensive manner.

It is a weighty tome, however it is one that is worth reading from cover to cover, as even after over 12 months of trial & error, there were still some surprises for me. (Pleasant ones).

I cannot recommend this book enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
If you've bought or are buying Adobe Lightroom for fast processing your photographs , this book is essential to order AT THE SAME TIME. Otherwise you won't know how to use your Lightroom program properly. Martin Evening is a professional photographer so all his information is informed and practical. Essential reading.
Lu Jeffery Photographer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
IF YOU HAVE JUST BOUGHT OR HAVE NOT COME TO TERMS WITH LIIGHT ROOM 2 LOOK NO FURTHER, NOT BEING THE MOST TECHNICAL PERSON I FOUND THIS BOOK COVERS ANY AND EVERY THING ABOUT LIGHT ROOM AND PHOTOSHOP RELATED TOPICS.
MONEY WELL SPENT JACK TILLEY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
Learnt more about Lightroom in half an hour of reading this book than I thought possible. Will be using this book as a reference for a long time to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
Not a book to read at one sitting,but great to dip into to solve a problem. Everything you could ever need to know plus a lot you will never need. A labour of love for sure !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.