Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised this record hasn't generated more interest...
You'd have thought that as this record has plenty of ties with Evanescence (Ben Moody, John LeCompt & Rocky Gray are all former members) it would have been a no brainer for millions of fans to be checking this record out.
Strangely then, it appears to have dropped through the charts with hardly anyone blinking an eye.
Not that this record is a bad one, far from...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by Mr. N. J. Henderson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too MOR.
I heard Bury Me Alive and bought this cd,thinking it would be a bit more 'goth' than it actually is. When it IS Goth-style, as on Bury Me Alive and Burning, and a couple of other tracks, I do enjoy it, and Carly has a pretty good voice. But, for me, too many other tracks are just basically pop and there's enough of that on the radio. Maybe the very atmospheric cd cover...
Published on 23 Oct 2011 by Metaltoe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 8 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Tear The World Down (Audio CD)
Great Album, great vocal, not a bad track on it. If you are into female fronted rock it's a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NEW BEGINING, 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: Tear The World Down (Audio CD)
I was looking for in the web what happened with Evanescence, and found in the Wikipedia that some musicians of the band formed a new one: Searched in Youtube their debut video "Buried alive" and discovered a new band with a powerful sound. If you liked the old band, you'd like the new one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album review, 31 Aug 2010
By 
A. B. Holmes (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tear The World Down (Audio CD)
To be honest, when i first read about We Are The Fallen i was expecting an Evanescence copy, There sound is the same but i listened to 'Bury Me Alive' and i proved myself wrong, There sound is so different from Evanescence and Carly's voice is amazing. For me i like them better than Evanescence and the album is just unbeliveable...Buy it, Its awsome :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ev-Alike or band in their own right?, 12 May 2010
By 
P. Limmer "MrMellow" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tear The World Down (Audio CD)
Let's get one thing out of the way first - the inevitable Evanescence comparisons are going to pretty much cripple every review and thought on this album - the fact they're a female fronted rock band, the fact that the lead singer is a raven haired temptress....oh, and the fact that the other band members (excluding bassist Marty) are all ex-members of the multi-platinum selling goth/rock/pop giants Evanescence.

And because of this fact, there is of course inevitable similarities in the writing style for each band, but I'm relieved to say that the similarities are surprisingly few and far between. Carly's got a powerful set of lungs on her, but her mighty, powerhouse voice is nothing like Amy's ethereal siren song, which instantly sets the songs apart.

Thundering tracks like Burn, Paradigm and St John more than make up for the Ev-alike sounds on Bury Me Alive (the lead single, and the original cause for my fear that it would all be copied from Ev's debut Fallen). The band sounds ferocious on some of the tracks which, coupled with Carly's massive voice really hammers your eardrums and gets your heart going.

Without You demonstrates the sheer scale of her vocals - just when you think they can't get any more bombastic and impressive....they do.

The one thing that I feel really lets this album down are the (inevitable) ballads, Sleep Well My Angel and I Am Only One being the main culprits. Without an ethereal vocal which always managed to seperate Ev's slower moments from the usual inane balladry that plagues winners of X factor and American Idol, WATF's lighter tracks end up sounding like Kelly Clarkson cast offs. Fingers crossed they don't end up playing too many of them live.

So, overall, a roaring success - obviously room for improvement, but it is the band's first release, but I'm glad to see they've worked hard to seperate themselves from the inevitable ties to their past - fingers crossed by the next album people will have forgotten there was any connection at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tear The World Down (Audio CD)
It's in the car, has been for the last couple of weeks. A brilliant album, but what would you expect from ex-evanescence songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly great debut, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Marty (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tear The World Down (MP3 Download)
As a huge fan of evanescence i was excited when i found this album - afterall, Ben, Rocky and John were also behind the massive success of evanescence's 1st major release Fallen; hence the name We are the Fallen.
For me there are only 2 similarities between the two bands; they're both amazingly talented and some of the songs you can almost hear could have belonged to evanescence. This band actually reminds me more of Nemesea or Delain than evanescence.
And thats where the comparisons end. We are the Fallen vary from really heavy tracks (St John) to stunning ballads (I am only one being one for the My Immortal fans). The string arrangements are better than most I've heard and the band mixes perfectly with the vocals. Its a REALLY polished album.
Ok, so I'm still loyal to evanescence, but I really hope fans of Nemesea, Delain, Stream of Passion or even Paramore will pick this up - I WANT A SECOND ALBUM!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evanescence - Reborn, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tear The World Down (MP3 Download)
IF you're a fan of Goth Rock (I think that's the phrase) then this group is for you. Evanescence apparently is no more and the guys responsible for their success, minus Amy Lee are back with a great new singer....

Is she better than Amy?? You decide...

This is my current play and I am thoroughly enjoying the similarity to evanescence with it's own unique twist.

Buy this, you WILL enjoy it if you're a Rock Fan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tear The World Down (MP3 Download)
A good album this. Her voice doesn't have the power of Amy Lee, and this is obvious, but it is a good album and doesn't have any "filler" tracks. I only bought it because Amazon recommended it and it was cheap(!) but I'm very pleased to have bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut album, 16 Feb 2014
By 
M. Brown "The Deceiver" (Felixstowe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tear The World Down (Audio CD)
TTWD is a really good album by another female fronted rock band in the same vein as Evanescence and Within Temptation. Bury Me Alive, I Will Stay, Without You and Tear The World Down are my favourite tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - A Style Of Their Own, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tear The World Down (MP3 Download)
This is an incredible debut album, and although it gets a lot of blame for sounding like Evanescence, I don't think it's anything like them. For one thing (much as I like Evanescence), this is not a depressing, self-pitying catharsis for the lead singer. It is a dark but very varied collection of songs with many moods and colours. There's the brooding Evanescence-style 'Bury Me Alive', the surprisingly catchy and enlivening 'Burn', the personal and mournful but still epic and passionate 'Paradigm' and 'Don't Leave Me Behind', the soft ballad-style elegy 'Sleep Well, My Angel', the slinky and haunting 'Through Hell' and 'St. John', a beautiful, epic and inspirational highlight of the album in 'I Will Stay', the strangely upbeat and dark-humoured 'Without You', another quiet mournful ballad in 'I Am Only One', and the very haunting, almost religious sound of 'Tear The World Down'. This is a band with a strong, confident, polished style, definitely worthy of more albums and a lot more recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tear The World Down
Tear The World Down by We Are the Fallen (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews