Customer Reviews


392 Reviews
5 star:
 (350)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV like you've never seen it
I think this whole show is the best thing since the Sopranos. Funny, sad, heartwrenching, disgusting, violent, incredibly poignant; the story of a good man going bad while you still like and sympathise with him. Characters with confused moral codes, trying to do the right thing in the light of their twisted and ambivalent ethics. Just like the Sopranos - murderers who are...
Published on 17 Aug. 2010 by Aidan Walker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars After season1 being so great. I felt season 2 was a let down
After season1 being so great. I felt season 2 was a let down. I nearly gave up on it but I'm glad I didn't as season 3, 4 and 5 are so much better.

But yeah season 2 for me (except for the odd episode) was almost a filler, and didn't do anything for me at all. Like I said I'm so glad I didn't give up on it though.
Published 7 months ago by ZOOTZ


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV like you've never seen it, 17 Aug. 2010
By 
Aidan Walker "Aidan" (Fulking, West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I think this whole show is the best thing since the Sopranos. Funny, sad, heartwrenching, disgusting, violent, incredibly poignant; the story of a good man going bad while you still like and sympathise with him. Characters with confused moral codes, trying to do the right thing in the light of their twisted and ambivalent ethics. Just like the Sopranos - murderers who are loving and loyal to their family and friends. Towering achievement. Don't watch it without seeing season 1 first. S2 is much darker than season 1, fewer belly laughs, but still absolutely the best thing. I watched it all over again straight after the first viewing, simply because there isn't anything else I want to see more than this. Now I'm suffering waiting for season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better. Superb television., 29 Sept. 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Season 2 follows directly on from season 1. There's no overlap. The action picks up immediately and you're thrown straight back into the world of science teacher Walter White in his battle against cancer and his plunge into the murky world of drugs. I'd recommend you watch season 1 first. It sets the scene for what's to come and so much has happened to Walt, and his family, you might struggle to make sense of it if you don't watch the series in the proper order.

One thing's for sure; it's certainly ramped up in terms of action and violence and it's strong stuff. What makes it acceptable is the brilliant story that's unfolding throughout and the highly believable characters you just can't help bonding with. For that it's similar to the Sopranos but; Breaking Bad is in a whole other league. What I particularly enjoy is the wicked, dark humour flying around and the ongoing growth of the lead characters. The relationship between Walter White, Bryan Cranston, and his hapless, addict sidekick Jesse, Aaron Paul, is brilliantly worked into the plot. Extremely good TV.

Breaking Bad - Season 2 - contains all 13 episodes on 4 discs and runs for approx. 9 hours and 50 minutes.
English subtitles.
Age 15+ suitability due to 'bloody violence, hard drug use and drug references'.
Extras;
Cast and Crew commentaries, Deleted scenes, Inside Breaking Bad - 13 featurettes about the making of each episode, Season 1 recap, "Negro y Azul" Music Video, "Better call Saul" Commercial, 11 behind the scene featurettes, Cop talk with Dean Norris, Gag reel, Walt's warning, 6 Breaking Bad original webisodes, Season 3 sneak peak, Vince Gilligan's photo gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV at its best, 14 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Dark, tragic and funny. There are not many programmes to match this program, it's far better than most movies let alone tv programmes. Some of the scenes, particularly in series 3 are outstanding and rank as ones that will stay memorable for some time.

Series 2 portrays the further drawing of the principle characters into a dark, dark world and the moral and practical decisions they are forced to make in order to protect and grow their drug business (started with the best of intentions).

This is a tv series that has yet to catch on mainstream but deserves all the success of The Sopranos, The Wire etc.

Brilliantly cast, acted, written and filmed. Understated and always, always totally engaging.

If you only watch one new series this year - this should be it. Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad cheddar, yo, 28 May 2013
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Walt's cancer treatment is reaching a crucial point and he needs more money. What solution is there but to up his meth production, take control of distribution and go up against the Mexican mob?

I try to avoid gushing, but it's hard not to get a bit Academy-Awards-Acceptance-Speech about this series. Honestly though, Breaking Bad is quite possibly the best thing to have come out of US TV in years. Beautiful writing, exquisite photography and award-winning acting, all joined up to make a witty and profoundly compelling darkly comic drama series.

Series 2 takes over from S1 and goes to the next level making it hard to see how subsequent seasons can hope to imprpove (I understand that they do, however). OK there are possibly more characters each with their own story-arcs to follow than might be considered optimal and the subject material itself is challenging. However, the underlying humour* keeps it from getting too bleak and it's great not to have to sit through the saccharine laden faux-morality that is more traditionally extruded from the US TV entertainment-mill. True enough, the "actions have unintended consequences" cliche runs through every part of the series and is woven from a heavy thread, but part of the fun of it is seeing just how far Walt's decisions reach.

As with Season 1, S2 really is unputdownable stuff; every episode is a tantalising cliffhanger. Buy it. Watch it. Keep it.

* Bob Odenkirk's bent lawyer is a wonderful addition to the cast, larger than life and stereotyped as hell. Great fun.

"Look, you remember Emilio? This dude got Emilio off, like, twice. Both times they had him dead to rights, yo, and then poof. Dude's like Houdini. Seriously, when the going gets tough, you don't want a criminal lawyer. Alright, you want a //criminal// lawyer. You know what I'm saying?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding second series, 30 Dec. 2011
By 
D. Jones (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I loved series one of Breaking Bad, it was undoubtedly the best boxed set I have watched this year. The only downside was that 7 episodes just weren't enough so I was pleased to find that series 2 was also available to buy.

Series 2 continues the story of Walt (played by Bryan Cranston), a middle class, law abiding teacher who has been diagnosed with terminal lung cancer at the age of 50. His wife, Skylar is on the verge of giving birth to a new baby and his teenage son, Walt Jnr, who suffers from cerebral palsy, trying to establish his own identity whilst living in a family on the verge of a major melt-down.

During series 1, Walt in an effort to fund his medical treatment and to leave his family with enough money to live after his demise teams up with Jessie (Dean Norris), one of his former students. Together they set up a meth lab and cook the best meth anyone has ever seen on the market. But things didn't go quite according to plan.

Series two continues on directly from the end of the first series with the same cast of characters. The series is more hard hitting with even more black humour than the first. I can never look at a turtle in quite the same way again!

Walt tries so hard to do the right thing but things just keep going wrong and as soon as he makes some cash he seems, through no fault of his own, to lose a larger amount. And all the time Jesse, despite his best intentions, seems like the colleague from hell - mistakes seem to be his second name.

This series was a lot more gritty and emotional than the first one. I so wanted Walt to tell the truth when it really mattered. And I cried when a particular event took away the most important thing in Jesse's life.

I thought the use of the short teasers at the start of many of the episodes was great, for example the pink bunny in the pool. Each episode gave you the tiniest extra little clue before it went into the main episode. No matter how much you try to second guess what the teasers meant it was impossible to identify how they would link to the main storyline until right near the end of the final episode - what a dynamic and clever ending to this series.

The series doesn't make use of cliff-hangers or other tension inducing stunts commonly used in series such as 24, Prison Break, Oz etc - it simply doesn't need to bother with that type of ploy. Instead it relies on an imaginative plot, well written script and well rounded characters. When one episode ends all you will want to do is watch the next one; I would be surprised if anyone could stretch this series out over a long time period.

Overall, a brilliant drama series. If you missed it first time around on TV then grab a copy of the first series and I can pretty much guarantee you that you will be back on Amazon ordering this second series very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Storytelling, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very
few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling.
Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to
make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking
performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles,
this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and
more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey
from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money
and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an
end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a
game we can never win.

The second season made clear the promise of the first would be lived up to. The show would
go to the edge, even if it meant risking alienating the audience. This is powerful, important
and yet utterly enthralling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the already-excellent first season, 26 Dec. 2014
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Walter White and Jesse Pinkman have made a deal with a local crimelord to distribute their distinctive blue-tinged crystal meth, but their associate turns out to be highly unstable and dangerously unpredictable. As they try to extricate themselves from their situation, Walter's medical treatment continues and his secret comes dangerously close to being exposed.

The second season of Breaking Bad picks up immediately where the prematurely-ended (due to the 2008-09 Writer's Strike) first season ended and continues the themes established there. Walter White is having the worst mid-life crisis ever, the bitterness and resentment built up by a lifetime spent achieving only mediocrity finally boiling over, catalysed by his cancer diagnosis, and fuelling his evolution into a surprisingly competent criminal. The show isn't interested in standing still and pushes White's development episode-by-episode whilst contrasting that with Jesse's descent back into drug addiction hell and showing the impact of these events on White's family and Jesse's strained relationship with his parents.

As before the show is darkly humourous and relentless in how it shows White trying to justify everything logically (if only to himself) and becoming at times speechless in disbelief when other people don't buy his selfish reasoning. The core of the show remains Bryan Cranston's committed performance and that's even stronger this season than before. Aaron Paul also deserves superlatives for the tricky balancing act of continuing to make Jesse sympathetic even when he is self-destructing so wastefully.

The greater episode count this time around allows for the deepening of the secondary cast. In particular, Dean Norris gets more to do as Walter's DEA agent brother-in-law, who moves from simplistic jock meathead to a more layered character suffering panic attacks after witnessing the real horrors of the drug war along the border. New and highly memorable characters also show up, such as Saul Goodman (Bob Odenkirk), a brilliantly slimy lawyer who becomes Walter's confidante by dint of no-one else being available. Krysten Ritter puts in a terrific performance as Jesse's arty new girlfriend Jane, with the excellent John de Lancie playing her father. There's also some fertile ground-laying for future seasons, with both Mike (Jonathan Banks) and Gus (Giancarlo Esposito) appearing in the last few episodes as Walter and Jesse's new - and hopefully more reliable - business associates.

Negatives are hard to find. There's an underlying air of implausibility about the show, such as Jesse's drug dealing associates doing their business in broad daylights on street corners with bling prominently on the display, and the final episode strains credulity with unlikely coincidence building on unlikely coincidence before the final moments of the season which feel very random. But the subsequent season does a good job of selling these moments to make them work better in retrospect.

The second season of Breaking Bad (*****) is, by a nose, better than the first, written and acted with growing confidence and a more accomplished juggling of the different characters and storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class A TV, 21 Feb. 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Season 2 picks up the moment when Season 1 ended with Walter White and Jesse Pinkman stood in the junkyard with the psychotic drug baron Tuco having beaten to death one of his henchmen for nothing. From there we're taken on a whirlwind tour of 13 of the best episodic drama series ever written.

Haunting black and white images of a burned purple teddy appear throughout the series, teasing the viewer at a tantalising finale. Walt's cancer gets worse prompting him to do more desperate things to get money quicker for his family, while Jesse falls in love with a recovering drug addict.

As Walt and Jesse's operation grows they recruit more of Jesse's druggie friends and we meet a charismatic but crooked lawyer who helps the duo launder their ill-gotten gains. Skyler begins suspecting what her husband is up to during all this time while getting closer to term with her pregnancy, and all the while Walt's brother in law Hank the DEA agent is getting closer to discovering who is producing this new high quality blue meth...

Incredibly, Season 2 is better than Season 1 and is twice as long so the characters are given more room to become interesting and develop, the storylines get fleshed out, and the studio has given the crew more money so everything is done on a larger scale.

I loved the new additions to the cast - Jesse's friends, his love interest and her father (played by the brilliant John De Lancie) and the crooked lawyer played by Bob Odenkirk was a wonderful highlight as well.

There are so many exceptional scenes it's impossible to list them here. The writing is as amazing as always, the acting is as strong as ever and the entire series is a joy to watch from start to finish. Utterly entrancing and wonderful television, I highly recommend this series to fans of high quality drama and to any who are uncertain as to whether or not they want to buy this after Season 1. Bring on Season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great storytelling, 15 Dec. 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very
few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling.
Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to
make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking
performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles,
this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and
more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey
from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money
and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an
end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a
game we can never win.

The second season made clear the promise of the first would be lived up to. The show would
go to the edge, even if it meant risking alienating the audience. This is powerful, important
and yet utterly enthralling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now seen all the Breaking Bad series and rate it one of the best dramas I have ever seen. Beware, once you start it is addictive and leads to many late nights. The temptation to "let's see one more episode" is very strong. A sad day indeed when the final episode comes to an end as there is nothing else available that is anywhere near as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009]
Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009] by Terry McDonough (DVD - 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews