Customer Reviews


341 Reviews
5 star:
 (303)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV like you've never seen it
I think this whole show is the best thing since the Sopranos. Funny, sad, heartwrenching, disgusting, violent, incredibly poignant; the story of a good man going bad while you still like and sympathise with him. Characters with confused moral codes, trying to do the right thing in the light of their twisted and ambivalent ethics. Just like the Sopranos - murderers who are...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by Aidan Walker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars After season1 being so great. I felt season 2 was a let down
After season1 being so great. I felt season 2 was a let down. I nearly gave up on it but I'm glad I didn't as season 3, 4 and 5 are so much better.

But yeah season 2 for me (except for the odd episode) was almost a filler, and didn't do anything for me at all. Like I said I'm so glad I didn't give up on it though.
Published 3 months ago by ZOOTZ


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV like you've never seen it, 17 Aug 2010
By 
Aidan Walker "Aidan" (Fulking, West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I think this whole show is the best thing since the Sopranos. Funny, sad, heartwrenching, disgusting, violent, incredibly poignant; the story of a good man going bad while you still like and sympathise with him. Characters with confused moral codes, trying to do the right thing in the light of their twisted and ambivalent ethics. Just like the Sopranos - murderers who are loving and loyal to their family and friends. Towering achievement. Don't watch it without seeing season 1 first. S2 is much darker than season 1, fewer belly laughs, but still absolutely the best thing. I watched it all over again straight after the first viewing, simply because there isn't anything else I want to see more than this. Now I'm suffering waiting for season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV at its best, 14 Jun 2010
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Dark, tragic and funny. There are not many programmes to match this program, it's far better than most movies let alone tv programmes. Some of the scenes, particularly in series 3 are outstanding and rank as ones that will stay memorable for some time.

Series 2 portrays the further drawing of the principle characters into a dark, dark world and the moral and practical decisions they are forced to make in order to protect and grow their drug business (started with the best of intentions).

This is a tv series that has yet to catch on mainstream but deserves all the success of The Sopranos, The Wire etc.

Brilliantly cast, acted, written and filmed. Understated and always, always totally engaging.

If you only watch one new series this year - this should be it. Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better. Superb television., 29 Sep 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Season 2 follows directly on from season 1. There's no overlap. The action picks up immediately and you're thrown straight back into the world of science teacher Walter White in his battle against cancer and his plunge into the murky world of drugs. I'd recommend you watch season 1 first. It sets the scene for what's to come and so much has happened to Walt, and his family, you might struggle to make sense of it if you don't watch the series in the proper order.

One thing's for sure; it's certainly ramped up in terms of action and violence and it's strong stuff. What makes it acceptable is the brilliant story that's unfolding throughout and the highly believable characters you just can't help bonding with. For that it's similar to the Sopranos but; Breaking Bad is in a whole other league. What I particularly enjoy is the wicked, dark humour flying around and the ongoing growth of the lead characters. The relationship between Walter White, Bryan Cranston, and his hapless, addict sidekick Jesse, Aaron Paul, is brilliantly worked into the plot. Extremely good TV.

Breaking Bad - Season 2 - contains all 13 episodes on 4 discs and runs for approx. 9 hours and 50 minutes.
English subtitles.
Age 15+ suitability due to 'bloody violence, hard drug use and drug references'.
Extras;
Cast and Crew commentaries, Deleted scenes, Inside Breaking Bad - 13 featurettes about the making of each episode, Season 1 recap, "Negro y Azul" Music Video, "Better call Saul" Commercial, 11 behind the scene featurettes, Cop talk with Dean Norris, Gag reel, Walt's warning, 6 Breaking Bad original webisodes, Season 3 sneak peak, Vince Gilligan's photo gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad cheddar, yo, 28 May 2013
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (Somewhere in the Jurassic...) - See all my reviews
Walt's cancer treatment is reaching a crucial point and he needs more money. What solution is there but to up his meth production, take control of distribution and go up against the Mexican mob?

I try to avoid gushing, but it's hard not to get a bit Academy-Awards-Acceptance-Speech about this series. Honestly though, Breaking Bad is quite possibly the best thing to have come out of US TV in years. Beautiful writing, exquisite photography and award-winning acting, all joined up to make a witty and profoundly compelling darkly comic drama series.

Series 2 takes over from S1 and goes to the next level making it hard to see how subsequent seasons can hope to imprpove (I understand that they do, however). OK there are possibly more characters each with their own story-arcs to follow than might be considered optimal and the subject material itself is challenging. However, the underlying humour* keeps it from getting too bleak and it's great not to have to sit through the saccharine laden faux-morality that is more traditionally extruded from the US TV entertainment-mill. True enough, the "actions have unintended consequences" cliche runs through every part of the series and is woven from a heavy thread, but part of the fun of it is seeing just how far Walt's decisions reach.

As with Season 1, S2 really is unputdownable stuff; every episode is a tantalising cliffhanger. Buy it. Watch it. Keep it.

* Bob Odenkirk's bent lawyer is a wonderful addition to the cast, larger than life and stereotyped as hell. Great fun.

"Look, you remember Emilio? This dude got Emilio off, like, twice. Both times they had him dead to rights, yo, and then poof. Dude's like Houdini. Seriously, when the going gets tough, you don't want a criminal lawyer. Alright, you want a //criminal// lawyer. You know what I'm saying?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Storytelling, 20 Oct 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very
few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling.
Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to
make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking
performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles,
this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and
more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey
from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money
and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an
end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a
game we can never win.

The second season made clear the promise of the first would be lived up to. The show would
go to the edge, even if it meant risking alienating the audience. This is powerful, important
and yet utterly enthralling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great storytelling, 15 Dec 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very
few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling.
Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to
make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking
performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles,
this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and
more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey
from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money
and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an
end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a
game we can never win.

The second season made clear the promise of the first would be lived up to. The show would
go to the edge, even if it meant risking alienating the audience. This is powerful, important
and yet utterly enthralling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now seen all the Breaking Bad series and rate it one of the best dramas I have ever seen. Beware, once you start it is addictive and leads to many late nights. The temptation to "let's see one more episode" is very strong. A sad day indeed when the final episode comes to an end as there is nothing else available that is anywhere near as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2, 5 Mar 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Breaking Bad season two is an absolute master class in character development. A huge step up from season one which just felt like an introduction, season two builds and then breaks its characters relationships and leaves the viewer gripped to the very end and then frazzled as the final credits roll.

Walt's descent into the drug world completes itself here. Bryan Cranston successfully portrays someone who slips from a happy suburban life into the dark realities of the drug world. Hardening himself the pitfalls of his new chosen profession, Walt decides that Heisenberg must flourish and to do so a network of employees needs to be recruited.

The script is immensely gripping, keeping you hooked on every episode. It quietly takes over your life and leaves you aching to see what these well written characters get up to next. It also feels totally organic. Each new scenario both Walt and Jessie find themselves in feels like it occurs naturally and is very grounded.

The introduction of Saul as a sort of financial advisor is a masterstroke and opens many more doors for these characters. Every moment has tension, from Walt's family life and the lies he tells to keep them away from the truth to his relationship with Hank which is starting to show signs of tension and he circles closer to the truth behind Heisenberg.

It isn't without its touching moments either. Hanks emotional state after being caught up in a couple of gun fights shows another (albeit short lived) side to his normally gruff exterior. Skyler with her constant struggles to look past some of the inaccuracies of Walt's stories and then ultimately Jessie's crushing devastation with the loss of someone he loves.

Breaking Bad is simply marvellous and shouldn't be missed. If the first season failed to whet your appetite give this one a go. With more time to flesh out the characters and develop the story season two is sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive viewing, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely compulsive viewing. Brilliant acting and amazing plot lines. Keeps you hooked. You will definitely want the full 6 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad Series, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You begin to understand why this achieved cult status the more you watch. Totally addictive excuse the pun. Bought all the rest - had to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009]
Breaking Bad: Season 2 [DVD] [2009] by Terry McDonough (DVD - 2010)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews