Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this one!
This is a fantastic little plane. I bought it for my 12 year old son, having previously tried a twin engine Sky Hussar which we could never get to fly properly (underpowered and impossible to trim), and the Silverlit was an instant success. It comes ready to fly, straight out of the box. The batteries charge in no time at all, and the controls are really simple and...
Published on 7 Jun 2011 by Paul B

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cost engineered at the expense of your child.
My 9 year old son purchased this with his own money. As a responsible parent I tried very hard to talk him out of it for various reasons, not least of all that 'flying' conditions would have to be near perfect which are rare. This alone would prove frustrating for him. But, it was his money and he's old enough to learn.

On arrival my worst fears for the £50...
Published on 2 Mar 2012 by Mr. E. Cory


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this one!, 7 Jun 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
This is a fantastic little plane. I bought it for my 12 year old son, having previously tried a twin engine Sky Hussar which we could never get to fly properly (underpowered and impossible to trim), and the Silverlit was an instant success. It comes ready to fly, straight out of the box. The batteries charge in no time at all, and the controls are really simple and easy to use. You can easily hand launch it or take off from the ground. The four engines really make a difference - although I wouldn't fly this in too much wind, it will cope with a light breeze, and doesn't need absolute calm like some of the other planes you can buy for the same price. It climbs really well and is made from some sort of plasticised styrofoam which is incredibly robust - I'm not suggesting you should do this deliberately, but if you crash dive it, it just bounces. The courier managed to squash the tail on mine when delivering it, but I just pushed it back into shape and it flies perfectly. It's only 2-channel, so don't expect sophistication, but as a first r/c plane I don't think you could do much better for the money. If you want to see one flying, there are a couple of videos on You-Tube that will show you what it can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!, 20 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. G. J. Wilson "mattman" (east sussex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
intro

this plane is amazing i live in a town called Hailsham its quite small and hasn't got
many big fields but i tested it thinking like the air acrobat it would go with the wind and go up and down and that you wouldn't have no control over it but you would be surprised the four engine's really help it.

this rc plane flies straight and glides through the wind and then when you make a turn it doesn't fath about it's like flying the big rc planes like sky 1 rc plane.

Then i took it to a big field in Eastbourne really big field it was very very good i got it to go very high and strapped a camera to it i could see the whole of eastbourne and still keeping it under control

in conclusion im very happy with this plane for cost reasons and flight ability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maxreview, 13 Nov 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
It flies well and does not suffer damage.Responds well to radio control.The aerial must be extended for best results. Hand launching is often better if windy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My husband has only flown this twice with our twin boys age 7, but it was fun and they found it easy to handle, not broken yet.I, 14 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
It just bounces when crashes, you really do need a big open space, no roads trees or inquisitive dogs out on their walks, it creates a lot of attention from people (and their dogs). It is a great plane to begin with, I would'nt recommend to spend any more if you a complete beginner like us, a perfect first plane to have weekend fun with, but no wind at all is a must, as just a slight breeze took it off course, impressed with durability so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good plane, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
This is a sturdy little plane that flies very well. Bought for my 11 yr old son who can fly it easily. After a few flights it can even be landed fairly easily so crashes are now few, but it took its early knocks without complaining and in reasonably good conditions it pretty much lands itself anyway. Good flying time between recharges too.

Does need a LARGE flying area though - we use a Cornish beach when the tide is out! Def recommend as a good starter plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
bought this for a gift the servive was excelland come on day and time they said was packed brilliant good value for money 1 happy chappy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cost engineered at the expense of your child., 2 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. E. Cory (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
My 9 year old son purchased this with his own money. As a responsible parent I tried very hard to talk him out of it for various reasons, not least of all that 'flying' conditions would have to be near perfect which are rare. This alone would prove frustrating for him. But, it was his money and he's old enough to learn.

On arrival my worst fears for the £50 spend were realised comprehensively. The plane is precision engineered from a type of styrofoam making no more robust than packing 'noodle' (the foam twists sometimes used to pack out parcels). There are no moving surfaces so all control is through the propellars. The more power you give it will climb, less and it will decend. The left to right banking movement is also controlled by small adjustments in the propellar RPM. This equates to a very wide turning circle. We have quite a large garden and the turning circle on this plane made it impossible to change direction without running out of space. One really needs an open area such as a field or park. However, open area's are more prone to wind and this plane will not fly in anything over a 'breath' of air. I would say anything over a 2 knot wind stymies it.

The plane comes with 4 spare propellars, two for each side. When one becomed damaged you have to cut it off and push a new one on. It is a very delicate process for which a large pair of nail clippers is the only thing that works well. Be very careful not to clip the propellar spindle by mistake. That writes the plane off.

The front wheels are small plastic affairs on a 'U' shaped piece of wire. After two bumpy landings on tarmac they disconnected from the undercarriage. Once this happens the joint is fundamentally weakened and only a few more landings renders them unuseable. This plane will only take-off from the ground on a hard smooth surface.

Finally, what I consider to be a relatively minor bump with a trampoline broke one of the 'engines' off. I could have glued it back on but the power cables are like angel hair and cannot be manually soldered back to the motor, so it's now in the bin!

This product has been cost engineered to be highly profitable through cheap components and automated manufacturing. For the first time in quite a while I saw my son reduced to floods of tears when he realised it was never to be flown again and we all know a parent takes no pleasure from telling their child, "I told you so".

To sum up, a truly heartbreaking experience for me as a parent. My son saved for many months to accrue £50 and I estimate he enjoyed about 2 hours of play for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Circles, 12 April 2013
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
Ok i got this today it was amazing when you look at it but once it gets in the air the plane starts to go in circles and you cant fly the plane horizontal so i do not recommend anybody to buy this i would by the Axion Plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a rip off, 8 Sep 2012
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies) (Toy)
Please don't let your child spend £50 on this, they'll be devastated when it arrives. Not only does it not fly but it can't cost more than £5 to make. Very, very poor.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverlit X-Twin Speedy Plus 2-Channel Radio Control Aeroplane (Colour and Frequency Varies)
£49.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews