Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars178
4.1 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£4.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2012
I bought this for under two pounds and its excellent. Superb graphics and gameplay! The online is still active too - and free to play! So you could buy a couple of copies and send one to a friend! After reading other reviews of the newer versions many people say this is the better version. 100% recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
AS I EXPECTED AS A FAN OF ALL TYPES OF CAR DRIVING CHALLENGES,I FOUND THIS ONE MORE THAN WORTHY TO PUSH ME TO THE ULTIMATE,I HAVE FOUND TO GET THE REALISM OF CONTROL IS TO USE THE MICROSOFT STEERING WHEEL ETC,CANT PRAISE THIS "GAME" ENOUGH,WHERE TO FROM HERE IS NOW THE CHALLENGE,
AIRCRAFT SIMULATION?.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
There have been lots of review of this game, so I'm going to keep this short.

I personally think this is more fun and overall just better than GT5. Graphically, menu navigation, game-play, online-play and everything in my opinion is better than GT5.

Would definitly recommend you get it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
If you are a fan of F1 (like me) this game won't disappoint you.

I almost completed 7th seasons and I can tell you that this game is long. I play on medium with 20% of the actual number of laps (about 10 on each track) and they take me about 20 minute to do + time for practice (1-5 laps) and qualifying session (1-3) so that's about 10 hours of racing per season.

Most of the achievements are easy but others are very time consuming and difficult like completing a race from a cockpit view or winning Drivers' Championship on Expert difficulty.

After each race there is a press conference/interview with 3 drivers from the podium and I like the questions they ask (usually about the race and team) but after 2 seasons I notice that they repeat the same questions over and over again.

Overall I love this game despite how frustrating some races are...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2010
This is a top game, I don't normally write reviews but felt I had to for this game. It's challenging and it needs 100% concentration to nail each lap, each sector counts, each corner needs to be bang on. The weather is changeable so if you qualify in the dry and the race is wet you need to alter the car setup, tyres etc. This game will have you on the edge of your seat, lap after lap!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2010
Ok, while the bulk of reviews of this are positive, it seems some people are far too picky in their complaints (I mean, why on earth would anyone want a safety car in the game? how annoyingly pointless would it be?).

Overall the game looks and plays very similar to the previous version, but has been tweaked and puffed up to make it that little bit better in most areas.
The rain effects alone are simply stunning.

At no point does this claim to be an exact simulation of F1, for if it was, most of us would never even be able to control the cars. It just simulates certain aspects.

Certain things within F1 should never be included in an F1 game (the aforementioned safety car for example) as they would just not translate well, but there will always be things that should be included and arent, or are not executed properly.

This brings me onto the niggles that I have found with it.
Like the previous game, the penalty system is horrible, with you being warned or penalised for things that just were not your fault, while your opposition appears to be able to do what they want, smashing into you willy nilly. Also, the ten second penalty should be drive throughs or stop and goes, which would be very easy to implement.

Damage and car reliabilty is really quite poor to be honest, with the only damage any car takes is it can lose its front wing (even after slamming into walls or rolling) which has absolutely no effect on how your car handles. Also, no cars ever go wrong. In the 2006 game, opposition would break down randomly, but in this game they all appear to be 100% reliable.

With all thats available in this game, I think you can see that these faults are fairly minor, and some may even be fixable with patches later on.

One thing that was certainly an extra pleasure though was that there is no Jonathan Legard commentary, which I had been dreading.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
As a fan of F1 for many years this is the game i've wanted for a long time , early days as of yet but initial reactions are very positive , the only downside as reviews have stated is the press interview segments but for codemasters first attempt it's a big thumbs up . Just remember it's more of a sim than an arcade racer and takes practice but it will reward you and put a smile on your face .
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Hard to control with the breaking assis etc off, but yoy can't get any fast times with it on. No good for the casual gamer, had I played for over an hour & still haven't even done ba qualifier let alone a race.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
First of all this is not a bad game, it is good fun and there is a range of difficulty settings. The first thing you will notice is that graphics are good, sufficient but not exactly great. It looked good when all tiny on the youtube previews, however it is completely underwhelming on a decent TV.

It has all the new circuits and the updated layouts for Bahrain and Silverstone, as well as all the current teams, as you would expect. What I did not expect was the shockingly shallow physics engine, they have made no effort here whatsoever. The cars really lack any sense of weight and seem to be floating over the road, a sensation which becomes very apparent in the cockpit view. While the game is obviously fast, there is no sense of acceleration and not much to the braking either. In this respect it is a step backwards from the last F1 game on the PS3. I must add at this point that I play with all the ABS/Traction/Assists etc turned off, I was never expecting this game to be Gran Turismo-esque but I was hoping for something a bit more sophisticated than this.

The quick setups is a nice feature, but yet again the advanced tweaking is really a waste of effort as the improvements you can make have negligible effects- compare this to the Sony game where a poor setup could lose you seconds. There is simply no subtlety to the physics engine at all: the car seemingly behaves like an F1 car, it spins if you over cook the power or nudge a high kerb, it locks up if you brake too hard too late into a corner, but there is no feeling there. The rain driving is disappointing too, there is hardly any difference to distinguish from dry conditions, you can even run a dry setup.

In many respects its predecessor, Sony's F1 2006, is far superior. Where this new game excels beyond novelty is in the AI, the behaviour of the opponents in races is a vast improvement over the drones in F1 2006. So while there is really no challenge to driving the car for anyone who plays driving games regularly, the actual racing is fairly decent.

In summary, this will certainly seem to be a success to the more casual player or F1 fan, but anyone who is looking for a more in-depth simulation needs to go elsewhere. It has the same problems or perhaps strengths of other recent Codemasters driving games, it is a good arcade racer but lacks any long term playability or interest for more serious driving game fans. This is a missed opportunity to create a classic driving game, they have gone for a quick buck here, and it really shows.

And one more thing - expect bugs and lots of them, hopefully these will be patched in time. Some of the errors are so fundamental that they would be unexpected even in a beta release.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2012
I play F1 2010 with the Logitech Driving Force Pro steering wheel,and the sense of immersion is incredible!!.I can't imagine playing this game with a normal controller.I can tell you that 20 laps round Monaco left me knacked!!.The game itself really does a great job of putting you in the posistion of a F1 driver.The production, gameplay and graphics are all superb.This is a fine job Codemasters,didn't think you'd pull it off after Race Driver Grid.And for all those people who still play with a controller,Go out now and buy a wheel,because this game comes alive with one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£3.75
£4.80

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)