Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blu-Ray
There a million reviewers out there who can do more justice to reviewing the film itself than I can, suffice to say that for me it is a superb film, and this is the consensus among most people that see it. I want to use this review to point out what a great Blu-Ray this is. As usual Warner Bros. has upgraded to Blu-Ray with love and attention to detail. First of all...
Published 22 months ago by heavy_t

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray is no better than my Dvd.
I bought this thinking they would have done some work in the transfer to bluray but i am very disappointed, no work on it at all it just looks the same as my region 1 dvd when played in my bluray player and the sound is DTS just the same as my dvd so that does not sound any better either. infact my dvd seems to show the colours more brighter than the bluray so all in all...
Published 21 months ago by Atomspheres


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal., 25 May 2007
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last, this seminal film is getting a quality release it's long deserved.

I still remember the tingle of apprehension I got the first time I heard Robbie say,

"Morbius, something approaching from the South West."

The eerie electronic score and sound effects also make this a film that stands out from the crowd of 50's Science Fiction,

and the design of Robbie the Robot is so good it's still an impressive sight now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever Science Fiction Film, 29 May 2013
This must be the best Science Fiction film of all time; perhaps because the plot, or at least the situation, is based on Shakespeare's "The Tempest". More than that, the actors throw themselves into their parts and every word comes across clearly. While the `advanced' technology is pretty primitive, the sets and model work are excellent. I particularly like the scene of the spaceship landing: it's spinning, it raises dust and it casts a shadow before touching down and coming to rest.

The characters match "The Tempest" quite closely: Morbius = Prospero, Altaira = Miranda, Robby the Robot = a clunky Ariel, Commander Adams = Ferdinand, the Id Monster = Caliban. There is even a drunken cook to match Stephano the drunken butler. The Id Monster is actually an improvement, for Shakespeare's Caliban proves to be harmless, while the Id Monster is invisible, powerful and deadly.

I wonder how much Gene Rodenberry drew on Forbidden Planet when devising Star Trek. There are several obvious parallels: a saucer-shaped, interstellar ship; a Captain, First Officer, Doctor and Chief Engineer as major characters; even the deceleration chamber effect looks like the Star Trek transporter.

One little scene particularly intrigues me. At the climax of the film Morbius, Altaira and the Commander are trapped in the Krell laboratory while the Id Monster breaks in. The Commander draws his blaster. Why does he do that? He knows it can't hurt the Monster. But if he kills Morbius, that will destroy the Monster too, since it comes from the mind of Morbius. Is he thinking of doing that? Saving Altaira but knowing she will hate him for killing her father? Or did the Director just include that action without thinking about its significance?

The message of the film is clear: if we ever do manage to colonise other planets, the evil that we experience there will be the evil we have brought with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the start of Star Trek and more, 8 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the Epic that gave the look to Star trek, Creatures from the ID and Robby the Robot. The story is basically Shakespear's The Tempest. In it a space ship comes to investigate what happened to a science team but they find a single suvivor and his daughter, I won't go into it too closly as it will just seem like a Star Trek episode but what makes it better than Star Trek is the FX the attack by the creature from the ID is brilliant and Robby the robot is great, there is action, comedy, romance and a great writter (shakespear). The best Star trek story ever made that came over a decade before star trek????

The special features are great and the DVD looks brilliant. One for all Sci-fi Fans, Star trek fans, classics movie fans, animation fans if not everybody. If you don't have this DVD then you are missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic must have cult scifi flick, 16 Aug 2003
this is a fantastic piece of scifi art that was above and beyond the repertoire of its then day counterparts!
in an era when star trek hadnt even been a twinkle in gene roddenberry' eye, this masterpiece was and still is a first rate combination of artists impression and human escapism ideology, an alround worth while film that every cult scifi fanatic should be made to watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 27 July 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As the previous reviewer said there isn't much more to be said. This is one of the greatest science fiction films ever made. Its even more remarkable for being over 50 years old now, as some of the special effects, if dated now, are good enough to make you think 'how the hell did they do that in 1956'? Remember no CGI at all.

Its influence on the original Star Trek series in terms of the story and the sets is clear for all to see: A long dead civilisation leaving behind a mind enhancing machine. An apparent Alien force that can't be seen. Sets made of polystyrene etc....

Quite a few important Science Fiction films were made in the 1950's, but this one stands head and shoulders above the rest. If you've never seen it you've missed an absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet...Not forgotten, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Rick "RickAnne :o)" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray] [1956] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I remember watching this film as a child. The BBC had a Sci-Fi season on a Wednesday evening which followed Nationwide. It was in the 70's, & I rememeber having our first colour t.v. It would be fair to say that most of the movies which were shown in 'said' season were in Black & White, so what a most welcome surprise when the titles came on for 'Forbidden Planet'. What a fantastic treat for the eyes. The colour was then, & still is, Knockout. Forbidden Planet is perhaps a little long for some. And the screenplay writer went ape on 'big' words, 'big' explanations & basically, 'big' bollocks. But the movie is a 'classic'(?) Nice to see Walt Disney lent a hand in the animation. If you're in love with this genre, you'll be in seven heaven with this movie. I wanted more of the beast myself. However, I remember the giant footprints giving me food for thought as a kid - Happy days :O)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scifi Masterpiece, 13 May 2011
By 
Fergus Stewart (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray] [1956] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is possibly the only 1950s sci-fi classic movie which still holds up in terms of believable special effects and in vibrant colour on blu-ray the film looks as great as ever. But what made Forbidden Planet so exceptional was the cast, the attention to detail, the plot (based on Shakespeare's The Tempest,) and the way it was all believably transferred to a different planet. (And of course Robbie the Robot became a star in his own right.)

The eventually revealed origin and nature of the beast which threatens them all lends further weight and dignity to what could have been an escapist potboiler.

As it is, this is not just the best sci-fi movie of the 50s but one of the best sci-fi movies of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet Blu Ray, 30 Sep 2010
By 
G. Wright (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray] [1956] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Up until the early 1950's Hollywood was mostly controlled by big studios who spent most of there money on big blockbusters featuring major stars, but as the decade wore on a small group of writers producers and directors began to break into the business making small sometimes independent films many of them on low budgets. One of the most successful genres to come out of this period was the Science fiction film, the 1950's produced such classic films as Invaders from Mars, This Island Earth and It came from outer Space.

Made on a budget of 4.9 million dollars which was big money back then, Forbidden Planet was Hollywood's attempt to get back into science fiction while at the same time taking the genre mainstream. Drawing on Freudian concepts and Shakespeare it tells the story of a lonely recluse tortured and controlled by monsters in his subconscious which threaten to destroy him.

Allthough ths film doesnt have the charm of some of the other low budget films ive mentioned, because of its big budget and well preserved negative its one of the few films from that generation that benefits from the move to Blu Ray, it looks and sounds good and is a big improvement on the DVD version, it also carries all of the extras over from the two-disk DVD version. I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of science fiction films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet: The Id of Your Life, 7 May 2010
By 
Peter Karsten "Osiris" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 1950's was the golden age of science fiction, many great films were made, that even now influence our lives and thoughts today. One such film is Forbidden Planet, and for me. It is still one of the best films-and perhaps the only film that has a unique sound track which can not be beaten. Not only that but it introduced one of the best great robots of all time - Robby, this robot is so iconic, it-or he is instantly recognisable.

Before I go on, I just have to say that the music for the film was and still is ahead of its time, and if you watch the credits it comes under `Electronic Tonalities' by Louis and Bebe Barron, this inspiring couple used no musical instruments to compose the weird and wonderful music of Forbidden Planet; and if you look at the theatrical posters of the time, this couple's names are not mentioned - the Academy didn't even recognised the film score as music-how ignorant is that? Because no actual musical instruments were used, Louis and Bebe used tape and electronics to compose the now unforgettable haunting sound for the film. In my mind both Louise and Bebe Barron should receive honorary Oscars for original film score-its well overdue.

Now as for the acting skills of the performers, Walter Pidgeon is perfectly cast as Dr. Edward Morbius, you don't know wether to love him or pity him in his struggle with his Id, and over developed intellect. Then there's the lovely Anne Francis as Altaira, Morbius' daughter, beautiful, nave, and bright. Leslie Nielsen as Commander J. J. Adams, strong and heroic. Warren Stevens as Dr. Ostrow-unusual name, wise, intelligent, a close friend of the commander. It seems there are shades of the Kirk and McCoy between these two men, as the characters/actors work well together. Jack Kelly as Lt. Jerry Farman, another friend of Adams, a likeable easy going guy, obviously a ladies man. Plus two other recognisable actors early in their careers are Richard Anderson (Six Million Dollar Man/Bionic Woman), as Chief Quinn, and Earl Holliman (Police Woman), as Cook, giving a light comedic touch to the film. A well balanced cast in my opinion.

Okay, let's look at this 50th Anniversary Edition of Forbidden Planet, first when it states that it is the Ultimate Collector's Edition, you must never use the word `Ultimate' because it implies it contains everything and anything-well this edition-doesn't-of course thus you'll end up scrutinising it no end-and yes you guess it, I'm going to do just that; let's have a look at what you get anyway:

1] Forbidden Planet (Widescreen)
2] The Invisible Boy (Widescreen-bonus movie feathering Robby)
3] 17 Lobby Cards (reproductions 5A size-approx of both films)
4] Forbidden Planet - Deleted Scenes and Lost Footage
5] Excerpts from `The MGM Parade' TV series with Walter Pidgeon
6] `Client' episode with Robby from the TV series `The Thin Man'
7] 3 Documentaries: `Amazing! Exploring the Far Reaches of Forbidden Planet', `Robby the Robot: Engineering a Sci-Fi Icon', and `TCM Original Watch the Skies!: Science Fiction, the 1950s and Us'
8] Science-Fiction Movie Trailer Gallery
9] 3.5" figure of Robby the Robot

All the above is presented to you in a tin case-which is itself worth getting.

Now in regards the Robby the Robot figure, which was one of the main reasons I got this DVD Edition. I am really disappointed because there is a little false advertising involved, if one looks at the back of the box, the figure of Robby is about 21cm tall, compared to the other merchandize shown, but in reality it is about 9cm (3.5" inches tall), even though it states in small print that the figure is 3.5" Actual Size. (Even on the Amazon website picture shows what I mean) It is obvious that the Marketing Department wanted to sucker us in-well it worked with me, and looking at the metal box it came in, you can easily fit a 6" inch Robby figure. So the point is don't be fooled-seeing is not believing.

So is this really the Ultimate Edition-well no, because there's no such thing, I mean if we are featuring Robby as a bonus in what he has done over the years, then two more acting skills should have been included in this 50th Anniversary Edition: 1] the Lost in Space episode, "The War of the Robots" and 2] the Ark II episode, "The Robot", (this episode showed Robby with a different look than what we are used too) and there are more, of course like than appearance in Wonder Woman for example.

Plus there are two other things I would like with this edition, a booklet, describing the movie, some production notes, cast & crew listing, and any trivia, as well as a CD of the original Film/Music sound track. Why is it that special, anniversary or collector editions don't have CD sound tracks, I'm sure the collector would like to hear the musical score-wouldn't you?

All in all this 50th Anniversary Edition of Forbidden Planet is cool, and the film is my third all-time favourite sci-fi film, and it's easy to see why. You can get just the double DVD without the Robby figure, but if you go that far-go the extra, you won't be disappointed.

One final point, Forbidden Planet is pure science fiction at it's best for the era, and it still hold up today, this is science fiction as it was meant to be, this film set standards for future films to follow. Today's science fiction is dead-film wise, there is no imagination left-ok-ok, what about Star Wars? What about it? Its in a different league of science fiction and it and it successors are really merchandize driven, (today's generation are of a different mind-set) as with all other sci-fi/fantasy films.

Thanks to [...] for additional information on the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Nice climate you have here!", 30 Sep 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Forbidden Planet is a product of Hollywood's Sci-Fi mania of the '50s. That era produced plenty of substandard copycat films with low grade robots and dodgy aliens, but it's the pioneering films which inspired those copycats which have stood the test of time...

The United Planets Cruiser ship heads towards Altair IV to relieve the crew who are stationed there only to be told not to land as no assistance is required. Despite the warnings they follow their orders and disembark, what they discover is decidedly odd - the crew are dead other than Dr Mobius, his daughter, and of course Robbie the Robot who was to go on to be the biggest star from the film!

Hidden forces of seemingly extra-terrestrial origin start to murder the crew, they understand what must have happened to the previous colony there but there is no explanation as to what is actually happening and why Mobius has survived. Mobius seems to be involved somehow - even if he isn't aware of it. This gives the film a dark edge, but perhaps even darker are the suggestions that Mobius' daughter is at risk being an attractive young woman in the midst of a group of virile fit men.

The picture quality of this release is absolutely fantastic and does the film justice. The special effects in the film are impressive and although dated, many look better than modern CGI. The landscapes are beautifully stark and alien looking, this is something of a blueprint for decades of future Sci-Fi. This two disk release contains documentaries and a short film which tops of a fantastic DVD release, a classic film like this deserves a decent transfer and this DVD has been treated with the respect it deserves.

In a nutshell: A Sci-Fi film which has influenced so many other aspects of Sci-Fi since, and you can see why. It captures the zeitgeist of 1950's film and it has dated - but not badly. It still holds it's own against modern films and it established both the flying saucer and Robbie the Robot as solid cultural icons. Besides which - no other film has a Robot apologising for being late with the excuse "Sorry Miss. I was giving myself an oil-job", brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray] [1956] [Region Free]
Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray] [1956] [Region Free] by Fred McLeod Wilcox (Blu-ray - 2010)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews