Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GE X5
I looked at the Nikon 110 (great name but expensive) The Fuji S1600 (had some bad reviews and was £30 -£40 more than the X5 - although the Fuji has HD video) so, at the price the X5 was the one I want for.

Seems well built - the controls are easy to use, you will need to read the PDF manual to get the most out of the camera - although on auto it seems to work...
Published on 4 Aug. 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A so-so camera
I bought the GE X5 for my daughters 16th birthday (her choice, not mine) back in April and being a photography enthusiast myself, I was very interested to see how such a low cost bridge camera would perform.

The good: Image quality is very good when conditions are right, very low price for 15X zoom, a choice of 8 resolutions available and the inclusion of EVF...
Published on 11 Jun. 2011 by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GE X5, 4 Aug. 2010
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
I looked at the Nikon 110 (great name but expensive) The Fuji S1600 (had some bad reviews and was £30 -£40 more than the X5 - although the Fuji has HD video) so, at the price the X5 was the one I want for.

Seems well built - the controls are easy to use, you will need to read the PDF manual to get the most out of the camera - although on auto it seems to work fine.

Video works well but only SD quality (but if I had wanted HD video I'd buy a video camera)

Zoom is excellent Macro is also good - the auto focus takes a bit of practice (other people have been complaining of blurry pics) but when you have the hang of it it's fine.

Don't expect £500 DSLR performance from this camera - but its a lot better than a point and shoot - it's worth it for the zoom alone in my opinion.

You will need to buy an SD memory card and some rechargeable batteries to make the most of this camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GE X5, 18 Feb. 2011
By 
J. Lindley "JL" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
Most of the professional reviews of the GE X5 are a bit sniffy. Some make comparisons with digital SLRs, and others show an inbuilt prejudice from the word go.

Clearly it is based on one of the Fuji Finepix bridge cameras, and the controls and options bear this out. There are the usual weaknesses associated with cramming 14 megapixels onto a relatively small chip, and noise kicks in quickly from ISO 200 and upwards, especially in low light. You should generally try to use ISO 80 or 100 if possible.

As for sharpness, it is a little on the soft side, but there is scope for an extra bit of sharpening without this being obvious. On the other hand it is sharper than my Fuji Finepix S800, nor does it seem to have the purple fringing effect of my S800. It is about as sharp as a Pentax Optio LS1000, but strangely the GE X5 wins in some circumstances and loses in others as far as the sharpness battle is concerned.

The degree of manual control is extensive and takes a while to learn so some patience is required, but it is possible, for example, to close down apertures to an extent, to set shutter speeds up to 30 seconds (in shutter priority mode) and to do limited time lapse photography.

Even with the image stabilisation switched off and continuous autofocus switched off, there is a very slight whine that is annoying when the camera is on and moved. You worry that this may be a process that shortens battery life. You also wonder how long it will last, as we do not know in what ways General Imaging (the GE licencee) has changed internal components to keep costs down.

However, at £60 from ASDA (limited special offer - sorry Amazon) it may prove to have been worth a go. At higher prices, I would be more hesitant.

Those who have searched for GE X5 reviews on the web may have found an article about an owner who has replaced the inbuilt lens with a Soligor lens to good effect - treat this with the utmost caution. If it is true (and it may be) it must involve probably irreversible tinkering and experimentation, loss of warranty and total loss of the camera if it were to go wrong. The lenses of these cameras are not meant to be changed. Caveat tinkerers. Do not do it.

Postscript added from August 2013:
It is still working. The image stabilisation works well. I see basically the same model under the same label or rebadged as another budget brand, and with 14Mb or 16Mb, so they are still around in some form or other. It is a little on the slow side and rather 'clunky'. The downloaded images are quite large files, but that has its benefits as they are nearer to a raw image (but they are **not** real raw image files). I use non-rechargeable Energiser lithium AA batteries which should last ages. Concerning the paragraph above about the modification to take a Soligor lens - I really doubt that it was a working modification. These cameras are best not tinkered with (this is based on having disassembled one or two dead digital compacts for interest).
When you enlarge pictures viewed on the camera's own screen they quickly become fuzzy. I think that this is because you are only viewing thumb-nail quality previews. If you want to check this, take a photo with the camera on a rock-solid surface to avoid movement - then compare the magnification of the picture using the camera's screen with a magnification to 100% on your computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A so-so camera, 11 Jun. 2011
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
I bought the GE X5 for my daughters 16th birthday (her choice, not mine) back in April and being a photography enthusiast myself, I was very interested to see how such a low cost bridge camera would perform.

The good: Image quality is very good when conditions are right, very low price for 15X zoom, a choice of 8 resolutions available and the inclusion of EVF (Electronic view finder) is nice in such a low priced camera. A thoughtful design means it feels nice to grip and the controls are where you would expect them to be. It's a good weight which is mostly thanks to the 4 AA batteries it takes and and when the shooting situation is perfect, the GE X5 creates photos with excellent image quality.

However...

The bad:The lens does a good job of focusing sharply most of the time, but when the zoom is extended, camera shake sometimes causes focus problems. Stabilization is ineffective and white balance can be very unpredictable. If the conditions are less than perfect (low light) then the image quality is very hit and miss. You must manually activate the popup flash whenever you need to use it, (even in full auto mode) which you may forget to do from time to time, which probably will result in poor-quality photos. It would be nice if the flash opened whenever the camera sensed it was needed, a feature which is available on some of the most basic compact cameras.

The Ugly: A small LCD screen which is as good as invisible in sunlight, a low-res electronic viewfinder that will make your eyes swim, shutter lag is a serious problem (Shot-to-shot times without a flash averaged 4.2 seconds, which is painful; turning on the flash extends that to 4.7 seconds)

All in all, it's not a bad camera for the price but it'll frustrate anyone who wants to do more than just point and shoot. But if you accept it for what it is - a cheap camera with a very long lens - you won't be disappointed. Perfect for my daughter who just wants to take photos of her and her friends, not so perfect for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice camera, 31 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
Seems like a well built camera for the money. Heavy with the 4 AA batteries. Rechargable ones seem to last for ages in it. Have taken quite a few photos and am very pleased with the results so far. Nice and sharp images taken with flash. Need a tripod if you're wanting to use the full optical zoom. In general, very pleased with the purchase, excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent specifications, performance, value, 27 Jan. 2011
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
I was given this excellent little camera as a birthday present to replace my Fujifilms S1500 and it was immediately apparent that it was from the same factory, only better specified (and cheaper). This is a good thing - I really liked the S1500 with its chunky mini-SLR build, and impressive specifications, performance and image quality and the X5 is just as good. Its specifications are truly impressive, especially for this price range: 14 megapixels, a loooong optical zoom (and digital zoom on top of that), and some nice features. If you want a good all-round digital camera and don't mind that it won't fit in your pocket then you could do a lot worse than the X5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 16 Oct. 2011
By 
T. Brannan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
This is a truly great camera. It does everything it says on the tin. I only found one tiny critisism and that is that you do need a memory card installed as the built in memory holds about five pictures and then shows full, otherwise superb. The pictures are excellent and you can't beat the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Camera - Good value for money, 8 Feb. 2011
By 
Pellegrino Pavli "rino68" (Ramsgate) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
I'm not an expert but I have tried out a few cameras and the GE X5 has produced better results than cameras at a much higher price range.I have read many GE X5 reviews all over the internet and many people are happy with the camera but also saw many comments about blurry results.If you are in a poorly lit room with no flash then the quality will be poor but with a flash and correct focus the photo will be crystal clear. I found a nice balance of quality when set to 8mp and picture quality 'fine'.If you overcrowd the tiny sensor with 14mp then you will get noise in the picture. Anyway I will upload a few test shots soon. The video mode is ok but no digital camera can match a camcorder anyway.The GE X5 has many features which I'm testing out but so far very impressed by what I've seen and the build quality is solid,camera looks good and though it's very small the GE X5 fits perfectly in my hand with a good grip. The electronic view finder is pretty good actually better than I thought. The 2.7 LCD is of a fair quality and gets the job done. I'm slowly learning how to use the manual settings by researching online so that I can get the best out if this camera.The battery usuage is very good on basic AA and on rechargables much better.I'm very glad I purchased this camera as long as you learn how to use it and not expect picture quality of a £2,000 Nikon DSLR then you should be content with your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good purchase., 29 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
I have owned one of these cameras for less than a week and am very pleased with the device. It is comfortably heavy with a nice quality finish. To all intensive purposes it looks, and feels like one of the smaller finepix Bridge camera models. And it is small for a 15 X zoom bridge camera. The manual mode is quite intuitive and I found myself using this mode with ease. The ASCN mode is a new experience for me and I have used it quite a bit already with pleasing results. It seems slightly heavy on battery usage so I have ordered some quality high charge capacity Nimh AA batteries.

What strikes me is that as someone who has used old film SLR's since the 70's is the range of useful SLR like modes such AP, SP, P and manual, plus the addition of the most useful of the modern modes such as scene select (SCN) and auto scene select (ASCN). On top of that is a very good panorama mode where you manually take a single shot then carefully move the camera horizontally twice lining up cross-hairs and circle where shots are automatically taken and then joined up in the camera. This works very well on the X5 and again, is my first experience of such a function. The video functions offers 2 settings (1) Standard DVD quality (2) Standard web quality and whilst not being HD is nevertheless good quality.

For price, size and quality this is a bargain and will most be appreciated by people who are prepared to make an effort in learning how to use this camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for a beginger, 19 April 2012
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
This is a good camera for any new photogragher, lots of different settings to check out, well worth the try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GE or not GE? That is the question., 9 Feb. 2012
This review is from: GE X5 Bridge Style Compact Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 15 x Optical Zoom) 2.7-inch LCD (Electronics)
A competent bridge camera if you know how to use it. You need to understand how the manual settings work to get the best out of it. Yes, it can be a frustrating camera tou use, and if you've never used a fully manual camera before you'll need to read a few articles on the web to learn how, but it's not hard to get to grips with. Auto mode does give lacklustre results as the advanced settings are only available at the P A S M settings. It's well worth the money. On optical and low digital zoom, stabilisation works great, it's digital zoom that causes the bad camera shake to set in (as with my 3x zoom Kodak c143 and other cameras I've owned - and that's a lot), but if you use a tripod on the 2 second timer mode to eliminate camera shake then even full digital zoom (about 85 X total combined zoom) the results are good. There's a full review of the camera at my photography website[...] so please visit the site and comment on it.
Cheers,
Colin Glover
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews