Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great BD, NOT region B/2
The movie is a fun and 'explosive' action movie that can be watched once in a while. It will not be sitting somewhere and collecting dust after watching it once.

For the American buyers, even though the BD is listed as Region B/2, it is actually Region A/1 and B/2. Therefore it will play on the NA blu-ray players also. The DVD however, is Region B/2. This...
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by Mr. K

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The B-Team More Than The A-Team
This film version of 'The A-Team' is nowhere near as good as the original. Whereas each episode of the TV series was strongly plot-driven, if a little formulaic, The A-Team of 2010 is basically just a crude mash-up of fantastical (but largely harmless) violence, guns and hardware, with very little actual storyline to speak of. This film is also marred by constant...
Published 21 months ago by T. T. Rogers: Straight-To-Video


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars "I Pity The Fool..." who watches this., 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team (Extended Explosive Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Basically, this film just left me disappointed for a number of reasons. If you want to use a globally popular TV show as your foundations, you have to honour the source and be faithful to the core values that made the said show successful. Action, humour, chemistry, stunts, excitement and fun. The late George Peppard and the rest of the original stars of the 1980s show ‘The A-Team’ delivered this to audiences week after week for a strong, memorable successful run accompanied by an iconic opening title sequence and even more iconic theme. Sadly, none of these elements are used here in this loud, noisy film except action and hints of excitement.

With nothing except the character names used, none of the leading stars bar Liam Neeson and at times Sharlto Copley manage to capture the essence of the characters they are playing. Granted, this serves as a modern telling of the story, but the natural and often under-played elements that made the original characters so memorable and enjoyable are missing. Here we have ego-fuelled Hollywood performances that could literally be any character in any action film. Neeson does a fair job as the one trying to keep the film grounded, Cooper is irritatingly boring and loud, Jackson is very restrained and playing a part too famous to compare with and Copley is accurate in his craziness but over-playing the role. It was never really going to work from the start to really nail the mature yet developed characters of the original – here they are just foul-mouthed, libido driven, tough-talking and very violent special ops soldiers.

As for the plot, it’s more complicated with each time you watch it. It’s difficult to place who is really good and who is really bad mainly because the characters almost blend into one. They are all CIA/Government officials who agree/disagree with their own morals and want revenge/justice for one thing or another. It is lots of men in suits, sunglasses carrying pistols. There’s no defining villain like we had in the TV series; no power mad dictator or crazy terrorist. The film is too serious for its own good and trying to be cutting edge, but it comes across as just a mess as plot devices run rampant across the running time and flail around to be tied up at the end.

With throwaway references shoe-horned in to try cater for nostalgia of the TV series instead of genuinely being there for purpose, it just proves the film is there to carry over an established name, nothing more. The famous van is destroyed in the opening 15 minutes, there is no use of the main theme except a few muted 6 opening notes, the iconic opening takes place at the end and the catchphrases are just slotted in to draw a smile, but they are just shouted and over-played instead of being natural. And Face should NEVER be the one to end the film using Hannibal’s famous line. NEVER.

The opening titles take 20 minutes, and no amount of flash camera work, over-used boring CGI nonsense or well thought out action can repair the damage done to fans of the TV show and those wanting a decent action film in general. This is a wasted opportunity and one is just as forgettable as soon as it ends, and I am pleased to hear they didn’t make enough revenue for a sequel because it just didn’t work.
I can’t even be bothered to make a “Pity the fool” gag about watching this film, because BA says it so many times it’s like a checklist of ‘nods to the original we can throw in’ it loses its meaning early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film that doesn't take itself seriously, 22 Aug 2010
By 
D. J. Burton (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team (Extended Explosive Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The A-Team is a great film and it doesn't want to take itself too seriously. Unlike most critics who seem to be tearing it apart.

Granted, it's not going to be critically acclaimed, but it entertains the masses in a refreshing way that's full of action, humour and some of the good old A-Team catchphrases. If you want a great movie that's fun then this is one of the best this year.

It's a shame the movie doesn't focus on all 4 characters equally, but that's only a small glitch. They are all portrayed well by their 2010 actors and do the original series justice.

Don't hesitate to get this on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it when a plan comes together, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched the original A-Team t.v series during the 80's every Saturday, just after watching Big Daddy & Giant Haystacks in the British wrestling, i can say that this film update was very good indeed. I was very hesitant when i saw the cast, and some of the movie clips on T.V, but i decided to give them the benefit of the doubt & not compare the characters too much to the old T.V series, although in my defence, Sharlto Copley who plays Murdoch, does look amazingly like Dirk Benedict who played Faceman in the T.V series. But looking beyond all of this the film was well put together.

The first 15-20 minutes introduce the A-Team characters anew & how they know each other this time around, a bit like the recent Star Trek remake, but not as long winded in this case. The action is a bit OTT in places, but that's what you should expect in an A-Team movie, and people do die in this version unlike the T.V series, where for example a helicopter blown out the sky in a flaming wreck(no one could had survived), then the camera pans down to the wreckage and you see the bad guys climbing out of it, lol. The actors on the whole are very good at they'e own representation of the characters & the relationship between them, as in the T.V series(although Faceman who was a bit of a coward in the series seems to be a complete opposite this time around). Jessica Biel is also in this (hubba hubba), she was good as the love interest & had a good chemistry with smelly :) Bradley Cooper (Faceman).

In conclusion, this update of the A-Team is very good. The story is interesting & would do justice to any action film, while the majority of the elements of the original T.V series are kept as true as possible, like making equipment from scrap, although Liam Neeson doesn't dress up in drag like George Peppard used too(would love to see Liam Neeson in thick makeup, dressed as a bag lady). A worthwhile & highly watchable action film, no matter what affiliation you have or not to the old T.V series. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The A-Team" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 6 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The A-Team (Extended Explosive Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I thoroughly enjoyed the boy's own slapstick that is the reboot of "The A-Team". Liam Neeson and Bradley Cooper hamming it up - what's not to love?

Cue tanks falling out of the sky – shifty inside types shafting our grunts on the front line – buddy buddy banter inside helicopters and a fantastically clever cat-and-mouse finale with containers in a shipping yard at night...

But fans should be aware that the 'US' edition on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to play 'all regions' (which few are).

Plumb for one of the 'face' sleeves on the UK versions (being Irish I've supported Liam). They're dirt cheap now - a great looker on the format - and the most fun you can have with a cigar in someone else's mouth...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal must be eating his cigar.., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I grew up with the A-Team. Well not literally, I'd still be on the run if I had. So it's fair to say that I might have some bias. However, I was excited by the idea of a re-interpretation, and was fully aware that with a different cast this was just not going to be comparable. I'm sure that if I were to watch old episodes of the A-Team with more mature eyes I'd think it was pretty rubbish now!
So, as unbiased as I can be, what is this film like on it's own independent merits? A bit rubbish - sorry! Action packed certainly, but the dialogue and plot really weren't up to much. If it were on TV on a Sunday afternoon and you were really bored I'd say give it a go, but can't do the same for a DVD purchase. Makes a good drinks coaster...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The A team, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
Really thin plot,
A very typical american offering,promises nothing and delivers.
this is what some people enjoy,fine,but not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A team? not quite, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
The original A-team was silly fun, no one got hurt it, you know they would be locked in a workshop and armour plate a lawnmower and bash the baddies, job done!
This new version was more violent (albeit not graphic but implied) with needless swearing. I simply didn't find this fun, its just a forgettable action movie, there are a lot better around. The humour / action balance didn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
this is by far the best movie I have seen with liam neeson, brought back memories of the old A-team but went even further. I thought this was the best I've seen of the a-team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 19 May 2012
By 
Mrs. M. M. Patterson (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this film at my sons house i like it so much i bought a copy aswell . great price to and it arrived quickly too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 13 May 2012
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
it was a great movie, loved it! i have watched it about 5 times now, so definitely worth it! very funny and great ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The A-Team (Extended Explosive Edition) [Blu-ray]
The A-Team (Extended Explosive Edition) [Blu-ray] by Joe Carnahan (Blu-ray - 2010)
£7.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews