Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't compare it to the series
I'm old enough to remember the original series and it was typical American gung-ho mass produced tv. This however is an exciting and fun re-visit to the theme and everything 'The Losers' could have been. Liam Neeson seems to be in every film I watch at the moment but as he proved in 'Taken' he is a believable action hero and does a fine job as Hannibal Smith, leader of...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by PJ Rankine

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The B-Team More Than The A-Team
This film version of 'The A-Team' is nowhere near as good as the original. Whereas each episode of the TV series was strongly plot-driven, if a little formulaic, The A-Team of 2010 is basically just a crude mash-up of fantastical (but largely harmless) violence, guns and hardware, with very little actual storyline to speak of. This film is also marred by constant...
Published 12 months ago by T. T. Rogers: Straight-To-Video


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't compare it to the series, 4 Aug 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I'm old enough to remember the original series and it was typical American gung-ho mass produced tv. This however is an exciting and fun re-visit to the theme and everything 'The Losers' could have been. Liam Neeson seems to be in every film I watch at the moment but as he proved in 'Taken' he is a believable action hero and does a fine job as Hannibal Smith, leader of the A Team. If comparisons have to be drawn then the only letdown for me was Quinton Jackson as BA Baracus but only because Mr T was such an iconic figure as proven by his re-appearance in the Snickers ads, bet you wouldn't recognise the rest of the team so easily. Overall this is 80 minutes or so of enjoyable adventure with lots of fireworks and stunts and just what the doctor ordered for a dull Sunday afternoon, pass the popcorn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great BD, NOT region B/2, 6 Oct 2011
The movie is a fun and 'explosive' action movie that can be watched once in a while. It will not be sitting somewhere and collecting dust after watching it once.

For the American buyers, even though the BD is listed as Region B/2, it is actually Region A/1 and B/2. Therefore it will play on the NA blu-ray players also. The DVD however, is Region B/2. This edition also comes with 4 postcards/posters of the main cast, which are the size of the blu-ray case.

So it is definitely not a waste of your money because, for the price you get the Extended Triple play edition with all the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The B-Team More Than The A-Team, 5 April 2013
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
This film version of 'The A-Team' is nowhere near as good as the original. Whereas each episode of the TV series was strongly plot-driven, if a little formulaic, The A-Team of 2010 is basically just a crude mash-up of fantastical (but largely harmless) violence, guns and hardware, with very little actual storyline to speak of. This film is also marred by constant background musical accompaniment, an annoying feature of so many movie thrillers today and always a sure sign that we are watching something meant for the brainless. Certainly, anyone with an attention span of 10 seconds or less will probably like this, or at least not mind watching it. Others should give it a miss.

Liam Neeson is a surprising choice to portray 'Colonel John "Hannibal" Smith', and I found him unconvincing in the role. Neeson is a good actor but he has a quiet, passive orientation to his craft, whereas 'Smith' is a strong leadership character. Think of George Peppard, the actor who portrayed the original Hannibal, and you should get the picture. Among contemporary players, it's a role better-suited to an actor like George Clooney. Similar observations could be made about the other members of this 'B-Team', for they are colourless, lifeless and anonymous. 'Howlin' Mad Murdoch', a wonderful invention of the original series, didn't raise a laugh with me here. The actor who portrays 'Face' is better cast, to be fair, but even so he still comes across as tepid to me and sorely lacking the easy charm and charisma of Dirk Benedict. And the B.A. in this movie is definitely Beta, not Alpha. In short, we are watching the B-Team. They should have stayed at home and left it to the real A-Team - this film should not have been made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Plan not coming together, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my nephew-he probably hates me now!-I watched this recently and couldn't believe how cheesey, clichéd and hopeless it was. Lacks the lunacy, wit and charm of the original TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful film I wish I could un-see!, 15 Feb 2013
By 
SteveINtheUKok "SteveINtheUKok" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Trust me when I say I rarely give really bad reviews but this film was truly awful.

If I could un-see this film and erase it from my mind I would.

I wanted to like it, but it just left me either cold or hating it.

It would have been better as a comedy send up of the original, if someone had added a few jokes...sadly, they didnt.

Watch it if you must, but don't say I didn't warn you.

Go get the orignal series, there are some cracking deals on Amazon for the DVDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the top action and fun, in a good way, 30 July 2010
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I tend to respond negatively to remakes and I've only ever watched a few episodes of the original A-Team show, so I went to see this movie without comparing it to the show and I have got to say, I was not disappointed.

The story was well written, especially the origin story of how the A-Team comes together which is told in the first 15 minutes, the action sequences are explosive and the dialogue was witty and engaging, but I was most impressed with the acting as all the cast members seemed to really enjoy playing these iconic characters and this only enhances their performance. The most obvious example was Sharlto Copley, whose protrayal as 'Howling Mad' Murdock was fantastic, easily making him the most likeable character in the whole movie.

My only criticism is the film's villain, who is immediately identifiable from the moment he is introduced, but this is a very minor detraction from what is on the whole, a fun and explosive summer action movie.

If you're looking for something funny with plenty of action and explosions, this is a reliable choice, though die-hard fans of the A-Team show may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the reviews saw this with very, very low expectations and was very happily surprised.

It's the A team. The plans always were ridiculous only now the action is real, the destruction massive and the stunts more than a jeep flipping over and a helicopter crashing and exploding out of sight behind a hill.

The intro, where the team first meet up, feels rushed in one respect but also an unwelcome delay to the main story. Would have almost been better leaving out entirely or making a cohesive part of the plot. That said the rest of the plot canters on nicely. Some of the violence is brutal, although not graphic, and is probably not suitable for younger children. Again this feels a little misjudged

Not sure what extra features the DVD will contain but the children (and myself) came out of the cinema happy. 9/10 from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film that doesn't take itself seriously, 22 Aug 2010
By 
D. J. Burton (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The A-Team is a great film and it doesn't want to take itself too seriously. Unlike most critics who seem to be tearing it apart.

Granted, it's not going to be critically acclaimed, but it entertains the masses in a refreshing way that's full of action, humour and some of the good old A-Team catchphrases. If you want a great movie that's fun then this is one of the best this year.

It's a shame the movie doesn't focus on all 4 characters equally, but that's only a small glitch. They are all portrayed well by their 2010 actors and do the original series justice.

Don't hesitate to get this on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it when a plan comes together, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched the original A-Team t.v series during the 80's every Saturday, just after watching Big Daddy & Giant Haystacks in the British wrestling, i can say that this film update was very good indeed. I was very hesitant when i saw the cast, and some of the movie clips on T.V, but i decided to give them the benefit of the doubt & not compare the characters too much to the old T.V series, although in my defence, Sharlto Copley who plays Murdoch, does look amazingly like Dirk Benedict who played Faceman in the T.V series. But looking beyond all of this the film was well put together.

The first 15-20 minutes introduce the A-Team characters anew & how they know each other this time around, a bit like the recent Star Trek remake, but not as long winded in this case. The action is a bit OTT in places, but that's what you should expect in an A-Team movie, and people do die in this version unlike the T.V series, where for example a helicopter blown out the sky in a flaming wreck(no one could had survived), then the camera pans down to the wreckage and you see the bad guys climbing out of it, lol. The actors on the whole are very good at they'e own representation of the characters & the relationship between them, as in the T.V series(although Faceman who was a bit of a coward in the series seems to be a complete opposite this time around). Jessica Biel is also in this (hubba hubba), she was good as the love interest & had a good chemistry with smelly :) Bradley Cooper (Faceman).

In conclusion, this update of the A-Team is very good. The story is interesting & would do justice to any action film, while the majority of the elements of the original T.V series are kept as true as possible, like making equipment from scrap, although Liam Neeson doesn't dress up in drag like George Peppard used too(would love to see Liam Neeson in thick makeup, dressed as a bag lady). A worthwhile & highly watchable action film, no matter what affiliation you have or not to the old T.V series. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The A-Team" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 6 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I thoroughly enjoyed the boy's own slapstick that is the reboot of "The A-Team". Liam Neeson and Bradley Cooper hamming it up - what's not to love?

Cue tanks falling out of the sky – shifty inside types shafting our grunts on the front line – buddy buddy banter inside helicopters and a fantastically clever cat-and-mouse finale with containers in a shipping yard at night...

But fans should be aware that the 'US' edition on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to play 'all regions' (which few are).

Plumb for one of the 'face' sleeves on the UK versions (being Irish I've supported Liam). They're dirt cheap now - a great looker on the format - and the most fun you can have with a cigar in someone else's mouth...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa218c174)

This product

The A-Team [DVD]
The A-Team [DVD] by Joe Carnahan (DVD - 2010)
2.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews