Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great BD, NOT region B/2
The movie is a fun and 'explosive' action movie that can be watched once in a while. It will not be sitting somewhere and collecting dust after watching it once.

For the American buyers, even though the BD is listed as Region B/2, it is actually Region A/1 and B/2. Therefore it will play on the NA blu-ray players also. The DVD however, is Region B/2. This...
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by Mr. K

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The B-Team More Than The A-Team
This film version of 'The A-Team' is nowhere near as good as the original. Whereas each episode of the TV series was strongly plot-driven, if a little formulaic, The A-Team of 2010 is basically just a crude mash-up of fantastical (but largely harmless) violence, guns and hardware, with very little actual storyline to speak of. This film is also marred by constant...
Published 18 months ago by T. T. Rogers: Straight-To-Video


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great BD, NOT region B/2, 6 Oct 2011
The movie is a fun and 'explosive' action movie that can be watched once in a while. It will not be sitting somewhere and collecting dust after watching it once.

For the American buyers, even though the BD is listed as Region B/2, it is actually Region A/1 and B/2. Therefore it will play on the NA blu-ray players also. The DVD however, is Region B/2. This edition also comes with 4 postcards/posters of the main cast, which are the size of the blu-ray case.

So it is definitely not a waste of your money because, for the price you get the Extended Triple play edition with all the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The B-Team More Than The A-Team, 5 April 2013
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
This film version of 'The A-Team' is nowhere near as good as the original. Whereas each episode of the TV series was strongly plot-driven, if a little formulaic, The A-Team of 2010 is basically just a crude mash-up of fantastical (but largely harmless) violence, guns and hardware, with very little actual storyline to speak of. This film is also marred by constant background musical accompaniment, an annoying feature of so many movie thrillers today and always a sure sign that we are watching something meant for the brainless. Certainly, anyone with an attention span of 10 seconds or less will probably like this, or at least not mind watching it. Others should give it a miss.

Liam Neeson is a surprising choice to portray 'Colonel John "Hannibal" Smith', and I found him unconvincing in the role. Neeson is a good actor but he has a quiet, passive orientation to his craft, whereas 'Smith' is a strong leadership character. Think of George Peppard, the actor who portrayed the original Hannibal, and you should get the picture. Among contemporary players, it's a role better-suited to an actor like George Clooney. Similar observations could be made about the other members of this 'B-Team', for they are colourless, lifeless and anonymous. 'Howlin' Mad Murdoch', a wonderful invention of the original series, didn't raise a laugh with me here. The actor who portrays 'Face' is better cast, to be fair, but even so he still comes across as tepid to me and sorely lacking the easy charm and charisma of Dirk Benedict. And the B.A. in this movie is definitely Beta, not Alpha. In short, we are watching the B-Team. They should have stayed at home and left it to the real A-Team - this film should not have been made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't compare it to the series, 4 Aug 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I'm old enough to remember the original series and it was typical American gung-ho mass produced tv. This however is an exciting and fun re-visit to the theme and everything 'The Losers' could have been. Liam Neeson seems to be in every film I watch at the moment but as he proved in 'Taken' he is a believable action hero and does a fine job as Hannibal Smith, leader of the A Team. If comparisons have to be drawn then the only letdown for me was Quinton Jackson as BA Baracus but only because Mr T was such an iconic figure as proven by his re-appearance in the Snickers ads, bet you wouldn't recognise the rest of the team so easily. Overall this is 80 minutes or so of enjoyable adventure with lots of fireworks and stunts and just what the doctor ordered for a dull Sunday afternoon, pass the popcorn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful film I wish I could un-see!, 15 Feb 2013
By 
SteveINtheUKok "SteveINtheUKok" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Trust me when I say I rarely give really bad reviews but this film was truly awful.

If I could un-see this film and erase it from my mind I would.

I wanted to like it, but it just left me either cold or hating it.

It would have been better as a comedy send up of the original, if someone had added a few jokes...sadly, they didnt.

Watch it if you must, but don't say I didn't warn you.

Go get the orignal series, there are some cracking deals on Amazon for the DVDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Plan not coming together, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my nephew-he probably hates me now!-I watched this recently and couldn't believe how cheesey, clichéd and hopeless it was. Lacks the lunacy, wit and charm of the original TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the reviews saw this with very, very low expectations and was very happily surprised.

It's the A team. The plans always were ridiculous only now the action is real, the destruction massive and the stunts more than a jeep flipping over and a helicopter crashing and exploding out of sight behind a hill.

The intro, where the team first meet up, feels rushed in one respect but also an unwelcome delay to the main story. Would have almost been better leaving out entirely or making a cohesive part of the plot. That said the rest of the plot canters on nicely. Some of the violence is brutal, although not graphic, and is probably not suitable for younger children. Again this feels a little misjudged

Not sure what extra features the DVD will contain but the children (and myself) came out of the cinema happy. 9/10 from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Making the world unsafe for democracy, 30 Jun 2013
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
An incomprehensible plot, bizarre characters and a lot of in-house gags only cultish fans can decipher. No wonder the critics panned "The A-Team". But then, what did we expect? As I just said, it's The A-Team, not an epic poem by John Milton, LOL.

In this re-imagined version of the TV series, Colonel Hannibal and his kooky crew of crazies fly with a tank, go on an original vacation trip to a German lakeshore, and in general make the world unsafe for democracy. Oh, they also destroy most of the LA harbour.

Personally, I found this flick tedious, so I'll only give it two stars. But sure, if you are a hopeless fan of the world's strangest soldiers of fortune, or just hopeless, I'm sure "The A-Team" might just make your day...

Don't you just love it when a plan comes together?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the top action and fun, in a good way, 30 July 2010
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I tend to respond negatively to remakes and I've only ever watched a few episodes of the original A-Team show, so I went to see this movie without comparing it to the show and I have got to say, I was not disappointed.

The story was well written, especially the origin story of how the A-Team comes together which is told in the first 15 minutes, the action sequences are explosive and the dialogue was witty and engaging, but I was most impressed with the acting as all the cast members seemed to really enjoy playing these iconic characters and this only enhances their performance. The most obvious example was Sharlto Copley, whose protrayal as 'Howling Mad' Murdock was fantastic, easily making him the most likeable character in the whole movie.

My only criticism is the film's villain, who is immediately identifiable from the moment he is introduced, but this is a very minor detraction from what is on the whole, a fun and explosive summer action movie.

If you're looking for something funny with plenty of action and explosions, this is a reliable choice, though die-hard fans of the A-Team show may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than most people expected, 9 Oct 2014
This review is from: The A-Team (DVD)
The big screen adaptation of the eighties TV show ‘The A-team’ feels like it’s been in production ever since the series started. Every big name actor in the business seems to have been linked to one of the four central parts at some stage. So, when the casting was finally settled, it was never destined to please everyone. However, I think they did a pretty good job.

You don’t need to know much about the TV series to watch the film. It’s all explained as if it’s new. A group of elite U.S. soldiers are framed for a crime they did not commit and are forced to go on the run in order to prove their innocence. All four cast members do pretty good jobs at keeping all character traits in line with their small screen counterparts, while, at the same time, putting enough in it of themselves. However, it’s actually the ‘least used’ of the four, Sharlto Copley as ‘Howling Mad’ Murdoch who steals every scene.

If you’re seriously considering watching The A-team then you need to be okay with action that’s slightly more ‘tongue-in-cheek.’ The ‘Bourne’ films and Daniel Craig’s stint as Bond have got people used to ‘serious’ action again. The A-team is keeping with possibly the eighties/early nineties where the action scenes were pretty over the top and unbelievable, but, if you’re okay with that, you should just enjoy the daftness and break open the popcorn.

Unlike the TV show ‘Face’ gets a ‘love interest’ in the form of Jessica Biel. This is the main area of the film that seems a little forced, but, with any major theatrical release, they seem to feel the need for some sort of relationship to be put forward.

Don’t expect a great intellectual thriller with plenty of twists and turns. Just settle down and put your brain on hold. You won’t need it for the A-team. And, if you’ve never seen someone ‘fly’ a tank, you will have after you’ve watched this (it made me laugh).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars "I Pity The Fool..." who watches this., 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Basically, this film just left me disappointed for a number of reasons. If you want to use a globally popular TV show as your foundations, you have to honour the source and be faithful to the core values that made the said show successful. Action, humour, chemistry, stunts, excitement and fun. The late George Peppard and the rest of the original stars of the 1980s show ‘The A-Team’ delivered this to audiences week after week for a strong, memorable successful run accompanied by an iconic opening title sequence and even more iconic theme. Sadly, none of these elements are used here in this loud, noisy film except action and hints of excitement.

With nothing except the character names used, none of the leading stars bar Liam Neeson and at times Sharlto Copley manage to capture the essence of the characters they are playing. Granted, this serves as a modern telling of the story, but the natural and often under-played elements that made the original characters so memorable and enjoyable are missing. Here we have ego-fuelled Hollywood performances that could literally be any character in any action film. Neeson does a fair job as the one trying to keep the film grounded, Cooper is irritatingly boring and loud, Jackson is very restrained and playing a part too famous to compare with and Copley is accurate in his craziness but over-playing the role. It was never really going to work from the start to really nail the mature yet developed characters of the original – here they are just foul-mouthed, libido driven, tough-talking and very violent special ops soldiers.

As for the plot, it’s more complicated with each time you watch it. It’s difficult to place who is really good and who is really bad mainly because the characters almost blend into one. They are all CIA/Government officials who agree/disagree with their own morals and want revenge/justice for one thing or another. It is lots of men in suits, sunglasses carrying pistols. There’s no defining villain like we had in the TV series; no power mad dictator or crazy terrorist. The film is too serious for its own good and trying to be cutting edge, but it comes across as just a mess as plot devices run rampant across the running time and flail around to be tied up at the end.

With throwaway references shoe-horned in to try cater for nostalgia of the TV series instead of genuinely being there for purpose, it just proves the film is there to carry over an established name, nothing more. The famous van is destroyed in the opening 15 minutes, there is no use of the main theme except a few muted 6 opening notes, the iconic opening takes place at the end and the catchphrases are just slotted in to draw a smile, but they are just shouted and over-played instead of being natural. And Face should NEVER be the one to end the film using Hannibal’s famous line. NEVER.

The opening titles take 20 minutes, and no amount of flash camera work, over-used boring CGI nonsense or well thought out action can repair the damage done to fans of the TV show and those wanting a decent action film in general. This is a wasted opportunity and one is just as forgettable as soon as it ends, and I am pleased to hear they didn’t make enough revenue for a sequel because it just didn’t work.
I can’t even be bothered to make a “Pity the fool” gag about watching this film, because BA says it so many times it’s like a checklist of ‘nods to the original we can throw in’ it loses its meaning early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The A-Team [DVD]
The A-Team [DVD] by Joe Carnahan (DVD - 2010)
£4.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews