Customer Reviews


266 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't compare it to the series
I'm old enough to remember the original series and it was typical American gung-ho mass produced tv. This however is an exciting and fun re-visit to the theme and everything 'The Losers' could have been. Liam Neeson seems to be in every film I watch at the moment but as he proved in 'Taken' he is a believable action hero and does a fine job as Hannibal Smith, leader of...
Published on 4 Aug. 2010 by PJ Rankine

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Plan not coming together
I bought this for my nephew-he probably hates me now!-I watched this recently and couldn't believe how cheesey, clichéd and hopeless it was. Lacks the lunacy, wit and charm of the original TV series.
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by Andy Clambake


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't compare it to the series, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I'm old enough to remember the original series and it was typical American gung-ho mass produced tv. This however is an exciting and fun re-visit to the theme and everything 'The Losers' could have been. Liam Neeson seems to be in every film I watch at the moment but as he proved in 'Taken' he is a believable action hero and does a fine job as Hannibal Smith, leader of the A Team. If comparisons have to be drawn then the only letdown for me was Quinton Jackson as BA Baracus but only because Mr T was such an iconic figure as proven by his re-appearance in the Snickers ads, bet you wouldn't recognise the rest of the team so easily. Overall this is 80 minutes or so of enjoyable adventure with lots of fireworks and stunts and just what the doctor ordered for a dull Sunday afternoon, pass the popcorn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great BD, NOT region B/2, 6 Oct. 2011
The movie is a fun and 'explosive' action movie that can be watched once in a while. It will not be sitting somewhere and collecting dust after watching it once.

For the American buyers, even though the BD is listed as Region B/2, it is actually Region A/1 and B/2. Therefore it will play on the NA blu-ray players also. The DVD however, is Region B/2. This edition also comes with 4 postcards/posters of the main cast, which are the size of the blu-ray case.

So it is definitely not a waste of your money because, for the price you get the Extended Triple play edition with all the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Plan not coming together, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my nephew-he probably hates me now!-I watched this recently and couldn't believe how cheesey, clichéd and hopeless it was. Lacks the lunacy, wit and charm of the original TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "I Pity The Fool..." who watches this., 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Basically, this film just left me disappointed for a number of reasons. If you want to use a globally popular TV show as your foundations, you have to honour the source and be faithful to the core values that made the said show successful. Action, humour, chemistry, stunts, excitement and fun. The late George Peppard and the rest of the original stars of the 1980s show ‘The A-Team’ delivered this to audiences week after week for a strong, memorable successful run accompanied by an iconic opening title sequence and even more iconic theme. Sadly, none of these elements are used here in this loud, noisy film except action and hints of excitement.

With nothing except the character names used, none of the leading stars bar Liam Neeson and at times Sharlto Copley manage to capture the essence of the characters they are playing. Granted, this serves as a modern telling of the story, but the natural and often under-played elements that made the original characters so memorable and enjoyable are missing. Here we have ego-fuelled Hollywood performances that could literally be any character in any action film. Neeson does a fair job as the one trying to keep the film grounded, Cooper is irritatingly boring and loud, Jackson is very restrained and playing a part too famous to compare with and Copley is accurate in his craziness but over-playing the role. It was never really going to work from the start to really nail the mature yet developed characters of the original – here they are just foul-mouthed, libido driven, tough-talking and very violent special ops soldiers.

As for the plot, it’s more complicated with each time you watch it. It’s difficult to place who is really good and who is really bad mainly because the characters almost blend into one. They are all CIA/Government officials who agree/disagree with their own morals and want revenge/justice for one thing or another. It is lots of men in suits, sunglasses carrying pistols. There’s no defining villain like we had in the TV series; no power mad dictator or crazy terrorist. The film is too serious for its own good and trying to be cutting edge, but it comes across as just a mess as plot devices run rampant across the running time and flail around to be tied up at the end.

With throwaway references shoe-horned in to try cater for nostalgia of the TV series instead of genuinely being there for purpose, it just proves the film is there to carry over an established name, nothing more. The famous van is destroyed in the opening 15 minutes, there is no use of the main theme except a few muted 6 opening notes, the iconic opening takes place at the end and the catchphrases are just slotted in to draw a smile, but they are just shouted and over-played instead of being natural. And Face should NEVER be the one to end the film using Hannibal’s famous line. NEVER.

The opening titles take 20 minutes, and no amount of flash camera work, over-used boring CGI nonsense or well thought out action can repair the damage done to fans of the TV show and those wanting a decent action film in general. This is a wasted opportunity and one is just as forgettable as soon as it ends, and I am pleased to hear they didn’t make enough revenue for a sequel because it just didn’t work.
I can’t even be bothered to make a “Pity the fool” gag about watching this film, because BA says it so many times it’s like a checklist of ‘nods to the original we can throw in’ it loses its meaning early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes a plan never really comes together, 24 April 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Despite an eternity in development and an army of writers, The A-Team never really comes together. Taking more than an hour to get to the point the TV series tossed off in the title sequence is part of the problem (as it is, it's a full 21 minutes before the film's opening credits sequence ends in the extended director's cut version). A bigger part of the problem is that a film this silly really shouldn't leave you time to think, especially since the plot is just an excuse for the action, but so many of the action scenes are so truncated that they seem over before they begin and then it's back to more setup that gives you plenty of time to mull over how little sense it's making. Even the failed op that sees our heroes framed is largely botched by constantly cutting away to Hannibal briefing how things will go down instead of just showing us and letting us enjoy the action (it's hardly so complex that it needs a map and models to explain). It's not until the halfway point that we finally get one all-out uninterrupted action scene that isn't over before it begins with the mid-air tank vs. planes shootout - only to be immediately followed by more explaining of what we're about to see.

The script is a bit of a mess and some scenes - particularly the court martial or the mental hospital scene - are remarkably shoddy and unconvincing even for a dumb fun summer popcorn movie. It's one of those films that feels like it had so many writers that nobody actually ended up writing it, the shooting script pasted together from dozens of discarded drafts, throwing away some good ideas and never giving its well cast quartet quite enough to do to capitalise on the chemistry they manage to display against occasionally overwhelming odds. Liam Neeson and Bradley Cooper are fine as Hannibal and Face, but it's Quinton `Rampage' Jackson and Sharlto Copley who really nail their roles as B.A. and Howling Mad Murdock, even though the former has been reinvented as Mr Passive Resistance (he'll blow things up but he won't hurt anybody) and the latter becomes increasingly sane as the writers run out of things to do with him. At times it's left to Patrick Wilson's villain to make the biggest impression, his CIA double-dealer and his backroom cohorts coming across like spoilt frat boys with too much money and too many toys to play with. It all ends loudly, though with a bit too much reliance on CGi building blocks rather than old-school stuntwork, though there is a decent but far from original 3D joke along the way.

The main differences in the extended version included only on the Blu-ray are more profanity, a bit more violence and the cameos from Richard Hatch and Dwight Schulz that are thrown away as post-credits Easter eggs on the theatrical version are incorporated properly into the film, but structurally it's just as messy and frustrating as the theatrical version. It doesn't even use the theme tune to give the film a bit of much needed kick. The end result certainly isn't unwatchable, but with a better script and more confidence in letting the action scenes speak for themselves it could have been the kind of enjoyable brain-off dumb summer fun action movie that it clearly desperately aspires to be.

Plenty of extras on the Bluray release - picture-in-picture commentary, deleted scenes, gag reel and a small army of featurettes and trailer - but the emphasis is on promotion rather than information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable watch., 16 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. Pratab Ali "pratab_a" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
After reading the rather mixed reviews here on amazon and much hesitation, I purchased a used copy this movie at £2.20 (via amazon seller zoverstocks).

I'm rather a harse critic, just see some of my other DVD reviews.

However, I was pleased with this movie. It was throuroughly enjoyable. Though the plot may not have been strong, it was enough to give the movie momentum and keep me entertained all the way through. And I'm even going to watch it a second time, which is a rare thing with me.

All the main characters are likeable and I found myself routing for them, throughout.

Some critics have said that this movie is just "The A-team" by name. While this may or may not be true it shouldn't detract from the viewing experience. It's actually nice that they didn't make it exactly the same as the T.V. series.

This movies features a lot of great stunts that either kept me on the edge of my seat or made me laugh in amazement.

Unlike the T.V. series, where there is a clear boundary between good & evil, in this movie I found that multiple evil elements exist in different guises.

And unlike the T.V. series characters do die in this movie.

Viewers with short attention spans may not like some sequences where there's overlapping chronology. i.e. while Hannibal is talking about a plan, your delivered film sequences of the plan happening and then you're back in the room where Hannibal is finishing talking about the plan and then you see the action sequences of the end of the plan. Two friends I watched this movie with, got a little disorientated by this. I gave them and hot chocolate each to calm them down, and they have made a full recovery.

Overall a good movie, given that I only paid £2.20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The A-Team, 20 Jan. 2011
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The `A-Team' film is a very different beast to the TV series, but it is no less entertaining.

This is a film that you need to suspend disbelief for to fully enjoy as it has the most ridiculous and outlandish plots, scenes and stunts that you could quite easily ruin this for yourself by being too incredulous. Most of the action in this film is pure fantasy, but the explosions, stunts, one liners and execution more than makes up for this.

Following the gulf war the A-Team have to recover some stolen money minting plates and clear their name after they are framed for a murder and the original theft of said plates. You see how they track down their enemy and how they are double crossed and betrayed by those they have had to trust. Pretty much your standard action film fare.

Liam Neeson has the most ridiculous accent going, but if you can not let this annoy you too much you should be ok. Bradley Cooper is a credible Face and manages to be reminiscent of the TV series character whilst bringing his own style to the role. This also applies to Quinton "Rampage" Jackson who plays BA Baracus. The gold jewellery is missing, but the same attitude is there. My favourite has to be Murdoch who manages to come out with some hilarious lines and stops the film from taking itself too seriously. His impression of Mel Gibson in Braveheart had me howling!

This film also offers plenty of their trademark DIY adaptations and gadgets, as well as a brief appearance from the black and red GMC.

This is a perfectly enjoyable action film and as long as you don't compare it to the original TV series, or take the stunts or credibility of the action too seriously, you can enjoy this for it's duration. It's a good, but not great film, but still worth a watch.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think, 16 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the reviews saw this with very, very low expectations and was very happily surprised.

It's the A team. The plans always were ridiculous only now the action is real, the destruction massive and the stunts more than a jeep flipping over and a helicopter crashing and exploding out of sight behind a hill.

The intro, where the team first meet up, feels rushed in one respect but also an unwelcome delay to the main story. Would have almost been better leaving out entirely or making a cohesive part of the plot. That said the rest of the plot canters on nicely. Some of the violence is brutal, although not graphic, and is probably not suitable for younger children. Again this feels a little misjudged

Not sure what extra features the DVD will contain but the children (and myself) came out of the cinema happy. 9/10 from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT WHEN A MOVIE COMES TOGETHER, 27 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, this is a movie about the A-Team so I didn't expect too much. I was very pleased with the movie. The A-Team forms in Mexico where their vacation activities include getting tied up, being beaten in the face, and loving it. After the team is formed and Mexico ravaged, we flash 8 years to the future where they are in Iraq. There are some missing counterfeit printing plates that the US government wants. The CIA, Black Forest (Black Water), the regular army, and the A-Team all go after the same plates (actually all it would have taken was one predator drone) and they are in competition with each other to get the plates as opposed to working together.

The A-Team recovers the plates, however in a mishap they are stolen and the A-Team all go to jail. Later, the CIA wanting to recover the plates aids the A-Team in escaping from prison. Working as fugitives, our Team goes after the plates having to battle various factions.

The movie is action filled. The dialouge is crisp and fun. Character building is light, as there is an assumption you know these people. The plot twists are minor go the movie isn't confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLITANT!, 9 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The A-Team [DVD] (DVD)
I have always loved the original A team series so when this movie came out I was sceptical at whether it would match up. However after watching it I thought it was brilliant. Some reviews comment on the actors performance not being like the original actors but I think thats what made the film great as they didn't try to match up. They weren't trying to be better than the original, they wanted to make a good film and they completely succeeded.
They brought the A team into the 21st century with a bang and I thought they did the series proud. The oringinal actors must have also thought so too as Dirk Benedict (oringinal face) and Dwight Schultz (original Murdoch) made a guest appearence, making the film complete!
I really do think this film is worth a watch with a open mind, think of it as a reminder of the classic that everyone loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The A-Team [DVD]
The A-Team [DVD] by Joe Carnahan (DVD - 2010)
£2.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews