Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last Hurrah!
This season is Dallas 'last hurrah' as the following year it was cancelled.

You can really feel the writers trying desperately to revive the show, covering up the loss of so many original cast members by bringing in sexy new arrivals and with an opening credit that really gave the show a more dramatic, less 80's throw back, feel.

Inducing the...
Published on 22 Sep 2010 by R. L. Judd

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The end is in sight !
Oh dear ! This was a brave attempt by the producers and writers to revive the series after the accumulative blows of Pam,Ray,Jenna,Charlie,Sue Ellen and Jeremy Wendell upping sticks and leaving.This was to be the last time we saw Miss Ellie and in the next season Clayton is hardly seen at all.Lucy has little to do as well and it is the last full series with April...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Mr. Mg Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last Hurrah!, 22 Sep 2010
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This season is Dallas 'last hurrah' as the following year it was cancelled.

You can really feel the writers trying desperately to revive the show, covering up the loss of so many original cast members by bringing in sexy new arrivals and with an opening credit that really gave the show a more dramatic, less 80's throw back, feel.

Inducing the wonderful Lesley Anne Down (star of TV films and the miniseries North & South) as a powerful 90's career woman (a possible match for JR?) was a stroke of genius and the arrival of Sasha Mitchell as JR's grown up son, all muscle and quaffed hair was also fantastic. Kimberly Foster (whatever happened to her?) also helped spice things up as April's scheming minx little sister.

Its a shame though that these new arrivals hog all the best storyline's and scripts, leaving poor Miss Ellie & Clayton with a nonsense 'murder mystery' to solve (which kept them both away from Southfolk far too much) and Lucy, only just returned, had nothing to do it seemed except answer the 'phone and give messages.

I think the writers missed one big trick though by not keeping the character of Vanessa (played by the striking Gayle Hunnicutt) around longer. It would have been interesting to see her battle Cally for JR's affections and try life at Southfolk, especially as Hunnicutt portrayed her with such class and grace.

There are some fab moments, some great 'topical' storylines (the oil spill for example) and the season cliffhanger when finally someone gets one over on good ol' JR is wonderful to behold. Perhaps if the network and stuck with Dallas and they'd continue to push the show forward (making it more Melrose Place) it could've lasted longer. Regardless, this season shows that the grand dame of 80's supersoap at least went down fighting. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The end is in sight !, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. Mg Reynolds "Carry On fan" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Oh dear ! This was a brave attempt by the producers and writers to revive the series after the accumulative blows of Pam,Ray,Jenna,Charlie,Sue Ellen and Jeremy Wendell upping sticks and leaving.This was to be the last time we saw Miss Ellie and in the next season Clayton is hardly seen at all.Lucy has little to do as well and it is the last full series with April Stevens.

They try hard by rehashing old chestnuts about Jock's old friends and have a Pam lookalike cropping up.Also there is a mini-resurgence in the Barnes-Ewing feud.JR & Bobby face a new rival in Carter Mackay who is played by the great actor George Kennedy.That is the one worthy new addition to the cast and it works very well indeed.He has many interesting storyline's as his son dies due to drugs and as he gets married as well.April's sister is very annoying indeed as is JR's illegitimate son James.Just as Murder She Wrote got too Dallas style towards to end of its run just so Dallas gets positively Agatha Christie as Clayton and Miss Ellie tackle a mystery or two.Cathy Podewell tries hard as Cally and you cannot blame her for not being Linda Grey as Sue Ellen.

It is clear from this season that a fine cast is crumbling away and the writers have run out of ideas.Just watch the mini-series that started it and then watch a few episodes of this and you can see why Lorrimar had to end things.The quality of the show had gone downhill.This season is a poor relation to previous ones as there are a diminishing number of the cast that we really loved and gave the show a feel good factor.

When doing the reunion movies in 1996 & 1998 they should have learnt from this and used more of the original cast.But that said it is nice to see JR going ten to the dozen with the usual bad behavior,Bobby wowing the ladies and Cliff proving that you underrate him at you peril !

This is a wise purchase for Dallas fans who cannot grasp why their beloved show had to end.Watching it explains why viewing figures where waning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, But Still Entertaining., 31 May 2012
By 
B. Smith-williams (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I can understand why this series is sometimes frowned upon as one of the weakest/worst of the lot, but I did find it to be entertaining for the most part (if a little cringe-worthy in places!) Ratings were dropping by this point, and I suppose they felt they had to do something to reel the viewers back in. So why not shake up the formula a little?

So much is going here. There's the dealings of the ever so charming Stephanie Rogers (who I'd like to have seen more of) with Cliff Barnes, April and Michelle trying to get a business off the ground, Miss Ellie and Clayton's little murder mystery solving adventure, Bobby chasing after a Pam look-alike, and J.R. getting fed up with his new wife (not to mention the rather silly series cliffhanger).

All in all, not a truly terrible season in my opinion, but the parade of new characters don't quite make up for the loss of beloved characters from seasons past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average season at best!, 29 April 2012
By 
Reginald D. Garrard "the G-man" (Camilla, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
While the remaining original stars (Duffy, Hagman, Bel Geddes, and Tilton) try their best, the loss of Linda Gray at the end of the previous season left a void that could not be filled.

This, the actual season TWELVE, has a mixture of pluses and minuses which could be listed as follows:

Pros:
1) The addition of Kimberly Foster as April's sisters Michele
Foster is not only a knockout in the looks department but does a pretty credible job as the girl who will do whatever it takes to become a success.

2) The return of Alexis Smith
Even though the storyline about the mysterious murders is really too "Murder, She Wrote," it's still good to see Smith as the Clayton's loopy sister, Jessica

3) Omri Katz and Joshua Harris as youngsters John Ross and Christopher, respectively
I wonder why the two actors were not asked to reprise their roles in the upcoming TNT "re-boot" of the series but they did get to effectively show their acting mettle in this season.

4) Leslie-Anne Down as Stephanie Rogers
Down is presented as a female equal to J.R. but is underutilized, appearing in only a handful of episodes. It would have been nice if the character had been introduced earlier to see how she and Hagman would've played off each other.

5) Cathy Podewell comes into her own
Podewell, as the latest Mrs. J.R. Ewing, is quite strong as a woman who must cope with her husband's infidelities and his every effort to run her off Southfork. She really gets to show her versatility as an actress, jumping effortlessly from scorned spouse to plotting her own brand of "payback."

Cons:

1) Sasha Mitchell
Perhaps, the idea of giving J.R. a "love child" was a good one but Mitchell's acting was not up to the part. And what was with the guy's hands? It's like the actor couldn't decide what to do with them, constantly moving them in an almost-Joe-Cocker-like-spasm.

2) The number two plus above is also a minus as well. Turning Miss Ellie (Bel Geddes) and Clayton (Howard Keel) into Jessica Fletchers comes across as nothing more than "let's-give-the-old-folks-something-to-do-before-they-ride-off-into-the-sunset." It was just dumb.

3) Jeri Gaile as Carter McKay's wife Rose
Though Gaile plays her part well, the question always arises as to "What's the point of having her character in the show in the first place?"...other than to have her flounce around the house in skimpy attire.

4) Bobby and April
Sorry, but they're about as exciting as Ray and Donna. Let's face it. Bobby (Patrick Duffy) was only interesting when he was with Pam.

5) The season finale
This is possibly the dumbest one in the show's history, ranking up there with a certain shower scene!

The DVD itself lacks in picture and sound quality. Occasionally, there is some discoloration as well as sound fading. Only English subtitles are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles on Dallas season 13., 14 Sep 2010
By 
Mrs. E. L. De Vries-klein "Ellen Lucienne de ... (Rotterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I'm a huge Dallas fan, however in the Netherlands we could buy Dallas till season 6 subtitled in Dutch.Fortunately at Amazon Com UK, I could buy season 7 till season 12 because it was subtitled in English or English for the hearing impaired.
My question: Is season 13 also subtitled in English ?
It would make many customers abroad very happy !

Sincerely,

Mrs. Ellen de Vries
Netherlands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas - Season 13, 5 Nov 2010
By 
R. Peck (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Dallas returns for its 13th season. It gets bigger and better. April & Bobby get closer, J.R finds he's got a teenage son from a previous relationship Plus there's some hot action from hotty- Michelle Stevens (Kimberly Foster). A brilliant and enjoyable camp roller-coaster ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas Season 13, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Excellent DVD which I purchased for myself and I love it, one the best DVD'S I have seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dallas Complete Season 13, 19 Nov 2012
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
DALLAS - Season 13
Not the best Season starting to loose it, its not the show i fell in love with exciting stories and can't wait to next Episode now its 'Is this Episode finish Yet'.
Linda Gray is sadly missed.Lucy Gets No Main storyline but great on liners against J.R Which Are Funny.
We get Kimberly Foster as Michelle Stevens, Lesley-Anne Down as Stephanie Rogers (Pointless Character)
Sasha Mitchell as James Beaumont (A Great Addition To The Show)

Stupid Story-lines:
The all Pam Look a Like Bobby falling for her (yawn)
Murder Mystery With Clayton And Miss Ellie (Boring) Its Murder She Wrote Rip Off
Unseaworthy tanker (Double Yawn)

Piture 7/10
Sound 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dallas season 13, 8 Mar 2011
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
brilliant,i was worried that it wasnt going to be as good as before,as sue ellen left. But JR still great in it.
I can not wait to see how JR gets out of this.with his son James & cally getting him back.
Bobby still the caring Bobby.
I have ordered season 14. Just wish it would hurry up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dallas Season 13, 18 Oct 2010
By 
S. Donald (Aberdeen, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I've bought all the seasons of Dallas and i'm disappointed 13 is the last one, but all good things must come to an end. JR doesn't change, he still gets up to his old tricks. Certainly good viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010]
Dallas - Season 13 [DVD] [2010] by Larry Hagman (DVD - 2010)
11.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews