Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CLINT-35 YEARS-35 MOVIES....
This is an almost excellent box-comprising Eastwoods "Warner Bros", output-it only has those(unsurprisingly), so no "High Plains Drifter", "Eiger Sanction", "Coogans Bluff"(all made at Universal), or his "Man with No Name" trilogy(at United Artists I think), as to the boxset:

Titles in Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years
1. Where Eagles Dare (1968)
2...
Published on 20 May 2012 by sam lowry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some damaged - you get what you pay for!
This is a great selection although some important ones not included like Play Misty for Me and Million Dollar Baby. My one complaint was that some appeared damaged and wouldn't play until one had thoroughly cleaned them with acetone. Also some seem to be destined for the Spanish-speaking public judging by the labelling etc. A good deal, but obviously manufactured at rock...
Published 3 months ago by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CLINT-35 YEARS-35 MOVIES...., 20 May 2012
By 
sam lowry (gtr manchester uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is an almost excellent box-comprising Eastwoods "Warner Bros", output-it only has those(unsurprisingly), so no "High Plains Drifter", "Eiger Sanction", "Coogans Bluff"(all made at Universal), or his "Man with No Name" trilogy(at United Artists I think), as to the boxset:

Titles in Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years
1. Where Eagles Dare (1968)
2. Kelly's Heroes (1970)
3. Dirty Harry (1971)
4. Magnum Force (1973)
5. The Enforcer (1976)
6. The Outlaw Josey Wales (1976)
7. Absolute Power (1977)
8. The Gauntlet (1977)
9. Every Which Way But Loose (1978)
10. Any Which Way You Can (1980)
11. Bronco Billy (1980)
12. Honkytonk Man (1982)
13. Firefox (1982)
14. Sudden Impact (1983)
15. Tight Rope (1984)
16. City Heat (1984)
17. Pale Rider (1985)
18. Heartbreak Ridge (1986)
19. Bird (Director's Cut) (1988)
20. The Dead Pool (1988)
21. Pink Cadillac (1989)
22. The Rookie (1990)
23. White Hunter Black Heart (1990)
24. Unforgiven (1992)
25. Perfect World (1993)
26. The Bridges of Madison County (1995)
27. Midnight In The Garden Of Good and Evil (Director's Cut) (1997)
28. True Crime (1999)
29. Space Cowboys (2000)
30. Blood Work (2002)
31. Mystic River (2003)
32. Flags of Our Fathers (2006)
33. Letters From Iwo Jima (2006)
34. Gran Torino (2009)
35. Invictus (2010)

Also includes an additional documentary film by Richard Schickel, The Eastwood Factor

I do have some minor (and they are minor), are that some of the dvds are not in their correct Ratio: Bronco Billy is in 1.33-rather than 1.85(i have a version from spain)that i am now keeping.
Firefox is also still the shorter European version(not the longer usa version-with the training sequences still in it...).
After saying that-this is an essential purchase for the Eastwood novice(sadly I'm too long in the tooth to be that...).
After agreeing with Eastwood's Dirty Harry's method of Policing in Dirty Harry, his terrific team-up with Burton in Where Eagles Dare(Burton was the bigger star at the time).

Developing as a director, and honing his acting(saying little and scowling), his career has truly stretched through Hollywood history--This boxset gives a good indication of that--from the commie baiting of Firefox/Heartbreak Ridge.

To the quiet and appalling violence of "The Unforgiven", to the downright silliness of "Every which but loose", "any which way you can".

To the Huston/African Queen homage-White Hunter Black Heart. Eastwood has worked steadily and over most genres.
Excellent boxset to a living Icon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing set, but BluRay would be nice., 27 Jun 2010
By 
dunkrag (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This set contains all of Clint Eastwood's UK, Warner distributed output over the last 35 years.

It differs in content from the US set in that it does not contain Million Dollar Baby, as this was distributed by EIV in the UK, however it does include Invictus and Flags Of Our Fathers, which are missing from the US set - these were either not Warner titles or not released at the time over the pond. It also misses the 'book' style packaging of the USA version, which many may prefer.

It's a bit of a mystery who this set is aimed at - its a big outlay for the casual fan, the hardcore fan will already own most of it - but you can't deny that it contains a host of amazing movies from one of the most treasured film makers working today.

Once this comes out on Bluray, it will be a no brainer to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My lovely Clint Eastwood Movies, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I am absolutely thrilled with this box CDs what a brilliant collection of films, a good cross section of his work, and although not every film he made is in this set, I think for the price that would have been to much to expect. I have been a fan of Clint Eastwood all my life, so 50 years then, I admire the fact that he has grown old gracefuuly, and in turn has taken on film roles that are in keeping with his years. A throughly enjoyable present to my self!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comprehensive set, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Worth being aware that not all Eastwood's films are included because of studio rights, but there are almost all of his more recent works in here, as well as the old ones, so it's great value for money and excellent gift for any Eastwood fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotions in movie, 10 July 2011
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The best way to cross a wonderful career. This box, dedicated to Clint Eastwood, is wonderful. The quality , the sound, the stories... And the price proposed by Amazon uk is a bargain! On some dvds are available other languages like italian too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning film collection and boxset for all fans alike, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Whilst I love the sleek design and artwork slenderly formed around the set, I think it would've benefited from a Blu-Ray release. But I suppose a BD release would only benefit to our advantage, picture quality and audio wise, as Warner Bros. only specialise in profiting!

It's evident why WB have not jumped the shark with the BD release, as this would entail with having to reproduce an array (35!)of new discs (As this DVD set merely includes the recycled discs from the standalone original releases of the films).

Despite some of the negative attributes, the DVD set to any avid Clint Eastwood fan, to no avail, is a steal. The design is very similar to 'The Soprano's' complete boxset with 18 cases, two disc's in each singular.

The westerns are not inclued in the set as they are distributed by MGM, which is a bit of a shame really. Still doesn't hold it back from having all the Dirty Harry films, a majority of Mr. Eastwoods directors collection, plus 'The Eastwood Factor' which is exclusive to DVD, including many other cult classics featuring Eastwood's lovable tough guy persona with a disgruntled attitude.

Nonetheless, for 30, with each film being less than a 1 each, is a must have.

Clint's legacy will live on forever. For being so dedicated and commited to the often fickle world of cinema, this man should indeed be knighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic present, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I bought this as a christmas present for my son - he was thrilled to bits as he is a great Clint Eastwood fan. Great to have collection in one box. Very expensive to buy them individually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no words for this, must have, 28 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Clint has been in, and/or has directed himself, some of the best movies ever (at least my favourite). This cheap box includes most of his great stuff. What's outstanding in this, is that all DVD's are the original stuff, with full menus, most languages and subtitles. Not some cheap packaging or edition. I must say it is a bargain. You get the missing ones (Million dollar baby, and some westerns like High Plains Drifter) either in other cheap boxes or in stand-alone. No gripes in this offering, thanks for the editors (for once ... not a rip-off), and my advice to you is ... just buy it asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great opportunity, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
If you've held off buying anything over 5 for DVD's this is incredible value for a great set. To get all his films in one set would be incredible but impossible and there are very few poor films in this set. I was pleased to see the UK format for the set, much more user friendly than the US version and it was hard to underestand why Flags of my father had not been put in to compare with the Letters from Iwo Jima. If you had not already seen Million Dollar Baby then buy it seperately its one of his best, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Films and Good Films, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Great Films. So many POSITIVE VIBES (Kelly's Heroes) come from this box set. Already seen most at cinema and on TV but 35 films all in one box....WOW! Haven't watched all of them as yet but really looking forward to a good long viewing session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010]
Clint Eastwood: 35 Films 35 Years [DVD] [2010] by Clint Eastwood (DVD - 2010)
48.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews