Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air to an already winning formula...
As a person who started listening to the Podcasts when they first started out for free and loosely followed them once you began to have to pay; I can safely say this show is fantastic value for money and well worth the comedy-investment!

As a fan, rediscovering the old material in a new way; I felt it was a brilliant new level to the humour and for many of my...
Published on 6 May 2011 by Lazmartin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK.
I love Ricky, Steve and Karl but I found this disappointing, maybe because I just don't like animated stuff. It had its moment though and did make me laugh
Published 17 months ago by Cathy PF


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air to an already winning formula..., 6 May 2011
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
As a person who started listening to the Podcasts when they first started out for free and loosely followed them once you began to have to pay; I can safely say this show is fantastic value for money and well worth the comedy-investment!

As a fan, rediscovering the old material in a new way; I felt it was a brilliant new level to the humour and for many of my friends and relatives who I have forced to sit down and watch it with me who had not come across Mr K. Dilkington before; they loved it too!

Speculation on whether Karl Pilkington is indeed a fictionalised 'character' or some form of 'performance' is insignificant - he's a little round headed moron...but an undisputedly funny one.

The animation that accompanies these podcasts adds a whole new level of comedy, with characters saying lines word for word in sync with the free-riffing of Ricky, Karl and Stephen. The animation itself is, like the podcasts, a lesson in expert comical timing.

I really enjoyed every episode of this show and being that you can get a hold of them, at the time of writing, for a mere 6; I would highly recommend doing so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely brilliant show for those who love a bit of absurd humor..., 9 Feb 2011
By 
A. Majumdar "the man" (Montreal, QC CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Truly one of the best shows I've seen in several months, The Ricky Gervais Show succeeds on the hilarity of its basic premise (a simple talkshow/internet podcast), paired with wonderful animation that frequently complements the humor.

As in Gervais' previous The Office and Extras, RGS benefits from its appearance of improvised, naturalistic conversation, and the focus on Karl Pilkington's genius performance as the dimwitted, but often reasonable, village idiot. I love that the humor arises out of basic conversation; no complicated plot lines, just the beauty of casual humor (at least on the surface) and the absurdity that is Karl Pilkington's perfectly round head.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oooh chimpanzee that, MONKEY NEWS!, 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Having listened to all of the podcasts and audiobooks I wasn't sure how I'd find the animation.
To be honest I expected to watch the first one and then think "oh well, I've heard it all before"
BUT IT WASN'T LIKE THAT AT ALL!
Despite having heard it all before (admittedly several times) I still found myself laughing.
The animations are brilliant and add a whole new level of comedy to the audio.
I'm not sure I will ever get bored of the ramblings of the round headed manc buffoon that is Karl Pilkington.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The combination of the pod-casts with the fantastic cartoon makes this one of the most laugh out loud DVDs out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't eat a knob at night, but Karl Pilkington can..., 14 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This DVD is an insight to the weird and wonderful world of the round headed buffoon that is Karl Pilkington. And boy, is it enjoyable! For anyone who's not sure, The Ricky Gervais Show originated as a radio show, featuring Ricky and Steven Merchant (The writers behind The Office and Extras). At the time, Pilkington was the radio producer, but later featured on the show. The show went on to become a podcast and these cartoons are the animated versions of the podcast.

The animation style (reminiscent of old Hannah Barbera cartoons) is clever and funny and really helps Karl Pilkington's genius insights. The 13 episodes on this set are all laugh-a-minute. Whether its the regulars like Monkey News, Questions for Karl or Karl's Diary, or simply the running gags like the fact you never see Suzanne's face, this show is bound to make you chuckle.

Gervais and Merchant fans will enjoy this, but Pilkington is by far the standout. My only question is - just where is series 2?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The Ricky Gervais Show is a cartoon re-imagining of some excerpts from excellent The Ricky Gervais Podcast series. Every episode is centered around recording studio sessions with Ricky Gervais, Stephen Merchant and professional Chimp Pal Karl Pilkington.

They all discuss a variety of subjects and get Karl's opinion on them. Given that Karl has some very unique and hilarious views this leads to some huge laugh at loud moments. Complimenting the banter is Hanna Barbera style animation which really adds extra hilarity to the topics being discussed.

If you liked either the Podcast's or Sky One's 'An Idiot Abroad' you will absoultely love this. My favourite section personally is Karls Diary but Monkey News is also a very funny feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
While my sympathy for Ricky Gervais (he is the perfect bully) is getting a bit less, it has grown significantly for Karl Pilkington; he is wonderfully funny. And the whole concept of the animation I find very good. Nice buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The podfather animated!, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I found this to be fantastic glimpses into the world of Karl Pilkington and the pointless conversations he has with Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant. Taking from the successful podcasts and giving them a makeover I think is genius. I would buy it just to hear from Karl Pilkingtons dairy, with added animation of these events he has witnessed in his life, which add to the humor.

Karl pilkington is a wonder to us all and its great to hear his views on certain topics, although Ricky and Steve poke fun at him as long as you don't take it to heart you will love this dvd. Anyone who is a fan of the podcasts should give the dvd ago, it is worth it even if you have heard the material before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Side splitting., 16 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Hilarious dvd, pure class. cant wait till next one is out. Karl Pilkington should be PM! He would do a better job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely awesome, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Funniest and best animation i've ever seen. Absolutely hilarious. Never get bored of watching them over and over again, even got all my mates into it :). but it's amazing, so definitely recommend you buy now :) hurry :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ricky Gervais Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2010]
4.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews