Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING
This is absolutely beautifull,in effect it is a sister record to Arve Henriksens last album,which basically used the same musicians.
The music si not chill out ,or any sad categorisation like that
The sound is stunning.and the soundscapes are beautifully recorded,a stunning achievement!!
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by Finbar the looney

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected
This is a curious album, mostly of an ambient nature and reminds me a lot of Eno. I didn't know the work of Jan Bang, but came to this through a promotional download from the "All About Jazz" website of the track "passport control", which is a memerizing, rythmic and moody track. I loved it immediately and bought the album on the strength of that.

I was a bit...
Published on 12 Sep 2010 by Mark Laurence


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING, 21 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ...And Poppies From Kandahar (Audio CD)
This is absolutely beautifull,in effect it is a sister record to Arve Henriksens last album,which basically used the same musicians.
The music si not chill out ,or any sad categorisation like that
The sound is stunning.and the soundscapes are beautifully recorded,a stunning achievement!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, 12 Sep 2010
This review is from: ...And Poppies From Kandahar (Audio CD)
This is a curious album, mostly of an ambient nature and reminds me a lot of Eno. I didn't know the work of Jan Bang, but came to this through a promotional download from the "All About Jazz" website of the track "passport control", which is a memerizing, rythmic and moody track. I loved it immediately and bought the album on the strength of that.

I was a bit dissapointed, therefore, to find that this was the only track on the album that is like this; the rest is far more ambient in nature. Moodscapes, as all such music is. With titles like "drug mule" and "suicide bomber" you know the mood and tone is not light.

A well crafted album, but not what I expected. "Passport control", however, will remain on my favourite play list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Punkt!, 21 July 2011
This review is from: ...And Poppies From Kandahar (Audio CD)
Jan Bang has come to the fore recently due to his work with David Sylvian, as part of the Punkt collective and various remix duties. One would expect this album to contain many elements of his previous work, but it has a definate strength of it's own and holds up really well as a focused and concise album. Very ambient, with a real sense of menace. It is not vapid and taps into the world of soundscape, offering a very real and vital collage of disperate sound that both colours and forces you to react in a very physical way. In other words, it's not an album to do the washing up to. A track in a similar vein is Indian Long, by Fripp and Eno, from the Cotswold Gnomes album. Ambient, it has a low frequency sigh that runs throughout the track and is at once both life affirming and robotically cold and that's no easy achievement.Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PEACE and creative motion, 6 Oct 2010
This review is from: ...And Poppies From Kandahar (Audio CD)
If you really enjoy JON HASSELL, EIVIN AARSET, ARVE HENRIKSEN , sidsel endersen and the whole sound of this musicians you will understand te work of Jan Bang.
The las track "eciles from paradise" is a gem of one of the last Jon Hassell playings in a record
thank you¡¡¡¡¡
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BANG ON TARGET, 11 Jan 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: ...And Poppies From Kandahar (Audio CD)
There seems to be something of a resurgence in the genre of well crafted ambient style music,Arve Henriksen,Eric Truffaz and particularly Nils Petter Molvaer have all delivered remarkable albums recently.
Jan Bang can now be added to that list for this is stunningly beautiful music,wonderfully played and produced.
excellent!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BANG ON TARGET, 11 Jan 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: ...And Poppies From Kandahar (Audio CD)
There seems to be something of a resurgence in the genre of well crafted ambient style music,Arve Henriksen,Eric Truffaz and particularly Nils Petter Molvaer have all delivered remarkable albums recently.
Jan Bang can now be added to that list for this is stunningly beautiful music,wonderfully played and produced.
excellent!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

...And Poppies From Kandahar
...And Poppies From Kandahar by Jan Bang (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews