Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch movie
This movie is so bad it is a must watch, the story. acting and FX are awful how the crew stop themselves from laughing is beyond me, mind you the camera opperators must chuckle a bit judging by the camera wobble in a few scenes, and the best part 'how does it end?' do they all eat each other and the last one just disappear up it's own, well you have to watch it to see...
Published on 8 April 2011 by nagromit

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big smelly pile of fish
The Plot. In Venezuala, well-meaning American scientists have accidentally developed a strain of piranha which double their size every 48 hours and they have gotten loose in the Orinoco River. I know this because every time you see a South American river the words Orinoco River flashes on the screen. This also happens every time you got to a new location or see a new...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Ian Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and excitement topped off with some supreme beefcake, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is hilarious and funny and it continues a tradition of action flicks where society is threatened by evil animals. In this case the animals are genetically-modified Piranha, increasing in size throughout the movie. Enter the main character agent Jason Fitch played by muscular and handsome action star Paul Logan. Logan's character is a macho guy ready to fight the evil Piranhas in every way possible, including lying on his back and kickboxing Piranha after Piranha. Although the plot involves relatively few shots of Paul Logan shirtless, full advantage is taken of his truly magnificent upper body which is shown off in a tight black t-shirt a great part of the movie. Naturally, the film also involves shots of him fighting the Piranhas wearing a wetsuit. The cast also includes singer Tiffany who is playing a scientist. I really enjoyed watching this movie which might end up a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars These fish explode for no reason when they hit buildings! ARGH!, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
I'm arrogant enough to believe i have exceptional taste in movies. I think this because i can discern a good film from a bad one finding qualities in both. Mega Pirahna is in fact an abysmal movie. Though it is because of this that both myself and Mrs Vermouth enjoyed it. If you're the type of person who demands good acting, taut dialogue and a camera man with 20/20 vision then do not watch this film as you may well end up hating yourself for doing so. However, if you, like myself and wife, find quality a little too sugary at times, then revel in this diresome opportunity and rejoice in filthy feeling this film will leave you with. After all, you cannot appreciate the good without acknowledging the bad. Adieu!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's bad, 30 July 2012
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
I knew this was going to be a bad movie just by looking at the cover. But bad movies can be funny and have a certain charm.
However, Mega Piranha is just bad. It's not funny and it's a total waste of money.

I recommend the original 'Piranha'. Bad, but funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well........., 11 Mar 2011
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't watched this film, but having read the other reviews I feel more than a little qualified to form an opinion on it. It's brilliant. Don't hesitate, as I am, to get out your credit cards and buy several copies, it really will be that much fun you'll wear out the discs in an instant! A leading man described as muscular and handsome by one reviewer and as iron face by another, that's the wife sorted, as it combines male totty with the favorite "wife sport" of ironing. 80's minstrelette Tiffany as the female lead? The one who married a british plumber because her mum liked his letters? Perfection! And best of all flying piranhas that set fire to stuff and can be wielded off by bycicle kicks and commando knives? I'd be buying this movie now if it wasn't for that fact I'm not. 17 out of 5!!!!

(all opinions expressed by this reviewer are utter tosh and not based on anything he has seen all the way through though he has read other reviews and seen the trailer on zone horror)

And now, an update.

I have seen this film, I have now watched it.

It is utter genius. The piranha fluctuate in size, apparently doubling exponentially every 36, 24 or twice as fast as predicted hours, but they manage to be simultaneously big enough to snatch a fat scientist from a beach and swallow him whole AND small enough for Paul Hogan (who's scared of sharks!) to kick away with a bicycle kick that my old PE teacher Mr Killick would have dismissed as too poor to count. They also have some interesting mutations: 3 stomachs, hermaphroditeism, thick skin, and a lack of regular blood vessels in their eyes, so that when they shoot them in the eye they don't bleed. The effects are briliantly poor, in a film that seems like an extended blooper reel they found enough bloopers to make a blooper reel, one of which being Tiffany bursting into laughter as she's shown a plastic mega piranha by Paul, which says it all, or some of it all because the cgi that was done on a commodore amiga and has the polished sheen of, well, rusty nails.

It may sound like I'm listing what's wrong with the film, I am, but it's what is wrong that makes it so right.

And who knew? Sucking a phone battery for precisely 7 seconds will give it 10% more life. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
The film arrived quite quick, so very pleased about that, will tell all my friends about you
will order more films in the future. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull but watchable., 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
Piranha seem to be joining sharks as one of the "safe pairs of fins" of the marine-monster-on-the-rampage movies. The first film to feature killer Piranha was made in the 1970s and, despite being a "Jaws" parody, was actually a good film in its own right. Since then there have been various sequals and re-makes. This film has nothing to do with the "Piranha" franchise, instead concerns an army of 'mega piranhas'. These are outsize piranha which tend to vary in size. They can be big enough to swallow or bite a big ship in half.

The film looks great. The subtitled introductions to characters and the moody atmospheric lighting give it an authentic, almost documentary-like feel. Unfortunately I can't say I felt involved with the rest of the movie. There are all the usual 'people being eaten by killer fish' seen in monster-fish films which now seem to have become almost a sub-genre of their own. Added in are a lot of violent international terrorist type action which at times threatens to enliven the plot. Logan and Tiffany (who I gather is some kind of 80s pop star) do the best with the material they're given, but all in all if you're a fan of these films you'll have seen it all before. Worth watching, if only for the dodgy and often comical piranha effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
This film is great. It is so silly it is worth watching. Especially the bits where they chomp through buildings and submarines. if you like this sort of movie then this is one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please read Daniel Jolley's review, 23 Jun 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
I mean it! He sums it all up beautifully. All I can add is that this terrible film was not made for me (whose favourites films include "Casablanca""Stagecoach""Foreign Correspondent" among many others). I acknowledge that. Why did I order it? Some (one actually) of the other Mega films was/are almost reasonably nearly just about OK. And I admit I was a bit intrigued, It is probably the most annoying bad film I've seen for years. More so because, you know, it just could have been better - given better actors, a better director, a better script, and half way decent CGI. I suppose I am being a bit light hearted here, but this film is not for everyone. If you are younger than me, and can enjoy rubbish (I can too sometimes!), then it's cheap, good print, sound and picture. Just read Daniel Jolley first. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MEGA LOADA ****, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
WORST HOUR & HALF OR SO OF MY LIFE......! I'D RATHER BE PUNCHED REPEATEDLY IN THE FACE FOR THAT TIME. I mean a man got thrown from a helicopter by our hero wearing a Hawian shirt, next he's in the water in full scuba gear... COME ON EH. also, the military try to nuke the fish and when that fails - our hero jumps into the water armed with a machine gun trying to injure the fish so they will Cannibalize each-other. Overall... Poor acting - rubbish CGI - & MEGA BLOOPERS .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good size and nice clourer for the computer and i like it and it come on time for the holday, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
good size and nice clourer for the computer and i like it and it come on time for the holday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mega Piranha [DVD]
Mega Piranha [DVD] by Eric Forsberg (DVD - 2010)
9.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews