Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch movie
This movie is so bad it is a must watch, the story. acting and FX are awful how the crew stop themselves from laughing is beyond me, mind you the camera opperators must chuckle a bit judging by the camera wobble in a few scenes, and the best part 'how does it end?' do they all eat each other and the last one just disappear up it's own, well you have to watch it to see...
Published on 8 April 2011 by nagromit

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big smelly pile of fish
The Plot. In Venezuala, well-meaning American scientists have accidentally developed a strain of piranha which double their size every 48 hours and they have gotten loose in the Orinoco River. I know this because every time you see a South American river the words Orinoco River flashes on the screen. This also happens every time you got to a new location or see a new...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Ian Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch movie, 8 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is so bad it is a must watch, the story. acting and FX are awful how the crew stop themselves from laughing is beyond me, mind you the camera opperators must chuckle a bit judging by the camera wobble in a few scenes, and the best part 'how does it end?' do they all eat each other and the last one just disappear up it's own, well you have to watch it to see. This is probably the worst film i have ever seen it is so bad that it is sure to become a cult classic, why did i give 5 stars? well for quality ie. story, acting and FX I would have given 0 stars if I could, but for pure entertainment value, giant piranha jumping into skyscraper buildings or exploding as they leap from the water and hit the ground, it is unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 92 minutes of hilarious, bad movie magic, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
God bless The Asylum. Nobody makes low-budget rip-offs of major studio films like these guys - and I think Megapiranha may be their best release yet. Where else are you going to find Greg Brady (Barry Williams) as Secretary of State ordering military strikes on a foreign country with no apparent involvement by the Department of Defense or the White House? Where else can you find 80's pop sensation Tiffany playing a genetic scientist? Best of all, where else could you find humongous piranhas hurling themselves out of the water smack dab into warehouses and other buildings or snatching a helicopter right out of the air? The fact that the filmmakers didn't have the budget to make the CGI effects look even remotely real just makes a good thing even better. Little things mean a lot, as well. For instance, there's one scene where the Secretary of State is speaking to his special forces guy over the phone; it's obviously dark outside at the Secretary's Washington location, but it's the middle of the day in Venezuela. Apparently, no one thought to check Venezuela's time zone which is actually half an hour ahead of Eastern Standard Time (Chavez made the half-hour change in 2007 because he didn't like being in the same time zone as the US).

Our story begins with the US Ambassador to Venezuela joining a foreign minister and a bevy of bikini-clad young ladies on a leisurely sail through the middle of the jungle. Suddenly, a school of super piranhas attack, sinking the boat and eating everyone who was on it. Of course, no one else knows what happened. While the Venezuelan government claims it was a terrorist attack, Secretary of State Bob Grady sends his top Special Forces guy, Jason Fitch (Paul Logan), down there to find out what really happened. I like to refer to Paul Logan as "Iron-face." Apparently, at some point in his childhood he held a clenched-teeth, tough guy face for so long that his face actually froze that way, rendering him incapable of making any other facial expression whatsoever. Fitch barely makes it off the plane before he's accosted by Dr. Sarah Monroe (Tiffany) telling him the ambassador's boat was attacked by giant piranhas she had been experimenting on. Venezuela's Colonel Diaz disagrees - and remains disagreeable even after being convinced of the truth. Can Fitch and Monroe's team find a way to stop the megapiranhas - which are growing "exponentially" in size and breeding like crazy to boot - before they make it to the coast, spread out across the whole western hemisphere, and eventually take over the world?

If ever a movie begged for a "Things I Learned From This Movie" list, it is this one. Here are just a few things I learned from Megapiranha. First off, when you're trying to increase the food supply by genetically engineering larger versions of existing animals, it's probably not a good idea to include piranha on your experiment list. Megapiranhas double in size every 36 hours and can eat through sheet metal. If you're at the beach when megapiranhas attack, do not take cover in a warehouse or any other large building because the megapiranhas will fly out of the water and crash into the roofs of these large structures, immediately setting them ablaze. Your best defense against a megapiranha attack in the water is a commando knife; if you are on land and find megapiranhas flying toward you out of the water, your only hope of survival is to immediately lie down on your back and start doing bicycle kicks. If you are a government official and do not have time to order the evacuation of, say, Miami before megapiranhas will reach the shore, an imminent hurricane warning makes for the perfect cover story. The only way to stop a school of megapiranhas involves dropping armed gunmen directly in the water alongside them. Navy Seals can speak normally even with snorkels in their mouths. You can tell if there are any megapiranhas whatsoever in a large body of water simply by pointing a box that detects fish sonar at the water. If you're an American citizen and happen to be arrested in Venezuela, some little scrawny soldier is going to continuously yell at you in Spanish regardless of whether or not you understand the language - and you might be subjected to Venezuelan torture, which consists of a soldier hitting you in the head with a phone book if you refuse to give him the answers he wants to his questions.

Needless to say, this is a hilariously bad movie that I enjoyed tremendously. I wouldn't even want this movie to be given the Mystery Science Theater 3000 treatment because Mike and the bots couldn't make this any funnier than it already is. It was a little depressing for me to see how much Tiffany has changed since her pop princess days, but the only thing more unstoppable than a pool of gigantic piranha is time itself. I suggest you watch this movie with a bunch of your friends - I guarantee a good time will be had by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 17 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
Now, I'm not usually the sort of person to give movies like this a 5 star review and had this been another Anaconda 3 (which I reviewed recently) it would have got 1 star, BUT, and it's a huge BUT, I haven't laughed so much in ages because this film definitely falls into the bracket of 'It's so bad it's funny'.

Another reviewer here has done a fantastic job of summarising the movie (It is nearly as good as the film itself) so I won't but I had to add some sort of comment. This is 'Cheese' of the highest order and is an absolute must watch especially with friends and a beer.

Full of ridiculous dialogue, acting and plot holes so big the MegaPiranha could get lost in them!! it's movie heaven for people who appreciate this sort of thing, and as for the 'special effects' if you can call them that, well they defy belief because they are SO BAD. What makes it all the more amusing is that the cast seem to be doing their level best to take this seriously which is either a genius move or they really didn't understand what a turkey they were making.

Either way this is an absolute must watch, but you really have to switch off the brain to truly appreciate it. No serious analysis of this film can ever be undertaken because that would be totally missing the point.

Now where did I leave my FOOBAH (Just watch the film!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega funny...., 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
I expected Mega Piranha to be complete crap and I wasn't disappointed. Luckily it's so totally and utterly crap that it's also very funny. Pretty much straight away it becomes clear that the plot is ridiculous, the acting is hilarious and the special effects are comical. The end result is a highly entertaining and completely bonkers "so bad it's good" B-movie. After an initial viewing this is what I got from it.
The Mega Piranha have escaped from a scientific experiment that has gone very wrong. As a result they double in size every 36 or 48 hours (or every few minutes towards the end of the film). They start off small, then become the size of a beach ball, then become the size of a Whale, then become the size of a beach ball again before going back to the size of the Whale. They enjoy jumping out of the water. They do this to attack helicopters and buildings (when whale sized) or to get bicycle kicked back into the water for fun (only when beach ball sized). The MPs aim in life is to get to the ocean, nobody knows why, it's just accepted as fact. They will kill each other to extinction if one of them gets even slightly injured (in theory).
80's pop sensation Tiffany is a scientist (but not a very good one). She will not take any blame for the creation and release of the Mega Piranha (even though she is leading the team of scientists that created and released them). She will however spend lots of time expecting everyone else to solve the problem she created and show not a hint of guilt as the death toll mounts up. Her acting is awful, but she gets let off purely for being 80's pop sensation Tiffany.
The action-man main characters job is to destroy the Mega Piranha or at least stop them getting to the ocean. He somehow manages to take his role seriously even though in some scenes I suspect he was laughing inside. His bicycle kick defense is absolute genius and the most memorable bit of the film. This scene alone confirms him as the greatest action-hero of this decade and possibly the next.
The generals job is to stop the action man from doing his job. His performance is particularly offensive. He gets some credit for taking on the challenge of playing a foreign idiot in an American film but even this doesn't make up for the ridiculous character he has invented for himself. He forgets his accent on a regular basis and seems quite taken with the action-man character. He spends a good portion of the film chasing him from place to place only for the action-man to run away again leaving the general close to tears.
Particular attention was given to the CSI type writing across the screen at the start of the film telling us who everyone is (and what their job is) completely pointless because I still don't know who any of them were (or what their job was) except 80's pop sensation Tiffany of course (scientist).
The ending itself left me slightly baffled as the problem didn't seem to have been dealt with, at all (except in theory). Even so they all start cheering and 80's pop sensation Tiffany and action-man have a snog even though there has been no chemistry whatsoever between them during the film.
Mega Piranha is non stop laughs and entertainment. Ive watched it! I'm not sure how soon I can bear to watch it again but it will definitely be watched again and again and again. Brilliant film! Mega Funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mega-Tiff, 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
So want to get the Tiffany vs. Debbie Gibson movie in this canon but as it isn't on Region 2 yet decided to give this a go as I loved Tiffany in the 80's and even saw her at the Trocadero when she was promoting I Think We're Alone Now. I was always sure she was a stunning beauty and despite the passing years the Tiffany I loved back then was just that bit more voluptuous and gorgeous in this cheesy film! The action and the errors have been better described in a few of the other brilliant reviews on here but there wasn't much mention of how much curvier Tiffany has become and she looks great for it.

The quality is dubious, the script weak, the storyline poor, the acting wooden and the effects are often laughable, but I cannot but love the film for it. I have seen (many years ago) Piranha and recently Piranha 3D (starring the curvy Kelly Brook) and this film is just as great/bad as those offerings. I cannot decide whether I should mark this film as a dud as it is appalling in it's own way and yet I also love such cheesy films and have a bundle in my collection (Doug McClure anyone?).

So I decided to give it four stars as Tiffany and her curves merited at least a couple, and I do like naff movies so two more. If the clash of Tiffany and Debbie Gibson movie ever does hit Region 2 then I am sure five stars will be due as there is (reportedly) a food fight between these two pop princesses of the 80's, bring it on!! Oh that movie is Mega Python vs Gatoroid, BTW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega Piranha review, 21 May 2011
By 
Purple (Belfast, NI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
Amazingly crap film just what you want and expect from such a quality named show. Watch with friends and rip the utter crap out of it!
Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big smelly pile of fish, 26 Dec 2010
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
The Plot. In Venezuala, well-meaning American scientists have accidentally developed a strain of piranha which double their size every 48 hours and they have gotten loose in the Orinoco River. I know this because every time you see a South American river the words Orinoco River flashes on the screen. This also happens every time you got to a new location or see a new character.

When the American ambassador and his V conterpart are eaten by big piranha, our hard-core hero is sent to investigate his mysterious death (he doesn't know they were eaten by big piranhas). He meets the bad guy, a Venezualan military man. (NB Venezuala dislikes the USA so much they changed their clocks by half an hour so they wouldn't be in the same time zone: fact!) He also meets our heroine played by 80's Pop Sensation Tiffany (as she is always billed on the DVD box and any other publicity material) who is a scientist trying to grow fish to feed the population but grew the piranha which accidentally got loose so it's all her fault!

The bad guy fails to destroy the piranha which keep on growing and head downriver towards the open sea which they couldn't exist in but who the heck cares. On their way they leap out of the river and hit several buildings which explode. Don't know why but they do. They also eat lots of people and several get kicked in the face in quick succession by our hero which is even more silly, but funny.

Hero and Tiffany and another scientist who hasn't been killed yet head for the coast to alert a a battleship to destroy the piranha before they reach the open sea and get to Florida faster than a jet. They are pursued by the bad guy and his minions but who cares because the battle ship doesn't kill enough of them and gets eaten and the giant piranha head for Florida.

Reality check. Venezuala is actually on the west side of South America with its coast on the Pacific. However, the maps we see are of the east coast, specifically Belize where the movie was actually filmed.

At this point I stopped caring. The end doesn't make sense but neither does what happened before that. There's a documentary about how they made this wonderful film film for peanuts and I believed every word, almost. Not that it doesn't have some entertainment value, more after a few alcoholic drinks, but it sure is a pile of crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't like this at all, Too unrealistic and very poor acting, You have to concentrate or you lose the plot, unfortunately because I found it boring it was hard to keep the concentration, I took it to the charity shop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars BIG FISH WITH TEETH, 5 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was in my local Walmart $5.00 bin. I focused on the words, "Tiffany, nudity and adult situations." Fortunately the three did not meet. By the time Tiffany gets on the screen, the nudity is over and nothing to write home about. Like the Mega piranha, Tiffany has mutated and gotten huge, move over Sally Struthers. How big was she? She couldn't get raped in a Venezuelan prison. Likewise Paul Logan gives us his most unmemorable performance.

The special effects were so bad, I was crying out for "Mega Shark". They had women on nuclear submarines with a control room that looked more like my living room, than an actual submarine control room. The Secretary of State describes the fish as traveling in "groups" (not schools). The fish absorb nutrients through the skin, yet jump on to land to eat people. In addition to battling various sizes of poorly generated computer fish, Tiffany and Logan must also battle rogue elements of the Venezuelan army.

Unless you are into camp and have plenty of glaucoma medication, you might want to take a pass on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure cheese!, 3 April 2013
This review is from: Mega Piranha [DVD] (DVD)
This film is pure cheese in every sense, but its what I expected.
I think its great this was bought for a friend as a birthday present, who also knows the film, his reaction was brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mega Piranha [DVD]
Mega Piranha [DVD] by Eric Forsberg (DVD - 2010)
9.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews