Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as beings there (nearly)
U2 may put on a spectacular performance with all their lights and tricks but Bruce Springsteen is the best live performer - probably ever. Previous releases have never quite captured the whole live experience. This one does. The gig is filmed the day after he had played a 3 hour set at Glastonbury. He's 60 years old, yet his energy from the first chord to the last is...
Published on 24 Jun 2010 by S. L. Rider

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The boss let down by poor sound quality.
I'm writing this as a long term fan of the Boss's who owns every official album released and a few unofficial bootlegs so I take no joy in awarding this album 3 stars. Unfortunately the sound quality as mentioned by others is really poor with particularly weak bass. I suspect this album is another victim of the loudness wars. Really disappointed.
Published 4 months ago by P. J. Mcauley


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as beings there (nearly), 24 Jun 2010
By 
S. L. Rider "S.." (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
U2 may put on a spectacular performance with all their lights and tricks but Bruce Springsteen is the best live performer - probably ever. Previous releases have never quite captured the whole live experience. This one does. The gig is filmed the day after he had played a 3 hour set at Glastonbury. He's 60 years old, yet his energy from the first chord to the last is astounding. It takes a few tracks to shake the rasp from his voice but when you see him conduct the crowd on 'Out In The Street' using all the stagecraft that nigh on 40 years of gigs teaches you; you realise just how a rock gig should feel. He even has time to laugh at himself running back to the stage 'I need an elevator - I'm sixty'.

He plays new tracks and old one's, covers and classics, even taking requests from the crowd and changing the set list as he goes - you can see him calling out the songs to the band as he builds the show. Standout moments include 'Trapped' (a rare cover) guitarist Nils Lofgren's solo on 'Youngstown' a beautiful 'Racing In The Street' which showcases the musicianship of the E Street Band while Bruce indicates the tempo. Just when you think he must be tiring and it won't get any more epic; he plays 'Jungleland' as the sun sets. To see the crowd during the sax solo, lit from the stage as Clarence Clemons blows the notes is a Blu ray demo moment. The clarity of the picture is jaw dropping and somehow the sound has been mixed so you genuinely feel as if you are in the front row. Turn it up and you'll see what I mean.

He may not tour like this again so in case he doesn't, buy this disc so you'll know what you are missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well what do you expect, 30 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Bruce Springsteen & The E St's London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-ray] [2010] (Blu-ray)
The quality of the blue ray and visual images in HD is for me the best images of Bruce ever before seen. It does get you into understanding even more clearly why his fans are so loyal and nobody else can compare.

Bruce has performed better concerts over the years but he was 59 here and that should be taken into account. I have seen Bruce 40 times and seen him first during the River tour in 1981 in the UK so this has been a long journey. Unfortunately I did not go to Hyde Park but I saw him a week later in Vienna when at least he sang Jersey Girl for the first time ever in Europe.

I love his performance of Racing in the Streets, for me worth the price itself. The voice is not as good as it once was and he struggles in parts of the song but it is redeemed by the depth of feeling expressed in his performance. The anthems are still so strong Badlands, Glory, BTR, Bobby Jean, etc. The ballads are always what sets him apart with Jungleland etc.

As usual Bruce commits himself every single night at 110%. Each night you believe that you are experiencing a unique event and that each night he forces himself to the limit as if in front of an unknowing audience every time. I dont know anyone who comes even close to this.

I have everything he has released but this disk is special becuase of the quality of the production and probably a testament to the last time the E Street Band may perform in this way. Clarence has deteriorating health and none of them are getting younger, so take the disk as it is, the Boss at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's The Boss !!, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Bruce Springsteen & The E St's London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-ray] [2010] (Blu-ray)
Having only just purchased a Blu ray player this was my first B-R disc. Wow what picture quality it's just like being there. I have noticed that some reviews criticised the sound which caused a little concern before the dvd arrived. Personally I don't have a problem with it, I played just thru my 42" screen TV speakers. Maybe if you are playing thru a surround system it's not as good ? I suppose it depends on how picky you are. Now to the show, what is there to say about the Boss that has not already been said. Live performer 2nd to none, great mix of songs old and new..just brilliant..just buy it.
In a week that one of my heroes passed away..that being Gary Moore, whilst watching this I thought : with the state of the music industry today, what do we do when the Stones, Bruce, Bon Jovi etc, etc are no longer with us ? Now that will be the day the music dies !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREATEST LIVE ACT IN ROCK., 24 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have always believed queen were the greatest live band ever but springsteen and the e street band are really something else ,i only own 2 of his albums and they are not my most played either ,but seeing these guys on stage really blows me away ,this is the 3rd dvd i have bought of them since seeing them on tv in last years glastonbury .this concert was filmed the day after glastonbury ,how these 60yr old gets this much energy i don't know because its always a 3hr rockathon off these guys ,i think this dvd is even better than the first 2 i bought . A MUST BUY FOR ANY MUSIC FAN ,IT DOES NOT COME ANY BETTER I GUARENTEE. the only negative comment is the cardboard folder it comes in , i would much prefer a normal dvd case with a little booklet ,can't understand why they did this .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The boss let down by poor sound quality., 23 Mar 2014
By 
P. J. Mcauley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruce Springsteen & The E St's London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-ray] [2010] (Blu-ray)
I'm writing this as a long term fan of the Boss's who owns every official album released and a few unofficial bootlegs so I take no joy in awarding this album 3 stars. Unfortunately the sound quality as mentioned by others is really poor with particularly weak bass. I suspect this album is another victim of the loudness wars. Really disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Buy, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone that loves Bruce Springsteen this DVD, is a must.....recorded during the London Calling concert and believe me does not disappoint.....Highlight is duet on "No Surrender", but overall brilliant and even though states NTSC its multiregion so plays on anything....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best Live Performer!, 1 July 2013
This is a must-have for any Springsteen fan! It is the best concert DVD I've ever seen and one of the best examples of why Bruce Springsteen is seen as the best live music performer going today. The set list covers great tracks from 1973's 'The Wild, the Innocent and the E Street Shuffle', 1975's 'Born To Run', all his best hits from 1984's 'Born In The USA' all the way up to his (at the time) most recent album 'Working On A Dream'; also featuring some great songs not found on any of his studio albums (including 'Seeds' and 'Trapped'). This DVD is definitely the best you can get if it is the concert experience you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BOSS LIGHTS UP THE PARK !, 22 Jun 2010
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you need any convincing at all that Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band are anything but the best live band there is then you must get hold of this fabulous release of a truly classic gig.Superbly filmed in HD quality, sound is top class, and over the two disc set you get songs from throughout the band's career as well as the tracks from the tour album 'Working On A Dream'. Ever the genius Bruce opens his set with 'London Calling' as good a version as you'll ever hear of this great Clash song, and is a masterstroke for this Hyde Park gig in 2009.Following his legendary Glastonbury gig (one track added here as a bonus) this is classic music by a legendary artist and his band,hear 'Badlands','Dancing In The Dark', and all the other hits in this set as part of his Working On A Dream world Tour.He never ever gives less than 100% in any gig and this is among his best and we can enjoy it over and over again.This surely must be the best live DVD of the year,with only so far the U2 Rosebowl set coming anywhere near it.Bruce's energy and enthusiasm never wavers,he loves playing live with the best band there is one one great Summer's evening in London,Priceless,unmissable rock music by it's absolute masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce at his best, 19 Jun 2010
This review is from: Bruce Springsteen & The E St's London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-ray] [2010] (Blu-ray)
This arrived two days before the official release date and I wasted no time in watching it. It brought back all the memories of being there last year. It was an absolutely brilliant day then and this is absolutely brilliant too. Three hours of Bruce at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great performance on DVD by the BOSS, 15 May 2010
By 
A. A. Jones "A A Jones" (Stockton on Tees, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This outdoor show was on one of the hottest days of year with a performance to match. The opening title track 'London Calling,' is Bruce's tribute to Joe Strummer of The Clash.
The stage on this show was very high and featured a steep flight of stairs leaving Bruce needing all of his energy when he ascended it for the second time.
The show was one of the most varied and well received set lists of the tour and the band were alive. I think the warm weather added to the occasion. Nils Lofgren was particularly outstanding, especially with his Youngstown Guitar Solo. In fact the whole band was on fire and they didn't even leave the stage for the usual encore break.

The 2 DVD set is presented in a Digipack format which is how a lot of CD's are packaged these days. Quite difficult to get out without fingerprinting the DVDs. A basic menu lets you play the concert which is shown from the point the band are already on stage. A little bit disappointing in this respect I find the build-up and the band arrival part of the deal

As you will expect the DVD features outstanding video and sound quality similar to previous DVD releases and just like the quality of the footage projected on the screens during the concerts.
There are times however, when the action you want to see is not being shown on the screen, I suppose you can't please everybody all the time. There a few moments when you can hear Nils Lofgren's amazing guitar work for example and you just wish you could see it as well. Likewise there is precious little viewing of Gary W Tallent on Bass guitar.

It is very good though, highlights for me are Badlands, Night, She's the one and Out in the Street. Nils fans won't be disappointed during Youngstown and the Intro of Seeds. Racing in the street is one of the best performances I have seen since Charles Giordano took the place of the late and much missed Danny Federici on the Organ.

DVD 1
1. London Calling
2. Badlands
3. Night
4. She's The One
5. Outlaw Pete
6. Out In The Street
7. Working On A Dream
8. Seeds
9. Johnny 99
10. Youngstown
11. Good Lovin'
12. Bobby Jean
13. Trapped
14. No Surrender
15. Waiting On A Sunny Day
16. The Promised Land
17. Racing In The Street
18. Radio Nowhere
19. Lonesome Day

DVD 2
20. The Rising
21. Born To Run
22. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
23. Hard Times (Come Again No More)
24. Jungleland
25. American Land
26. Glory Days
27. Dancing In The Dark

RECORDED LIVE IN HYDE PARK, LONDON, ENGLAND 28 JUNE 2009

BONUS MATERIAL:
The River: Glastonbury Festival, 2009
Wrecking Ball: Giants Stadium, 2009
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews