Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make no mistake.. This is the real deal
I was never planning to go and buy this game, as far as I was concerned GT was the next game I would buy. But on saturday I happned to be in an impulsive mood and picked this up thinking it would kill a few hours and would have no real replay or immersive value.

How wrong I was...

This game is almost flawless, it oozes quality, every single pixel has...
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by Bare Osaka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A franchise reboot
A overall enjoyable game that has the double edged sword of fixed camera. When used correctly by the game it shows off the beautiful views and vista's which the game has on offer and during combat allows you to use the plethora of combat moves and combos without worrying about having to re-adjust the camera which allows you to concentrate on dispatching your enemies, when...
Published 6 months ago by Eamon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make no mistake.. This is the real deal, 12 Oct 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
I was never planning to go and buy this game, as far as I was concerned GT was the next game I would buy. But on saturday I happned to be in an impulsive mood and picked this up thinking it would kill a few hours and would have no real replay or immersive value.

How wrong I was...

This game is almost flawless, it oozes quality, every single pixel has been precicely placed and every mechanic works with fluidity and precision. The combat is very satisfying and the camera is clever and sharp (forget the negative comments on the camera, it works perfectly). During boss fights, the way the camera positions itself really adds to both scale and intensity depending on the type of boss fight. In my opinion the boss fights in this are more exhilirating than god of war's, and also more varied and challenging. This game is genuinely challenging which is a very good thing, bosses can take time to kill as you will have to "learn" how to kill them, the puzzles are not obvious either and require actual brain power to complete! A breath of fresh air in my opinion as I was tired of pushing blocks onto switches etc.

The story is engrosing and enjoyable, I's helped along by brilliant voice acting by the likes of Sir Patrick Stuart and Robert Carlisle. I am at least 10hours in and still have 4 chapters left. Each chapter has between 2 and 7 levels within them. They each build up nicely and you are never in a place to fill time, it's all leading toward a short term or long term goal so I havent got bored. Upon completing each level you get a summery screen and the story is carried forward by narration. You are presented with a world map so you can see where you have been and where you are going next, which is helpful and also means you can choose to leave the game before taking on the next chapter. I've thought of this game almost being like reading a book, you can play a chapter, then put it down for a while and you feel youve made progres. Because places and scenery is always diferent you cant wait to get back into the game and see where it takes you, Just like a book.

I'm not going to talk too much about graphics because if you do decide to make a purchase then they will speak for themselves. To say the art style is beautiful does'nt do it justice. It's jaw on floor time and easily gives Kratos a run for his money.

The soundtrack to Castlevania is also brilliant, it's eerie and peaceful at the right times and epic, dramatic and energetic at others. It adds to the game in all the right ways, making the castles and woods feel spooky and grim and battle/dramatic events exhilirating and atmospheric. The game does borrow heavily from other games, for example the music is very similar to that of Oblivion's, a bad thing?? Not at all in my eyes. It also borrows from god of war but again builds on it rather than doing waht Dante's Inferno did and just carbon copy the mechanics. I'm not going to go into detail about where they have borrowed because it will spoil some of the surprise, but I will say that it is not just copying, the developers have put their own mark on the gameplay and the quality is of such a caliber that it's a compliment to the inventors.

To sum up, as I have said in the title, this game is the real deal. It's a high budget and extremely high quality piece of software. The story is fantastic and you get the feeling you are playing a very special game that has taken a lot of time and care to create. I knew Kojima would'nt put his name to a sub-par game and I'm very glad I made a purchase. Full credit to Mercurysteam for making a genuinely awesome game and I hope we see many more games like this. It's not all about open world maps and multiplayer, other developers/publishers would do well to remember this.

10/10 Epic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's been a long wait.. it was worth it., 9 Oct 2010
By 
K. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
Castlevania is a very oldschool series and one that will be remembered well through nostalgia tinted glasses of fellow nerds the world over. It's been a long wait for the series to make it's way to the PS3 generation in style; and it looks damn beautiful. If I had to rate this game on graphics and art style alone, it would be right up there with God Of War 3, Uncharted 2, etc. Breathtakingly good visuals and astounding detail.

Gameplay is a far cry from classic Castlevania, but it's a fresh breath of air on the series as a whole and I enjoyed it. Fast paced, brutal fighting mechanics and enough blood and guts to fill at least a few olympic swimming pools. But don't be fooled... this is not just another button masher or devil may cry / god of war rip off. Some truly great things about this game shine right out from the get go - Well known and respected voice actors (Luc Picard aka Patrick Stuart being one worthy of mention among others). Atmosphere is also top notch thanks to the great sound effects, and some very H.R. Tolkien 'esque environments and themes. Story and gameplay are varied and in depth, much more so than games in this genre I felt.

A very fine game indeed. A new look at a classic series, great graphics, great story with great voice acting to boot, great fun combat and challenging little puzzles, breathtakingly good boss fights and memorable environments... the list goes on. Must buy for any true gamer.

However, I always include things I don't like to my reviews....

Combat at times can get VERY tough and overwhelming. Maybe I'm just getting old, but I had to start over on a lower difficulty setting because I could simply not keep up (same thing on God Of War 3). Fixed camera angles are also a bit awkward at times but not game breaking. Story despite being well written and well told, is predictable. But as far as bad things go thats about it.

Overall it was epic. Took me around 18 hours to complete and I will be playing through again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUCH A BARGAIN AT THIS PRICE!!, 25 Oct 2010
By 
L. Hutson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
WOW! At this price castlevania is superb value. I purchased for 40 quid and dont feel hard done by in any way, this is a game with a beautiful, sweeping score, atmospheric graphics and cinematic camera angles, epic boss battles, superb, satisfying and deep combat and heaps of replayability. First playthrough is easily 15 hours and that is with a fair ammount of skill in the relevant genre, if you take your time 20 hours, and you DO want to take your time.
After the credits (and an awesome twist ending scene/epilogue) roll, there are so many reasons to go back, the game even eggs you on to do so, and you genuinely want to go back and take the end game skills to the beginning and really attack each stage/ pass the trials, get all power ups.

SIMPLY PUT, BARGAIN!
Maybe a little violent for kids and also kinda hectic for the younger player, rental first i would think if you are passing to a smaller child to check.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Of Adventure Games, 3 Dec 2010
By 
D. Perkins "Robo_1" (Belgium - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
With this game now finished, I can say that without a doubt, this is an easy game of the year contender.

In an age where single player games are being whittled down to a four hour run about, that this was an easy 20 hours of pure epic is surely something worth championing. Sure it slows down a bit for the final level or two, but I never felt as if I was having to grind my way forward. It was tough, and indeed some of the bosses could have gone down quicker, but it always played a fair hand.

The combat is regularly enhanced with fresh combos and enemy types, and the puzzles were a good blend of the traditional and the modern. Likewise, the environments never stuck around for long. There was a real sense of progression throughout the game and they've clearly taken a look at how Santa Monica Studio made God of War look as breathtaking as it did.

The titan boss fights were excellent too, and whilst they're never on the same scale as the aforementioned GoW3, they're certainly bigger and more entertaining than most modern bosses.

All in all, whilst the opening and final levels missed a beat or two, and the difficulty ramps up a little too quickly (before you get the combos needed to make a good fight of it) this is easily one of the most finely crafted adventure games of the generation, never leaving the player without a new task ahead of them, or a new environment to do it in. Wrap all that up in a suitably fantastical story and give it production values to rival the biggest names in the business, and you've got a game that anyone with a taste for adventure should stump up for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent!!, 29 Oct 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
right. to start with this is not my type of game, i am a call of duty /medal of honor type of gamer . but after playing the same maps for the best part of 6 months i thought i would try something different till black opps came out!
the first hour i wanted to put c.o.d back in, but then i started getting into the game, the graphics are first rate. being a coward i set the game to easy, but even this was to hard for me at times [at the difficult boss fights i ended up passing the controller to my 14 yr old daughter,who dispatched them with ease] but i am 2/3rds through the game now and have just defeated my first big boss battle with the lord of vampires,so i must be getting better, the puzzles are great and frustrating [the music box was very hard even with the puzzle help solved,it was hard to complete] there are 'tomb raider,'jumps to do and spyro type electric puzzles ect. Its one of those games that once you start playing you just cant stop.[2 oclock in the morning some nights,before i crawl off to bed]
but after all the short games i have bought lately [vanquish at 5 hrs play] this is really getting your moneys worth [i think at least a week of gaming to get through the first time and even then you have to go back to the early chapters to complete things that you didnt have the skills to do before. i would recommend this game to all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a 3d Castlevania worth playing, 23 Oct 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
Vampire gothic action adventure with a nice dose of platforming and puzzles. Streamlined weapon and character rpg upgrading, all making this a deeper and enjoyable experience to play. Great well crafted graphics with an eerie vista-moody atmosphere fitting perfectly with style of game. Probably the first game that can hold it's own against Uncharted 2, maybe even surpass in areas!...also a mention to the excellent soundtrack and at least 15hrs game playtime. Recommended.

Majin and The Forsaken Kingdom (PS3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, big and well done!, 10 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
Just to keep this brief.

Quite a good game, although it doesn't really get started untill you finish Chapter 2 - I was convinced that this would be a trade in. Now that I have finished it, I won't dare do so. You won't really understand untill you finish the game, for it really does become a part of you.

It is a large game, taking at least 20 hours to complete. I completed this on the second highest difficulty, so it may have taken over 25 hours to complete.

It may not be a game that is unique, but what it 'borrows' from other games is very well done.

Give it a shot, you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first time review, 12 Oct 2010
By 
Emily (Bradford, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
This is my first review on Amazon,I find it very important when buying a game to read a review if at all possible as it gives you a good insight in to what the game is like from a "Real Players" perspective.
I am very much a resident evil,God of war type player,And in my opinion this game is up there with Both,As a couple of people have said the camera which you can usually turn with the right joystick was not there so you are limited to the view that you can see,But apart from that it is very much alike GOW.
There was a few nice extras with the ability to ride various creatures like spiders which you can shoot webs(which i thought was a nice touch)But there was also parts similar to resident evil when you have to press the button at the right time or the combo you were doing would fail.

Overall i would give this five stars as it has a good story with a few puzzles(that are just hard enough to make you think a bit without annoying you)But most of all it is just good old God of war with a few Added extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Castlevania 33!!, 7 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. B. A. Jones "bennyfongtorres" (Bath, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic, there's no other way of putting it! It's huge- and not just in terms of the vast 12 chapter story with 3 to 8 levels per chapter, oh no, I mean HUGE. To platinum it even the best gamers will be looking at at least 3 or 4 full play-throughs but don't let that put you off, by the time I had reached chapter 5 I had replayed some previous levels 3 or 4 times and they still hadn't got old on me. The reason?- it's so much fun! As you progress you unlock more weapons, health upgrades, magic upgrades and abilities meaning that to go back and play a previous level is always easier, plus each time you complete a level you unlock a challenge for the next time you play it and these can range from things like killing 10 Goblins with their own grenades to defeating level bosses without using magic, solving puzzles in an exact number of moves or destroying a titan within a time limit. Because things get easier as you upgrade you feel obliged to go back on yourself in order to make progressing easier- it rewards itself and is very satisfying! The story is excellent, classic Castlevania (at least for the first 2/3 of the game) and the graphics are unbelievable- there's levels you'll want to play simply to marvel at the stunning views; the approach to the vampire castle in the snowy european mountains being a highlight.
The gameplay is classic 'hack and slash', the natural predecessor of the side scroller in my opinion, and done expertly. As to whether this is true to Castlevania? YES!! this game is pure Castlevania- Vampires, werewolves, the grim reaper, Carmilla, castles, the Vampire Killer whip, the music, bosses, there's at least a hundred nods to previous games. The only thing that gives it 4 stars and not five is the third act (the land of the dead) which is not as grand as the two previous areas and, although well done, takes the story away from where other Castlevania games would've gone.
Overall well worth buying and playing for hours and hours and hours...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crack that whip!, 11 Oct 2010
By 
ABZ (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) (Video Game)
Welcome to middle earth!, sorry, I meant Castlevania Lords Of Shadow ;)

I wont bother by mentioning the past Castlevania games or cross comparing them etc. Now for the review.....

STORY>>>> You are Gabriel Belmont, a slayer of evil, belonging to a special order of knights. Your wife has been murdered, the world is plunging into darkness as the Lords Of Shadow wreak havoc upon humanity. Only you stand in their way and only their destruction can bring back your wife from the dead. The journey will take you across many lands as ancient beasts will do anything to stop you. Love and vengeance are the key ingredients to the story, these are the elements that propel our hero forward, ready for any challenge. Armed with his trusty combat cross, nothing will stand in his way.

The story didn't quite blow me away, vengeance and saving the world from destruction have somewhat become cliches but the variety of environments and characters keeps it flowing. The cutscenes were of good lengths to keep the gameplay moving smoothly.

GRAPHICS + SOUND>>>> The game on a whole looks absolutely stunning, detailed environments and a great sense of scale and depth of field. The first thing that hit me was how the game world resembled The Lord Of The Rings (which is not a bad thing at all). There are a great variety of enemies and it keeps everything fresh as you progress. The animation of Gabriel's attacks are really well done, there also handy tutorials on how to use them. The cutscenes look amazing too. The soundtrack is very impressive, it fits the epic nature of the game from traversing the beautiful environments to pulse-pounding boss battles. The dialogue is delivered competently, Patrick Stewart does an excellent job narrating as well as lending his voice to the character, Zobek.

The character model of Gabriel is impressive but sadly other supporting characters are not as well designed, bland textures and limited facial animation bog them down. The level design is just too linear, I know this can give the combat a different approach but it's a missed opportunity to just loosen the boundaries of where you can go. Only at certain stages in the game, the levels open out a bit more but these serve as arenas for stronger enemies. My other gripe is the camera, we have no control over it and it does the work for us. On occasion it gets stuck on scenery or it can't keep up with the player, I once went out of view early in the game but the camera kept moving with the character out of screen. These are minor irritations as the camera performs well on the whole. I can't help but feel there is a framerate issue at times, it can be as smooth as silk then seem like it's lagging. I'm in no way saying it's terrible but it just feels if it just slows down and this can be during non-combat/heavy action gameplay.

GAMEPLAY>>>> The combat cross is the centre piece of Gabriel's inventory, he also has magical relics which enable special moves. There also a selection of projectile weapons which serve as great tools against distant enemies. The combat cross functions as a whip (similar to blades of chaos from God Of War), many attacks can be strung together, as you progress in the game, the combat cross can be upgraded with magical powers which then enable you to perform more powerful attacks or can be used to access secret areas in levels. These magical powers can be replenished throughout the game. The combat is very fluid, dodging becomes essential as enemies will attempt to surround you quickly, there are also quicktime events which act as finishing moves or grapple manoeuvres. The upgrade system is very good, there is so much to choose from which adds great variety. Whipping hundreds of enemies is fun but the game mechanics also involve platforming to break up the combat. The platforming is handled well, it gives you a sense of scale as the camera pans out and shows you the grandeur of where you are. There are also puzzles to mix up the gameplay, they dont require much thought but they are a welcome addition. The boss battles have been well executed, epic battles fused with thrilling music. The battles with the large titans are just fantastic, very cinematic and a joy to behold. Another perk is re playability, you can visit previous stages again as challenges are unlocked and any missed exploration can be accounted for. I've been very impressed with the combat despite input lag because it keeps you thinking, forces you to mix up combos. Also there are beasts you can ride, these serve as means to progress through stages or give you some help in defeating enemies.

I enjoyed the combat but felt there was a slight lag with the button input, this was very frustrating during difficult fights as Gabriel just wouldnt respond quickly enough and avoid being hit. This wasn't a major problem as it only happened now and again, as I progressed it became easier to adapt to the combat, vary my combat style as much as I could.

OVERALL>>>> Despite some issues with presentation, I can safely say I have enjoyed playing this game. The combat is solid if at times not the most responsive. The camera sometimes doesn't keep up with you but it still presents the game in an epic fashion. A beautifully realised gaming world if a little linear to progress through. If you're a fan of hack and slash games then this may just be for you. The story may not grip you but there are many other positive notes this game touches upon. It'll take you about 18-20 hours to complete but as I've said there is plenty of reason to revisit levels.

It's time for you to whip evil a new one!

Ciao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3)
Castlevania - Lords of Shadow (PS3) by Konami (PlayStation 3)
8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews