Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
I honestly dont know what people were looking for in a dvd documentary. action?, footage? a documentary is ultimately about the information, learning something. personally I don't care if it looks cheap which in this case I have seen alot worse, the footage has been colourised which some like, some dont, personally I dont care as long as I can see whats going on. but...
Published on 11 Mar. 2011 by Mr. Pj Williams

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive Title
This DVD IS TOTALLY UNRELATED TO THE EXCELLENT CHANNEL 4 SERIES,HELL IN THE PACIFIC.IF YOU WANT TO KNOW WHAT IT WAS LIKE IN THE PACIFIC WAR,GET THE DVD OF THE CHANNEL 4 SERIES OR THE EQUALLY GOOD BBC SERIES,HORROR IN THE EAST.THERE IS ALSO THE CLASSIC SERIES,THE WORLD AT WAR,WHICH COVERS ALL THE MAJOR BATTLEZONES OF WW2.
Published on 9 Aug. 2012 by LARKUM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD] (DVD)
I honestly dont know what people were looking for in a dvd documentary. action?, footage? a documentary is ultimately about the information, learning something. personally I don't care if it looks cheap which in this case I have seen alot worse, the footage has been colourised which some like, some dont, personally I dont care as long as I can see whats going on. but ultimately its the info I was after. this is a very comprehensive dvd which delves into the background of the campaign. attitudes, planning, reasons, scope of the whole war in the pacific from the American and Japanese side. there are interviews and alot of info that is usually ignored in other documentaries that begin on dec 7th. I read the reviews before buying this and so expected very little, I was pleasantly surprised when I found they were all wrong or narrow minded. If you actually want to know about the war in the pacific buy it. if you have some other strange reason to buy a documentary series like this then don't.

real history without the gung ho slant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive Title, 9 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD IS TOTALLY UNRELATED TO THE EXCELLENT CHANNEL 4 SERIES,HELL IN THE PACIFIC.IF YOU WANT TO KNOW WHAT IT WAS LIKE IN THE PACIFIC WAR,GET THE DVD OF THE CHANNEL 4 SERIES OR THE EQUALLY GOOD BBC SERIES,HORROR IN THE EAST.THERE IS ALSO THE CLASSIC SERIES,THE WORLD AT WAR,WHICH COVERS ALL THE MAJOR BATTLEZONES OF WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting footage but awful, 1 Dec. 2010
By 
M. Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD] (DVD)
I have always been very interested in the Japanese navy, so I enjoyed seeing some of the footage in this series of Japanese warships that I had never seen before. But that was pretty much it. The same footage was used over and over again. Sometimes completely inappropriately (e.g. showing battleships in action, when only cruisers took part).

The series had the feel of something that was intended to be grander, but that ran out of funding. The first 4 episodes dealt mainly with Pearl Harbour. It was something like the 7th episode before they got to Guadalcanal, and then they only dealt with the first few months. There were extended discussions of the Dolittle Raid; the battle in the Aleutians (a trul minor affair); and the rescue of some refugees aboard the submarine Cavallier. But nothing at all about the Battle of Leyte Gulf (the largest and last great naval battle in history); or about the island hopping (Tarawa, Iwo Jima, Saipan, etc., don't rate a mention?). And the series ended with Okinawa! What about The Bomb?

A baffling series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars war in the paciffic, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD] (DVD)
ihave not played it yet as there is a huge emotional stigma amd many of our familys have lost sons dads unclesif this film shows %5of what actualy went on you would of got my emotional vote
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing documentary about the Pacific war, 7 Jun. 2010
By 
Hyun Geun Cho "Hyungeun Cho" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this on TV before and the impression I got was pretty big personally. Having bought this one and watch it again including the exclusive interviews, I enjoyed again but in a different way since I got older than the first time I watched this. Anyway still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst ever dvd, 4 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD] (DVD)
Do not throw your money away buyind this DVD plastic ships and not much athentic action.Its a complete rip off and the bin is the best place for it , mine is on its way to the dump , does not deserve one star rating but to post this review it had to give it one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD] (DVD)
first class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hell in the Pacific: The True Stories [DVD]
£4.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews