Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars47
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2010
This disaster movie from the Asylum was packed full of over the top action and outlandish situations which made it a very fun film to watch and was worth every penny.

Megafault also had a pretty impressive cast for an Asylum feature, starring Bruce Davison from X-Men and X-Men 2 as well as Brittany Murphy in her last role before she sadly passed away.

Definitely recommend this to anyone who is a fan of over the top action movies and big explosions!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
If you like disaster movies then this is the film for you. It's exciting, fun and well worth the money!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
I watched the "Special Director's cut" a film cut by the special director. It is nice to know that the world is going to end because of a guy named "Boomer" (Eriq La Salle) who likes to blow things up. A megafault is created and only world renown seismologist Brittany Murphy can save the world...or reunite with her family instead.

The movie uses CG graphics for the special effects.

This film is no different than other Asylum/ SyFy disaster films which all have the same basic plot. This one was not as much fun as some of the other ones, except for the fact Brittany Murphy is the most unconvincing scientist I have ever seen.

It is also nice to know that when an earthquake happens, you do the same thing as when Russian missiles attack... get under the table. Whatever happened to standing in the doorway?

Tough to sit through
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
This film has some great reviews but I couldn't see why myself. I found some of the acting to be cringe worthy, there are elements in it that are embarrassingly unrealistic. i. e the scene where the main characters husband and child suffer a plane crash and next you see the husband walking through a field totally unscathed with the flaming planes in the background and he is calling out their very young daughters name, not sure if she was alive. He has not an ounce of genuine panic or horror in his voice or face and all of a sudden the little girl walks out from the bushes, in a chilled manner with only bits of dirt on her, right next to him ( huge coincidence considering he was far from the plane and she could have ended up anywhere) She was also unhurt. Then there was mum at a different location who knew about the crash but didn't know if they were alright , she also seemed unrealistically relaxed. There was a lot of instances where I laughed and for the wrong reasons. The graphics are slightly off and all in all it was just not believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 September 2010
There's no escaping the fact that this film is unadulterated rubbish in which, as the Earth literally starts to crack, the lead heroine ignored her responsibilities and diverts helicopters and military resources to go chasing after her husband and daughter.

One clue to the paltry budget for this movie is the fact that the name of the company in charge of CGI is 'Tiny Juggernaut'. If, indeed, the budget was as low as I suspect (a fact clearly implied in the the 'Making of' extra feature), then perhaps 'Megafault' is actually a quite reasonable achievement.

But, in the end, there is not a lot to recommend it. There are endless shots of the faultine racing across cities and landscapes (exactly as in the multi hundred million dollar film '2012') and equally endless shots of panic and haphazard explosions (exactly as in the multi hundred million dollar film '2012'). The end of the story resolves with the fault being halted and the split-up family being reunited literally on the brink of disaster (exactly as in the multi hundred million dollar film '2012').

Do you get my drift? (An intended tectonic pun there) .....

This film was made on a shoestring and yet in almost all respects it matches the incredibly similar, over-hyped and budget-squandering movie '2012'.

5 stars? - definitely not.
1 star? -- that would be mean in light of the comparison.
3 stars? - justified, I think. Just don't expect anything much above the level of rubbish.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
I chose this as it came up under Suggestions from Amazon via My Watchlist. Am glad I did. It was a rollercoaster ride from the start - who doesn't love a disaster movie but this one has a twist. Also, I hadn't realised until I checked out on Wiki that Brittany Murphy, the star of the movie has since passed away. I won't give too much of the plot away but the interaction between her and the rest of the cast is superb. Okay, you have to take the whole storyline with more than a pinch of salt - but on a scale of escapism, this one tops the charts for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
a great flim me and my family love it i have watch it 3 times now and still think the same about it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2011
i bought this film as i was watching it before christmas and i only got to see the 30mins of it,as i went out. the film is your typical made for tv movie,so they are never box office hits. this film is not that bad in my opinion,it has brittany murphy (little black book) and eriq la salle. its your typical earthquake film,so just give it a go.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
not fantatic, but not bad either. It is your average TV diaster movie, and has some ok-ish special effects but nothing great.
worth buying for those wet dull afternoons when you want to watch something but the TV is rubbish, or for the stay in pyjama all day days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Very good movie - a little slow in places but good fun and a good way to spend an evening. Really enjoye this movie - its not a hollywood blockbuster but it holds its own - I have seen a lot worse than this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)